Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
Research Guides

Sidebar

Main Content

Basic Reference Sources for French Studies

Contents:

I. Research Guides, Handbooks and Bibliographies
Baker, Robert K. . Introduction to Library Research in French Literature. Boulder, Colo.: Westview Press, 1978.
Location: [Van Pelt Z2171 .B34]
The New Oxford Companion to Literature in French France, Peter, ed. Oxford; New York: Clarendon Press; Oxford UP, 1995.
Location: [Van Pelt Reference Desk PQ41 .N48 1995]
Kempton, Richard. French Literature: an Annotated Guide to Selected Bibliographies New York: Modern Language Association of America, 1981.
Brief but solid overview of the major bibliographic sources in the field.
Location: [Van Pelt Reference PQ103 .K45 1981]
Osburn, Charles B. Research and Reference Guide to French Studies. 2nd ed. Scarecrow Press, 1981.
Location: [Van Pelt Reference PC2071 .O82 1981]
Northcutt, Wayne. The Regions of France: A Reference Guide to History and Culture. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1996.
Location: [Van Pelt Reference DC33.7 .N63 1996]
Critical Bibliography of French Literature David Clark Cabeen, ed. Syracuse, N.Y.: Syracuse University Press, 1947- .
Location: [Van Pelt Reference Z2171 .C3]
Bassan, Fernande, Donald C. Spinelli and Howard A. Sullivan. French Language and Literature: An Annotated Bibliography. New York: Garland, 1989.
Location: [Van Pelt Reference Desk PC2071 .B39 1989]

II. Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

A. General

Dictionnaire de l'Académie française. Paris : Impr. nationale, c1992- . 9th ed. 2 vols.
Location: [Van Pelt Reference PC2620 .D455 1992]
Robert, Paul. Le grand Robert de la langue française. 6 vols. Paris : Dictionnaires Le Robert, c2001.
Location: [Van Pelt Reference PC2625 .R552 2001]
Trésor de la langue française; dictionnaire de la langue du XIXe et du XXe siècle (1789-1960) Paris : Impr. nationale, c1992- . 9th ed. 2 vols.
Location: [Van Pelt Reference PC2620 .D455 1992]
Le petit Larousse illustré. Paris: Larousse, 1972- .
Location: [Van Pelt AG25 .L25; latest issue in Reference]
Encyclopaedia universalis. Paris: Encyclopfdia universalis, c1993. 23 vols.
Location: [Van Pelt Reference AE25 .E3 1993]

