Sidebar
Main Content
Bioengineering - Business Resources
Venture Capital
To find information on venture capital and venture capital firms use: VentureXpertWeb Note: online access requires a password. To access the password for this resource, you will be required to login using you PennKey user name and password.Galante's Venture Capital & Private Equity Directory. (CD available at Lippincott Library). Also available in print: HG 4961 V36 2004 Lippincott Library Reference Desk.
Look at MoneyTREE Survey for historical and current VC investment.
The Market
If you have a very new product, searching an existing one that is similar may give you an idea of the market and the competitors.
- Business and Industry. Marketing is this database's strength. Search for consumer demographics, new product introductions, industry trends, market size and more.
Reuters Business Insight. International market research reports on the subjects of consumer goods, energy, financial services, healthcare and technology
Factiva (Use Internet Explorer 5.1 or higher).
PROMT Topics indexed in PROMT include: new product development and market share.
Euromonitor's Global Market Information Database This database provides market research reports on a variety of topics.
Competitors
Medical Device Register
Engineering Library Reference R856.48 M42 2002
Hoover's Online. This database gives you a company history and, among other things, a list of competitors, and parent companies of competitors.
CorpTech (CD-ROM available in Lippincott Library). A Database Search Aid is available.
Company and product information for 50,000+ U.S. high tech manufacturers, developers and services, including U.S. divisions of foreign firms. Most are privately held or subsidiaries. It will also give you a profile and a link to competitors. Using "Product Finder," you will find a list of profiles of companies already in a particular marketplace.
ReCap (Lippincott Library only). Directory information on the biotech industry, including clinical trial info.
Analyst Reports
Reports on publicly traded companies. Also reports on industry sectors.
Thomson One Analytics. (First Call)
Multex. Includes many foreign companies and industries.
See related Research & Wharton Course Guides on Lippincott Library's homepage:
Business Resources for the Penn Biotech Group
Entrepreneurial Decison Making
Information Resources for Product Development
Lippincott Library is the Business library for the Wharton School, located in the Van Pelt-Dietrich Library Center at 3420
Walnut Street. Lippincott is on the 2nd floor west.
For help with business related questions, visit the Lippincott Library Reference Services page for their reference desk hours and contact information.



