Sidebar
Main Content
Finding ERIC Documents (ED)
ERIC indexes and abstracts records of journal articles and a wide range of non-journal publications including research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, state and federal government publications, conference papers, and books.
ERIC Documents Online (ED Accession Numbers)
1993 to present in PDF - ERIC (CSA) and ERIC (EBSCO) make available direct links to the ERIC Documents provided via the publically accessible version of ERIC at http://www.eric.ed.gov. To access ERIC Documents from within ERIC CSA and ERIC EBSCO, click on the full-text link provided.
1966 to 1992 - ERIC is in the process of converting the old fiche versions of ERIC documents into pdf format. Many of the older ED publications are available electronically from ERIC at http://www.eric.ed.gov. To check to see if full-text is available for earlier EDs for which there is not a direct link in ERIC CSA or ERIC EBSCO, click on the PennText link associated with the ERIC record of interest and then click on ERIC full-text in the Penntext popup to see if full-text is available. Also, you can search www.eric.ed.gov directly by the ERIC accession number.
If an older ERIC document is not yet available online, please use the microfiche collection described below. Note that some ED records are for books and other monographic publications; these may be listed in Franklin and, hence, may be checked out in paper format.
ERIC Documents in Microfiche at Penn - 1966 - c.2004
The Library has the ERIC Document microfiche collection for the years that it existed. See holdings and locations:
To request delivery of an older ERIC Document fiche from High Density Storage to Van Pelt for viewing, use the Request for Book/Recording from Storage From at http://www.library.upenn.edu/forms/storage-book.html. Be sure to include the ED number in the comments section of your request.
ERIC Journal Citations (EJ Accession Numbers)
To locate journal titles at Penn, click on the PennText button within ERIC CSA or ERIC EBSCO to see if the Penn Library subscribes to a journal separately, within another full-text database, or in paper via a journal title search in the Franklin catalog. Please remember that not all journals are available in electronic format.
If Penn does not own a specific journal in either online or print formats, you may use the Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery Article Request Form at http://webdoc.library.upenn.edu/ill/copyright.html. Note the web delivery option. Allow ample time for your requests.
Please send questions and comments to Patty Lynn, Library Liaison to the Graduate School of Education, at lynn@pobox.upenn.edu.



