|
Unlike most Special Bibliographies, which present reference sources appropriate
to a certain academic discipline or subject area (e.g., American History
or City Planning), this annotated list identifies the types of sources
that provide bibliographic control in the broad range of areas we call
the social sciences and humanities. Comprehensive inclusive sources, such
as national bibliographies, national library catalogs, indexes and abstracts,
bibliographies of bibliographies, and so on, are described and related
to a system of bibliographic control. Normally, only English-language
examples are listed, however similar sources are produced for most countries
and languages.
Other Special Bibliographies complement and supplement this one; ask
at the Reference Desk for a list of those available and for any information
assistance you may need.
CONTENTS:
1.Guides to Reference Sources
2.Bibliographies
3.National Bibliographies and National Library Catalogs
4.Comprehensive Bibliographies
5.Serial Bibliographies, Indexes, and Abstracts
- Finding Periodical Articles
Online Literature Searching
6.Periodical Directories and Finding Tools
7.Book Review Sources
8.Directories
9.Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
10.Newspaper Indexes
11.Newspaper Locating Tools
Sources marked with an asterisk (*) have corresponding searchable electronic
databases covering the same material in
varying degrees of completeness
GUIDES TO REFERENCE SOURCES
Definition: Guides provide a systematic introduction to the literature
of a field. They usually identify the basic reference
sources useful in a discipline, such as major bibliographies, indexes,
handbooks, etc. Some guides include background or
state-of-the-art essays, detailed classification of the field, research
methodology, and surveys of the major monographic and
article literature.
Balay, Robert, ed. GUIDE TO REFERENCE BOOKS. 11th ed. Chicago: American
Library Association, 1996. 2020p.
The basic American guide to about 15,000 reference works in all subject
areas. Classified arrangement, with author,
subject, and title index. Brief descriptive annotations with most entries
and longer descriptions of major works.
[Ref Desk Z 1035.1 G89 1996]
Walford, A. J. WALFORD'S GUIDE TO REFERENCE MATERIAL. 8th ed. London:
The Library Association, 1999- . 3 vol.
The British equivalent of Balay. More European materials are included,
and annotations are frequently longer. Each
volume has authortitle and subject indexes. The 8th edition is in progress.
Vol. 1, "Science and Technology"; Vol. 2,
"Social and Historical Sciences, Philosophy and Religion"; Vol.
3, "Generalities."
[Ref Desk Z 1035.1 W348 1999]
Webb, William H. et al. SOURCES OF INFORMATION IN THE SOCIAL SCIENCES.
3rd ed. Chicago: American Library Association, 1986. 777p.
Divides the social sciences into eight categories: history, geography,
economics and business administration,
sociology, anthropology, psychology, education, and political science.
For each discipline an expert reviews the
literature and provides lists of selected monographs and journal articles,
reference tools, journal titles, associations,
etc. Well indexed.
[Ref Desk H 61 S666 1986]
There are a number of one-volume guides to reference works aimed at the
library school student, the college student, and
the layperson. Although these are necessarily highly selective, such guides
do cover basic reference sources in some detail.
To find them, check the subject headings "Reference books" and
"Reference books--Bibliography" in Franklin or in the
main or reference card catalogs. Two examples are:
Sader, Marion, ed. TOPICAL REFERENCE BOOKS. New Providence, NJ: Bowker,
1991.
[Ref Desk Z 1035.1 T66 1991]
Swidan, Eleanor A. REFERENCE SOURCES: A BRIEF GUIDE. 9th ed. Baltimore:
Enoch Pratt Free Library, 1988.
175 pp.
[Ref Z 1035.1 E52]
-
BIBLIOGRAPHIES
Definition: Bibliographies are organized lists of books, journal
articles, etc., usually arranged by author or subject, which have
something in common, such as: subject area (topical bibliographies),
author, country of publication (national bibliographies), or physical
location (library catalogs). In most cases, the criteria for selection
are explained in the bibliography's preface or introduction along
with other specifications such as chronological coverage. Full bibliographic
information and, often, a descriptive or evaluative annotation is
given for each cited work.
Besterman, Theodore. WORLD BIBLIOGRAPHY OF BIBLIOGRAPHIES. 4th ed.
Lausanne: Societas Bibliographica, 1965-66. 5 vol.
