Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
Research Guides
FindIt:

Sidebar

Main Content

Bioengineering - Dictionaries

Dictionaries define words and phrases, but can also be used to look up acronyms or journal abbreviations.
Electronic Resources
All That JAS
Journal abbreviation services.
Online at http://www.public.iastate.edu/~CYBERSTACKS/JAS.htm

"All That JAS: Journal Abbreviation Sources is a registry of Web resources that list or provide access to the full title of journal abbreviations."

Biomedical Acronym/Definition Database
The world's largest and most comprehensive catalog of biomedical acronyms and abbreviations, containing approximately 206,000 out of an estimated 224,000 unique acronyms within MEDLINE.

BioTech's Life Science Dictionary

BioTech is a hybrid biology/chemistry educational resource and research tool on the World Wide Web (sponsored by the University of Texas). Most of the 8300+ terms deal with biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, cell biology and genetics.

ChEBI Chemical Entities of Biological Interest

A freely available dictionary of small molecular entities.

Concise dictionary of biomedicine and molecular biology
Pei-Show Juo
Chemistry Library Reading Room R121 .J86 1996
Biomedical Library Reference R121 .J86 1996

WorldWideWeb Acronym and Abbreviation Server

Sponsored by the University College, Cork (Ireland). Includes science and technology acronyms.

Print Resources
Academic Press Dictionary of Science and Technology
Edited by Christopher Morris
Engineering Reference Q123.A33 1992

Short, basic definitions in all areas of science and technology.

Dictionary of Engineering Acronyms and Abbreviations, 2nd ed.
Harald Keller and Uwe Erb
Engineering Reference T11.K43 1994

Includes terms for many international acronyms and some science and engineering journal abbreviations.

Henderson's dictionary of biological terms
Henderson's dictionary of biological terms
Biomedical Library Reference QH302.5 .H65 1995

Periodical Title Abbreviations : By Abbreviation, 5th ed.
Compiled and edited by Leland G. Alkire, Jr.
Engineering Reference Z6945.A2W34 5th ed.

Full titles provided for journal abbreviations in all subject areas.

Szycher's dictionary of biomaterials and medical devices
Micahel Szycher
Biomedical Library Reference R857. M3 . S98 1992

*