Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
Research Guides

Sidebar

Main Content

Social Sciences and Humanities - Research Guide

SOCIAL SCIENCES AND HUMANITIES

This is a necessarily selective bibliography of reference sources in various humanities and social sciences disciplines of interest to Folklore and Folklife Studies. For each subject area we have included some major guides, bibliographies, indexes and abstracts, encyclopedias and dictionaries, and a review journal. Locations in Van Pelt Reference or elsewhere in the library system are noted at the end of the entry.


CONTENTS

  1. HISTORY
  2. RELIGION
  3. LITERATURE AND LANGUAGE
  4. LINGUISTICS
  5. ANTHROPOLOGY
  6. SOCIOLOGY
  7. PSYCHOLOGY
  8. MAJOR INDEXES IN OTHER DISCIPLINES
  9. LOCATING MATERIALS IN THE ERIC INDEXES
CATALOG

Franklin, the Penn Library's online catalog, lists books, journals and other materials in campus libraries covering over 90% of the library collection and over 2 million titles. Generally, Franklin lists materials cataloged since 1968 and is the only source of information on library materials acquired and processed since 1986. The online catalog provides up-to-date author, title, subject, keyword and call number searching for books in all campus libraries except Biddle Law Library, which has its own catalog, LOLA.

Main Card Catalog. The Main Card Catalog in Van Pelt Library was closed in 1985. It is becoming increasingly less reliable as the definitive source of the library's holdings. The catalog is arranged in "dictionary" style, that is, with author, title, and subject entries interfiled in a single alphabet. However, for certain libraries, namely Biddle Law, Biomedical, Dental, and Lippincott (business), there are no subject and/or title cards in the main catalog; users must consult the individual libraries' catalogs.


NEW AND ON ORDER MATERIALS

Newly acquired titles and materials that are on order appear in Franklin and can be rush processed using the Request button.


LOCATING SUBJECTS IN FRANKLIN AND THE CARD CATALOG

Both Franklin and the card catalog use Library of Congress subject headings. To locate all materials on a subject, consult both Franklin and the card catalog, since Franklin contains recent materials and the card catalog lists older works. Listed below are some headings that show both how specific and how general headings can be. For additional subject suggestions, see the Library of Congress Subject Headings located next to the Reference Desk.

Communication in folklore Folk Poetry
Folk art Graffiti
Folk dancing Literature and folklore
Folk dancing, Brazilian Material culture
Folk-drama Psychoanalysis and folklore
Folk culture Urban folklre
Folk literature, Ladino


Most subjects are further subdivided by such standard subheadings as Bibliography, Collections, Congresses, Dictionaries, Periodicals.


TITLES NOT LOCATED THROUGH THE CATALOG

Some books may be hard to find, so please ask for help. Items may be published as part of a series; authors' names can be cited in various ways; subject headings can be complex. The Reference staff can help readers use reference sources such as RLIN/Eureka and OCLC/WorldCAT databases to identify items. Books not owned by the Penn Libraries are usually available through Interlibrary Loan. There is no charge for this service, which is available to Penn students and faculty, but a lead time of two weeks or more is usually necessary. Ask at the Reference Desk or the Interlibrary Loan Office for further information.

FRANCIS/ISI CITATION INDEXES/BLACKWELLS TABLE OF CONTENTS

Two important interdisciplinary database available in Van Pelt on compact disk are FRANCIS and ISI CITATION INDEXES. It covers all the disiplines dealt with in this guide and others as well. Produced by the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique in France, it is essential for all academic research since it covers many European, African, and Asian journals not covered in the equivalent American databases. The citation indexes (c.1988) cover much of the same ground but focus more on English language materials.
[http://eureka.rlg.org/cgi-bin/zgate2.prod] and [http://isi0.isiknowledge.com/portal.cgi/wos]


HISTORY

Fritze, Ronald H., Brian E. Coutts and Louis A. Vyhnanek. REFERENCE SOURCES IN HISTORY: AN INTRODUCTORY GUIDE. Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 1990.
Though "designed to provide an introduction to the major reference works for all periods of history and for all geographic areas," the emphasis is on English-language works. 685 titles are described. (Ref Desk/D/20/F74/1990)

Freidel, Frank, ed. HARVARD GUIDE TO AMERICAN HISTORY. Rev. ed. Cambridge, MA: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 1974. 2 vol.
The most authoritative and comprehensive guide to all areas of American history. Vol. 1 covers research and reference methods and tools, including chapters on manuscript, pictoral and recorded materials. Substantial sections cover biography and personal records, area histories, and subject histories. Vol. 2 lists material dealing with specific historical events, eras, etc., arranged in chronologically oriented chapters. (Ref Desk/Z/1236/F77/1974)

Slavens, Thomas P. SOURCES OF INFORMATION FOR HISTORICAL RESEARCH. NY: Neal- Schuman, 1994.
Arranged in LC call no. order; 1138 entries with annotations. World-wide in scope.
(Ref/D/20/S53/1994)

AMERICAN HISTORICAL ASSOCIATIONS GUIDE TO HISTORICAL LITERATURE. 3rd ed. NY: Oxford University Press, 1995.
Selective, annotated bibliography of primary and secondary materials for all areas and countries of the world. Within geographic sections, materials are arranged by type of resource, e.g., encyclopedias, document collections, etc. (Ref Desk/D/20/A55)