International, classified listing of more than 117,000 separately
published bibliographies. Index by author, title, libraries, etc.
[Ref Z 1002 B5685]
Toomey, Alice. A WORLD BIBLIOGRAPHY OF BIBLIOGRAPHIES, 1964-74. Totowa,
NJ:Rowman & Littlefield, 1977. 2 vol.
Supplements Besterman, but lists only books.
[Ref Z 1002 T67]
BIBLIOGRAPHIC INDEX, 1937- . NY: Wilson, 1938- .
Index to bibliographies published in periodicals, books, and pamphlets.
Arranged by subject. Cumulates annually.
[Ref Z 1002 B595]
-
-
NATIONAL BIBLIOGRAPHIES AND LIBRARY CATALOGS
Nelson, Bonnie R. A GUIDE TO PUBLISHED LIBRARY CATALOGS. Metuchen,
NJ: Scarecrow, 1982.
Annotated bibliography of 429 catalogs of "significant"
library collections which have been published in the last twenty years.
Arranged into 33 subject categories for geographic areas (e.g., Middle
East) or topics (e.g., women's studies). Lengthy annotations describe
scope, arrangement, exclusions, etc. Index by library name and specific
subject. Good introduction on the history of library catalogs.
[Ref Desk Z 710 N44]
United States
NATIONAL UNION CATALOG. Pre-1956 Imprints. London: Mansell, 1968-80.
Supplement, 1981. 754 vol.
Major access tool for holdings of U.S. libraries. "A cumulative
author list representing Library of Congress printed cards and titles
reported by other American libraries." Replaces the Library of
Congress Catalog of Books (1942) and all the published National Union
Catalogs through 1958. Author/main entry access only. Gives locations
in major libraries in U.S. and Canada.
[West end of Reference Room]
New York (City). Public Library. Research Libraries. DICTIONARY CATALOG
OF THE NEW YORK PUBLIC LIBRARY, 1911-1971. NY: The Library, printed
and distributed by G. K. Hall, 1979. 800 vol.
Dictionary catalog of the Library's research collection of books and
booklike materials through 1971. Materials in Roman alphabet languages
only. Nine million cards for 4 million volumes in the humanities,
performing arts, sciences, technology, social sciences as well as
other general areas. Author, title and subject entries in single alphabetical
sequence. Lists many essays in collections, articles in periodicals
and other subvolume materials, as well as books. Subject headings
and filing rules are unlike those used in Van Pelt; see Guide shelved
with the catalog. Also listed in the guide are other catalogs from
different divisons of NYPL.
[West end of Reference Room]
http://www.nypl.org/
ABPR: AMERICAN BOOK PUBLISHIGN RECORD. 1960-- . Monthly listing of
new books published in the American book trade. Annual and quinquennial
cumulations. (Z/1201/A52) Latest 5 years in reference.
RLIN and OCLC/WorldCat are two very large computerized bibliographic
databases, each of which provides access to books, serials, documents,
recordings, etc. in a number of U.S. and foreign libraries. Between
the two databases over 30,000,000 titles are listed in more than 13,000
libraries in 43 countries. Although their search capabilities are not
identical, both systems provide access points not available in printed
sources and are therefore especially useful for verification and location.
RLIN/Eureka also has an extensive manuscripts location file (AMC) with
detailed descriptions of holdings. Both RLIN/Eureka and OCLC/WorldCat
are readily available on the Library's Web.
Great Britain
British Museum. Department of Printed Books. GENERAL CATALOGUE OF
PRINTED BOOKS. London: 1965-66.
Supplements, 1956-65, 1966-70, 1971-75, 1976-82, 1982-85.
Author catalog to holdings of BM. Many items not listed in NUC. Some
quirks (e.g., periodicals listed together in v. 184-87 under place
of publication).
[West end of Reference Room]
* BRITISH NATIONAL BIBLIOGRAPHY, 1950- . London: 1950- .
Weekly listing with quarterly, annual and 5-year cumulations. Arranged
by Dewey classification. Full bibliographic information included.
British imprints only. Author and title index in each issue.
[Ref Z 2001 B75]
http://www.bl.uk/
France
Paris. Bibliotheque Nationale. CATALOGUE GENERAL DES LIVRES IMPRIMES:
AUTEURS. Paris: Imprimerie Nationale, 1900-1981. 231 vol.
