Sidebar
Main Content
Tests and Measurements - Research Guide
Tests and Measurements are standardized instruments, such as questionnaires, inventories and scales, which are used to measure constructs in various social science disciplines. They are used for diagnosis, research or assessment.
I. Test Reviews / Identifying Test Names
- Mental Measurements Yearbook. Buros Institute of Mental Measurements.
Lincoln, Nebraska: Buros Institute of Mental Measurements
, 1938 - . - [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: LB3050 .M468], 1st - 15th editions.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook (online version, 9th - 15th editions)
- Produced by the Buros Institute, contains fulltext information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks. For each test, the database provides the name of the test author, publication information, scoring information, and the number of the Mental Measurements Yearbook in which the test was originally described. The full text for each record includes an overview of the test, a description of the test materials and time needed, and one or more reviews of the test. A test is included if it is new or has been revised since the previous edition of the MMY. See How to use the Mental Measurements Yearbook from the Buros Institute.
- Tests in print VII : an index to tests, test reviews, and the literature on specific tests. edited by Linda L. Murphy, Robert A. Spies, Barbara S. Plake.. Lincoln, Neb. : The Buros Institute of Mental Measurements, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, 2006.
- [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: Z5814.E9 T472 2006]
- Earlier volumes are at - [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: LB3051 .T46]
- Descriptive listings and references, without reviews, of commercially published tests in English that are in print and available for purchase or use. Entries provide cross references to the Mental Measurements Yearbook, as well as to earlier editions of Tests in Print. Includes several indexes: title, subject, publishers' directory, and name.
- Test Critiques. Kansas City, Mo.: Test Corporation of America, c1984 - .
- [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: BF176 .T419], v.1-v.10.
- Focuses on psychology, education, and business tests. Each entry provides an introduction, discussion of practical applications and technical aspects, and a critique.
- Tests: a Comprehensive Reference for Assessments in Psychology, Education, and Business. Edited by Taddy Maddox. 5th ed. Austin, Tex.: Pro-Ed, c2003.
- [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: BF176 .T43 2003]
- Brief non-evaluative descriptions of several thousand English language tests. Tests are arranged in subject categories. Each entry includes the audience, purpose, description of the test, cost, and publishing information. Includes author, title, and publisher indexes.
- ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center).
- Provides indexing to almost eight hundred education and education-related journals, as well as research documents, speeches, and government publications. For articles that use a specific test, do a SU Subject search on the test name. Explore all variations on the the test name and its associate acronyms.
- PsycINFO.
- Indexes articles, book chapters and dissertations on psychology and related disciplines. For articles on a specific test, search on the test name and its related acronyms.
- Commissioned Reviews of 250 Psychological Tests. Edited by John Maltby, Christopher Alan Lewis, Andrew Hill. Lewiston, N.Y. : E. Mellen Press, c2000.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: BF176 .C65 2000], v. 1-2.
- Brief reviews of tests published in the 1990s. Provides variable measured, description, sample tested, reliability, validity, where test can be found, and evaluative comments.
- Center for Equity and Excellence in Education Test Database
- A collection of abstracts and descriptions of almost 200 tests commonly used with Limited English Proficient students. Sponsored by the Region III Comprehensive Center at George Washington University's Center for Equity and Excellence in Education (CEEE) and the ERIC Clearinghouse on Assessment and Evaluation at Catholic University's Department of Education
- Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures. New York: Behavioral Publications, c1974 - 1985.
- [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: BF431 .D574], v.1-4.
- Intended to supplement the MMY by providing summary information about unpublished tests. Provides basic descriptive information: test name, purpose, description, reliability and validity statistics, source of information, and related research material. Cumulative subject indexes.
- Dawn P. Flanagan. The Achievement Test Desk Reference (ATDR): Comprehensive Assessment and Learning Disabilities. Boston : Allyn and Bacon, c2002.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: LB3060.3 .A28 2002]
- Purpose is to assist practitioners in understanding which abilities are being measured by various tests. Classifies tests in relation to the abilities tested. Uses Cattell-Horn-Carroll framework.
- McGrew, Kevin S. The Intelligence Test Desk Reference (ITDR): Gf-Gc Cross-Battery Assessment. Boston : Allyn and Bacon, c1998.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: BF431 .M3514 1998] Gives plentiful information about eight widely-used batteries of tests.
- Pierangelo, Roger. The special educator's comprehensive guide to 301 diagnostic tests. Rev. and expanded ed. San Francisco : Jossey-Bass, c2006.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: LC4019 .P53 2006]
- Detailed overview of the most frequently used tests for diagnosing suspected diabilities.
- Fabiano, Emily. Index to Tests Used in Educational Dissertations. Phoenix, Ariz. : Oryx Press, 1989.