U.S. Library of Congress. General Reference and Bibliography Division. A GUIDE TO THE STUDY OF THE U.S. Washington, DC: 1960. Supplement, 1956-65, 1976.
Annotated listing of important books dealing with America. Arranged into subject chapters such as "Society," "Communications," and "Folklore, Folk Music, Folk Art."
(Ref/Z/1215/U53)

C.R.I.S.: The Combined Retrospective Index Set to Journals in History, 1838-1974. Washington, DC: Carrollton Press, 1977-78. 11 vol.
Indexes 243 English-language periodicals from their inception through 1974, covering all periods and areas in the field of history. Vols. 1-4: World History; vols. 5-9: United States History; vols. 10-11: Author index. Under rubrics for countries, articles are subarranged by chronological period or title keyword. (Ref/D1 C18)

AMERICA: HISTORY AND LIFE. Santa Barbara: ABC-Clio, 1964-
Covers history of North America from prehistory to the present. Journals, article abstracts and citations from ca. 2,000 journals including many foreign titles; Book Reviews; Part C, American History Bibliography, cumulates parts A and B into annual subject arrangement; Part D, Annual subject and author index. See preface for guide to use. Time lag under 18 months. [http://www.library.upenn.edu/resources/databases/about/ahl.html]

HISTORICAL ABSTRACTS. Santa Barbara: ABC-Clio, 1955- .
1,300 journals. Excludes North America. On-line from 1970, covering only 1775-1945. Earlier years are in Reference (D29 H52) In 1970, chronological coverage began to expand and publication was divided into two parts. [http://www.library.upenn.edu/resources/databases/about/ha.html]

WRITINGS ON AMERICAN HISTORY. Washington, DC: American Historical Association, 1902-1990.
Because of the effort involved in producing an annual bibliography "designed to cite every book and article . . . that has any considerable value for the study and research pertaining to the history of the United States from primitive times to the recent past," the original Writings on American History series ceased with the volume covering the literature of 1961. (Ref/Z/1236/L331)

A new publication, Writings on American History: A Subject Bibliography of Articles, began in 1974. The new publication covers only periodical articles, does not have annotations, is arranged into fairly broad chronological, geographical, and subject categories subarranged by author, with author index. A 4-volume retrospective bibliography covers 1962-73 in the same format. The most recent five years are in Reference. (E/151/W758)

DICTIONARY OF THE HISTORY OF IDEAS; Studies of Selected Pivotal Ideas. Philip E. Weiner, ed. NY: Scribner, 1973-74. 5 vol.
Signed scholarly articles of varying lengths tracing diffusion of topics in intellectual history; access facilitated by analytical index in volume 1 and index volume. Brief bibliographies of articles and books in western languages. (Ref/CB/5/D52)

DICTIONARY OF AMERICAN HISTORY. Rev. ed. NY: Scribner, 1976. 7 vol.
A new edition of a standard work, with broad and specific entries on issues, events, movements, etc., signed by specialists. New emphasis on material relating to minority groups and current events; article on history of each state. Selective, up-to-date bibliographies.
(Ref/E/174/D5/1976)

REVIEWS IN AMERICAN HISTORY. Westport, CT: Redgrave Information Resources, 1973-. Quarterly. Annual author, title, reviewer index.
Also available in JSTOR. (Z/1236/R47)


RELIGION

Adams, Charles, ed. A READER'S GUIDE TO THE GREAT RELIGIONS. 2d ed. NY: Free Press, 1977.
Bibliographic essays. (Ref/BL/80.2/A3)

Wilson, John F. RESEARCH GUIDE TO RELIGIOUS STUDIES. Chicago: American Library Association, 1982.
Survey of field and guide to basic literature in religious studies. (Ref/BL/41/W5)

Gorman, G. E. and Lynn Gorman. THEOLOGICAL AND RELIGIOUS REFERENCE MATERIALS. 3 vol. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1984-86.
A guide to the literature on religion with a strong bias to Christianity. Vol. 1: General Sources and Biblical Studies; Vol. 2: Systematic Theology and Church History; Vol. 3: Practical Theology. The intended audience is students of theology, so other general reference works are included as well as research strategies. Annotations are given for most citations. (Ref/BS/511.2/G67/1984)

Johnston, William M. RECENT REFERENCE BOOKS IN RELIGION: A GUIDE FOR STUDENTS, SCHOLARS, RESEARCHERS, BUYERS AND READERS. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 1998. (Ref/BL48/j64/1998)

Moulinet, Daniel. GUIDE BIBLIOGRAPHIQUE DES SCIENCES RELIGIEUSES. Paris: Salvator, 2000. (Ref/BS450/M68/2000)

Recent Reference Books in Religion: (Ref/BL48/J64/---)

RELIGION INDEX
Continues Index to Religious Periodical Literature (1949-1977). Author and subject indexes to more than 300 journals. Entries in author sequence have abstracts. Separate book review index. 1981-82 volume covers 16,000+ articles and 14,000+ book reviews. Latest five years in reference.
(Ref/BL/1/R375)

RELIGIOUS AND THEOLOGICAL ABSTRACTS, 1958- . Myerstown, PA: 1964- .
Abstracts of articles from over 140 journals. Latest five years in reference. (BR/1/R286)

