Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
Research Guides
FindIt:

Sidebar

Main Content

Dissertations - Research Guide


DISSERTATIONS
Special Bibliography - Van Pelt Library - University of Pennsylvania

CONTENTS
INTRODUCTION
1. UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA THESES AND DISSERTATIONS
2. BIBLIOGRAPHY OF BIBLIOGRAPHIES
3. PREPARATION GUIDES
4. STYLE AND FORMAT GUIDES
5. NATIONAL BIBLIOGRAPHY
6. SUBJECT BIBLIOGRAPHY

INTRODUCTION
Dissertations and master's theses, although often very pertinent to a research topic, are rarely included in the usual network of national and publishers' bibliographies and they are often difficult to locate for this reason. The fact that publishing practice for them has varied considerably from place to place, and over time, also contributes to bibliographic problems. For example, until about forty years ago, many universities in the United States required that doctoral students actually publish their work before granting the degree. Many university presses existed solely to accommodate this requirement. In many European universities, this practice continues in one form or another. European practice differs from American in several ways, especially in the use of the term 'theses' (which among Europeans can refer to both doctoral dissertations and master's theses). And customs vary from country to country.

Bibliographies of dissertations can be divided into three categories:
1) those that are national in nature (the common American example is Dissertation Abstracts lnternational-see the NATIONAL BIBLIOGRAPHY section for a more detailed description),
2) those that have a subject focus, and
3) those that are specific to one institution. These can be located in Franklin usually under the name of the institution.
The following guide is useful for the first two categories. Dissertations and theses are also listed in other sources such as comprehensive subject indexes (e.g. Psychological Abstracts and national bibliographies.

1. UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA THESES AND DISSERTATIONS
The University Libraries maintain a comprehensive collection of all extant University of Pennsylvania dissertations and theses. Needless to say, in the past 250 years some have been lost; a separate file is maintained to identify these. Another historical problem exists with several departments and schools whose requirements have varied over time. For instance, the Wharton School required a thesis for MBA students until 1970. Even today, the requirements for Master's theses are not uniform throughout all the graduate schools. Nevertheless, copies are available in the library when a department required a copy be deposited. In Franklin they may be located under the authors name or key work. Subject access for these materials on Franklin is limited to department name, not Library of Congress subject heading, which is the usual procedure for most cataloged books. Some examples make this point clear:
Penn dissertations--Economics
Economics--Penn dissertations
Penn theses-History
History--Penn theses
Folklore and folklife--Penn dissertations
There are usually three and often four copies available at the library: 1) a cataloged copy, which circulates and is located in the stacks, 2) an archival copy, 3) a microfilm copy, and 4) for more recent dissertations an online copy available in the University of Pennsylvania's Scholarly Commons: Repository.

Call numbering makes it easy to browse recent dissertations in your program. A circulating copy of each
dissertation is kept in the appropriate library's open stacks, with call numbers constructed from the awarding program's Library of Congress class and a class number that puts dissertations at the very beginning of the class numbering sequence:
Psychology BF001
Social Work HV001
Anthropology GN001 (at Museum)
Political Science JA001
Economics HB001
International Relations JX001
Demography HB003
Education L001
SociologyHM001
Linguistics P001
Communication P002 (at Annenberg)

Within that call number, individual dissertations are arranged by year of award and then alphabetically by author's last name.

Of course, older dissertations will have been treated in different ways. For instance, pre-World War II dissertations often exist only as published offprints, sometimes escaping the usual subject heading and classification.

INTER-LIBRARY LOAN
Since it is impossible to purchase every dissertation that might be relevant to the collection of the University Libraries, in most cases they must be borrowed on Inter-library loan. An important exception is dissertations on Shakespeare; most are available in the Furness Library. Original copies of dissertations are often not available for Inter-library Loan with the important exception of those from fellow Research Library Group members including Columbia, Princeton, Stanford and Yale. The Center for Research Libraries, which holds an extensive collection of international dissertations, is another important source for inter-library loan requests.

