Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
Research Guides

Sidebar

Main Content

Information Resources in Computer and Information Science

Identify literature in your field using databases

ACM Guide to Computing Literature - journal articles, conference papers, technical reports, books, dissertations, theses
Covers computer science and information technology.
INSPEC - journal articles, conference papers, technical reports
Covers computer science, information technology, physics, electronics, robotics, control engineering, communications, and electrical engineering.
COMPENDEX - journal articles, conference papers, technical reports
Covers all disciplines of engineering.
MATHSCINET - journal articles, conference papers, books
Covers mathematical literature; unique in having signed reviews of indexed materials.
SCIENCE CITATION INDEX (WEB OF SCIENCE) - journal articles
Covers all areas in the sciences, and allows for cited reference searching/discovery.
SCOPUS - journal articles, conference papers
Covers all areas in the sciences, and allows for cited reference discovery.

Read what you've discovered

Link directly to the full-text articles from within the databases above (in some cases) using Full-Text or Penn Text links.
Search using FindIt! to see if we have the journal or conference available online.
Search Franklin, Penn Library's online catalog, to see if we have it in print. Request the article or book via Interlibrary Loan (ILL) if Penn doesn't have it.

Featured online content includes

ACM Digital Library - all ACM journal, conference, and newsletter publications
CiteSeer (ResearchIndex) - computer science conference papers, journal articles, preprints, algorithms
CogNet Library - books, journals, reference works, and conference materials in cognitive science
CogPrints - electronic e-print archive for cognitive science; includes many areas of computer science
Computing Research Repository (CoRR) - rapidly disseminated technical reports and conference papers in computer science
IEEE/IEE Electronic Library (IEL, IEEEXplore) - all IEEE and IEE journal and conference publications since 1988; all current IEEE standards
Lecture Notes in Computer Science - volumes published since about 2000 onwards
Penn CIS Department Technical Reports Archive
Safari Tech Books Online - online computer science and IT books, including many of the O'Reilly books
SPIE Digital Library - articles and conference papers published by the Int'l Society for Optical Engineering from 1990 - present. Covers optics, photonics, electronic and biomedical imaging, sensing, communications and fiber optics, micro- and nanotechnology
Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science - collection of 50-100 page "lectures" providing an in depth overview of current research and development topics.

Peruse some books

Try call numbers in the QA76 range (works in all campus libraries)
Look in the regular stacks, as well as the Reference collection
If Penn Library doesn't have it, try BorrowDirect+ or Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Presenting or writing a paper

For writing help, please browse call numbers in the T10.5-T11 range (works in all campus libraries), or consult the EIC program page.
For citation help, visit PORT or search Franklin for style manuals in the citation style that you are using. The appropriate subject heading is Authorship-Style Manuals.

For more info

Use the Library's E-Resources tool to Select by Interest:
"Computers & Electronics" or "Cognitive Sciences & Information Sciences". Then explore the tabs!

For assistance, please contact

Douglas McGee
Assistant Director for Engineering and Physical Sciences Libraries
217 Towne
Email: dmcgee@seas.upenn.edu
Phone: 215-898-8170
AIM/MSN/Yahoo: PennEngSciDir

*