B. Specialized

French Culture, 1900-1975. Catharine Savage Brosman, ed. Detroit: Gale Research, c1995.
Location: [Van Pelt Reference DC33.7 .F726 1995]
The Columbia History of Twentieth-Century French Thought.Lawrence D. Kritzman, ed. New York: Columbia University Press, c2006.
Location: [Van Pelt Reference DC33.7 .C575 2006]
Beaumarchais, Jean-Pierre de, Daniel Couty and Alain Rey. Dictionnaire des littératures de langue française. Paris: Bordas, c1994. 4 vols.
Location: [Van Pelt Reference PQ41 .B4 1994]
Beaumarchais, Jean-Pierre de, and Daniel Couty. Dictionnaire des oeuvres littéraires de langue française. Paris: Bordas, c1994. 4 vols.
Four-volume encyclopedia of French literary works arranged alphabetically by title.
Location: [Van Pelt Reference PQ41 .B328 1994]
Dolbow, Sandra W.Dictionary of Modern French Literature: from the Age of Reason through Realism. New York: Greenwood Press, 1986.
Location: [Van Pelt Reference PQ41 .D65 1986]
Levi, Anthony.Guide to French Literature. Chicago: St James Press, 1992. 2 vols.
Location: [Van Pelt Reference PQ226 .L48 1992]
Dictionnaire des oeuvres littéraires du Québec. Sous la direction de Maurice Lemire; avec la collaboration de Jacques Blais, Nive Voisine et Jean du Berger. 2nd ed. Montréal: Fides, 1980- . 7+ vols.
Location: [Van Pelt Library Reference PQ3917 .D5 1980]
Lettres françaises de Belgique: dictionnaire des oeuvres. Robert Frickx and Raymond Trousson. Paris: Duculot, 1988- . 4 vols.
Location: [Van Pelt Library Reference PQ3811 .Z5 1988]
Dictionnaire des oeuvres littéraires de langue française en Afrique au sud du Sahara. Sous la direction d'Ambroise Kom. 2 vols. Paris: Harmattan, 2001.
Location: [Van Pelt Library Reference PQ3980 .A52 K65 2001]
Dictionnaire de l'Histoire de France. Sous la direction de Jean-Frangois Sirinelli; et le conseil éditorial de Daniel Couty. Paris: A.Colin ; Larousse, 1999. 2 vols.
Location: [Van Pelt Library Reference DC35 .D54 1999]
Historical Dictionaries of French History.The series covers French history from the Revolution, including political, military, social, economic, and art history:
Historical Dictionary of the French Revolution 1789-1799. Samuel F. Scott and Barry Rothaus, eds. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, c. 1984-1985.
Location: [Van Pelt Reference DC147 .H57 1984]
Historical Dictionary of Napoleonic France, 1799-1815. Owen Connelly, ed. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, c1985.
Location: [Van Pelt Reference DC201 .H673 1985]
Historical Dictionary of France from 1815 Restoration to the Second Empire. Edgar Leon Newman, ed. New York: Greenwood Press, c1987.
Location: [Van Pelt Reference DC256 .H57 1987]
Historical Dictionary of the French Second Empire 1852-1870. William E. Echard, ed. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, c.1985.
Location: [Van Pelt Reference DC276 .H57 1985]
Historical Dictionary of the Third French Republic, 1870-1940. Patrick H. Hutton, ed. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, c1986.
Location: [Van Pelt Reference DC337 .H57 1986]
Historical Dictionary of World War II France: The Occupation, Vichy, and the Resistance, 1938-1946. Bertram M. Gordon, ed. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1998.
Location: [Van Pelt Reference DC 397 .H58 1998]
Historical Dictionary of the French Fourth and Fifth Republics, 1946-1991. Wayne Northcutt, ed. New York: Greenwood Press, 1992.
Location: [Van Pelt Reference DC401. H57 1992]
Dictionnaire du Grand Siècle. Frangois Bluche, ed. Paris: Fayard, 1990. A 1600+ page dictionary of the era of Louis XVI, spanning seventeenth and eighteenth century France.
Location: [Van Pelt Reference DC128 .D55 1990]
Furet, François, et al.Dictionnaire critique de la Révolution française (1780-1880). Paris: Flammarion, c1988. 1122 p.
Location: [Van Pelt Reference DC147 .F87 1988]
Translated by Arthur Goldhammer as A Critical Dictionary of the French Revolution.Cambridge, Mass.: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 1989. 1064 p.
Location: [Van Pelt Reference DC148 .D5313 1989]
Dictionnaire de la France du XIXe siècle. Sous la direction de Nadine Vivier, Noëlle Dauphin ... [et al.] Paris : Hachette, 2002.
Location: [Van Pelt Reference DC251 .D538 2002]
Boussinot, Roger.L'encyclopédie du cinema. [Paris]: Bordas, c1995. 2 vols.
Location: [Van Pelt Library PN1993.45 .B6 1995]
Dictionnaire du cinéma populaire français: des origines à nos jours. Sous la direction de Christian-Marc Bosséno et Yannick Dehée. Paris: Nouveau monde, 2004. 809 p.
Location: [Van Pelt Reference PN1993.5.F8 .D53 2004]