Because of the extensive coverage of the University Microfilms International (UMI) program, most dissertations that can't be otherwise accessed can be obtained in either photocopy or microformat. Roughly 80 percent of all dissertations have been purchased by one library or another in this format. In fact, the Library of Congress has a nearly comprehensive collection on microfilm but these must be used on location in Washington. It is also possible for readers to order them direct form UMI at their own expense. (See their website for details: http://www.umi.com/hp/Products/Dissertations.html). NB: it is less expensive to purchase UMI products through our ILL department. Consult them for details. Dissertations and theses from European institutions can be obtained through the Inter-library Loan Department but can take up to nine months to be received. Many countries have distribution programs similar to UMI through their national libraries.

SUBJECT HEADINGS
Many more bibliographies are listed in Franklin under the headings of the following three types:

1. Dissertations, Academic----Bibliography;
2. --Dissertations--Bibliography;
3. --bibliography. Note that on the third type there is no indication in the subject heading that the bibliography is specifically dissertations.

2. BIBLIOGRAPHY OF BIBLIOGRAPHY
Reynolds, Michael M. GUIDE TO THESES AND DISSERTATIONS: An International Bibliography of Bibliographies. Rev. and enl. ed. Phoenix: Oryx Press, 1985. 263 pp.
Most up-to-date and comprehensive guide available. Arrangement is by broad subject category. Extensive subject, name and institution indexes are included and the work is meant to be comprehensive. It is especially useful for listings in journals and hard-to-find institutional lists. Helpful annotations are included. (Ref/Z/5053/Al/R49/1985)

A useful supplement to Reynolds is Bibliographic Index (Ref/Z/1002/B595), in which new book-length and periodical bibliographies of over 50 items are listed under the heading "Dissertations, Academic.' This source is especially useful for its "research in progress' list. For "in progress' lists also see the Newman article listed below.

Borchardt, D.H. and J.D. Thawley. GUIDE TO THE AVAILABILITY OF THESES. Munich; NY: K.G. Saur, 1981. 443 pp.
World-wide in scope, this guide is arranged by nation and then by name of institution. Provides such information as types of theses deposited, availability of inter-library loan, and lists of publications which include the institution's theses and dissertations. For each country, the national list of theses and dissertations is described. (Ref/LB/2381/B68/1981)

Allen, G. G. and K. Deubert. GUIDE TO THE AVAILABILITY OF THESES: II: NON-UNIVERSITY INSTITUTIONS. Munich; NY: K.G. Saur, 1984. 124 pp.
A supplement to Borchardt and Thawley to cover those institutions which grant higher degrees by theses but are not formally designated universities.
(Ref/LB/2381/AS5/1984)

Newman, Elmer S. and William R. Harden, Jr. "Dissertations in Progress: sources in the social sciences and humanities.' RQ 14 (1974), pp. 37-41. (/Z/671/R255)

Black, Dorothy M. GUIDE TO LISTS OF MASTER'S THESES. Chicago: American Library Association, 1965. 144 pp.
Although dated, this work is useful as a supplement to Reynolds' similar book, especially for institutional lists. (Ref /Z/5055/U49/B55/1955)

Palfrey, Thomas Rossman and Henry E. Coleman, Jr. GUIDE TO BIBLIOGRAPHIES OF THESES, UNITED STATES AND CANADA. 2nd ed. Chicago: American Library Association, 1940. 54 pp.
Some items are included here that are not in Reynolds or Black.
(Ref /Z/5055/U49/P3/1940)

3. PREPARATION GUIDES

Castetter, William Benjamin and Richard S. Heisler. DEVELOPING AND DEFENDING A DISSERTATION PROPOSAL. 4th ed. Philadelphia: Center for Field Studie-., Graduate School of Education, University of Pennsylvania, 1984. 75 pp.
Although aimed at graduate students in education, this book gives useful suggestions for writing dissertations in any discipline. (Ref Desk/LB/2369/C37/1984)