- [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: LB3051 .F3 1989]
- Provides access to educational tests used in doctoral research from 1938-1980. The author searched the printed abstracts of Dissertation Abstracts International (DAI) manually. Tests appearing after 1980 may be located by keyword searching Dissertation Abstracts Ondisc [Van Pelt Reference Moelis Area: Z5053 .D571].
- [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: LB3050 .M468], 1st - 15th editions.
II. Getting a Test
Generally, specific tests must be purchased from the publisher. Sources such as Tests in Print provide publisher information. The library does have a small collection of tests available called Tests in Microfiche, see below. Sometimes authors of articles include the test instrument with their articles.
- Tests in Microfiche (TIM) Collection [microform]
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfiche 1094]
- Tests in Microfiche (TIM), which began in 1975, was an annual series of unpublished research instruments that have been cited in the educational and psychological literature. The authors of these tests agreed to make them available in microfiche format through the Educational Testing Service Test Collection. The TIM collection consists of more than a thousand test instruments. The collection is no longer being updated.
- Tests in Microfiche (TIM), which began in 1975, was an annual series of unpublished research instruments that have been cited in the educational and psychological literature. The authors of these tests agreed to make them available in microfiche format through the Educational Testing Service Test Collection. The TIM collection consists of more than a thousand test instruments. The collection is no longer being updated.
- Indexes to TIM Collection and the larger
Educational Testing Service (ETS) Test Collection
- Test Collection at ETS Database (TestLink)
The Test Collection Database contains descriptions of over 20,000 tests that reside in the library of Educational Testing Service.The Test Collection at ETS Database contains records for the tests in the Tests in Microfiche collection (TIM), listed above. The 1000+ TIMs records are only a subset of the 20,000 records in the ETS Test Collection Database. The Van Pelt Library ONLY has the tests that are in the original TIM microfiche collection. Many of the TIMs tests are now downloadable. Read the instructions for searching the ETS database for JUST the TIMs records:
Connect to ETS Test Collection Database above. Click on the "Find a Test" tab. Then click on Search, to access to database.
- To Search for a Downloadable Test
- Change the dropdown box to Order Information
- Type downloadable in the search box
- Click search
- Use the Advanced Search tab to combine the search for a downloadable test with another search parameter.
- To Search for a Test in Microfiche (a discontinued service - now available as downloadable):
- Change the dropdown box to PublisherSearch
- Type tests in microfiche in the search box.
- Click on search
- Use the Advanced Search tab to combine the Tests in Microfiche search with another search parameter.
To acquire tests listed in the ETS Test Collection Database, but not contained in the TIM collection or downloadable, click on the Order a Test tab provided on the TestLink site. Some tests are available in PDF format for download at $25.00 each.
- A spiral notebook finding guide to the ETS Tests in Microfilm (TIM) is
located at the Van Pelt Microtext Department.
Browse by title or broad subject categories.
The guide has a cross-index by test number
and test letter group (A-X). Call number:
Microfiche 1094, located with the
microtext finding aids.
- The ETS Test Collection Catalog. Compiled by Test Collection, Educational Testing Service.
2nd ed. Phoenix, Ariz. : Oryx Press, 1993-.
- [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: LB3051 .E79 1993], v.1-2
- Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences: Tests available in compilation volumes. OCtober 2005 ed.
- Test Collection at ETS Database (TestLink)
- A list of tests that can be found easily in compilation volumes found in
many libraries. List is designed to be used when the title of the test is known.
Created by Helen Hough, Health Sciences Librarian, Central Library, Univerity of Texas at Arlington.
- ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center).
- Under the Refine Search option, note the publication type
Tests/Evaluation Instruments. The same result is achieved by
adding pt 160.
Relevant subject headings include surveys, rating scales, and questionnaires.
- PsycINFO.
-
PsycINFO has a publication type value "test/survey appended." See the index for publication types or add the search phrase pt=test/survey appended to your search. This pulbication type is used by PsycINFO when an
actual test or survey appears in a document. This value designates that the source document contains the
test in its whole form, not part of a test, and not a test form. If you are searching for actual tests and
surveys found in the source, there are very few records in PsycINFO.
The "tests and measures" field (TM=) was added to PsycINFO in 2003 and for selected tests back to 1994. This field is available when a test is used in the methodology of a study (including screening instruments) or the test is the subject of a discussion article or literature review -- not just the "mention" of a test or survey in the source.
Classification codes related to tests are 2200 Psychometrics & Statistics & Methodology and the narrower 2220 Test & Testing, which has nine narrower subdivisions. The search cl=222* will capture all the records from 2220 to 2229.
