Sidebar
Main Content
ESE Senior Design Project - Course Guide
The research process is complex and involves not only many sources, but many different kinds of sources. This guide is designed to help you navigate these sources and understand where they fit in the process. These resources and many others are also linked from the Science and Engineering Libraries Website.
Finding Books
- Franklin
Online catalog for Penn Library's collections. - WorldCat
WorldCat lists books held in many different libraries. Use BorrowDirect+ or Interlibrary Loan to order books that Penn does not hold. - Knovel Engineering &
Scientific Online Reference Books
Large collection of full text engineering handbooks, textbooks and reference sources. - Lecture Notes in Computer
Science
The series Lecture Notes in Computer Science, including its subseries Lecture Notes in Artificial Intelligence, has established itself as a medium for the reporting of new developments in computer science research and teaching. - Morgan Claypool Synthesis Digital
Library
Lectures that synthesize an important research or development topic, authored by a prominent contributor to the field. . - Google Book Search
Permits searching of the text of selected books. You must create a free account for access to some of the books. Here's the link to create an account.
Finding Journal Articles
- COMPENDEX/INSPEC
The broad subject areas of engineering and applied science are comprehensively represented. - ISI Web of Science
Multidisciplinary database. Premiere source for citation searching. - Scopus
Scopus is a comprehensive abstracting and indexing database covering scientific, technical, medical and social science research literature back to the mid-1800s, including 15,000 peer-reviewed journals from more than 4,000 publishers - IEEEXplore
Full -text of IEEE journals, transactions, letters, and magazines from 1988.
Patent Databases
- Derwent Innovations
Index
Search more than 11 million patent records from 40 worldwide patent-issuing authorities. - esp@cenet - European Patent Office
Full text of EP, WO and other patents back to the 1970's. - US Patent and Trademark
Office
Covers all US patents from 1790 onwards. Download or view high-quality images of the actual pages of the patents, including diagrams and structures from 1790 onwards. - United States Patent and
Trademark Office Manual of Classification
Patents are classified in the U.S. by a system using a 3 digit class and a subclass to describe every similar grouping of patent art. A single invention may be described by multiple classification codes.
Standards & Specifications
- Standards Research Guide
- IEEE Standards
- NSSN: A National Resource for Global Standards
- Index and Directory of Industry Standards, Engineering Library Reference T59.2.U6 I5
Manufacturing & Component Information
- University of Pennsylvania Electrical
Engineering Department - Undergraduate Lab
Pages maintained by the Undergraduate Lab that detail the components available in the lab, with links to datasheets and manufacturers, many in the local area. - EEM Online
EEM (Electronic Engineers Master) is a complilation of catalogs of electronic components, equipment, and services. Search by product type (transformers, integrated circuits, filters, etc.) or by manufacturer. Product information is taken directly from the manufacturer's or supplier's catalog. - GlobalSpec
Available on the internet from the above link providing instant access to over 590,000 electrical, mechanical and optical component families. You will need to register (this is free!) to access the product information. - Thomas Register of American Manufacturers and
Thomas Register Catalog File
Product information from American manufacturing companies. Access is free, although registration is required to search the database. It is an excellent source for finding out who makes what. - U.S. Electronics Manufacturers Database, U.S. Electronics Manufacturers Database
Technical Reports
- ScholarlyCommons@Penn
- Virtual Technical Reports Center
- NTIS
- NASA Technical Report Server
- FirstGov for Science
Encyclopedias
- AccessScience
- Encyclopedia of Energy
- Encyclopaedia of Scientific Units, Weights and Measures
- Encyclopedia of RF and Microwave Engineering, Volumes 1 - 6
Handbooks
- Electrical Engineering Handbook
- Handbook of Electric Power Calculations
- Hanbook of Semi-Conductor Technology
- Electro-Optics Handbook
- Electrical Engineering Handbook, 3rd edition Engineering Reference TK7885.E44 2006
- Electronics Handbook Engineering Reference TK7867 .E4244 2005
RefWorks & Citation Style Guides
Refworks
- Refworks
Refworks is a citation and bibliography management tool. It is free to register for all Penn Students. - Refworks Tutorial
- Guide to Using Refworks with Library Databases
Zotero
- Zotero
Zotero is a free, easy-to-use Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, and cite your research sources - Zotero Quick Start Guide
- Zotero Microsoft Word Plug- in
- Zotero Server Access
EndNote
- EndNote
EndNote is an independent software that manages citations. While Penn does not provide this software, it does provide support to it's users. A web version of EndNote is available for use in ISI. - EndNote User Guide: How to Import References in EndNote
- EndNote Tutorial with Videos
- Accessing Full-Text Journals within an EndNote Library
- Guide to Manipulating Citations in EndNote
- Troubleshooting EndNote Problems
- Using EndNote for NIH PMCID Citations
If you need any further help, would like more assistance in getting started, or can't find what you are looking for, you can
contact our subject librarians:
| Douglas McGee | |
| Head, Engineering Library | |
| 217 Towne | |
| Email: dmcgee@seas.upenn.edu | |
| Phone: 215-898-8170 | |
| AIM/MSN/Yahoo:PennEngSciDir |
Top