ENCYCLOPEDIA OF RELIGION AND ETHICS. NY: Scribner, 1951 reprint of 1908-27 edition. 12 vol. in 7. Hastings, James.
Indispensible despite its age. (Ref/BL/31/E4/1951)

THE ENCYCLOPEDIA OF RELIGION. Ed. Mircea Eliade et al. NY: Macmillan, 1987. 15 vol.
In some ways the successor to Hastings; it is more deliberately inclusive and "assumed that there is no such thing as a purely religious phenomenon" (Foreword). Articles fall into three categories: 1) historical and descriptive essays on particular religious communities and traditions; 2) topics in the history of religion such as afterlife, myth, etc.; 3) examinations of the relationships between religion and other areas of culture.
(Ref/BL/31/E46/1987)

CHURCH HISTORY. Wallingford, PA: American Society of Church History, 1888- . Quarterly.
Non-denominational, American emphasis with many reviews. (BR/140/A45)

INDEX TO BOOK REVIEWS IN RELIGION: An Author, Title, Reviewer, Series and Annual Classified Index to Reviews of Books Published in and of Interest to the Field of Religion. Chicago: American Theological Library Association, 1986- .
Book reviews were formerly included in Religion Index. (Ref/BL/1/I523)
ALTA Religion Database. 1949 to the present
[http://www.library.upenn.edu/resources/databases/about/atlareligion.html]



LITERATURE AND LANGUAGE

THE NEW CAMBRIDGE BIBLIOGRAPHY OF ENGLISH LITERATURE. Cambridge, Eng.: Cambridge University Press, 1977. 5 vol.

Most extensive and comprehensive bibliography in its field, covering English literature from 600-1950. Lists both works of literature and criticism. Arranged chronologically and under periods by literary form, e.g. Poetry, Drama, etc. (Ref Desk/Z/2011/N4)

Harner, James. LITERARY RESEARCH GUIDE. 3rd ed. NY: Modern Language Association, 1992.
772 p.
Intended as a handbook of references sources essential to the study of literature in the English language and related topics for researches from advanced undergraduates to experienced scholars. (Ref/Desk/PR/83/H362/1992)

Bracken, James K. REFERENCE WORKS IN BRITISH AND AMERICAN LITERATURE. 2nd ed. Englewood, Colo.: Libraries Unlimited, 1998.

Marcuse, Michael J. A REFERENCE GUIDE FOR ENGLISH STUDIES. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1990. 790 p.
A massive guide whose purpose is to include any source relevant to reference work in any branch of English literature. (Ref/Desk/PR/56/M37/1990)

Wortman, William A. A GUIDE TO SERIAL BIBLIOGRAPHIES FOR MODERN LITERATURES. 2nd ed. NY: Modern Language Association, 1982. 333 p.
Includes any serial bibliography which might interest a literary scholar. Three types predominate: 1) comprehensive annuals covering an entire field, such as French literature; 2) author bibliographies whether separately published or as part of a journal; and 3) topical bibliographies. Well-indexed. (Ref/PN/695/W67/1995)

Modern Language Association of America. MLA INTERNATIONAL BIBLIOGRAPHY. NY: MLA, 1921- . Annual. Online from 1963.
A bibliography of books, articles, and essays on the modern languages and literatures. International since 1956. Subject arrangement by large regional/language divisions, then subarranged chronologically or thematically. Very extensive listing. Arrangement through 1980 in 3 vols. bound together: Vol. I includes English and American literatures and folklore; Vol. II is non-English literatures; Vol. III is linguistics. Author index to each volume. Arrangement as of 1981: Vols. I-II, national literatures; Vol. III, linguistics; Vol. IV, general literature and related topics; Vol. V, folklore. Bound as one. Separate volume for author and subject indexes. (Ref/PD/1/M443)
[http://www.library.upenn.edu/resources/databases/about/mla.html]

Modern Humanities Research Association. ANNUAL BIBLIOGRAPHY OF ENGLISH LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE, 1920- . Cambridge, Eng.: MHRA.
Contains a section on the English language arranged by subject. Latest five years in reference. (PE/1/M69)
[http://www.library.upenn.edu/resources/databases/about/abell.html]

YEAR'S WORK IN MODERN LANGUAGE STUDIES. London: Oxford University Press, 1929/30- .
Sponsored by the Modern Humanities Research Association. Covers studies on Romance, Germanic and Slavic languages and literature from medieval to present. Latest five years in reference.
(PB/1/Y45)

Marshall, Donald G. CONTEMPORARY CRITICAL THEORY: A SELECTIVE BIBLIOGRAPY. New York: Modern Languages Association, 1993. 201 p.
Fifteen chapters with summaries of the major trends, annotated bibliographies and references to major figures. Theories covered include structuralism, deconstruction and Marxist criticism. (Ref/PN/81/M37)

Leary, Lewis. ARTICLES ON AMERICAN LITERATURE. 1900-50, 1950-67, 1968-75. Durham, NC: Duke University.
Arranged by author and subject. A very useful shortcut to finding many pertinent articles on particular authors. (Ref/PS/88/A28)

Brewer, Ebenezer Cobham. DICTIONARY OF PHRASE AND FABLE. 14th ed. rev. by Ivor H. Evans. New York: Harper and Row, 1989. 1220pp. (1st ed. 1870.)
Includes colloquial and proverbial phrases, biographical and mythological references, fictitious characters, etc. (Ref Desk/PN/43/B65/1989)

