Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
Click here to IM, text, or chat
Research Guides
FindIt:

Sidebar

Main Content

Information Resources in Materials Science and Engineering

Identify literature in your field using databases

COMPENDEX - journal articles, conference papers, technical reports
Covers all disciplines of engineering.
INSPEC - journal articles, conference papers, technical reports
Covers computer science, information technology, physics, electronics, robotics, control engineering, communications, and electrical engineering.
PUBMED PLUS (MEDLINE) - journal articles
Premier database for biomedical literature.
SCIENCE CITATION INDEX (WEB OF SCIENCE) - journal articles
Covers all areas in the sciences, and allows for cited reference searching/discovery.
SCOPUS - journal articles, conference papers
Covers all areas in the sciences, and allows for cited reference discovery.
SCIFINDER SCHOLAR (CHEMICAL ABSTRACTS) - journal articles, conference papers, books, technical reports, patents, dissertations
Deep coverage of chemical literature.

Read what you've discovered

Link directly to the full-text articles from within the databases above (in some cases) using Full-Text or Penn Text links
Search using FindIt! to see if we have the journal or conference available online.
Search Franklin, Penn Library's online catalog, to see if we have it in print. Request the article or book via Interlibrary Loan (ILL) if Penn doesn't have it.

Featured online content includes

American Institute of Physics - conference proceedings and journals
Materials Research Society Symposium Proceedings - conference proceedings
Cambridge Engineering Selector - for materials selection and processes (Engineering Library only)
Knovel Engineering & Scientific Online Reference Works - over 800 reference works, including encyclopedias and handbooks
Optics Infobase - the Optical Society of America's online repository of both current and past volumes of all its journals
SPIE Digital Library - Covers optics, photonics, electronic and biomedical imaging, sensing, communications and fiber optics, micro- and nanotechnology

Peruse some books

Try call numbers in R856-857 (biomedical/biomaterials), TA400s (materials engineering), or TP1000s ranges (polymers). These work in all campus libraries, and you can also "virtually peruse the stacks" in Franklin
Look in the regular stacks, as well as the Reference collection
If Penn Library doesn't have it, try BorrowDirect+ or Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Presenting or writing a paper

For writing help, please browse call numbers in the T10.5-T11 range (works in all campus libraries), or consult the TCP program page.
For citation help, visit PORT or search Franklin for style manuals in the citation style that you are using. The appropriate subject heading is Authorship-Style Manuals.

For more info

Use the Library's E-Resources tool to Select by Interest:
"Materials Research" or "Engineering". Then explore the tabs.

For assistance, please contact

Douglas McGee
Assistant Director for Engineering and Physical Sciences Libraries
217 Towne
Email: dmcgee@seas.upenn.edu
Phone: 215-898-8170
AIM/MSN/Yahoo: PennEngSciDir
*