- Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library
The ACM Digital Library is the full-text repository of papers from ACM journals, magazines, transactions, proceedings and newsletters back to 1947.
- Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Guide to Computing Literature
The Guide is a collection of bibliographic citations and abstracts of works published by ACM and other publishers. It includes journal articles, conference papers, technical reports, books, dissertations and theses covering computer science and information technology.
Basic Search - Phrase: Type your keyword or phrase into the Search box. Put quotations " " to search the exact phrase.
Example: "object-oriented programming"
Basic Search - Wildcard: The asterisk * substitutes for one or more characters.
Example: object-oriented program* will find program, programs, programmer, programming
Sample Advanced Search: On the Guide main page, click on the "Advanced Search" link. On the Advanced Search screen, use the fields provided to conduct your search based on specific criteria, such as a keyword or phrase, author, ISBN or ISSN. Customize your search by specifying month and year the item was published; item type; or ACM Computing Classification (CCS) term. Use these fields independently or combine them.
- IEEE Xplore
Includes all IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and most IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) journal and conference publications since 1988; all current IEEE standards.
Basic Search: Type your keyword or phrase into the Basic Search box. The results will be sorted by relevance.
Advanced Search: On the home page, click on the "Advanced Search" link. On the Advanced Search screen, enter search terms in the text boxes and use the pull-down buttons to select the fields to be searched (e.g. Document Title, Abstract, Author). Specify the date range with the pull-down buttons on the right side of the Advanced Search page.
- INSPEC
Includes citations for journal articles, conference papers and technical reports covering computer science, information technology, electronics,
robotics, and telecommunications.
Quick Search: On the Quick Search page, type your keywords or phrases into the "Search For" text boxes. Use the pull-down buttons on the "Search In" boxes to chose the field(s) you wish to search (e.g. Abstract, Author, Title). Use the "Limit By" options to choose the treatment type (e.g. General Review for review articles). Use the "Sort By" options to have your results listed by date (Publication year) or relevance. Then click "Search."
- ISI Citation Indexes
Multidisciplinary database. Premiere source for citation searching.
Citation Search: Enter the title of the paper for which you wish to find citations. Click on "Times Cited" link.
Example: SIMULA-an algol-based simulation language
- Google Scholar
To get full-text articles available through Penn Library, follow these steps:
- Click on the "Scholar Preferences" link
- In the "Library Links" section search for "university of pennsylvania"
- Click on the "Find Library" button
- Select the box next to "University of Pennsylvania (PennText)"
Click on the "Save Preferences" button on the the top right area of the window.