Alphabetical author catalog of France's national library, current
up to date of publication of individual volumes (e.g., vol. 1 up to
1897) or up to 1959. A supplement on microfiche fills in the titles
upto 1959. Excludes anonymous classics, periodicals, society transactions,
government publications and works by corporate authors.
[Ref Z 927 P2]
Paris. Bibliotheque Nationale. CATALOGUE GENERAL DES LIVRES IMPRIMES:
AUTEURS, COLLECTIVITES-AUTEURS, ANONYMES, 1960-69. Paris, 1972-78.
Same as basic catalog with addition of anonymous works and corporate
authors. Series I lists Roman alphabet works; Series II lists non-Roman
languages such as Russian, Arabic, Hebrew.
[Ref Z 927 P19572]
http://www.bnf.fr/
* BIBLIOGRAPHIE DE LA FRANCE. Paris: Cercle de la Librarie, 1811-
.
Weekly listing of copyright material (books, pamphlets, etc.) received
by the Bibliotheque Nationale. Arranged into subject group with annual
author and title indexes. Various supplements cover theses, periodicals,
maps, government publications, etc.
[Ref Z 2165 B58]
Germany
* DEUTSCHE BIBLIOGRAPHIE. Frankfurt am Main: BuchhandlerVereinigung,
1947- .
Aims to record all material published anywhere in German. These series
are currently published: Reihe A (weekly) covers trade publications
and is arranged into 25 subject categories with cumulative author
and subject indexes appearing monthly and quarterly; Reihe B (monthly)
covers nontrade publications; and Reihe C (published six times per
year) lists maps. The Halbjahresverzeichnis, published twice a year,
cumulates all parts of A and B. It has two alphabetical sequences,
author and title (Alphabetische Verzeichnis) and keyword and subject
(Schlagwort und Stichwortverzeichnis)
[Ref Z 2221 F73]
The five-year cumulations, Deutsche Bibliographie: Funfjahres Verzeichnis,
cover material from all three series
and follow the same format as the half-year ones
[Ref Z 2221 D47].
GESAMTVERZEICHNIS DES DEUTSCHSPRACHIGEN SCHRIFTTUMS (GV): 1700-1910.
M|nchen: K. G. Saur, 1979-1987. 160 vol.
[Ref Z 2221 G46]
GESAMTVERZEICHNIS DES DEUTSCHSPRACHIGEN SCHRIFTTUMS (GV): 1911-1975.
M|nchen: K. G. Saur, 1976-81. 150 vol.
Cumulation and integration of main entries from some fifteen German-language
national bibliographies and dissertation lists.
[Ref Z 2221 G47]
http://www.ddb.de/
Italy
BIBLIOGRAFIA NAZIONALE ITALIANA. Florence: Biblioteca Nazionale Centrale,
1958 .
Monthly listing in Dewey order with author and anonymous title indexes.
Annual cumulative volume arranged by author/main entry.
[Ref Z 2341 B5]
CATALOGO CUMULATIVO, 1886-1957. Florence: Biblioteca Nazionale, 1968-80.
Main-entry list of all items received through deposit system in Italy's
national library.
[Ref Z 2345 F65]
http://www.bncf.firenze.sbn.it/
COMPREHENSIVE BIBLIOGRAPHIES
* CUMULATIVE BOOK INDEX. NY: Wilson, 1898- .
CBI, as it is commonly known, lists books published in English anywhere
in the world. Appears monthly with yearly and greater cumulations. Arranged
into single alphabetical listing of authors, subjects, and titles.
[Van Pelt/1219/M78]
* BOOKS IN PRINT. NY: Bowker, 1948- .
Annual listing by author, title, and subject of those books commercially
available through American publishers.
FORTHCOMING BOOKS. NY: Bowker, 1966- .
Bowker publication that supplements and updates Books in Print. The former
lists all books published since the last issue of BIP plus all books scheduled
for publication in the next five months. Includes trade, text, paperback
and reprints. Published six times a year and arranged in three sections,
by author, subject and title.
[Ref/BIP/Z/1215/P97/Desk]
BOOKS IN SERIES IN THE UNITED STATES. 4th ed. NY: Bowker, 1980.
Lists books in series by series title, individual author, and individual
title. Includes out-of-print items.
