Note that this is not a comprehensive guide to resources on the topic. It is intended to help you get to know your topic and to begin searching for primary sources. Also note that the resources are listed in no particular order.
If you need assistance finding additional resources or have questions, please contact Jen Jarson, Library Liaison to Women's Studies, by email at jarson@pobox.upenn.edu or via IM (AIM, Yahoo, MSN) at upennlibjen.
http://tags.library.upenn.edu/tag/engl96
Sidebar
Main Content
English/Women's Studies 96: Theories of Gender and Sexuality
Websites listed here provide useful background information, as well as relevant primary source documents.
PennTags Feed
"The Lesbian Herstory Archives of New York City, the largest and oldest Lesbian archive in the world, began in 1973 as an outgrowth of a Lesbian consciousness-raising group at the Gay Academic Union. The founders were concerned about the failure of mainstream publishers, libraries, archives, and research institutions to value Lesbian culture. It became obvious that the only way to insure the preservation of Lesbian culture and history was to establish an independent archives governed by Lesbians."
"The Forum is a non-partisan student organization of Harvard Law School dedicated to bringing open discussion of a broad range of legal, political and social issues to the Harvard Law School campus." The audio of past programs (some dating back to 1954) is archived here.
An online encyclopedia.
"In 1997 the Sophia Smith Collection (SSC) at Smith College received a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities to process eight collections: the papers of Constance Baker Motley, Dorothy Kenyon, Mary Kaufman, Frances Fox Piven, Jessie Lloyd O'Connor, and Gloria Steinem and the records of the Women's Action Alliance and the National Congress of Neighborhood Women. These six individuals and two organizations were chosen in large part because of their impressive achievements, as 'Agents of Social Change,' the name by which the project became known."
"This site offers two approaches for the study of specific time periods in American women's history. Each section includes a timeline that links specific events with highly relevant online sources, followed by a guide to research sources (e.g., census, newspapers, secondary sources) that are appropriate for the specified time period."
An online exhibit from the Jewish Women's Archive, "explor[ing] Jewish women's impact on feminism and on the American Jewish community."
"Gender Ads.com was begun a number of years ago to provide gender studies educators and students with a resource for analyzing the advertising images that relate to gender."
"The materials in this on-line archival collection document various aspects of the Women's Liberation Movement in the United States, and focus specifically on the radical origins of this movement during the late 1960s and early 1970s. Items range from radical theoretical writings to humourous plays to the minutes of an actual grassroots group."
"The resource contains transcripts, audio recordings, and edited stories of a series of interviews conducted in the spring of 1998. Members of the Sophomore Class at South Kingstown High School interviewed Rhode Islanders about their recollections of the year 1968. Their stories, which include references to the Vietnam War, the struggle for Civil Rights, the Assassinations of Martin Luther King and Robert Kennedy as well as many more personal memories are a living history of one of the most tumultuous years in United States history."
These databases will help you find citations for, and often full-text of, primary source documents on a variety of topics. Additionally, some contain scholarly articles.
PennTags Feed
Contains over one million Associated Press photographs (with searchable captions) in two collections, downloadable as JPEG (jpg) images: North American national, regional, state, and local photos with "the best international photos"; Euro/Asian photos. Also, AP Graphics Database provides PDF-format Associated Press-produced information graphics, diagrams, maps, charts, and logos for newspapers and other print media. Holdings: Photos: 1826 to present. Graphics: 1999 to present. Audio files: 1920s to present.
Contains 40,000 articles from more than 100 journals, magazines, newsletters, special reports, unpublished papers and conference proceedings devoted to gender and women's issues. Holdings: The database contains a large body of archival material, in some cases, as far back as 1970.
A searchable collection of primary documents and images on a wide range of topics pertaining to U.S. women's history.
This full-text database provides international coverage of current issues such as employment and the workplace, social & political issues, violence and exploitation, development and human rights, health and reproductive rights, legal issues, education, culture and customs, demographics, contemporary family life, and arts and media. Holdings: 1992 to the present, (selected reports back to 1990).
Indexes over 250 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Includes selected abstracts from research journals. Holdings: 1991 to present
Full-text database of newspapers, magazines, and journals from alternative and independent presses.
These microfilm sets are collections of primary source documents.
PennTags Feed
Herstory [microform]. Berkeley, Calif. : Women's History Research Center, 1971- Call#: Microfilm cont 319 Covers newsletters, journals, and newspapers published by women's liberation groups between 1956 and 1971. International in scope.
Underground newspaper collection [microform]. Wooster, Ohio, Micro Photo Division, Bell and Howell and the Underground Press Syndicate. Call#: Microfilm news 270. Listing of contents available in Van Pelt Reference Stacks at AI3.U54.
The following are just a sampling of texts of this kind.
You may find more by doing a keyword search for your topic in the Franklin catalog and adding and skey sources to the end of your search. This will search for the word sources in the subject heading field, thereby retrieving collections of writings such as legal documents, letters, diaries, family papers, etc.
You may also find more texts like these by following the links below to the Franklin record, going to the Detailed View (button above the book's title), and following the relevant LC Subject Headings links.
You may find more by doing a keyword search for your topic in the Franklin catalog and adding and skey sources to the end of your search. This will search for the word sources in the subject heading field, thereby retrieving collections of writings such as legal documents, letters, diaries, family papers, etc.
You may also find more texts like these by following the links below to the Franklin record, going to the Detailed View (button above the book's title), and following the relevant LC Subject Headings links.
- For more tips on searching Franklin, see the User Guide.
- For tips on using Franklin to find primary resources, see the guide.
PennTags Feed
Call#: Van Pelt Library HQ1420 .C65 2003
Call#: Van Pelt Library HQ1410 .M63 2002
Women and the national experience : primary sources in American history / [edited by] Ellen Skinner.
Call#: Van Pelt Library HQ1410 .W644 2003
Call#: Van Pelt Library HQ1426 .L475 1987
Call#: Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks HQ1410 .K444 1997
Call#: Van Pelt Library HQ1410 .E54 1999


