Sidebar
Main Content
CIS 400: Senior Design Project - Course Guide
This guide is designed to help you navigate computer science sources and understand where they fit in the process. These resources and many others are also linked from the Science and Engineering Libraries Website.
| Finding Books | Web Resources |
Ref Works & Citation Style Guides | |
| Finding Journal Articles | Standards & Specifications | Technical Reports | Get Help |
Finding Books
- Franklin
Online catalog for Penn Library's collections. - WorldCat
WorldCat lists books held in many different libraries. Use BorrowDirect+ or Interlibrary Loan to order books that Penn does not hold. - Safari Tech Books Online
Selected online full-text computer books - Lecture Notes in Computer Science
The series Lecture Notes in Computer Science, including its subseries Lecture Notes in Artificial Intelligence, has established itself as a medium for the reporting of new developments in computer science research and teaching. - Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science
This is a collection of single topic lectures in key areas of Computer Science. Among the series available: Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning, Computer Architecture, and Mobile and Pervasive Computing. - Google Book Search
Permits searching of the text of selected books. You must create a free account for access to some of the books. Here's the link to create an account.
Finding Journal Articles
- COMPENDEX/INSPEC
The broad subject areas of engineering and applied science are comprehensively represented in these two indexing databases. - Scopus
Scopus is a comprehensive abstracting and indexing database covering scientific, technical, medical and social science research literature back to the mid-1800s, including 15,000 peer-reviewed journals from more than 4,000 publishers - CiteSeer
CiteSeer is a scientific literature digital library that aims to improve the dissemination and feedback of scientific literature, and to provide improvements in functionality, usability, availability, cost, comprehensiveness, efficiency, and timeliness. - Computing Research Repository (CoRR)
The Computing Research Repository (CoRR) is a part of the arXiv.org e-Print archive. - ACM Digital Library
Full-text of ACM journals and conference proceedings. Also includes the Guide to Computing Literature, a subject index for Computer Science related articles. - IEEEXplore
Full-text of IEEE journals, transactions, letters, and magazines. NOTE - most publications from the IEEE Computer Society Digital Library are be available in this resource. - Derwent Innovations
Index
Search more than 11 million patent records from 40 worldwide patent-issuing authorities.
Web Resources
Standards & Specifications
- Standards Research Guide
- IEEE Standards
- Official Internet protocol Standards
- NSSN: A National Resource for Global Standards
- Index and Directory of Industry Standards, Engineering Library Reference T59.2.U6 I5
Technical Reports
- Penn Computer and Information Science Technical Reports Archive
- Virtual Technical Reports Center
- NTIS
- NASA Technical Report Server
- FirstGov for Science
RefWorks & Citation Style Guides
Refworks
- Refworks
Refworks is a citation and bibliography management tool. It is free to register for all Penn Students. - Refworks Tutorial
- Guide to Using Refworks with Library Databases
Zotero
- Zotero
Zotero is a free, easy-to-use Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, and cite your research sources - Zotero Quick Start Guide
- Zotero Microsoft Word Plug-in
- Zotero Server Access
EndNote
- EndNote
EndNote is an independent software that manages citations. While Penn does not provide this software, it does provide support to it's users. A web version of EndNote is available for use in ISI. - EndNote Tutorial with Videos
- Accessing Full-Text Journals within an EndNote Library
- Using EndNote for NIH PMCID Citations
If you need any further help, would like more assistance in getting started, or can't find what you are looking for, you can
contact our subject librarian:
| Douglas McGee | |
| Head, Engineering Library | |
| 217 Towne | |
| Email: dmcgee@seas.upenn.edu | |
| Phone: 215-898-8170 | |
| AIM/MSN/Yahoo:PennEngSciDir |
Top