Garson, G. David. GUIDE TO WRITING EMPIRICAL PAPERS, THESES, AND DISSERTATIONS. New York: Marcel Dekker, 2002. 350 pp. (Ref Stacks/LB2369/g27/2002)

Glatthorn, Allan A. WRITING THE DISSERTATION: A Manual for Doctoral
Students. Philadelphia: Graduate School of Education, University of Pennsylvania, 1984. 81 pp.
A companion to Castetter and Heisler (above). Divided into three sections: 1) the nature of the dissertation, 2) the dissertation process, and 3) the writing process.
(Ref Desk/LB/2369/G58/1984)

Hart, Chris. DOING A LITERATURE REVIEW: RELEASING THE SOCIAL SCIENCE RESEARCH IMAGINATION. London: Sage Publications, 1998. 230 pp. (Van Pelt Stacks/H62/H2566/1998)

Mauch, James E. GUIDE TO SUCCESSFUL THESIS AND DISSERTATION RESEARCH: A HANDBOOK FOR STUDENTS AND FACULTY. New York: M. Dekker, 1998. 335 pp. (Ref Stacks/ LB/2369/M377/1998)

Meloy, Judith. WRITING THE QUALITATIVE DISSERTATION: UNDERSTANDING BY DOING. Mahwah, NJ: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, 2002. 224 pp. (Ref Stacks/LB2369/M38/2002)

Silbergh, David M. DOING DISSERTATIONS IN POLITICS: A STUDENT GUIDE. London, New York: Routledge, 2001. 189 pp. (Ref Stacks/ JA86/S55/2001)

4. STYLE AND FORMAT GUIDES

The following are some of the best-known guides for preparing dissertations. A more complete list is available in John Bruce Howell's STYLE MANUALS OF THE ENGLISH- SPEAKING WORLD: A Guide (Ref Desk/PN/147/H69/1983).

Achtert, Walter S. and Joseph Gibaldi. THE MLA STYLE MANUAL.
NY: Modern Language Association, 1985. 271 pp. (Ref Desk/PN/147/A28/1985)
Also see MLA HANDBOOK: For Writers of Research Papers, Theses- and Dissertations. 163 pp.
A briefer version of the MLA STYLE MANUAL with more examples.
(Ref /Desk/PN/ I 47/A28/1985)

Boyd, Jane and Don Etherington. PREPARATION OF ARCHIVAL COPIES OF THESES AND DISSERTATIONS. Chicago: American Library Association, 1986. 15 pp.
Provides standards for the physical production of a thesis. Issues such as mounting photographs, binding specifications and oversized material are covered. (Van Pelt/Z/701/B79/1986)

Turabian, Kate L. A MANUAL FOR WRITERS OF TERM PAPERS, THESES AND DISSERTATIONS. 6th ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1996.
308 pp. (Ref Desk/LB/2369/T8/1987)

UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA DOCTORAL DISSERTATION MANUAL. Issued by the Office of Graduate Studies for the Graduate Council of the Faculties. Revised October 2009.
Link: http://www.upenn.edu/provost/dissertation_manual

5. NATIONAL AND CONTINENTAL BIBLIOGRAPHY
Europe
Helfer, Christian. DISSERTATIONES LATINAE: EUROPDISCHE HOCHSCHULSCHRIFTEN DES 16.-19. JAHRUNDERTS. Saarbr|cken: Verlag der Societas Latina, Universitdt des Saarlandes, 1994. (Van Pelt Stack/Z5053/H45/1994)

Africa
Association of African Universities: Database of African Theses and Dissertations.
Bibliographic information with abstracts on dissertations and theses produced by African universities. Also describes dissertations and theses produced by other institutions and held by the participant libraries.