- Lester, Paula E. Handbook of Tests and Measurement in Education and the Social Sciences. 2nd ed. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press/Technomic Books, 2000.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: LB3051 .L4543 2000]
Many of the instruments included are reprinted here with the permission of the author. - Fischer, Joel and Kevin Corcoran. Measures for Clinical Practice: a Sourcebook. 3rd ed. New York : Free Press, 2000.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: BF176 .C66 2000], v. 1-2
Includes a collection of "covering client problem areas commonly encountered in practice." Volume 1 contains measures for couples, families, and children. Volume 2 contains measures for adults outside the family context. Gives author, purpose, description, norms, scoring, reliability, validity and references, and text of questionnaires of up to 50 items. - Handbook of Sexuality-related Measures. Edited by Clive M. Davis. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, c1998.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: HQ60 .H36 1998]
Includes reproductions of many measurement tools. Many of the test descriptions were written by the authors of the tests themselves.
III. Finding Books about Testing
Franklin, the Penn Library's online catalog, lists books, journal titles, and other materials contained in campus libraries. You may search Franklin by author, title, journal title, subject, or call number, as well as several keyword options.
Franklin uses Library of Congress subject headings. Some headings that might be useful are listed below. When viewing records of interest, note the subject headings assigned to these works. Some relevant subject headings:
Ability--TestingWorks on testing in particular subject areas are entered under that subject with a standard subheading, e.g. reading--ability testing or language and languages--examinations.
Academic achievement--Evaluation
Achievement test--
Behavioral assessment of children
Child development--Evaluation
College entrance achievement tests--
Early childhood education--Evaluation
Educational tests and measurements--
Examinations
Examinations--Design and construction--
Examinations--Interpretation--
Examinations--Questions
Examinations--Scoring
Examinations--Validity
Intelligence tests--
Learning ability--Testing
Minorities--Psychological testing
Multiple choice tests--
Neuropsychological tests--
Psychological tests--
Psychological tests for children
Psychometrics--
Sexually abused children--Psychological testing
Sociometry--
Scale analysis (psychology)--
Test anxiety--
Test bias--
IV. Finding Journal Articles About Tests
The following indexes are useful for locating journal articles and other secondary source material on tests and testing. Once useful articles are identified, search the names of the journals in Franklin to determine if they are owned by the Library.
- ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center).
- ERIC provides indexing to
almost eight hundred education and education-related journals,
as well research documents, speeches, and government publications.
Relevant ERIC subject headings include: achievement tests, testing, test bias,
test reliability, test theory, and test validity.
See tests in the Thesaurus for a lengthy list of related descriptor terms.
- Education Index.
- Covers contemporary educational issues. Articles published from
1983 to the present. Includes the full-text of some journals.
See the heading tests and scales
for articles, as well as a substantial list of related headings.
- Also available in print at [Van Pelt Reference: L11 .E384], v.1 (1929/1932) - .
- Also available in print at [Van Pelt Reference: L11 .E384], v.1 (1929/1932) - .
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments provides access to information on measurement
instruments in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and
library and information science.
- PsycINFO.
- Covers 1887 to the present.
- Indexes articles on psychology and related files from 1300 scholarly and professional journals. Book chapters and dissertations are also included. Some useful descriptors include: achievement measures, educational measurement, measurement, test validity, test forms, and test construction.
- Indexes articles on psychology and related files from 1300 scholarly and professional journals. Book chapters and dissertations are also included. Some useful descriptors include: achievement measures, educational measurement, measurement, test validity, test forms, and test construction.
- ISI Citation Indexes
- The ISI Citation Indexes include the Science, Social Science and Arts & Humanities Citation Indexes. Both keyword and citation searching are available. When a test is cited, it may indicate that someone has used, adapted or critiqued the instrument.
V. Other Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks
- Beere, Carole A. Gender Roles: a Handbook of Tests and Measures. New York: Greenwood Press, 1990.
- [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: HM253 .B43 1990]
Describes 211 scales. Organized into the following categories: gender roles, children's gender roles, stereotypes, marital and parental roles, employee roles, multiple roles, and attitudes toward gender role issues. References to sources which use each scale are provided. - Comprehensive handbook of psychological assessment. Editor-in-chief, Michel Hersen. Hoboken, N.J. : John Wiley & Sons, c2004.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: BF176 .C654 2004]
v. 1. Intellectual and neuropsychological assessment / editors, Gerald Goldstein, Sue R. Beers
v. 2. Personality assessment / editors, Mark J. Hilsenroth, Daniel L. Segal
v. 3. Behavioral assessment / editors, Stephen N. Haynes, Elaine M. Heiby
v. 4. Industrial and organizational assessment / editor, Jay C. Thomas.
- Dictionary of Behavioral Assessment Techniques. Michel Hersen and Alan S. Bellack, eds. New York : Pergamon Press, 1988.