III. Grammars and Style Guides
Batchelor, R. E. (Ronald Ernest), and M. Offord.Using French: A Guide to Contemporary Usage. 3rd ed. Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 2000.
Location: [Van Pelt Reference PC2460 .B37 2000]
Batchelor, R. E. (Ronald Ernest), and Malcolm Hugh Offord.Using French Synonyms. Cambridge; New York: Cambridge UP, 1993.
Location: [Van Pelt Reference PC2591 .B37 1993]
Dubois, Jean, et al.Grand dictionnaire étymologique & historique du français. Paris : Larousse, c2005.
Location: [Van Pelt Reference PC2580 .D82 2005]
Duffy, Jean H.Using French Vocabulary . Cambridge, U.K.; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1999.
Location: [Van Pelt Library PC2445 .D84 1999]
Grevisse, Maurice. Le bon usage: grammaire française. 13e ed. Paris : Duculot, 1993.
Location: [Van Pelt Reference PC2112 .G84 1993]
Offord, M. H. A Student Grammar of French. Cambridge, U.K.; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2006.
Location: [Van Pelt Reference PC2112 .O34 2006]
Wakely, Richard, and Henri Béjoint. French Usage. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 1996.
Location: [Van Pelt Reference PC2460 .W35 1996]

IV. Indexes and Abstracts
Historical Abstracts (1974-present) Covers the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present from over 2,000 international journals. Historical Abstracts.
Location: [Storage D299 .H52; 1955-1999]
MLA International Bibliography(1963-present)
The Modern Language Association's International Bibliography covers literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Before 1970 the file is primarily limited to English language publications.
MLA International Bibliography of Books and Articles on the Modern Languages and Literatures. New York: Modern Language Association, 1955- .
Location: [Van Pelt Library PB1 .M443; latest two years in Reference]
Francis(1963-present)
Published by Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique of the Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique, Francis covers a wide range of journal articles in the humanities and social sciences. It is strong in religion, the history of art, and literature, and also covers art and archaeology, business, education, economics, geography, health, history of science, Latin American Studies, linguistics, management, philosophy, prehistory, and sociology. Updated monthly, 80% of citations include abstracts. Francis is the online successor of Bulletin Signaletique, which was published in separate series for specific subject areas. These include
Bulletin Signaletique.Section 523: Histoire et Sciences de la Littérature. (Paris, v. 23- 1969-1993)
Location: [Van Pelt Library PB1 .M443; latest two years in Reference]
Bibliographie der französischen Literaturwissenschaft. Frankfurt am Main: Klostermann, 1960- . Annual.
Arranged chronologically by historical period.
Location: [Van Pelt Library PQ3 .B426; latest 5 years in Reference]
French XX Bibliography. New York: French Institute-Alliance Frangaise, 1969- . Continues French VII Bibliography.
Annual listing of books, articles, and reviews concerning late-19th and 20th century literature.
Location: [Van Pelt Library PQ306 .F735; latest 5 years in Reference]
The Year's work in Modern Language Studies. London: Modern Humanities Research Association, 1930- . Annual.
An evaluative survey by noted scholars of the year's international books and articles on modern European non-English literatures.
Location: [Van Pelt Library PB1 .Y45; latest 5 years in Reference]
V. Biography
Archives biographiques françaises. Ed. Tommaso Nappo. Munich: Saur, 1988-
An index can be found at Van Pelt Reference CT1003 .I53 1998, or online at the World Biographical Index
Location: [Van Pelt Library Microfiche 905 and 1105]

VI. Histories
Price, Roger.A Concise History of France. 2nd ed. Cambridge, UK; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2005.
Location: [Van Pelt Library DC38 .P75 2005]
Ferro, Marc.Histoire de France. Paris: O. Jacob, c2001.
Location: [Van Pelt Library DC38 .F47 2001]
Haine, W. Scott.The History of France. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2000.
Location: [Van Pelt Library DC35 .H35 2000]
Histoire de la France des origines à nos jours. . Sous la direction de Georges Duby. Paris: Larousse, c2003.
Location: [Van Pelt Library DC38 .H495 2003]
Histoire de la France. 5 vols. Sous la direction de André Burguihre et Jacques Revel. Paris: Seuil, c2000.
Location: [Van Pelt Library DC39 .H57 2000]
The Oxford History of France.:
France in the central Middle Ages ages: 900-1200. Marcus Bull, ed. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2002.
Location: [Van Pelt Library DC61 .F58 2002]
France in the later Middle Ages, 1200-1500. David Potter, ed. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2003.
Location: [Van Pelt Library DC61 .F584 2003]
Renaissance and Reformation France, 1500-1648. Mack P. Holt, ed. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2002.
Location: [Rare Bk & Ms Library Furness Collection & Van Pelt Library DC111 .R43 2002]
Modern France: 1880-2002. James McMillan, ed. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2003.
Location: [Van Pelt Library DC361 .M58 2003]
Old Regime France, 1648-1788. Willam Doyle, ed. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2001.
Location: [Van Pelt Library DC125 .O53 2001] online version
Revolutionary France: 1788-1880. Malcolm Crook, ed. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2002.
Location: [Van Pelt Library DC148 .R486 2002]online version

