CIS 573: Software Engineering / CIT 595: Digital System Organization & Design Course Guide
To identify resources in the area of Computer Science
Use the Library's E-Resources tool to Select by Interest: "Computers & Electronics" or "Cognitive Sciences & Information Sciences". Then explore the tabs! (You may also find General Business useful.)
Databases to Search
Note: Penn Libraries has implemented a middleware product called SFX which is designed to link to the full text of these articles, when available. When there is no electronic full text, you will have the option to launch a search in Penn's library catalog, Franklin, to see if the journal is held in print at a Penn Library. Finally, if it is not held in print, you will have the option to request the article via Interlibrary Loan. In some databases the link may say PennText and in others SFX.
INSPEC
- journal articles, conference papers, technical reports from 1896 - present
Covers computer science, information technology, physics, electronics,
robotics, control engineering, communications, and electrical engineering.
COMPENDEX
- journal articles, conference papers, technical reports from 1884 - present
Covers all disciplines of engineering.
SPIE Digital Library
- articles and conference proceedings published by the International Society for Optical Engineering from 1990 - present
Covers optics, photonics, electronic and biomedical imaging, sensing, communications and fiber optics, micro- and nanotechnology
Business Databases
Two general business databases to consider are:
ABI/Inform and Business Source Premier
Faulkner's Advisory for IT Studies - Reports on areas of interest to IT, communications managers, and specialists in the areas of computer and communications technologies
Gartner IntraWeb - The Gartner Group is a leading provider of market research reports, specializing in the information technology (IT) industries. These reports provide business technology research, consumer and market intelligence.
Note: You can browse or use the link to Search which appears all the way at the bottom left of the page.
InfoTech Trends - Market data on computers, peripherals, software, storage, the Internet, and communications equipment. Details include sales and shipment forecasts, market share, installed base, and planned purchases.
Featured online content includes:
ACM Digital Library
- all ACM journal, conference, and newsletter publications from 1947 - present
CiteSeer (ResearchIndex)
- computer science conference papers, journal articles, preprints, algorithms
IEEE/IEE Electronic Library (IEL, IEEEXplore)
- all IEEE and IEE journal and conference publications since 1988; all current IEEE standards
Lecture Notes in Computer Science
- reporting of new developments in computer science research and teaching volumes published in books and conference proceedings since about 2000 onwards, with selected volumes prior to 2000
Note: To search within LNCS, use the "Quick Search" Search within the publication box which appears midway down on the right, not the search which appears in the banner at the top.
Safari Tech Books Online
- This collection contains the full-text of about 300 selected computer science and IT books, including many of the O'Reilly books
Patents
Derwent Innovations Index - Search more than 11 million patent records from 40 worldwide patent-issuing authorities.
United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) - Search U.S. patents from 1790 - present. Requires a TIFF Viewer for images.
esp@cenet - Full text of European (EP), World Intellectual Property Office (WO), and other patents back to the 1970's.
Technical Reports
Computing Research Repository (CoRR)
- rapidly disseminated technical reports and conference papers in computer science
Networked Computer Science Technical Reference Library (NCSTRL)
- repository of academic and research institutions' computer science technical reports
Penn CIS Department Technical Reports Archive-
1990-present, some full text beginning in 1997
| Douglas McGee | Danianne Mizzy | |
| Assistant Director for Engineering and Physical Sciences Libraries | Assistant Head, Engineering Library | |
| 217 Towne | 217 Towne | |
| Email: dmcgee@seas.upenn.edu | Email: danianne@seas.upenn.edu | |
| Phone: 215-898-8170 | Phone: 215-898-5700 | |
| AIM/MSN/Yahoo:PennEngSciDir | AIM/MSN/Yahoo: PennEngLibrarian |