France
CATALOGUE DES THESES ET ECRITS ACADENGQUE. 1884/85-1958.
Arrangement is by discipline with author and subject indexes.

continued by:
CATALOGUE DES THHSES DE DOCTORAT SOUTENUES DEVANT LES UNIVERSITIS FRANGAISES. 1959-1980. (LIBRA/Z/5055/F78)
continued by:
INVENTAIRE DES THHSES DE DOCTORAT SOUTENUES DEVANT LES UNIVERSITIS FRANGAISES. 1981- . In three parts: 1) Droit, sciences economiques, sciences de
gestion; Lettres, sciences humaines, theologies; 2) Medecine, medecine veterinaire, odontostomatologic, pharmacie; 3) Sciences. Penn receives part one only.
(Van Pelt/Z/5055/F69/159) Latest 5 years in reference.

Germany--East and West
JARHESVERZEICHNIS DER HOCHSCHULSCHRIFTEN. 1885-
Both East and West German are included. Arrangement is by institution. Author and detailed subject indexes are provided. Since most German universities require publication for the doctorate, appropriate data are included. Last ten years in Reference. (Van Pelt/Z/5055/G39/B5) Also available for the years1945-1997 on CD:
(Van Pelt Library Reference Moelis CD Area Z5055.G39 D48 1998)

India
BIBLIOGRAPHY OF DOCTORAL DISSERTATIONS: Social Sciences and Humanities (India). 1975. (LIBRA/Z/5055/157/B5)
BIBLIOGRAPHY OF DOCTORAL DISSERTATIONS ACCEPTED BY INDIAN UNIVERSITIES, 1857-1970: Social Sciences. New Delhi: Inter-University Board of India, 1972. (LIBRA/Z/5055/157/156/1972)
Each volume is arranged by broad subject and subdivision with author indexes.

Switzerland
JAHRESVERZETCHNIS DER SCHWIZERISCHEN HOCHSCHULSCHRIFTEN. 1897/98-
An annual, broken down by university and faculty. Title, subject, and author indexes are provided. Not currently received. (Z/5055/S89/J2)

United Kingdom
INDEX TO THESES ACCEPTED FOR HIGHER DEGREES IN THE UNIVERSITIES OF GREAT BRITAIN AND IRELAND. 1950- (Ref /Z/5055/G69/A8)
RETROSPECTIVE INDEX TO THESES OF GREAT BRITAIN AND IRELAND, 1716-1950.
5 vols. (Ref /Z/5055/G69/R47)
The index does not include those higher degrees awarded 'solely in respect of published work.' Arrangement is by broad subject category, with detailed subject and author indexes to item numbers. Includes both master's and doctoral theses. A very important feature included in each issue is a table indicating the availability of theses from libraries and purchasing instructions as well. Semi-annual.

[Online, 1970-present, via Penn Library Web (as Index to British university theses]
http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/6851
The Retrospective Index includes: Vol. 1--Social Sciences and Humanities; Vol. 2-- Applied Sciences and Technology; Vol. 3--Life Sciences; Vol. 4--Physical Sciences;
Vol. 5--Chemical Sciences and addenda. Each volume has subject and author indexes with complete bibliographic information in each. Numerous cross-references are
provided. The editors intend the work to be a checklist and have no claims of bibliographic accuracy.


United States

ProQuest Digital Dissertations

The University of Pennsylvania subscribes to ProQuest Digital Dissertations, which allows online access to citations and abstracts for every title in the Dissertation Abstracts database.

Titles published since 1997 are available in PDF digital format and have 24 page previews available.

About ProQuest Digital Dissertations

With more than 1.6 million entries, the Dissertation Abstracts database is the single, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities. We add some 47,000 new dissertations and 12,000 new theses to the database each year.

The database includes bibliographic citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. The full text of more than one million of these titles is available in paper and microform formats. Institutional subscribers to ProQuest Digital Dissertations receive on-line access to the complete file of dissertations in digital format starting with titles published from 1997 forward.
This service replaces DISSERTATION ABSTRACTS/COMPREHENSIVE DISSERTATION INDEX for all intents and purposes.

