Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
Click here to IM, text, or chat
Research Guides
FindIt:

Sidebar

Main Content

Information Resources in Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Identify literature in your field using databases

ENTREZ CROSS-DATABASE SEARCH - search across several NCBI databases to get a better idea of what is available
COMPENDEX - journal articles, conference papers, technical reports
Covers all disciplines of engineering.
SCIFINDER SCHOLAR (CHEMICAL ABSTRACTS) - journal articles, conference papers, books, technical reports, patents, dissertations
Deep coverage of chemical literature.
BIOSIS PREVIEWS - journal articles, conference papers, books
Coverage includes biology, biomedical research, biochemistry, biophysics, and bioengineering.
PUBMED PLUS (MEDLINE) - journal articles
Deep coverage of biomedical literature.
SCIENCE CITATION INDEX (WEB OF SCIENCE) - journal articles
Covers all areas in the sciences, and allows for cited reference searching/discovery.
EMBASE - a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing a wide variety of journals

Read what you've discovered

Link directly to the full-text articles from within the databases above (in some cases) using Full-Text or Penn Text links.
Search using FindIt! to see if we have the journal or conference available online.
Search Franklin, Penn Library's online catalog, to see if we have it in print. Request the article or book via Interlibrary Loan (ILL) if Penn doesn't have it.

Featured online content includes

Peruse some books

Try call numbers in the TP range (works in all campus libraries)
Look in the regular stacks, as well as the Reference collection
If Penn Library doesn't have it, try BorrowDirect+ or Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Presenting or writing a paper

For writing help, please browse call numbers in the T10.5-T11 range (works in all campus libraries), or consult the EIC program page.
For citation help, visit PORT or search Franklin for style manuals in the citation style that you are using. The appropriate subject heading is Authorship-Style Manuals.

For more info

Use the Library's E-Resources tool to Select by Interest:
"Chemistry & Chemical Engineering". Then explore the tabs!

For assistance, please contact

Douglas McGee
Assistant Director for Engineering and Physical Sciences Libraries
217 Towne
Email: dmcgee@seas.upenn.edu
Phone: 215-898-8170
AIM/MSN/Yahoo: PennEngSciDir

*