[Ref/Z/1033/S5/B66]
BRITISH BOOKS IN PRINT. London: Whitaker, 1965- .
[Ref/BIP/Z/2001/W44]
* United States. MONTHLY CATALOG OF UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS.
Wasington, DC:
Government Printing Office, 1895- .
Monthly listing of publications from Congress and the executive branch.
Comprehensive. Indexes by subject, title, personal author. Indexes cumulate
annually.
[Ref Z 1223 A13: 1941- ]
http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/6984
Dissertation Abstracts
http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/6878
Indexing (since 1861) and abstracting (since 1980) for over 1.5 million
doctoral-level dissertations completed at North American universities.
Full-text is available in pdf format for the most recent Penn dissertations
(since 1997).
Dissertations from selected European universities are also listed. Selected
master's theses are included since 1988. One can search the database by:
author, keyword in title and/or abstract, adviser (if indicated), university
code, date, degree. Boolean operators allow for combinations of fields.
SERIAL BIBLIOGRAPHIES, INDEXES, AND ABSTRACTS
Definition: Serial bibliographies and indexes are regularly published,
continuing bibliographies which offer subject and author access to periodical
or newspaper articles, books, book parts, essays in collections, etc.
As a rule, indexes cover periodical literature and provide only citations.
Abstracts are similar reference sources which provide a brief summary
of the article or book, in addition to a bibliographic citation. There
are usually dozens of indexes which might be helpful in a particular field.
Ask at the Reference Desk for suggestions in addition to those listed
below.
Finding Periodical Articles
When you have identified a valuable periodical article through the printed
indexes or, more likely, online databases, record its full publishing
information: author, article title, full periodical title, volume, date,
and pages. Next consult Franklin for campus holdings. Ask for help at
the Reference Desk. Periodicals not held in the Library system may be
located in other area libraries, and photocopies of specific articles
may be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
Major General Online Periodical Indexes
EBSCO MegaFILE
Periodicals
Contents Index
PCI indexes journals in the humanities and social sciences in English
as well as in many other Western languages. Journals are indexed from
their initial volume - some as far back as 1770 - through 1995. PCI includes
only citations to journal articles; there is no full text. Once you find
articles relevant to your topic, search for the journal titles in Franklin,
the Library Catalog.
Web
of Science
The Web of Science indexes over 8,000 journals in the Sciences, Social
Sciences, and Arts & Humanities. You can search by keyword, subject,
author, journal title, or author address, as well as for articles that
cite a known author or work. The index extends back to 1978 and is updated
weekly. Once you find articles relevant to your topic, search for the
journal titles in Franklin, the Library Catalog.
BRITISH HUMANITIES INDEX, 1962- . London: Library Association, 1963-
.
Quarterly with annual cumulations. Subject index to 350 British periodicals.
[Ref/AI/3/B7]
INTERNATIONALE BIBLIOGRAPHIE DER ZEITSCHRIFTENLITERATUR. Osnabruck:
Dietrich, 1897-1994.
Most extensive periodical index. IBZ selectively indexes about 8500
German and other periodicals.
[AI 9 I5]
ESSAY AND GENERAL LITERATURE INDEX. NY: Wilson, 1900- .
A unique publication which indexes essays published in collections. Access
is by author, subject, and in some cases by title. Although essays in
the humanities predominate, the social sciences are also included. Two
issues per year and various cumulations.
[Ref/AI/3/E752]
PERIODICAL DIRECTORIES AND FINDING TOOLS
* ULRICH'S INTERNATIONAL PERIODICAL DIRECTORY. NY: Bowker, 1932- .
Biennial subject-classed listing with title index of periodicals published
currently around the world. Supplemented by Irregular Serials and
Annuals.
[Ref Desk]
UNION LIST OF SERIALS IN LIBRARIES IN THE U.S. AND CANADA. 3d ed.
NY: Wilson, 1965.
Five-volume set listing serials in major U.S. and Canadian libraries.
Often gives some indication of holdings. Supplemented by WorldCat
and RLIN.
[Ref in Books in Print area]
Leistner, Otto. ITA: International Title Abbreviations of Periodicals,
Newspapers, Important Handbooks, Dictionaries, Laws, Etc. 8th ed.
Osnabruck: Biblio Verlag, 2000.
Comprehensive international list of periodical and serial title abbreviations,
plus others.
