Sidebar
Main Content
MEAM 502: Energy Engineering
The research process is complex and involves not only many sources, but many different kinds of sources. This guide is designed to help you navigate these sources and understand where they fit in the process. These resources and many others are also linked from the Science and Engineering Libraries Website, as well as a list of Energy E-resources.
Finding Books
- Franklin
Online catalog for Penn Library's collections. - WorldCat
WorldCat lists books held in many different libraries. Use BorrowDirect+ or Interlibrary Loan to order books that Penn does not hold. - Knovel Engineering
& Scientific Online Reference Books
Large collection of full text engineering handbooks, textbooks and reference sources. - Google Book Search
Permits searching of the text of selected books. You must create a free account for access to some of the books. Here's the link to create an account.
Finding Journal Articles
- Energy Citations
Database
Developed by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI). The database contains bibliographic records for energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC). - COMPENDEX/INSPEC
The broad subject areas of engineering and applied science are comprehensively represented. - ISI Web of Science
Multidisciplinary database. Premiere source for citation searching. - Scopus
Scopus is a comprehensive abstracting and indexing database covering scientific, technical, medical and social science research literature back to the mid-1800s, including 15,000 peer-reviewed journals from more than 4,000 publishers - Penn Libraries' Energy E-journal Holdings
Listing of energy-related journals available at Penn. Additional energy resources may be accessed by clicking the "bricks" at the top of the page.
Patent Databases
- Derwent Innovations
Index
Search more than 11 million patent records from 40 worldwide patent-issuing authorities. - esp@cenet - European
Patent Office
Full text of EP, WO and other patents back to the 1970's. - US Patent and Trademark
Office
Covers all US patents from 1790 onwards. Download or view high-quality images of the actual pages of the patents, including diagrams and structures from 1790 onwards. - United States Patent and
Trademark Office Manual of Classification
Patents are classified in the U.S. by a system using a 3 digit class and a subclass to describe every similar grouping of patent art. A single invention may be described by multiple classification codes.
Government and International Agencies
Publications, Data, and Statistics
- SourceOECD
Fulltext publications and statistical information from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Key energy statistics may be found at:
Web Resources
- Department of Energy
- Science Accelerator
Science Accelerator is a gateway to science, including R&D results, project descriptions, accomplishments, and more, via resources made available by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), and the U.S. Department of Energy - Arpa-E
The DOE's Advanced Research Projects Agency for Energy projects.
- Science Accelerator
- Energy Information Administration
- International Energy Agency
- International Atomic Energy Agency
- International Nuclear Information System
Database
The International Nuclear Information System (INIS) hosts one of the world's largest collections of published information on the peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology. It offers online access to a unique collection of non-conventional literature. INIS is operated by the IAEA in collaboration with over 150 members.
- International Nuclear Information System
Database
- National Science Board Report: Building a Sustainable Energy Future: U.S. Actions for an Effective Energy Economy Transformation
- Science.gov
News
- Environment&Energy Daily
Site dedicated to tracking environment and energy news in Congress. - Greenwire
Greenwire -- published daily -- is the one-stop source for people who need to stay on top of all of today's major environmental and energy action. - New York Times, Energy and Environment section
- MIT Technology Review, Energy Section
Encyclopedias and Handbooks
Encyclopedias
Handbooks
Manufacturing & Component Information
- GlobalSpec
Available on the internet from the above link providing instant access to over 590,000 electrical, mechanical and optical component families. You will need to register (this is free!) to access the product information. - Thomas Register of American
Manufacturers and Thomas Register Catalog File
Product information from American manufacturing companies. Access is free, although registration is required to search the database. It is an excellent source for finding out who makes what.
RefWorks & Citation Style Guides
Refworks
- Refworks
Refworks is a citation and bibliography management tool. It is free to register for all Penn Students. - Refworks Tutorial
- Guide to Using Refworks with Library Databases
Zotero
- Zotero
Zotero is a free, easy-to-use Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, and cite your research sources - Zotero Quick Start Guide
- Zotero Microsoft Word Plug- in
- Zotero Server Access
EndNote
- EndNote
EndNote is an independent software that manages citations. While Penn does not provide this software, it does provide support to its users. A web version of EndNote is available for use in ISI. - EndNote Tutorial with Videos
- Accessing Full-Text Journals within an EndNote Library
If you need any further help, would like more assistance in getting started, or can't find what you are looking for, you can
contact our subject librarians:
| Douglas McGee | |
| Head, Engineering Library | |
| 217 Towne | |
| Email: dmcgee@seas.upenn.edu | |
| Phone: 215-898-8170 | |
| AIM/MSN/Yahoo:PennEngSciDir |
Top