- [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: BF176.5 .D53 1988]
About three hundred behavioral measures are listed. Each entry includes description, purpose, psychometric characteristics, development, clinical use, future directions, and references. - Educational Measurement. Robert L. Linn, ed. National Council for Measurement in Education
American Council on Education. 3rd ed. Washington, D.C.: American Council on Education, 1989. - [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: LB3051 .E266 1989]
- Educational Research, Methodology, and Measurement: an International Handbook. John P. Keeves, ed. 2nd ed. Oxford, UK; Tarrytown, N.Y.: Pergamon, c1997.
- [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: LB1028 .E3184 1997]
- Encyclopedia of Psychological Assesessment. Edited by Rocio Fernandez-Ballesteros. London ; Thousand Oaks, Calif. : SAGE Publications, 2003.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: BF39 .E497 2003], v. 1-2.
- Comprehensive two volume encyclopedia written specifically for the psychology community. Contributors have international representation. 234 entries arranged alphabetically and covering a variety of fields.
- Fredman, Norman & Robert Sherman. Handbook of Measurements for Marriage and Family Therapy. New York : Brunner/Mazel, c1987.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: RC488.5 .F73 1987]
Designed as a quick reference. Chapters on popular tests and observational measuring are followed by descriptions of tests and scales.- Handbook of Psychological and Educational Assessment of Children. Edited by Cecil R. Reynolds, Randy W. Kamphaus. 2nd ed. New York : Guilford Press, c2003.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference: BF722 .H33 2003]
- Groth-Marnat, Gary. Handbook of Psychological Assessment. 4th ed. New York : Wiley, c2003
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: BF176 .G76 2003
A reference guide to several major instruments, useful for both students and practitioners. Information on development, administration, scoring, and interpretation is provided for each test.- Handbook of Family Measurement Techniques. John Touliatos et. als., eds. Newbury Park, Calif.: Sage, c1990.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: HQ728 .T68 1990]
An overview of the field precedes chapters on five areas: dimensions of interactions, intimacy and values, parenthood, roles and power, and adjustment. For each area, an article summarizing research to date is followed by abstracts of tests used in publications since 1975.- Handbook of Psychological and Educational Assessment of Children. Cecil R. Reynolds and Randy W. Kamphaus, eds. New York: Guilford Press, 1990.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: BF722 .H33 1990]
Chapters cover topics under general issues; assessment of intelligence, learning styles, and learning strategies; assessment of academic skills; special topics in mental testing; and assessment of special populations.- Handbook of Multicultural Assessment: Clinical, Psychological, and Educational Applications. Lisa A. Suzuki, Joseph G. Ponterotto, Paul J. Meller, editors. San Francisco, Calif.: Jossey-Bass, 2001. 2nd ed.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: BF176 .H36 2001], 1996 edition also available.
- Kline, Paul. The Handbook of Psychological Testing. 2nd ed. London; New York: Routledge, 2000.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: BF176 .K575 2000]
- Comprehensive overview of psychometrics.
- International Handbook of Educational Evaluation. Edited by Thomas Kellaghan, Daniel L. Stufflebeam with the assistance of Lori A. Wingate. Dordrecht ; Boston : Kluwer Academic Publishers, c2003.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: LB2822.75 .I573 2003 ]
- Sections on evaluation theory, evaluation methodology, evaluation utilization, evaluation profession, student evaluation, personnel evaluation, evaluation in schools, and system evaluation.
- National Tests: What Other Countries Expect their Students to Know. National Endowment for the Humanities. Washington, D.C.: National Endowment for the Humanities, 1991.
- [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: LB3051 .N277 1991]
National achievement exams in the humanities from France, the former Federal Republic of Germany, England and Wales, and Japan.
VI. Selected Journals
- Applied psychological measurement. St. Paul, West Pub. Co.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: BF39 .A66], 1977- present.
- Online
- Online
- Educational and psychological measurement.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: BF1 .E3], 1941 - present.
- Online
- Online
- Journal of educational measurement. [East Lansing, Mich.]
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: LB1131.A1 N32], 1964 - present.
- Measurement and evaluation in counseling and development. Alexandria, VA : Association for Measurement and Evaluation in Counseling and Development, c1984- .
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: LB1027.5 .M38], 1984 - .
- Practical assessment, research & evaluation. Washington, DC : ERIC Clearinghouse on Assessment and Evaluation ; College Park, Md. : Department of Measurement, Statistics, and Evaluation, University of Maryland, 1989-.
- Online
- Studies in educational evaluation : SEE. [Tel-Aviv] : School of Education, Tel-Aviv University ; [Los Angeles] : Center for the Study of Evaluation, University of California at Los Angles ; [Kiel] : Institute for Science Education (IPN) at the University of Kiel, [1975-
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: LB1570 .S8424], 1988- present.
- Online
Please send questions and comments to Patty Lynn, Library Liaison to the Graduate School of Education, at lynn@pobox.upenn.edu.