Nevertheless, please consider: Comprehensive Dissertation Index (CDI) cumulates many earlier dissertation lists but must be used carefully. It is not comprehensive, as the title suggests, and it did not correct errors from the lists on which it is based.

Masters Abstracts Vol. I- . 1962-
Since fewer than 100 institutions participate in the program, the utility of the index is limited. The arrangement is similar to University Microfilms' better-known product, Dissertation Abstracts. Some foreign institutions are included. Penn has issues until 1990. A Cumulative Subject and Author Index to Volumes I-XV accompanies the index. Quarterly. (Z5005/U5/A535)
For master's theses a better bet would be WorldCat.

MASTER'S THESES IN THE PURE AND APPLIED SCIENCES. 1955-
Nearly 250 institutions in the United States and Canada are represented. Theses are listed by discipline and then by institution. No author or subject index. Some scientific subjects are excluded. (Van Pelt and Engineering/Z/7401/M35) Van Pelt has vols. 1-33; Engineering 34- .

Also consider The Center for Research Libraries international doctoral dissertations collection. CRL acquires foreign dissertations through member institutions' demand purchase requests and through deposit arrangements with foreign postsecondary institutions.

6. SUBJECT BIBLIOGRAPHY

The following titles are meant to be suggestive of the kinds that are available; many more could be added.

Accounting
Spiceland, J. David. DIRECTORY OF DISSERTATIONS IN ACCOUNTING. 2nd ed.
Princeton, NJ : Markus Weiner Pubs., 1996. 432 pp. (Lippincott/Ref/HF/5635/S655/1996)

Africa
Bratton, Michael and Anne Schneller. AMERICAN DOCTORAL DISSERTATIONS ON AFRICA, 1886-1972. African Studies Association, 1973. 165 pp.
(Z/35Ol/B7)

Lauer, Joseph. AMERICAN AND CANADIAN DOCTORAL DISSERTATIONS AND MASTER'S THESES ON AFRICA, 1974-1987, compiled by Lauer, Gregory V. Larkin and Alfed Kagan. Atlanta, Ga.: Crossroads Press, Emory University, 1989. 377 pages. (Museum Reference/DT3/L36/1989)

Africa, Northern
2000 THHSES SUR LE MAGHREB SOUTENUES DANS LES UNIVERSITIS FRANGAISES ENTRE 1968 ET 1994. Tours: URBAMA, Centre d'itudes et de recherches sur l'urbanisation du monde arabe, 1995. 311 pp. (Van Pelt Stacks/DT185/A12/D489/1995)

Africa, Southern
Pollak, Oliver B. and Karen Pollak. THESES AND DISSERTATIONS ON SOUTHERN AFRICA: An International Bibliography. Boston: G. K. Hall, 1976.
236 pp. (Ref /DT/729.5/P66)

American Literature--Southern States
Emerson, O. B. and Marion C. Michael. SOUTHERN LITERARY CULTURE:
A Bibliography of Masters' and Doctors' Theses. Rev. and enl. ed. University: University of Alabama Press, 1979. 400 pp. (VanPelt/PS/261/E46/1979)

Anthropology
McDonald, David R. MASTERS' THESES IN ANTHROPOLOGY: A Bibliography of Theses from United States Colleges and Universities. New Haven, CT:
HRAF Press, 1977. 319 pp. (Museum/GN/25/H33)

Howard-Hill, T.H. (Trevor Howard). BRITISH BOOK TRADE DISSERTATIONS TO 1980. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Summertown, 1998. 314pp. (Van Pelt Stacks/ Z325/H69/1998)

Burma
BURMA: An Annotated Bibliographical Guide to International Doctoral Dissertation Research, 1898-1985.
Lanham, MD: University Press of America; Washington, DC:
Wilson Center, 1986. 247 pp. (Ref /DS/527.4/S55/1986)

