Research Guides
FindIt:

Finding Quick Facts

*
This guide is intended to give you ideas about finding facts or background information from online encyclopedias, dictionaries, factbooks, and other reference material.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia Britannica: good for quick facts or lengthy discussion of events, people, or places.
One
Here are three other encyclopedias the Library also subscribes to:
*Access Science: a great encyclopedia for science and technology.
*American National Biography: for biographical information on Americans who died prior to 1996.
*Encyclopaedia of Islam: "The" place to go for scholarly information concerning Islam.
*Women's Studies Encyclopedia: information about women from all fields and disciplines of study.
Want More?
The Penn Library has many specialized subject-related dictionaries and encyclopedias. For starters, you could try the Oxford Reference Online, a collection covering all subject areas. You can search them altogether, by subject, or individual titles.
Want Even More?
Use the drop-down search tool at the top of the E-Resources webpage. Select an area of Interest and the "Encyclopedias & Subject Dictionaries" Type.
*
*
*

Dictionaries:

Two
*Oxford English Dictionary: Use this to discover how a word has been used historically in English literature.
*Webster's Unabridged: Your standard no-nonsense dictionary.
*
*
*

Fact Books:

Three
*Facts on File: News archive summaries from 1940-present.
For more news sources, go to E-Resources - News Sources
*Statistical Abstract of the United States: Historical statistics of the U.S. from 1878-present (with backfile in progress).
For more statistical sources, go to E-Resources - Data Sets & Statistics (grouped by subject) or the Good Starting Points For Finding Statistics web page
*
*
*

Ask Us:

Never hesitate to ask us for assistance. You can:
Four
*Ask us with a handy form.
*Call us on the phone.
*IM us or use LiveChat for instant help online.
*Make an appointment with a librarian.
*
*
*