Daemmrich, Horst S. and Ingrid Daemmrich. THEMES AND MOTIFS IN WESTERN LITERATURE: a Handbook.
Tubingen: Francke Verlag, 1987. 255pp. (Ref/PN/871/.D269/1987)

Vries, Ad de. DICTIONARY OF SYMBOLS AND IMAGERY. 2nd. ed. Amsterdam: North-Holland Publ. Co., 1926.
Emphasis is on literary, mythological, religious, and proverbial use. Includes allegories, metaphors, signs, etc. (Ref Desk/BL/600/V74/1976)

Cuddon, J. A. A DICTIONARY OF LITERARY TERMS AND LITERARY THEORY. 4th ed. Revised by C.E. Preston. Oxford: Blackwell Reference, 1998.
(Ref Desk/PN/41/C88/1998)

Groden, Michael and Martin Kreiswith, eds. THE JOHNS HOPKINS GUIDE TO LITERARY THEORY AND CRITICISM. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 1994.
The guide consists of 226 alphabetically arranged entries on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.--pref. (Ref/PN/81/J63/1994)
[http://www.press.jhu.edu/books/hopkins_guide_to_literary_theory/]

Lentricchia, Frank and Thomas McLauglin. CRITICAL TERMS FOR LITERARY STUDY. 2nd ed.
Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1995. 486 pp.
Substantial coverage of twenty-eight terms. (Ref/PN/81/C84/1995)

Makaryk, Irene R., ed. ENCYCLOPEDIA OF CONTEMPORARY LITERARY THEORY: APPROACHES, SCHOLARS, TERMS. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1993. 656 pp.
(Ref/PN/81/E439/1993)

NEW PRINCETON ENCYCLOPEDIA OF POETRY AND POETICS. Princeton: Princeton University Press, 1993. 1383 pp.
It provides survey of 106 national poetries; descriptions of poetic forms and genres major and minor, traditional and emergent; detailed explanations of the devices of prosody and rhetoric; and overviews of all major schools of poetry ancient and modern, Western and Eastern.--pref.
(Ref Desk/PN/1021/N39/1993)

ENGLISH STUDIES: A Journal of English Language and Literature. Vol. 1- , 1919- . Amsterdam: Swets & Zeitlinger. Bimonthly.
In addition to articles, each issue includes critical reviews and many other shorter reviews for books on all periods of English language and literature. (/PE/1/E55)

Cassidy, Frederic G., ed. DICTIONARY OF AMERICAN REGIONAL ENGLISH. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 1985- .
To be in 5 volumes. Vols. 1-3: A-O. The introduction is detailed and gives scope and the text of the questionnaire used. The OED for "American Folk Speech"!
(Ref/PE/2843/D52/1985 & Museum)

Lighter, J.E., ed. RANDOM HOUSE HISTORICAL DICTIONARY OF AMERICAN SLANG. NY: Random House, 1994- . v. 1-2: A-O (Ref/PE/2846/H57/1994)


LINGUISTICS

LINGUISTICS AND LANGUAGE BEHAVIOR ABSTRACTS. La Jolla, CA: Sociological Abstracts, 1967- . On-line from 1973.
Quarterly publication abstracting articles from periodicals, reports, conferences and monographs -- c. 1,200 in all. International in scope. Arranged into 19 major subject areas with many subdivisions. Indexes in each issue by author, brief subject, book review and source publication. All indexes cumulate for each volume. (Ref/Index Area)
[http://www.library.upenn.edu/resources/databases/about/llba.html]


BIBLIOGRAPHIE LINGUISTIQUE de l'annee . . . . The Hague: Nijhoff, 1949- .
Volume 1 covers 1937-49. Annual afterwards. 3-year time lag. Very comprehensive, international coverage. Includes periodicals, congress/conference proceedings, festschriften, other collections, biographies, book reviews, etc. Arranged into detailed classification but lacks subject index. Author index. A major source.
(Ref/P/121/B425)

DeMiller, Anna L. LINGUISTICS: A GUIDE TO THE REFERENCE LITERATURE. Englewood, CO: 1991. 256pp.
Three sections: general linguistics, related areas of study and languages.
(Ref Desk/P/121/D46)

Campbell, George L. COMPENDIUM OF THE WORLD'S LANGUAGES. 2 vols. London: Routledge, 1991. 1,574pp.
Several hundred languages are described: brief intro., script, phonology, morphology and syntax, and sample text. Supporting appendixes and bibliography. (Ref/P/371/C36/1991)

ENCYCLOPEDIA OF LANGUAGE AND LINGUISTICS. 10 vols. Oxford: Pergamon, 1994.
Meant for a readership that is academic but interdisciplinary. (Ref/29/E48/1994)

INTERNATIONAL ENCYCLOPEDIA OF LINGUISTICS. 4 vols. NY: Oxford U. Press, 1992.
"Aimed primarily at an audience of students and professional scholars in linguistics and related fields." Detailed index. More popular works with inventive use of graphics are The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language (Ref/P/29/C64/1987) and The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the English Language (Ref/PE/1072/C68/1995) both by David Crystal.

