Main Content
CBE 459: Senior Design Project - Course Guide
Click [+] to toggle resources.
[Expand all]
[Collapse all]
[+] Finding Books
[+] Finding Journal Articles
- Scifinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)
Chemical information: bibliographic, compound and reaction information.
- Reaxys
Web-based interface to the Beilstein organic and Gmelin inorganic data, as well as the Elsevier Patent Chemistry Database
- COMPENDEX
The broad subject areas of engineering and applied science are comprehensively represented.
- ISI Web of Science
Multidisciplinary database. Premiere source for citation searching.
- Derwent Innovations Index
Patent searching database more than 11 million patent records from 40 worldwide patent-issuing authorities.
- Scopus
Comprehensive abstracting and indexing database covering scientific, technical, medical and social science research literature back to the mid-1800s, althought most records are from 1996 or later, including 16,500 peer-reviewed journals from more than 4,000 publishers.
[+] Research Guides
[+] Important Standards
[+] Encyclopedias
[+] Handbooks
[+] Commercial Availability Resources
- Aldrich/Sigma/Fluka Online Catalog
Search Aldrich, Sigma, and Fluka online for properties and pricing. Pricing may require a free registration (they like to know who's looking).
- CHEMCATS
Link from the record of any substance in SciFinder. Results exportable in a .xls spreadsheet. Not all companies specify quantities and prices, but all give e-mail addresses or URLs for sales department.
- ChemExper
Suppliers submit their own information to this aggregate catalog, which links back to individual sellers.
- eMolecules
Search for suppliers and data about over 8M substances by structure, name, formula or CAS RN.
- RS Means Cost Works
Provides building construction cost data and a construction cost estimator tool.
GlobalSpec
Provides access to over 590,000 electrical, mechanical and optical component families. You will need to register (this is free!) to access the product information.
Thomas Register
Thomas Register is the most comprehensive online resource for finding companies and products manufactured in North America. (Requires free registration)
[+] RefWorks & Citation Style Guides
Refworks
Refworks is a citation and bibliography management tool. It is free to register for all Penn Students.
Zotero
Zotero is a free, easy-to-use Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, and cite your research sources.
EndNote
EndNote is an independent software that manages citations. While Penn does not provide this software, it does provide support to its users. A web version of EndNote is available for use in ISI.
If you need any further help, would like more assistance in getting started, or can't find what you are looking for, contact:
Douglas McGee
Head, Engineering Library
217 Towne
Email: dmcgee@seas.upenn.edu
Phone: 215-898-8170
AIM/MSN/Yahoo:PennEngSciDir |
Judith Currano
Head, Chemistry Library
Chemistry Library
Email: currano@pobox.upenn.edu
Phone: 215-898-2177
AIM/MSN/Yahoo: Judith1998 |
Top