Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
Click here to IM, text, or chat
Research Guides
FindIt:

Sidebar

Main Content

The Market / Market Place: Customers and Competitors

If you have a very new product, searching an existing one that is similar may give you an idea of the market and the competitors.

Customers

Mintel Reports

Market research reports. Users are required to set up a personal profile to use.
Sample Title   U.S. Attitudes toward health and pharaceuticals. 2005.

MRI+.

Consumer Surveys. Buying habits and medial preferences. First time users must register.
Sample Search   Click on MediaMark Reporter. Choose a Report volume and a Report. Or search by keyword.
Sample Title   Tooth Whiteners (not toothpaste)

Simmons/Choices III (CD-ROM available in Lippincott Library).

Choices III is a consumer survey produced by the Simmons Market Research Bureau. It is used to develop profiles of consumer buying habits and usage of various products, and to detail consumer media preferences. It includes U.S. adults age 18 years and older.

Sourcebook America (CD-ROM available in Lippincott).

Includes demographics for Zip Codes and Counties, offering more than 150 characteristics.

New Strategist Publications.

Sample Search   Use Advanced Search. Search for New Strategist in Author
Sample Title   The American marketplace : demographics and spending patterns

Market Research

Lengthy reports on various markets:

Business Insights Interactive.

International market research reports on the subjects of consumer goods, energy, financial services, healthcare and technology.
Sample Search   Drug Discovery
Sample Title   The Future of Metabolomics

Datamonitor Reports: Industry or Company


Contains Datamonitor Industry and Company Reports, international scope.
Sample Search   Use Advanced search. Click on the red arrow at the top of the page. Click on Industry or Company Tab. For Industry use the "alphabetical list."

Factiva Contains Datamonitor Company Profiles, Market Research Profiles and Datamonitor News and Comments
Sample Search   Use the Intelligent Indexing for Source and search for Datamonitor. Select the category that you want
Sample Search   Select Datamonitor News and Comment. In Free Text box, type "antigens"

Also includes Company Reports.
Sample Search   Sample search: Click on Company Profiles. Type in Company Name

Euromonitor's Global Market Information Database.

Examines consumer market sizes and profiles. Includes statistical data and market reports.
Sample Search   Select U. S. for "geography". Select Consumer Products --OTC

eMarketer.

eMarketer includes industry reports, company articles, market projections and analytical commentaries. It aggregates analyst's marketplace forecasts and numbers for technology adoption. It also has a valuable email newsletter, providing daily notices of new industry numbers.
Sample Search   Keyword Search: Pharmaceuticals. Retrieves articles, charts related to e-commerce.

Faulkner's Advisory for IT Studies.

Reports on areas of interest to IT, communications managers, and specialists in the areas of computer and communications technologies.
Sample Search   Click on Healthcare IT. Select RFID. Review articles and product reviews.

Forrester.

Requires registration. The first time used, you must register from this Library link. After that, just go to Foresster.com and log in. Technology and market research company that provides information on technology's impact on business and consumers.
Sample Search   Keyword Search: RFID. Narrow results by topic or industry.

InfoTech Trends.

Market data on computers, peripherals, software, storage, the Internet, and communications equipment. Details include sales and shipment forecasts, market share, installed base, and planned purchases. Quarterly data. Download data entries as Excel spreadsheets.
Sample Search   Select Years and Quarters to search. Do a Keyword Search: VOIP.

Mergent Industry Reports are accessible through Factiva.

Sample Search   Use the Intelligent Indexing to limit your search to "source=mergent".

Competitors:

Articles

ABI Inform

Sample Search   First search box: Adhesives. Second search box: (trends or outlook). Look at Suggested Topics for additional search terms.

Business Source Premier

Sample Search   First search box: medical devices. Second search box: (challenges or obstacles or problems). Use the Narrow results by subject function.

Directories

CorpTech.

Also available in CD-ROM format in Lippincott Library). A Database Search Aid is available for the CD-Rom product.
Company and product information for 50,000+ U.S. high tech manufacturers, developers and services, including U.S. divisions of foreign firms. Most are privately held or subsidiaries.. It will also give you a profile and a link to competitors. Using "Product Finder," you will find a list of profiles of companies already in a particular marketplace.

Hoover's Online

This database gives you a company history and, among other things, a list of competitors, parent companies of competitors.
Sample Search   Search by Industry Keyword--biotechnology. Shows largest competitors first.

ReCap (Lippincott Library only).

Directory information on the biotech industry, including clinical trial info.

Thomas Register

The most comprehensive online resource for finding companies and products manufactured in North America. (Requires free registration)

Analyst Reports

Reports on publicly traded companies. Also reports on industry sectors.

Thomson One Analytics. (First Call)

Sample Search   Search by Company
OR   Use the Screening tab and choose Research
AND   Select Criteria: All First Call, Date range. Highlight an industry (medical supplies) and run search

Reuters Research On-Demand.

Includes many foreign companies and industries.
Sample Search  
Use the selection tabs (companies, categorizations, industries), etc. to focus search. Click on the properties tab to enter keywords.

Mergers and Acquisitions

SDC. Library Only.

Zephyr.

M&A activity
.
Sample Search   Click on Search Criteria Locator. Select criteria (company name, type of deal, etc. to build search. Run search and click on List of Deals. click on any Deal for details/
*