Literature

Histoire de la littérature française. sous la direction de Daniel Couty. Paris : Bordas, 2004.
Location: [Van Pelt PQ116 .H57 2004]
Kay, Sarah. A Short History of French Literature. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2003.
Location: [Van Pelt Library PQ119 .K39 2003]
A New History of French Literature. Denis Hollier, ed. Cambridge, Mass.: Harvard University Press, 1989.
Location: [Van Pelt Library PQ119 .N48 1989]
VII. Finding Books and other Materials in Franklin
Franklin can be accessed from the library homepage [ http://www.library.upenn.edu/]. Franklin [ https://franklin.library.upenn.edu/] is the online catalog for all the Penn Libraries, with the exception of the Biddle Biddle Law Library, which has its own catalog. It accounts for over 98% of cataloged items, the remaining 2% being contained in the card catalog. Cataloged items include books, serials, journals, e-journals, newspapers, conference proceedings, sound recordings, video recordings, and bibliographic and numeric data files in electronic format acquired since 1968, as well as most older materials. Among materials only partially in Franklin are older serials that have ceased publication, holdings of the Rare Book & Manuscript Library, sound recordings on cassette tape or on LP, and research collections in microform. Not included in Franklin are citations to articles in magazines, journals, newspapers, and the listings of individual conference papers, essays in collections.

When doing author or title searches in Franklin, there are a few things to keep in mind: 1. Searches are truncated, i.e., you only need to enter as much information as you think is needed to find what you are looking for 2. Omit first articles (“the,”,“an,” “la,” “les,” “le,” etc.) in titles, but all words following must be entered exactly as they appear on the book’s title page. 3. Enter author names with the last name first (e.g., “Proust, Marcel,”). Capitalization is not important. An excellent way to use FRANKLIN is to search by Library of Congress subject heading. Some subject headings relevant for French Studies used in FRANKLIN are:
  • French literature
  • French literature 20th century history and criticism
  • French language dialects
  • French poetry
  • music France
  • art French
  • motion pictures France
  • motion pictures French (for videos -- not a Library of Congress heading)
  • France history
  • France history 1789-1815
  • France history 1789-1900
  • France history 1914-1940
  • Renaissance France
  • Enlightenment France
  • France civilization
Keyword searching is very useful for combining different concepts into one search, for restricting searches to geographic areas, and for identifying unfamiliar Library of Congress subject headings, especially from known catch-phrases. To make a search more precise you can limit the searching to specific fields. Keep flexible in your searches, using broader or different terms, when your results are small, and narrower terms when results are large and include many irrelevant titles. To learn all the variations possible see Keyword Search in the Franklin User Guide.
  • saints AND france
  • folk? AND (brittany OR normandy)
  • modernism AND (france or French)
  • skey France AND skey "united states" AND skey relations
  • skey France AND skey history AND publ cambridge
  • skey France AND skey history AND pubc strasbourg

VIII. Internet Resources
From the library’s homepage [ http://www.library.upenn.edu ] use the Browse by Subject link and view the various electronic resources found under "French Studies."; Below are a few of the more prominent portals:

ClicNet
"ClicNet, un site culturel et littéraire francophone." Maintained by Swarthmore College.
PERSEE
This is a documentary portal of French social science and humanities journals, created by the Ministère de l'éducation nationale.

Fulltext Literary Sites:

ARTFL
The ARTFL Project (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language) consists of nearly 2000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing.
Gallica
A digitization project of the Bibliothèque nationale de France.
*