Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
Click here to IM, text, or chat
Research Guides
FindIt:

Sidebar

Main Content

Information Resources in Physics

Locate Resources

Math/Physics/Astronomy Library website - highlights key resources for math, physics, and astronomy research.

Franklin - the Penn Libraries' online catalog of books, journals, and other resources at www.franklin.library.upenn.edu. Try a Subject Heading search for Statistical Mechanics.

FindIt! - search Penn electronic resources, Franklin, Library FAQs, staff directory, and more. To retrieve individual journal articles, use the PennText Article Finder instead.

Additional online physics resources - go to MPA Library's Web page at www.library.upenn.edu/scitech/mpa under "Physics & Astronomy E-Resources," click the "Other Physics & Astronomy E-Resources" link.

Find Information

INSPEC - major physics database covering journal articles, conference papers, and books. Includes material related to physical chemistry, materials science, NMR, electronics and electrical engineering, and computer science.

Web of Science - covers journal articles in all areas of the sciences from 1945 to the present. The key feature of this database is that it allows you to carry out citation searching.

aXiv - preprint server which offers full-text access e-print papers in physics and related disciplines, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, computer science, and quantitative biology. Recent articles have yet to be published in scholarly journals.

Read What You Discover

Click the PennText Button button to:

  • Get the online full-text of the article, if available
  • Check the Franklin catalog to see if Penn Library owns the article or book in print
  • Request the item through Interlibrary Loan, if the Penn Library doesn't own it

Featured Online Content

American Institute of Physics Journals - online access to the full-text of all the journals published by this society, some of the titles available include "Applied Physics Letters," "Journal of Chemical Physics," and "Journal of Applied Physics"

American Institute of Physics Conference Proceedings - full-text of all the AIP conference proceedings from 1970 to the present

American Physical Society Journals - including ALL Physical Review titles from volume one onwards

American Astronomical Society Journals - online full-text access to key titles from the Society

Institute of Physics Journals - including "Journal of Physics" A-G and "European Journal of Physics"

Research Consultations

Need help locating information on a topic? Can't find a specific article? Have a question, but not a lot of time? Contact the library for quick answers or an in-depth research appointment.

For Assistance, Please Contact

Lauren Gala, Math/Physics/Astronomy Librarian
milaur@pobox.upenn.edu or (215) 746 0228
or stop by the Math/Physics/Astronomy Library in Room 3N1 David Rittenhouse Laboratory

*