Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
Click here to IM, text, or chat
Research Guides
FindIt:

Sidebar

Main Content

The Company

Engineering Entrepreneurship
Executive Biographies
Who is the company head(s). What is their background, education, past work experience, and product invention. In addition to the sources listed below, do a patent search by the inventor's name to see what other products they have patented and for what companies.

Thomson Research.

Complete SEC filings. Easy to search. Links to Analyst Reports. For information on founders search for a company's S-1 filing(s) (the registration). You can also search the Proxy for executive and director bios.
Sample Search   Do an Edgar full text search. Search by company, keyword: management and filing.

Bloomberg

Available only at Lippincott Library or Huntman Hall. Includes biographies of management as well as links to news stories about individuals.

D&B Domestic Million Dollar Directory

Allows you to search by executive or search the executive bio section of the database by keywords such as "Wharton".
Sample Search   Use Advanced Search. Select: Contact Criteria: Executive Biographies..

Lexis/Nexis Academic Index

Another source for executive biographies. Search by executive name for articles about this individual.
Sample Search   Go to Reference and select Biographies.

Hoover's

Provides detailed executive biographies.

ZoomInfo.

Free web site.
The Company

It is much easier to find information for publicly traded companies. If you are researching a private company, the best way to get information is to search for articles about the company. You will want to find out about the company's history and financial well-being. What other products does it make? Who does it partner with? What do the analysts say?

Articles

Factiva

Covers news as well as company information. You can search for articles back to the early 1980's.

Sample Search   Click on the "Search" tab. Search by a company name. Change the date range to "all dates". Add a keyword.
Sample Search   Sample Search: Click on the "Company Markets tab". Search by a company name or ticker. Information includes current headlines, share price information, peer comparisons, and financials.

PROMT

Includes many trade publications; covers new product announcements, marketing strategies, and other information.
Sample Search   Search by a company name, such as Imaging Dynamics.

Directories

CorpTech.

Also available in CD-ROM format in Lippincott Library). A Database Search Aid is available for the CD-Rom product.

Company and product information for 50,000+ U.S. high tech manufacturers, developers and services, including U.S. divisions of foreign firms. Most are privately held or subsidiaries.. Provides a profile and a link to competitors.
Sample Search   Use "Product Finder,". Select a product and you will find a list of compnay profiles of companies in a particular marketplace.

Hoover's

Provides company histories, financial snapshots, competitors and other company information.
Sample Search   Search by Company Name.

Mergent Horizon. Covers 6,200 U.S. companies and ADRs with enhanced product-level detail (16,000 product descriptions). Includes a company's key relationships based on competitors, customers, suppliers and partners. It allows detailed screening with hundreds of quantitative and qualitative variables and custom formulas.

Mergent's Manuals

Includes detailed company histories including acquisitions, mergers and divestitures. These were previously called Moody's Manual and go back to the early 1900's.

Print volumes are located at the Lippincott Library Reference area. Older editions are in the Lippincott Peck Collection.

Orbis

Connects you to company financials, peer comparisons and Datamonitor Reports.

Sample Search   Search by a company name.
Sample Result   Use the tabs at the top of the page to link to financials, comparison reports. Click on the red arrow to access the Datamonitor reports.

SDC.

Available only in Lippincott Library, provides detailed information about IPOs, Mergers and Acquistions, and any VC funding.

Analyst Reports

Firstcall.

Sample Search   Search by Company Name or Ticker. Then click on Research in the left frame.

Investext

Includes analyst reports back to 1982. This is the best source for older analyst reports.
Sample Search   Search by a company name, such as Genentech.

Reuters Research On-demand.

SEC Filings

LivEdgar.
SEC Filings. Keyword searching available.
Sample Search   Click Global Search, then Go. Type a ticker such as JNJ in Ticker search box. In Free-text search box, type: license w/5 agreement.

Thomson Research

Includes complete filings history with the Securities and Exchange Commission. For many companies filings may go back to the mid-1980s.
Sample Search   Search by a company name or ticker. Select a filing, such as the 10-K or annual report. Check the "Management Discussion" as well as Items 1 and 2 of the 10-K to learn about the company's management plan and growth strategies.

*