Sidebar
Main Content
LRSM - Research Experience for Teachers (RET)
Table of Contents
Databases
Research Guides
Modeling and Simulations
Educator Resources
Additional Resources
Databases
Education
- ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) - from the U.S. Dept. of Education.
- Note: This is the only version of ERIC which has been updated since 2003.
- ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) - from EBSCO.
- ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) - from CSA
- Provides indexing to almost eight hundred education and education-related journals, as well
as research documents, speeches, and government publications. Focus is strongest on
the United States. Covers 1966-present. (Be sure to use the PDC below for more current resources, as ERIC have not been
updated since Fall 2003 following a government restructuring of the database).
- Professional Development Collection (PDC)
- Specialized index covering education and related fields. Indexes over 800 journals; 500 offered in full text journals. Many higher education journals are indexed here, full-text provided for some.
- Education Index.
- Indexes over five hundred journals in education comprehensively. A good number of these titles have full-text for recent years. Covers 1983 to the present. Note: You will need to select "Education Full Text" before you start searching.
Multidisciplinary Databases
- EBSCO MegaFile
- A combined index of EBSCO's Academic Search Premier and Masterfile Premier. Indexes both scholarly journals and popular periodicals. Strong from 1990s forward, although many titles are indexed back further.
- ISI Citation Indexes.
- The ISI Citation Indexes include the Science, Social Science and Arts & Humanities Citation Indexes. The database covers the full run of all three subfiles. Both keyword and citation searching are available. The database covers journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities.
Research Guides
- Finding ERIC Documents
- Resources for Chemistry Teachers
- Engineering Research Guides
- Chemistry Research Guides
- Information Resources in Physics
- Nanomaterials: It's a Small, Small World (A CSA Guide to Discovery)
- ISI Essential Science Indicators Report on Nanotechnology - Lists most cited papers, top authors and journals, and features 2 interviews. Note: From 200
- SciDev.Net Nanotechnology Quick Guide
Modeling and Simulations
- Biomedical
- Chemistry
- Materials Research
- Nanohub - NSF-funded online simulation services, courses and tutorials.
Educator Resources
- National Nanotechnology Initiative Education Center
- Exploring the Nanoworld - University of Wisconsin-Madison MRSEC Interdisciplinary Education Group
- IPSE Educator Resources
- MRSEC Guide Site - Access instructional materials created at MRSEC centers
- Learning and Teaching Resources for Materials Science and Engineering
Additional Resources
- GEM - The Gateway to Educational Materials - Access to educational resources found on federal, state, university, non-profit, and commercial Internet sites.
- MERLOT - Links to online learning materials are collected here along with annotations such as peer reviews and assignments.
- MIT Open Courseware - Provides free, searchable, access to MIT's course materials for educators, students, and self-learners around the world.
- National Science Digital Library
If you need any further help, would like more assistance in getting started, or can't find what you are looking for, you can always contact one of the Science and Engineering Librarians. For help with Biomedical questions, visit the Biomedical Library Reference Services page for their reference desk and contact information.




