Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
Click here to IM, text, or chat
Research Guides
FindIt:

Sidebar

Main Content

Information Resources in Mathematics

Locate Resources

Math/Physics/Astronomy Library website - highlights key resources for math, physics, and astronomy research.

Franklin - the Penn Libraries' online catalog of books, journals, and other resources at www.franklin.library.upenn.edu. Try a Subject Heading search for Differential Equations.

FindIt! - search Penn electronic resources, Franklin, Library FAQs, staff directory, and more. To retrieve individual journal articles, use the PennText Article Finder instead.

Additional online mathematics resources - go to MPA Library's Web page at www.library.upenn.edu/scitech/mpa under "Mathematics E-Resources," click the "Other Mathematics E-Resources" link.

Find Information

MathSciNet - comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature including journal articles, conference papers, books and book chapters. Access over 70 years of Mathematical Reviews and bibliographic data back to the 1800s.

Zentralblatt MATH - the world's most complete and longest running abstracting and reviewing service in pure and applied mathematics.

Web of Science - covers journal articles in all areas of the sciences from 1945 to the present. The key feature of this database is that it allows you to carry out citation searching.

JSTOR - is an online archive that provides full-text access starting with volume 1 to approximately the year 2009 of major math journals. Titles covered include "Annals of Mathematics," "American Journal of Mathematics," and "Transactions of the American Mathematical Society." Current contents of "American Mathematical Monthly," "Mathematics Magazine," and "College Mathematics Journal" are included.

Read What You Discover

Click the PennText Button button to:

  • Get the online full-text of the article, if available
  • Check the Franklin catalog to see if Penn Library owns the article or book in print
  • Request the item through Interlibrary Loan, if the Penn Library doesn't own it

Featured Online Content

American Mathematical Society Journals - online access to key titles from the Society.

"Lecture Notes in Mathematics" - full text of volumes published in this series beginning with volume 1.

Mathematics on arXiv - preprint server which offers full-text access e-print papers in mathematics. Recent articles have yet to be published in scholarly journals.

Research Consultations

Need help locating information on a topic? Can't find a specific article? Have a question, but not a lot of time? Contact the library for quick answers or an in-depth research appointment.

For Assistance, Please Contact

Lauren Gala, Math/Physics/Astronomy Librarian
milaur@pobox.upenn.edu or (215) 746 0228
or stop by the Math/Physics/Astronomy Library in Room 3N1 David Rittenhouse Laboratory

*