[Ref Desk Z/6945/A2/L4/2000]
PERIODICAL TITLE ABBREVIATIONS. Detroit: Gale, 1969- .
Irregular. Provides access by abbreviation or by title.
[Ref Desk Z 6945 A2 W34]
BOOK REVIEW SOURCES
Definition: Book reviews offer critical reaction to a work within
a year or two of publication. They vary in length and authority but
can be long scholarly essays on a work, an author, or a subject.
It is often useful to check several book review indexes, so we have
shelved many of them together in a stack section by the east windows.
In addition to those listed below, the section includes: Current Book
Review Citations, 1976-1982 , and Index to Book Reviews in Historical
Periodicals, 1972-1977. See also the separate book review sections
at the back of issues/volumes of Social Sciences Index, and Humanities
Index. Both Social Science Citation Index and Arts &
Humanities Citation Index contain a high percentage (up to 40%) of
book review citations.
A very useful guide for locating book review sources is Richard A.
Gray's A Guide to Book Review Citations: A Bibliography of Sources
(Columbus: Ohio State University Press, 1968), which describes over
500 sources. It is arranged by topic and includes subject and title
indexes.
[Ref Desk Z 1035 A1 G7]
BOOK REVIEW DIGEST, 1905 . NY: Wilson, 1905 .
Reviews of English-language books published or distributed in the
U.S. which appear in at least 2 (4 for fiction) of the 75 journals
indexed are cited. Excerpts from reviews are frequently reprinted
and the number of words in the full review is indicated. Published
10 times a year with annual cumulative volumes. Author arrangement
with title and subject index.
[Ref Z/1219/C96]
NATIONAL LIBRARY SERVICE CUMULATIVE BOOK REVIEW INDEX, 1905-1974.
Princeton, NJ: 1975.
Six-volume (3 alphabetically by author, 3 by title) cumulative index
to reviews cited in Book Review Digest plus those published in Saturday
Review (19241974), Library Journal (19071974), and Choice (1969-1974).
[Ref Z/1035/A1/N38]
* BOOK REVIEW INDEX, 1965- . Detroit: Gale, 1966- .
Indexes all reviews in about 215 English-language journals. Monthly
with quarterly and annual cumulations.
[Ref/ Z/1035/A1/B6]
INDEX TO BOOK REVIEWS IN THE HUMANITIES, 1960- . Detroit: Philip
Thomson, 1960- .
Quarterly with annual cumulations. Indexes 650 journals and newspapers.
Covers all subjects in the humanities and includes fiction.
[Ref/Z/1035/A1/I63]
INTERNATIONALE BIBLIOGRAPHIE DER REZENSIONEN WISSENSCHAFTLICHER LITERATUR.
Osnabruck: Dietrich, 1971- .
Published in four sections: A/ Index of periodicals consulted (4000+);
B/ Classified subject index (in German, with references from English
and French equivalents) of book reviews; C/ Index of book reviews
by reviewed authors; D/Index of book reviews by reviewer. International;
major western language journals; all subjects, including scientific
ones.
[Ref/Moelis CD area/AI/9/I4951] On cd from 1985 forward; earlier volumes
in storage:
BIBLIOGRAPHIE DER REZENSIONEN. 177 Vols., 1900-1943. Leipzig: Dietrich,
1901-1944.
Index to reviews in 3000+ German-language serials from 1901 until
1911 and, from 1911 to 1943 (except 1916-1924), German and non-German
serials. By 1943, 5000 German (including 50 newspapers) and 4000 other
titles were indexed.
[AI 9 B6]
COMBINED RETROSPECTIVE INDEX TO BOOK REVIEWS IN SCHOLARLY JOURNALS,
1886-1974. Arlington, VA: Carrollton, 1979-82. 15 vol.
Index by author name to book reviews in 459 journals in sociology,
history, and political science.
[Ref/Z1035/A1/C64]
COMBINED RETROSPECTIVE INDEX TO BOOK REVIEWS IN HUMANITIES JOURNALS,
1802-1974. Woodbridge, CT: Research Publications, 1982-84. 10 vol.
Index by author name to reviews from 157 journals.
[Ref/Z/1035/A1/C62/1982]
BOOK REVIEW INDEX TO SOCIAL SCIENCE PERIODICALS. Ed. Argold M. Rzepoecki.