A more academic tack is taken in the OXFORD COMPANION TO THE ENGLISH LANGUAGE by Tom McArthur. (Ref/P/29/I58/1991)
(Ref/PE/1091/O935/1992)

Crystal, David. A DICTIONARY OF LINGUISTICS AND PHONETICS. 4th ed. Oxford: Blackwell, 1997. 426pp.
Recognizing the constant change in linguist issues, Crystal added 300 terms to the latest edition of his standard dictionary. (Ref/P/29/C65/1985)

Richards, Jack, John Platt and Heidi Weber. LONGMAN DICTIONARY OF APPLIED LINGUISTICS.
London: Longman, 1985. 323p.
(Ref/P/29/R5/1985)

Coulmas, Florian. BLACKWELL ENCYCLOPEDIA OF WRITING SYSTEMS. Cambridge, MA: Blackwell, 1996. 603 p.
The principle purpose of this encyclopedia is to provie basic concise information on the writing systems, scripts and orthographies of the worlds major languages, and about theoreticallly important issues concerning the relationship between speech and writing.--pref. Also see Peter T. Daniels and William Bright, THE WORLDS WRITING SYTEMS (New York: Oxford University Press, 1996), (Ref/P/211/W714) which is more thematic. (Ref/Z/40/C67/1996)


ANTHROPOLOGY

Kibbee, Josephine Z. CULTURAL ANTHROPOLOGY: A GUIDE TO REFERENCE AND INFORMATION SOURCES. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1991.
Lists 668 titles, organizations and journals in anthropology. (Museum/GN/42/K53)

Weeks, John M. INTRODUCTION TO LIBRARY RESEARCH IN ANTHROPOLOGY. 2nd ed. Boulder, Colo.: Westview Press, 1998. 401pp.
(Ref/GN42/W44/1998) and Museum.

Honigmann, John Joseph. HANDBOOK OF SOCIAL AND CULTURAL ANTHROPOLOGY Chicago: Rand McNally, 1973.
Bibliographic review essays in all areas of cultural anthropology written by significant figures in the discipline. Article on "Narrative" by Benjamin L. Colby and James L. Peacock.
(Ref/GN/315/H66)

ANTHROPOLOGICAL BIBLIOGRAPHIES: A Selected Guide. Comp. by Library-Anthropology Resources Group. Margo L. Smith and Yvonne M. Damien, eds. South Salem, NY: Redgrave, 1981.
More than 3,200 bibliographies, filmographies and discographies. Emphasis on recent materials. Arranged in geographic sections: Africa, Americas, Asia, Europe, Oceania, USSR, and Topical, further subdivided by region. Each section written by a specialist. Keyword/subject index. (GN/11/A58) and Museum.

ANTHROPOLOGICAL LITERATURE: An Index to Periodical Articles and Essays. Vol. 1- , 1979- . Pleasantville, NY: Redgrave. Compiled by the Tozzer Library of Harvard's Peabody Museum.
Indexes more than 1,000 serial publications and collections of essays. About 9,000 entries per year. Time delay. Arranged into 5 subject categories. Indexes by archaeological site, ethnic group, and geographic area. (Museum Ref/GN/1/A573)
[www.library.upenn.edu/resources/databases/about/anl.html]

INTERNATIONAL BIBLIOGRAPHY OF SOCIAL AND CULTURAL ANTHROPOLOGY. 1958- . Paris: UNESCO.
Annual subject classed listing of books and articles. About a 2-year time lag in publication. Indexes to authors and subjects. (Ref/GN/301/I687 & Museum)
[www.library.upenn.edu/resources/databases/about/ibss.html]

Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland. Library. ANTHROPOLOGICAL INDEX TO CURRENT PERIODICALS. 1963- .
Quarterly subject index to about 450 periodicals received in the library. International in scope. (Museum Ref/572.05/B819)
On-line from about 1957. The three indexes work together to cover anthropology.
[http://www.library.upenn.edu/resources/databases/about/anthidx.html]

ABSTRACTS IN ANTHROPOLOGY. 1970- . Westport, CT: Greenwood.
Broad subject arrangement with both author and subject indexes. Quarterly.
(Museum Ref/GN/1/A15)

ANNUAL REVIEW OF ANTHROPOLOGY. 1972- . Palo Alto, CA: Annual Reviews.
Bibliographical essays which describe and evaluate recent research in the field. International in scope. (GN/1/A558 & Museum & Annenberg)
[http://www.library.upenn.edu/webbin5/resources/ejspublic5.cgi?searchType=starts&ifonly=go&tkey=annual+review+of+anthropology] or Search Electronic Journals for Annual Review of Anthropology at http://www.library.upenn.edu/webbin5/resources/ejspublic5.cgi

BIENNIAL REVIEW OF ANTHROPOLOGY. 1959-1971. Stanford: Stanford University Press. Description and evaluation of important recent papers and monographs in anthropology. Arrangement is by chapters representing fields of interest. Each chapter written by a specialist and includes a bibliography. Continued by Annual Review of Anthropology. (572B/B473 & Museum)
[http://www.library.upenn.edu/webbin5/resources/ejspublic5.cgi?searchType=starts&ifonly=go&tkey=biennial+review+of+anthropology] or Search Electronic Journals for Biennial Review of Anthropology at http://www.library.upenn.edu/webbin5/resources/ejspublic5.cgi

ENCYCLOPEDIA OF CULTURAL ANTHROPOLOGY. ed. by David Levinson and Melvin Ember. 4 vols. New York: Henry Holt and Co., 1996.
(Ref/GN/307/E52) and Museum Ref.

