Sidebar
Main Content
BE 100: Introduction to Bioengineering
| Finding Books | Featured Online Content | Encyclopedias | Ref Works & Citation Style Guides |
| Finding Journal Articles | Business Resources | Handbooks | Get Help |
Finding Books
- Franklin
Online catalog for Penn Library's collections. - WorldCat
WorldCat lists books held in many different libraries. Use BorrowDirect+ or Interlibrary Loan to order books that Penn does not hold. - Knovel Engineering & Scientific Online Reference Books
Large collection of full text engineering handbooks, textbooks and reference sources. - Google Book Search
Permits searching of the text of selected books. You must create a free account for access to some of the books. Here's the link to create an account.
- Try call numbers in R856-R857 and TP248.2 ranges (works in all campus libraries)
- Look in the regular stacks, as well as the Reference collection
Finding Journal Articles
- Pubmed
The public access version to Medline, the premier database for biomedical literature. - BIOSIS Previews
The world's most comprehensive reference database in the life sciences. It covers original research reports and reviews in biological and biomedical areas.
- COMPENDEX
The broad subject areas of engineering and applied science are comprehensively represented. - ISI Web of Science
Multidisciplinary database. Premiere source for citation searching. - Scopus
Scopus is a comprehensive abstracting and indexing database covering scientific, technical, medical and social science research literature back to the mid-1800s, including 15,000 peer-reviewed journals from more than 4,000 publishers
Featured Online Content
-
BioMed Central - original research articles in journals published by BioMed Central are immediately and permanently available online without charge or any other barriers to access
-
BioOne - aggregation of bioscience research journals
-
IEEE/IEE Electronic Library (IEL, IEEEXplore) - all IEEE and IEE journal and conference publications since 1988; all current IEEE standards
-
Public Library of Science - non-profit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource
-
SPIE -full text of technical papers from the International Society for Optical Engineering
-
AccessMedicine - includes core medical texts, clinical reviews, drug information, patient education, and many more resources
-
MD Consult - full-text content of over 50 publishers and other organizations
-
Optics Infobase- the Optical Society of America's online repository of both current and past volumes of all its journals
Business Resources
- Business and Industry
Marketing is this database's strength. Search for consumer demographics, new product introductions, industry trends, market size and more. - Reuters Business Insight
International market research reports on the subjects of consumer goods, energy, financial services, healthcare and technology - Factiva
- Euromonitor's Global Market Information Database
Encyclopedias
- American Medical Association Complete Medical Encyclopedia, Dental Library Reference RC81.A2 A497 2003
- Encyclopedia of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering, Engineering Reference R857 M3E63 2004 Vol. 1 and 2
- Encyclopedia of Medical Devices and Instrumentation, Engineering Reference R856 A3 E53 2006
Handbooks
- Chemical Properties Handbook
Physical, thermodynamic, environmental, transport, safety, and health related properties for organic and inorganic chemicals - SourceOECD
- Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
- Standard Handbook of Biomedical Engineering and Design
-
Kent and Riegel's Handbook of Industrial Chemistry and Biotechnology, Volumes 1 & 2
- Handbook of Biomaterial Properties
- Biomaterials and Bioengineering Handbook, Engineering Library R857.M3 B57 2000
- Biomedical Engineering Handbook, Engineering Reference R856.15.B56 2000 or Biomedical Library Reference R856.15 .B56 2000
- Biomedical Technology and Devices Handbook, Engineering Library R856.15 .B565 2004
- Handbook of Materials for Medical Devices, Engineering Library R857.M3 H365 2003
RefWorks & Citation Style Guides
Refworks
- Refworks
Refworks is a citation and bibliography management tool. It is free to register for all Penn Students. - Refworks Tutorial
- Guide to Using Refworks with Library Databases
Zotero
- Zotero
Zotero is a free, easy-to-use Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, and cite your research sources
EndNote
- EndNote
EndNote is an independent software that manages citations. While Penn does not provide this software, it does provide support to it's users. A web version of EndNote is available for use in ISI.
If you need any further help, would like more assistance in getting started, or can't find what you are looking for, you can always contact a Librarian:
| Douglas McGee | |
| Assistant Director for Engineering and Physical Sciences Libraries | |
| 217 Towne | |
| Email: dmcgee@seas.upenn.edu | |
| Phone: 215-898-8170 | |
| AIM/MSN/Yahoo:PennEngSciDir |




