Sidebar
Main Content
International Statistics - Research Guide
This guide is designed to help users find International Statistics. Included are directions for finding national statistics for non-US countries, and the statistical holdings of United Nations.- 1. Basics
- 2. Agriculture
- 3. Cities
- 4. Economics and Development
- 5. Education
- 6. Elections
- 7. Environment
- 8. Housing
- 9. Immigration/Migration
- Labor
- 10. Military and Defense
- 11. Population
- 12. Religion
- 13. Transportation
Overview Works
Europa World Year Book London, England : Europa Publications Limited, c1989- 2 vols
This source provides basic overviews of countries, including basic statistical information including area and population, health and welfare, agriculture, forestry, fishing, industry, finance, trade, transport, toiurism, the media and educations.
Location: 1961 - 2002 -- Van Pelt Library JN1 .E85. Latest year at Van Pelt Reference Desk
Statistical Yearbook = Annuaire Statistique. Department of Economic and Social Information and Policy Analysis, Statistical Division. Statistical yearbook (United Nations. Statistical Division). New York : United Nations,
This publication of the United Nations collects data from over 35 international and national sources. It includes world and regional summaries, population and social statistics, economic activities, and international economic relations
Holdings:Van Pelt and Lippincott HA12.5 .U63; latest at Van Pelt Reference desk; latest 10 volumes in Lippincott Reference) Library has 1948-1997.
UNSTATS, or United Nations Common Database
Statistical information for countries collected from UN and related international governmental organizations. To find out what information exists on a give topic, select "Topics List." To see all of the data for a particular country, select "Countries" from the list on the left of the page. Search by country to see a list of time series for social indicators, development finance, economic growth, labour force, population, international trade, environment, and age distribution. Time series go back up to 50 years depending on the country.
Use the advanced data search for more detailed tables in excel and cvs format. Also check the United Nations Publications - Research Guide
Holdings:UNSTATS - http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/7058.
Use the advanced data search for more detailed tables in excel and cvs format. Also check the United Nations Publications - Research Guide
Holdings:UNSTATS - http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/7058.
- SourceOECD -- Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), StatisticsFulltext publications and statistical information from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) covering agriculture and food, education and skills, emerging economies and transition economies, employment, energy, enterprise, industry, and trade, environment and sustainable development, finance and investment, general economics and future studies, governance, international development, nuclear energy, science and information technology, social issues and migration, statistics sources and methods, taxation, territorial economy, and transport.
- World Development Indicators -- The World Bank's principal data source on the global economy. More than 550 time series, 1960-present, on more than 200 countries and 18 country groups, covering demographic, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators
National Statistics for Non- US Countries
United Nations. National and international data sources and links. Deparment of Economic and Social Affairs. Statistics Divistion. 1999-2002
This UN site provides links to the main statistical sites of member countries as well as the name of many primary statistical publications.
Link:http://unstats.un.org/unsd/methods/inter-natlinks/sd_nat_data.htm
Link:http://unstats.un.org/unsd/methods/inter-natlinks/sd_nat_data.htm
Statistical Yearbooks for individual foreign countries
Titles of the Statistical Yearbooks of foreign countries. Try searching for the title in Franklin.
Northwestern University Library
University of Michigan, Documents Center.
- UN Centre for Human Settlement, Global Urban Indicators - searchable database of indicators for world cities includes population, literacy, school enrollment, also urban indicators such as access to water, tenure, transportation (latest available year), some comparisions by region/country.
- UN Publications beyond UNSTATS (listed above)
- Economic Commission for Africa
- Economic Commission for Asia and the Pacific, Statistical Division
- Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia -- Statistical Division
- Economic Commission for Latin American and the Caribbean, Statistics Division --Statistical Information
- Economic Commission for Europe, Statistics Division
- United Nations Development Programme
- Human Development Report
- United Nations, Industrial Development Organization, Industrial Statistics
- International Monetary Fund
- Country Information - includes a variety of publications, press releases, news briefs, IMF Surveys, and IMF Staff Country Reports. Some Country Reports have statistical compendium (TS), mostly late 1990s data.
- World Economic Outlook - Economic developments at the global level, in major country groups (by region, stage of development, etc.), and in many individual countries. Also available in print, see above.
- World Bank Group
- World Development Indicators -- The World Bank's principal data source on the global economy. More than 550 time series, 1960-present, on more than 200 countries and 18 country groups, covering demographic, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators
- World Development Reports - full reports with data tables.
- Regions and Countries - projects, Country-at-a-Glance, Country Data Proile (TS 95-98-99), bank reports, press releases.