ENCYCLOPEDIA OF ANTHROPOLOGY. Ed. David Hunter and Phillip Whitten. NY: Harper & Row, 1976.
1,400 articles of varying length. Some signed, some bibliographies, some biographical sketches. Well illustrated. (Ref/GN/1/E52) and Museum Ref.

Ingold, Tim. COMPANION ENCYCLOPEDIA OF ANTHROPOLOGY. New York: Routledge, 1994. 1,127 pp.
Articles are meant to be cutting edge and read primarily by students, teachers and academics working in fields of anthropology or related disciplines.--intro. (Museum Ref/GN/25/C65)

Seymour-Smith, Charlotte. DICTIONARY OF ANTHROPOLOGY. Boston: G. K. Hall, 1986. 305 pp.
"Intended to convey the critical spirit of anthropological inquiry to students of social and cultural anthropology and to the interested lay reader. Emphasis is placed on theoretical and conceptual issues" (Foreword). Bibliographic references are included with the articles and refer to the bibliography on pp. 293-305, which also serves as a basic reading list.
(Ref/GN/11/D48/1986) and Museum.

Wintrop, Robert H. DICTIONARY OF CONCEPTS IN CULTURAL ANTHROPOLOGY. New York: Greenwood Press, 1991. 347 pp.
About 100 entries with bibliographies and index. (Museum/Ref/GN/307/W56)

Also useful is THE SOCIAL SCIENCE ENCYCLOPEDIA, 2nd ed., ed. by Adam Kuper and Jessica Kuper (London: Routledge & Kegan Paul, 1996), which has a broader scope but includes signed articles on a variety of topics of interest to folklorists. 925pp.
(Ref Desk/H/41/S63)

Harvard University. Peabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology. Library. CATALOGUE . . . Boston: G. K. Hall, 1963. 53 vol. Supplements, 24 vol. 1970- .
Printed catalog of major collection. Includes books, journal articles, festschriften, congress proceedings, dissertations. Separate author and subject sequence. Index to Subject Headings, 1971, is key to subject volumes of set. Kept up-to-date by Anthropological Literature (see above). (Museum Ref/Z/5119/H35 & Supp.)

Murdock, George P. ETHNOGRAPHIC BIBLIOGRAPHY OF NORTH AMERICA. 4th ed. New Haven, CT: HRAF, 1975. 5 vol.
Includes "Ethnonymy" (name index to cultures). Classified arrangement. Each section has as introduction and bibliography of books and articles.
(Museum Ref Desk/Z/1209/M8/1972)

HUMAN RELATIONS AREA FILES. Hard copy located in the University Museum Library.
Classed files of reprints of articles, books, or manuscripts dealing with the anthropology, ethnology, and related socio-cultural aspects of over 300 selected cultures located at the Museum library. Each page of data is duplicated for and filed under as many of the 710 subject categories as are applicable. See: Lagace, Robert. Nature and Use of the HRAF Files: A Research and Teaching Guide. New Haven: HRAF, 1974. 49p. illus. (Ref Desk/H/62/H743)
Online: http://ets.umdl.umich.edu/e/ehrafe/


REVIEWS IN ANTHROPOLOGY. V. 1- . 1974- . Westport, CT: Redgrave.
Includes essay reviews of books and related materials in anthropology. Special issues often focus on a particular area. Other journals which include reviews are American Anthropologist (GN/1/A5 & Museum & Annenberg), Man (Museum GN/1/M25), and Anthropos (Museum GN/1/A71). (Museum/Z/511/R47)


SOCIOLOGY

Aby, Stephen H. SOCIOLOGY: A Guide to Reference and Information Sources. 2nd ed. Littleton, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1997. 227p.
Annotated. Three parts: General Social Science Reference Sources, Social Science Disciplines, and Sociology. The third part breaks the discipline down into 23 fields such as Criminology, Marriage, Medical Sociology, and Theory. Subject index included.
(Ref/HM/51/A26/1997)

Bart, Pauline and Linda Frankel. THE STUDENT SOCIOLOGIST'S HANDBOOK. 4th ed. Cambridge: Schenkman, 1980. 291 pp.
A basic guide to students doing sociological research. Briefly discusses the field. Separate sections on library research, periodical literature, bibliographies, indexes, and other reference materials. (Ref Desk/HM/68/B37)

INTERNATIONAL BIBLIOGRAPHY OF SOCIOLOGY. Paris: UNESCO, 1955- .
Annual bibliography arranged by class with author and subject indexes. Usually a two-year time lag. Covers books and articles; selects from several thousand journals. The 1975 volume included 5,700 entries. Includes myth, religion, social structure, community. Latest five years in Reference.
(Ref/HM/1/I534)

SOCIOLOGICAL ABSTRACTS. NY: American Sociological Association, 1952- .
Currently published 5 times per year. Major access to periodical literature in sociology and related fields. International in scope. Issues arranged into subject chapters (e.g., "Social stratification," "Rural sociology," "Social anthropology and ethnology"). Each issue has author and subject indexes with cumulative indexes published about 1 year later. Book review supplement, 1979- .
1952-1962 in reference. (Ref/HM/S67)
Online from 1963. [http://www.library.upenn.edu/resources/databases/about/socabs.html]