Ann Arbor, MI: Pierian Press, 1978-81.
Covers reviews of 1964-73 in 4 volumes. Complements Index to Book
Reviews in the Humanities. Indexes all book reviews from approximately
250 journals.
[Ref/Z/7161/B7]
THE TIMES LITERARY SUPPLEMENT INDEX, 1902-1939. 2 vol. Reading, Eng.:
Newspaper Archives Development, Ltd., 1978., 1940-1980. 3 vol. Reading,
Eng.: Research Publications, Ltd., 1982.
References to reviews, articles, letters, poems. Entries by personal
name, title, and subject in one alphabet.
[Ref/AP/4/T45]
DIRECTORIES
Definition: Directories can provide a subject or name approach to
organizations, organizational membership, programs, publications,
library collections, subject specialists, and ongoing research.
* WHO'S WHO IN AMERICA. Chicago: Marquis, 1899- .
Biennial directory of prominent living Americans. Approximately 66,000
listings. Brief biographical information including education, career,
major publications, etc. Deceased listed in Who Was Who in America.
[Ref Desk E 176 W642]
DIRECTORY OF AMERICAN SCHOLARS. 8th ed. NY: Bowker, 1982.
Four-volume set covering History; English, speech and drama; Philosophy,
religion and law; and Foreign languages, linguistics and philology.
Biographical information including career, education, affiliations,
etc.
[Ref Desk LA 2311 C32]
* AMERICAN MEN AND WOMEN OF SCIENCE. 19th ed. NY: Bowker, 1996.
Covers scholars active in the physical and biological sciences. Social
and behavioral sciences included most recently in the 13th (1978)
edition.
[Ref Desk Q 141 A27]
NATIONAL FACULTY DIRECTORY. Detroit: Gale, 1970- .
Annual listing of all currently affiliated U.S. faculty. Publisher
depends on institutions to submit information, so the listing is not
necessarily complete. Gives department addresses only.
[Latest at Ref Desk LA 2311 N38]
* BIOGRAPHY AND GENEALOGY MASTER INDEX. 2d ed. Detroit: Gale, 1980.
Supplement, 1981-85, etc.
A consolidated index to biographical sketches in current and retrospective
biographical dictionaries. Kept up-to-date by annual supplements.
[Ref CT/213/B55]
Slocum, Robert B. BIOGRAPHICAL DICTIONARIES AND RELATED WORKS: An
International Bibliography of approximately 16,000 Collective Biographies
. . . . 2 vol. 2d ed. Detroit: Gale, 1986.
Arranged into sections of biographies by nationality or geographic
area and by vocation as well as universal biographies. Author, title
and subject indexes.
[Ref Desk CT 104 S55 1986]
Biographical and membership directories of professional organizations
are listed in PennLIN and the card catalog under the name of the organization,
and at the appropriate subject entries. For example, the American
Psychological Association's Biographical Directory is listed at the
subject heading "PsychologistsU.S.Directories."
* ENCYCLOPEDIA OF ASSOCIATIONS. Ed. 1 . Detroit: Gale, 1956- .
Revised about every two years.
Information on nonprofit American membership organizations of national
scope; some forprofit, regional, foreign or international organizations
are included if of general interest. Arranged by organization type
(educational, trade, health, labor unions, etc.), with a very large
name keyword index, and geographic and personal name (officer) indexes.
Entry gives address and phone, chief officer, scope, meeting dates,
publications. Over 14,500 entries.
[Latest at Ref Desk HS 17 G3]
[Available on GaleNet through the Library's Reference Shelf Web location]
DIRECTORY OF HISTORICAL SOCIETIES AND AGENCIES IN THE U.S. AND CANADA.
14th ed. Nashville, TN:
American Association for State and Local History, 1990.
Lists c. 5000 historical organizations. Information given includes
address, director, titles of periodical publications, major programs.
Arranged geographically by state and city, with organization name
index.
[Ref Desk E 172 A538]
Ash, Lee, comp. SUBJECT COLLECTIONS. 7th ed. NY: Bowker, 1993.
"A guide to book collections and subject emphases as reported
by university, college, public, and special libraries and museums
in the U.S. and Canada." Arranged first by subject category,
then geographically within each category.