Canada
Jones, Linda M. CANADIAN STUDIES: FOREIGN PUBLICATIONS AND THESES, 4th edition. Ottawa, Ont.: International Council for Canadian Studies, 1992. 525 pp. (Ref Stacks/Z1385/J65/1992)

China
Schulman, Frank Joseph. DOCTORAL DISSERTATIONS ON CHINA AND ON INNER ASIA, 1976-1990: AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY OF STUDIES IN WESTERN LANGUAGES. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1998. 1,055pp. (Van Pelt East Asia Seminar/DS706/A12/S49/1998)

Classics
Drexhage, Hans-Joachim. DEUTSCHSPRACHIGE DISSERTATIONEN ZUR ALTEN GESCHICHTE: 1844-1978. Hamburg: Gabel, 1977. 198 pp. (VanPelt/Z/6207/G7/D73)
Thompson, Lawrence S. A BIBLIOGRAPHY OF DISSERTATIONS IN CLASSICAL STUDIES: American, 1964-1972; British, 1950-1972; with a Cumulative Index, 1961-1972. Hamden, CT: Shoe String Press, 1976. 296 pp. (Ref /PA/91/T52/1976)

Education--History
Beauchamp, Edward R. DISSERTATIONS IN THE HISTORY OF EDUCATION. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1985. (Ref /LA/I I/B382/1985)

English and American Literature
Gabel, Gernot U. CATALOGUE OF AUSTRIAN AND SWISS DISSERTATIONS (1875-1995) ON ENGLISH AND AMERICAN LITERATURES. Hurth: Edition Gemini, 1997. 222pp. (Van Pelt Stacks/PR83/G23/1997)

McNamee, Lawtouze Francis. DISSERTATIONS IN ENGLISH AND AMERICAN LITERATURE: Theses Accepted by American, British and German Universities, 1865-1964.
1124 pp. Supplement one, 1964-1968. 450 pp. Supplement two, 1969-1973. 690 pp. NY: Bowker, 1968. (Ref/Z/5053/M32)

English Literature--19th Century
Altick, Richard D. and William R. Matthews. GUIDE TO DOCTORAL DISSERTATIONS IN VICTORIAN LITERATURE, 1886-1958. Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 1960. 119 pp. (VanPelt/Z/2013/A4)

Ethnic Groups
Cordasco, Francesca and David N. Alloway. AMERICAN ETHNIC GROUPS, THE EUROPEAN HERITAGE: A Bibliography of Doctoral Dissertations completed at American Universities. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow,
1981. 366 pp. (VanPelt/E/184/E95/C67)

Kerst, Catherine Hiebert. ETHNIC FOLKLIFE DISSERTATIONS FROM THE UNITED STATES AND CANADA, 1960-1980: A Selected Annotated Bibliography.
Washington, DC.- American Folklife Center, Library of Congress, 1986. 69 pp. (Ref/GR/105/K37/1986)

Folklore
Dundes, Alan. FOLKLORE THESES AND DISSERTATIONS IN THE UNITED STATES. Austin: University of Texas Press, 1976. 610 pp. (Ref/GR/65/D86)

Ghana
Kaf e, Joseph Kofi. GHANA: An Annotated Bibliography of Academic Theses
1920-1970 in the Commonwealth, the Republic of Ireland and the United States of America. Boston: G. K. Hall, 1973. 219 pp. (Ref/Z/3785/K33)

Great Britain--Biography
Reel, Jerome V. INDEX TO BIOGRAPHIES OF ENGLISHMEN, 1000-1485, FOUND IN DISSERTATIONS AND THESES. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1975. 689 pp.
(Ref /CT/774/R43)