ENCYCLOPEDIA OF SOCIOLOGY. 4 vols. NY: Macmillan, 1992.
320 entries. (Ref/HM/17/E5/1992)

INTERNATIONAL ENCYCLOPEDIA OF THE SOCIAL SCIENCES. Amsterdam,NY: Elsevier, 2001. 26 vol. (v. 26 only for now) (Ref/H/41/I58/2001)

CONCISE OXFORD DICTIONARY OF SOCIOLOGY. NY: Oxford University Press, 1994. 571 pp.
Edited in Europe and meant for those who are relatively new to the discipline.
(Ref/HM/17/C66/1994)

Jary, David and Julia Jary. THE HARPERCOLLINS DICTIONARY OF SOCIOLOGY. NY: HarperPerennial, 1991. 601 pp.
Covers major terms with brief definitions. (Ref/HM/17/J37/1991)

Smelser, Neil J., ed. HANDBOOK OF SOCIOLOGY. Newbury Park, CA: Sage Publications, 1988.
Twenty-two lengthy chapters covering theoretical and topical aspects of sociology. Extensive bibliographies. 824 pp. (Ref/HM/51/H249/1988)


CONTEMPORARY SOCIOLOGY. V. 1- . 1972- . Albany: American Sociological Association.
Bi-monthly.
Primary reviewing journal for sociology. Includes review essays, survey articles and signed book reviews (about 100 per issue). Biographical information on authors of essays and surveys. (HM/1/C65)


PSYCHOLOGY

PSYCHOLOGICAL ABSTRACTS. Lancaster, PA: American Psychological Association, 1887- .
Single most important source for psychology. Includes more than 17,000 abstracts per year. Provides non-evaluative summaries of the world's psychological and related literature. Covers more than 800 journals plus books, technical reports, and dissertations.
(Ref/Index Area)
Online as PsycInfo [http://www.library.upenn.edu/resources/databases/about/psycinfo.html]

CHILD DEVELOPMENT ABSTRACTS AND BIBLIOGRAPHY. Chicago: Society for Research in Child Development, 1927- .
Three issues per year. Broad class arrangement with author index and annual author and brief subject indexes. Covers about 150 journals and includes about 1,300 abstracts per year. Includes cognition, social psychology, culture. (Ref/HQ/750/A1/C47)

Kiell, Norman. PSYCHOANALYSIS, PSYCHOLOGY, AND LITERATURE: A Bibliography. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow, 1982. 2 vol.
Inclusive, international listing of books and articles published from 1790 to 1980 but mainly 20th century. Incorporated almost all entries from 1st edition (1963). Fourteen subject-oriented chapters (Chap. 4: Fairy Tales and Fables; Chap. 8: Folklore and Folktales; Chap. 9: Myths and Legends) arranged alphabetically by author. Author, title, subject indexes. (Ref/PN/56/P93/K53/1982)

CHICAGO PSYCHOANALYTIC LITERATURE INDEX. 1975- . Chicago: Institute for Psychoanalysis, 1975- .
Quarterly with annual cumulation. (Biomed/Oversize/Z/6664/N5/C532c)

Grinstein, Alexander. THE INDEX OF PSYCHOANALYTIC WRITING. NY: International Universities Press, 1956-60. 5 vol. Supplements: 1953-59, 4 vol.; 1960-69, 5 vol.
A revision and update of Rickman's Index to Psychoanalyticus, 1893-1926. Lists books, periodical articles, reviews and abstracts published in any language from 1900 to 1969. Detailed subject indexes. (Ref/BF 173/G74/1956)

ENCYCLOPEDIA OF HUMAN BEHAVIOR. San Diego: Academic Press, 1994.
Introductory review essays. Index: vol. 4. (Ref/BF/31/E5/1994)

ENCYCLOPEDIA OF PSYCHOLOGY. Alan E. Kazdin, ed. Washington, DC: American
Psychological Association, 2000. 8 vol. (Ref/BF31/E53/2000)

THE CORSINI ENCYCLOPEDIA OF PSYCHOLOGY AND BEHAVIORAL SCIENCE. W.
Edward Craighead and Charles B. Nemeroff, eds. 3rd . ed. New York: Wiley, 2001.
(Ref/BF31/E52/2001)

CONTEMPORARY PSYCHOLOGY. V. 1- , 1956- . Washington: American Psychological Association.
Primary reviewing journal for the field of psychology. (BF/1/C53)



MAJOR INDEXES IN OTHER DISCIPLINES

ART INDEX. NY: H. W. Wilson, 1929-1984.
Quarterly index to periodical literature on fine and applied arts. Annual cumulations. International in scope though largely American publications indexed. Includes "Folk arts." Reference. Continued by the WILS file. (Museum/Z/5937/A78) (Fine Arts/705B/Ar79)
[http://www.library.upenn.edu/resources/databases/about/art.html]

MUSIC INDEX. Detroit: Information Service, 1949- .
Indexes more than 300 periodicals by author and subject. Covers various aspects of music, including ethnomusicology. Includes reviews of books, recordings and performances.
(Music Seminar/ML/118/M84)
[http://www.library.upenn.edu/resources/databases/about/musicindex.html]