[Ref Z 731 A78 1993]
U.S. National Historical Publications Commission. A GUIDE TO ARCHIVES
AND MANUSCRIPTS IN THE U.S. Ed. Philip Hamer. New Haven, CT: Yale
University Press, 1961.
A guide to locations of manuscript collections. Arranged geographically
by state and city. Detailed index of names and subjects.
[Ref Desk CD 3022 A45]
United States. National Historical Publications and Records Commission.
2nd ed. DIRECTORY OF ARCHIVES AND MANUSCRIPT REPOSITORIES. Washington,
DC, 1988.
An updating of Hamer's guide. Done by computer, contains entries for
over 4,200 American repositories. Arranged geographically.
[Ref Desk CD 3020 D49 1988]
NATIONAL UNION CATALOG OF MANUSCRIPT COLLECTIONS, 1959/61-1993. Washington,DC:
Library of Congress, 1962-1993 . Annual.
Describes manuscript collections in roughly 750 repositories. Collections
are arranged numerically within each annual volume. A twonumber prefix
indicates year of cataloging. Indexes are given by subject, names,
places and named historical periods and refer to catalog entry numbers.
For each catalog entry title, physical description, location, content
and other information (given at the discretion of the repository)
are provided.A cumulative index covering
1959-1984 includes over 200,000 names is available in 2 volumes.
[Ref Z 6620 U5 N3]
After 1993 only available online as http://lcweb.loc.gov/coll/nucmc/
Also consult RLIN's Archives and Manuscript (AMC) file for additional
listings.
Brooks, Philip C. RESEARCH IN ARCHIVES: The Use of Unpublished Primary
Sources. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1969. 127 pp.
Describes the various kinds of unpublished papers, how to find them,
use restrictions, archives management. Bibliography.
[Ref D 16 B87 1969]
Larsen, John C., ed. RESEARCHER'S GUIDE TO ARCHIVES AND REGIONAL
HISTORY SOURCES. Hamden, CT: Library Professional Publications, 1988.
167 pp.
A collection of articles on research techniques and introductions
to sub-fields in archival research.
[Ref CD 3021 R47 1988]
OFFICIAL MUSEUM DIRECTORY, UNITED STATES, CANADA. Washington, DC:
American Association of
Museums, 1971- . Annual
Over 6000 museums listed. Arranged alphabetically by state and city.
Information includes address, hours and admission policies. Indexes
by institution, subject category and personnel.
[Ref Desk AM 11 O344]
ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND DICTIONARIES
Definition: An encyclopedia is a reference work which presents a
summary of knowledge in one or more subject fields, usually in an
alphabetical arrangement by topic. It can provide background information
and a general overview of a field unfamiliar to the student, specific
facts or data, and basic bibliographic references. The entries in
encyclopedias are generally longer than those in dictionaries, are
usually signed, and often include bibliographies. Besides general
language dictionaries, there are dictionaries and thesauri devoted
to the terminology of a particular field, which can give more current
and complete definitions of technical terms.
To find dictionaries in either the Reference or the main stack collection,
check PennLIN and the card catalog at the subject entry for the language
subdivided by "Dictionaries." Bilingual dictionaries are identified
by the further subdivision naming the second language involved, for
example:
French Language--Dictionaries--English
English Language--Dictionaries--French
Specialized dictionaries--technical, etymological, historical, etc.
will appear under a more specific subject heading such as:
French Language--Etymology--Dictionaries
French Language--Slang--Dictionaries
Technology--Dictionaries--French
The standard guides to reference works (Balay, Walford, etc.) will
indicate which are the most comprehensive, reliable dictionaries.
NEWSPAPER INDEXES
Newspaper indexes are, of course, immensely valuable, expensive to
produce, and frequently difficult to identify. Increasingly, as more
and more newspapers are being made available online full-text, printed
indexes are becoming irrelevant except for research on historical
topics. A fairly comprehensive listing of what is available now is
given in Balay. In the past the appropriate Library of Congress Subject
Heading was "Newspapers--Indexes." However, new rules require
that an index to an individual paper be listed only as the name of
that paper, e.g., "New York Times (Indexes)." Please check
with the Reference Desk for help in determining if a certain paper
has been indexed.
Milner, Anita Cheek. NEWSPAPER INDEXES: A Location and Subject Guide
for Researchers. Metuchen, NJ and London: Scarecrow, 1977-82.
A three-volume index mainly to card files and unpublished indexes.