History
HOCHSCHULSCHRIFTEN ZUR GESHICHTE UND KULTUR DES MITTELATLERS 1939 BIS 1972/74: (DEUTSCHLAND, VESTERREICH UND SCHWEIZ). 3 vols. Munich: Monumenta Germaniae, 1975. (D/117/H58)

Jacobs, Phyllis M. HISTORY THESES, 1901-1970: Historical Research for Higher Degrees in the Universities of the United Kingdom. London: Institute for Historical Research, 1976. 456 pp. (Ref/Z/5055/G69/J29)

Kuehl, Warren F. DISSERTATIONS IN HISTORY: An Index to Dissertations
completed in History Departments of United States and Canadian Universities.
2 vols. Lexington: University of Kentucky Press, 1965-1972. 249 pp.; 237 pp. Continued by a volume covering 1970-June 1980. 466 pp. (VanPelt /D/21.3/K82)

HISTORY THESES 1981-90: HISTORICAL RESEARCH FOR HIGHER DEGREES IN THE UNIVERSITIES OF THE UNITED KINGDOM. London: University of London, Institute of Historical Research, 1994. 319 pp. (Ref/D20/H546/1994)

India
Krishan Gopal. THESES ON INDIAN SUB-CONTINENT, 1877-1971: An Annotated Bibliography of Dissertations in the Social Sciences and Humanities accepted with the Universities of Australia, Canada, Great Britain and Ireland, and the United States of America. Delhi: Hindustan Publishing Corp., 1977. 462 op. (DS/335/K75)

Music
Adkins, Cecil. INTERNATIONAL INDEX OF DISSERTATIONS AND MUSICOLOGICAL WORKS Philadelphia: International Musicological Society, 1977. 422 pp.
and supplements. (ML/128/Mg/A4)

Native Americans
Dockstader, Frederick J. THE AMERICAN INDIAN IN GRADUATE STUDIES: A Bibliography of Theses and Dissertations. 2 vols. NY: Museum of
the American Indian, Heye Foundation, 1973-1974. (Museum/E/Il/N52/Vol. 25)

Singerman, Robert. INDIGENOUS LANGUAGES OF THE AMERICAS: A BIBLIOGRAPHY OF DISSERTATIONS AND THESES. Lanham, MD: Scaecrow Press, 1996. 311 pp. (Muesum Ref/PM108/S56/1996)

Physics
Markworth, Ni Lois. DISSERTATIONS IN PHYSICS: An Indexed Bibliography of All Doctoral Theses accepted by American Universities, 1861-1959. Stanford, CA: Stanford University Press, 1961. (Z/714 I /M3)

Soviet Union
Dossick, Jesse John. DOCTORAL RESEARCH ON RUSSIA AND THE SOVIET UNION, 1960-1975: A Classified List of 3,150 American, Canadian, and British
Dissertations with some Critical Statistical Analysis. NY: Garland, 1976.
345 pp. (VanPelt/DK/17/D67/1976)

Spanish Drama
Reynolds, John J. SPANISH GOLDEN AGE DRAMA: AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY OF UNITED STATES DOCTORAL DISSERTATIONS, 1899-1992; WITH A SUPPLEMENT OF NON-UNITED STATES DISSERTATIONS. New York: Modern Language Association of America, 1998. 573 pp. (Van Pelt Stacks/PQ6105/R39/1998)

Theatre
Litto, Fredric NC AMERICAN DISSERTATIONS ON THE DRAMA AND THE THEATRE: A Bibliography. Kent, OH: Kent State University Press, 1969. 319 pp.
(Z/5781/L56)

Wales
Davies, Alun Eirug. WELSH LANGUAGE AND WELSH DISSERTATIONS, 1887-1996. Cardiff: University of Wales Press, 1998. (Ref/Z2071/D38/1998)

Women's Studies
Gilbert, Victor Francis. WOMEN'S STUDIES: A Bibliography of Dissertations 1870-1982. NY: B. Blackwell, 1985. 496 pp. (Ref /HQ/1 180/G55/1985)

*