RILM ABSTRACTS OF MUSIC LITERATURE. 1972- .
Abstracts of books, book and periodical articles, reviews, dissertations, catalogs, etc. Author/subject index. (Music Seminar/ML/1/I83)
[http://www.library.upenn.edu/resources/databases/about/rilm.html]

WOMEN STUDIES ABSTRACTS. 1972- . Rush, NY: Rush Pubs.
Broad classified arrangement of article abstracts with separate book review listing. Coverage is international and includes many journals not indexed elsewhere. Subject index includes such helpful terms as "personality trait," "sex roles," "socialization," and "cross-cultural studies." (Ref/Index Area)

STUDIES ON WOMEN ABSTRACTS. 1983- . Abingdon, Oxon.: Carfax Publ. Co.
Interdisciplinary with a focus on education, employment, women in the family and community, medicine and health, gender roles, female culture, biography, literary criticism and historical studies. (Ref/Index Area)

INDEX MEDICUS. 1879- . and CUMULATED INDEX MEDICUS. 1960- .MEDLINE. 1966- Chicago: American Medical Association.
A comprehensive index to the world's medical literature. In addition to journals in the medical and health sciences, includes biometry, botany, chemistry, physics, psychology, sociology. Citations are arranged by subject (using MESH headings, not LC). Author index.
Most current five years on MEDLINE (latest years) [http://www.library.upenn.edu/resources/databases/about/medline2.html]; Compact discs at Biomedical and Vetinary Libraries; historical published file at Biomedical.

REPERTOIRE BIBLIOGRAPHIQUE DE LA PHILOSOPHIE. 1949- . Louvain: Ed. de l'Inst. Sup. de Philosophie.
Quarterly. Important current bibliography. Intends to be exhaustive for books in English, Dutch, German, and the Romance languages, and selects in other languages. Indexes all articles from over 400 journals. Arrangement is by broad subject in historical and thematic sections. The last quarterly issue contains a list of book reviews and name (author and subject) index; no index of terms. (Ref/B/1/R337)

THE PHILOSOPHER'S INDEX: An International Index to Philosophical Periodicals. Bowling Green, OH: Bowling Green University Press, 1967- .
Quarterly. All articles in the major philosophical periodicals in the preceding quarter. Extensive subject index; author index with abstracts; small book review index. Cumulates into an annual volume. (Ref/B/1/P456)
Retrospective index, 1940-1976: (Ref/B/1/P455)
[http://www.library.upenn.edu/resources/databases/about/philos.html]

WORLD AGRICULTURAL ECONOMICS & RURAL SOCIOLOGY ABSTRACTS. Farnham Royal, Bucks, England: CAB, v. 1- , 1959- .
Covers books and journal literature from many countries on agricultural policy and legislation, agrarian reform, geography, agricultural education, etc. Classified arrangement with subject index. Cumulative author, subject and geographical indexes. (Ref/HD/1401/W6)

BIBLIOGRAPHIE GEOGRAPHIQUE INTERNATIONALE. Paris: Association de Geographes Francais, v. 23- , 1915- .
Annual bibliography of books and periodical articles, some with annotations. Classed arrangement by subject and country includes subdivision "Human and Economic Geography.
(Ref/G/1/B435)

COMMUNICATIONS ABSTRACTS. Beverly Hills, CA: Sage, v. 1- , 1973- .
Abstracts of articles from more than 100 journals and 50 recent books, arranged by topic. Author and subject indexes. Quarterly with annual cumulation. (Annenberg/P/87/C64)

SAGE URBAN STUDIES ABSTRACTS. Beverly Hills, CA: Sage, v. 1- , 1973- .
Abstracts of books, articles, pamphlets, government publications, and speeches arranged by broad topics. Author and subject indexes. (Ref/HT/51/S24)

Education Index. Indexes over five hundred journals in education comprehensively. A good number of these titles have full-text for recent years. Covers 1983 to the present. The print version of Education Index is located at [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: L11 .E384], 1929-.
[http://www.library.upenn.edu/resources/databases/about/educationindex.html]


LOCATING MATERIALS IN THE ERIC INDEXES (CIJE AND RIE)

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center).
Provides indexing to almost eight hundred education and education-related journals, as well as research documents, speeches, and government publications. Focus is strongest on the United States. Online access to 80% of the ERIC Documents from 1996 to the present is available from EDRS via the ERIC database. In addition, the Van Pelt Library houses the ERIC document microfiche collection from 1985 to the present. See the CIJE Source Journal Index at http://www.ericfacility.net/extra/pub/sjisearch.cfm for the journals indexed in ERIC. A list of publications types is also available at http://ericir.syr.edu/Eric/Help/pubtypes.shtml.
[http://www.library.upenn.edu/resources/databases/about/eric.html]


RIE/RESOURCES IN EDUCATION (formerly Research in Education). Vol. 1- . Washington, DC: Superintendent of Documents, 1966-.
Subject/author/institution index to report literature in education. 12 issues per year with semi-annual cumulation (annual cumulation prior to 1975). Current 10 years are in reference; older issues in stacks (Z/5811/R48). (Ref/CD Area)

CIJE/CURRENT INDEX TO JOURNALS IN EDUCATION. V. 1- . NY: CCM Information Co.
Subject/author index to over 500 journals in education giving very brief annotations (for most) in the "main entry" section and a list of "descriptors" used for each article (taken from the Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors mentioned above). (Ref/CD Area)

*