[Ref AI 3 M55]
LEXIS/NEXIS is a full-text commercial online service whhich provides
access to hundreds of newspapers, magazines, transcripts and wire
services. Also included is ETHNIC NEWS WATCH, a full-text source with
directory information from over 100 American ethnic publications.
* PHILADELPHIA INQUIRER. 1987- .
Abstracted on LEXIS/NEXIS. Also available full-text from 1981. Requires
special password; ask at the reference desk. The DAILY NEWS (Philadelphia)
is also available on the same system from 1978.
[Ref CD Area]
NEW YORK TIMES INDEX, 1851- . Bimonthly, with annual cumulations.
Excellent but complex subject indexing; ask at Reference Desk. 4-month
time lag.
[Ref AI 21 N44]
CHRISTIAN SCIENCE MONITOR. CUMULATED INDEX. 1960- . Annual.
[Ref AI 21 C46]
WALL STREET JOURNAL. INDEX. 1955- . Monthly with annual cumulations.
[Lippincott HG 1 W26]
WASHINGTON POST INDEX, 1971- .
[Ref AI 21 W2]
PHILADELPHIA INQUIRER STATE/REGIONAL NEWS INDEX. Jan. 1979-Dec. 1980.
[Ref AI 21 A44]
PALMER'S INDEX TO THE TIMES, 1790-1916.
[Ref AI 21 T5]
OFFICIAL INDEX TO THE TIMES, 1914- .
[Ref AI 21 T46]
[N.B. Public libraries often produce card indexes to the area's local
newspapers.]
NEWSPAPER LOCATING TOOLS
Pennsylvania. University. Library. NEWSPAPERS IN PHILADELPHIA AREA
LIBRARIES. 2d ed. Philadelphia: 1972.
Lists newspapers available at Penn, Temple, Free Library, Drexel,
Bryn Mawr, Swarthmore, Pennsylvania Historical Society, and Villanova.
Two complementary filesone by title, the other by place of publication.
Notes holdings and, for Penn, gives call numbers.
[Ref Desk Z 6945 P45 1972]
Brigham, Clarence S. HISTORY AND BIBLIOGRAPHY OF AMERICAN NEWSPAPERS,
1690-1820. Worcester, MA: American Antiquarian Society, 1947. 2 vol.
Lists alphabetically by state and town 2120 newspapers published between
1690 and 1820, and locates copies around the country.
[Ref Desk Z 6951 B86]
AMERICAN NEWSPAPERS, 1821-1936: A Union List of Files Available in
the United States and Canada. Ed.
Winifred Gregory. NY: Wilson, 1937.
Lists holdings of newspapers in 5,700 depositories.
[Ref Desk Z 6945 U5 N43]
Rossell, Glenora E. PENNSYLVANIA NEWSPAPERS: A Bibliography and Union
List. 2d ed. Pittsburgh: Pennsylvania Library Association, 1978.
Identifies and locates newspapers published in Pennsylvania. Arranged
by place of publication. Access also by title.
[Ref Desk Z 6952 P4 S3 1978]
United States. Library of Congress. Catalog Publication Division.
NEWSPAPERS IN MICROFORM: United States, 1948-1983. Washington, DC:
Library of Congress, 1984.
Lists 34,289 titles from almost 900 libraries and firms.
[Ref Desk Z 6945 U516 1948-83]
NEWSPAPERS IN MICROFORM: Foreign Countries, 1948-1983. Washington,
DC: Library of Congress, 1984.
Lists 8,620 titles from 550 domestic and foreign libraries.
[Ref Desk Z 6945 U516 194883]
British Library. Newspaper Library, Colindale. CATALOGUE OF THE NEWSPAPER
LIBRARY, COLINDALE. London: British Museum, 1975. 8 vol.
Lists London newspapers published from 1801 onward and English provincial,
Scottish, and Irish newspapers published from 1700 onward. Also many
Commonwealth and foreign newspapers.
[Ref/PN/4731/B75]
Chicago. Center for Research Libraries. THE CENTER FOR RESEARCH LIBRARIES
CATALOGUE: Newspapers. 2d ed. Chicago: The Center, 1978.
Lists paper and microfilm holdings by title. Newspapers are also listed
by city and title, with cross-references to title.
http://www.crl.edu/catalog/index.htm
|