- Genderstats - Country data sheets showing summary gender indicators, basic demographic data, population dynamics, labor force structure, and education and health statistics (TS).
- Health, Nutrition, and Population Statistics - HNPStats offers country data sheets showing summary indicators for health status, health determinants, and health finance (TS).
- PovertyNet - search by region or country, many fulltext documents. Section on data on poverty.
- SourceOECD -- Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), StatisticsFulltext publications and statistical information from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) covering agriculture and food, education and skills, emerging economies and transition economies, employment, energy, enterprise, industry, and trade, environment and sustainable development, finance and investment, general economics and future studies, governance, international development, nuclear energy, science and information technology, social issues and migration, statistics sources and methods, taxation, territorial economy, and transport.
- World Trade Organization, Statistics
- UNESCO Institute for Statistics Includes World Education Indicators, Database of figures on enrollment, expenditures, and literacy; and UNESCO Yearbook 1999.
- National Center for Education Statistics Note Education Indicators: An International Perspective
- Third International Mathematics and Science Study
From National Center for Education Statistics. Full text of publication in html and PDF formats, statements of the Secretary of Education and the President, test questions, and other related materials. - International Archive of Education Statistics
Sponsored by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) and hosted by the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), at the University of Michigan, this archive collects and disseminates data "pertaining to all levels of education in countries for which data can be made available." Holdings include Elementary/ Secondary Surveys, Postsecondary Surveys, Longitudinal Surveys, and Library and Education Assessment surveys.
- Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) Catalog and index to ICPSR's holdings of demographic, economic, and political data tapes. Some data sets and codebooks are available on-line.
- Voter Turnout from 1945 to present Based on the International IDEA database of postwar elections, which covers 171 independent states, 1,129 parliamentary elections and 360 presidential elections.
- Lijphart Elections Archive - University of California, San Diego
Election results for approximately 350 national legislative elections in 26 countries. Includes both print and online resources.
- Consortium for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN) CIESIN is a private, government-sponsored research organization dedicated to disseminating information on global environmental change and demographics.
- EarthTrends the Environmental Information Portal Provided by the World Resources Institute (WRI) with assistance from several sponsors, EarthTrends offers searchable databases, data tables, country profiles, maps, and feature articles in ten topical sections. These include Coastal and Marine Ecosystems, Climate and Atmosphere, Agriculture and Food, and Forests and Grasslands, and more. Search by country, region, variable, and year. Data tables and country profiles are provided in .pdf format.
- Living Planet Report Published by the World Wildlife Fund, this report analyzes environmental data in conjunction with global consumption patterns to calculate the cumulative effect that humankind has on the earth's ecosystems.
- World Resources Institute
- World Health Organization Statistical Information System
- World Health Report - World Health Organization
- UNICEF - Statistics
- UNAIDS- Co-sponsored by UNICEF, UNDP, UNFPA, UNESCO, WHO, World Bank. Fact sheets, press releases, research documents.
- United Nations Centre for Human Settlement
- Global Urban Indicators - searchable database of indicators for world cities includes population, literacy, school enrollment, also urban indicators such as access to water, tenure, transportation (latest available year), some comparisions by region/country.
- Human Settlements Statistics Database - categories include demography, economy, land natural resources, housing, and infrstructure resources (latest available year).
- International Organization for Migration
- International Labour Migration Statistics - ILO
- UN/ECE Statistical Division's: Migration Statistics
- World Refugee Information - Statistics
- International Labour Organisation (ILO)
- Bureau of Statistics and STAT Search
- LABORSTA - the Labour Statistics Database, operated by the ILO Bureau of Statistics, of annual time-series which serve to publish the ILO Yearbook of Labour Statistics (TS, database).
- Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI)
- SIPRI Data on Military Expenditure
- UN Peacekeeping Operations Data for each mission, fatalities by type and mission, numbers of peacekeeping forces contributed by country, and the most current annual report.
- United Nations Population Information Network
- The State of World Population 2001
- CIA World Factbook Supplies general country profiles, includes population figures.
- World Bank
- Global Stats Gives general data - capital, area, population - for the countries of the world. Country profiles give population for administrative districts and major cities.
- World Population Information - U.S. Bureau of the Census
- International Data Base (IDB) Created in the Census Bureau's International Programs Center, the International Data Base (IDB) is a computerized source of demographic and socio-economic statistics for all countries of the world. The IDB combines data from country sources (especially censuses and surveys) with IPC's estimates and projections to provide information dating back as far as 1950 and as far ahead as 2050.



