Sidebar
Main Content
U.S. Census - Research Guide
This guide provides information about U.S. Census data in a variety of formats for a range of time periods. The 2000 and 1990 Census publications are described in more detail, while for earlier decennial census years, selected publications are listed or summarized. Guides to recent and past Census products are also provided. (Update in progess, 4/03).
2000 Decennial Census
For a full-list of Census 2000 products available at the Library, search Franklin under United States Census, 22nd, 2000.
Online Data
- Census 2000 Gateway - U.S. Census Bureau
- American Fact Finder - Popular tables and maps for the U.S., states, counties, cities, towns, and American Indian reservations.
- Street Address Search - search by known address for tract numbers and tables.
- Summary File 3 - Summary File 3 consists of 813 detailed tables of Census 2000 social, economic and housing characteristics compiled from a sample of approximately 19 million housing units (about 1 in 6 households) that received the Census 2000 long-form questionnaire.
- Street Address Search - search by known address for tract numbers and tables.
- Brewer, Cynthia A. Mapping Census 2000: The Geography of U.S. Diversity, Census 2000 special reports . [Washington, D.C.] : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Economics and Statistics Administration, U.S. Census Bureau : [For sale by Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O.], 2001.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: G1201.E25 B7 2001]
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: G1201.E25 B7 2001}
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: G1201.E25 B7 2001}
- Census 2000 TIGER/Line Data - ESRI
- GIS users can download Census 2000 TIGER/Line Data in shapefile format for an area of interest. Users can choose multiple data layers for a single county or a single data layer for multiple counties.
CD-ROM
- Census 2000. Summary file 1 [electronic resource] : census of population and housing. Washington, DC : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Economics and Statistics Administration, U.S. Census Bureau, [2001].
- [High Density Storage: HA201 2000 .C46 2001]
- Census 2000. Modified race data summary file [electronic resource] : b census of population and housing].Washington, DC : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Economics and Statistics Administration, U.S. Census Bureau, [2002].
- [Van Pelt Library: search Franklin]
- Census 2000 block maps [electronic resource] : PDF map files. Washington, DC : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Economics and Statistics Administration, U.S. Census Bureau, [2002]-
- [Van Pelt Library: search Franklin]
Print Reports
- 2000 census of population and housing. Summary population and housing characteristics.
- Washington, D.C. : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Economics and Statistics Administration, U.S. Census Bureau : For sale by Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O., [2002]-
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: HA201.122 .C52 2002], 2-52, v. 1-2 at Reference.
1990 Decennial Census
For a full-list of Census 1990 products available at the Library, search Franklin under United States Census, 21st, 1990.
Online Data
- 1990 Census
- 1990 Census Lookup
- STF 1 - 100% count - basic demographic variables
- STF 3 - Sample count - all socioeconomic and demographic variables
- STF 1 - 100% count - basic demographic variables
CD-ROM
- 1990 census of population and housing. Equal employment opportunity file.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Moelis CD Area: CD-ROM 57]
- 1990 census of population and housing. Subject summary tape files (SSTF)
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Moelis CD Area; see call numbers below.]
- SSTF 1 - The Foreign-born population in the United States, HA201 1990u.
- SSTF 2 - Ancestry of the population in the United States,HA201 1990v.
- SSTF 3 - Persons of Hispanic origin in the United States, no call #.
- SSTF 4 - Characteristics of adults with work disabilities, mobility limitations, or self-care limitations, HA201 1990ae.
- SSTF 5 - Characteristics of the Asian and Pacific Islander population in the United States, E184.O6 C44 1994.
- SSTF 6 - Education in the United States, LB2846 .C38 1995 (with 12).
- SSTF 7 - Metropolitan housing characteristics , HA201 1990ab.
- SSTF 8 - Housing of the elderly, HD7287.92.U54 C46 1995.
- SSTF 9 - Housing characteristics of new units, HD7293 .C46 1995.
- SSTF 10 - Housing characteristics of mobile homes, HD7289.62.U6 C46 1995.
- SSTF 12 - Employment status, work experience, and veteran status LB2846 .C38 1995. (with 6)
- SSTF 14 - Occupation and industry, industry by occupation, HB2595 .B39 1995.
- SSTF 15 - geographic mobility in the United States, HB1965 .C46 1996.
- SSTF 16 - Fertility, HA201 1990ag.
- SS TF 17 - Poverty areas in the United States, HD6983 .C46 1994.
- SSTF 18 - condominium housing, HD7287.62.U5 C46 1995.
- SSTF 19 - the older population of the United States, HA201 1990an.
- SSTF 20 - Journey to work in the United States, HD5717.5.U6 C34 1995.
- SSTF 21 - Characteristics of the Black population of the United States, HA201 1990ao.
- SSTF 22 - Earnings by occupation and education,HA201 1990y.
- SSTF 1 - The Foreign-born population in the United States, HA201 1990u.
- 1990 census of population and housing. Public use microdata samples. A (5%) sample [computer file] Washington, DC : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, Data User Services Division, 1995.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Moelis CD Area: HA201 1990ah], disc 1-7
- Contains housing unit and person records for 5% of the population arranged in Public Use Microdata Areas (PUMAs) for each state. Includes Quicktab software which can do cross tabulations and frequency distributions and a program that will download an individual PUMA to disk.
- Contains housing unit and person records for 5% of the population arranged in Public Use Microdata Areas (PUMAs) for each state. Includes Quicktab software which can do cross tabulations and frequency distributions and a program that will download an individual PUMA to disk.
- 1990 census of population and housing. Public use microdata samples. B (1%) sample [computer file]
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Moelis CD Area: HA201 1990t], disc 1-2
- Contains housing unit and person records for 1% of the population arranged in Public Use Microdata Areas (PUMAs) for each state.
- Contains housing unit and person records for 1% of the population arranged in Public Use Microdata Areas (PUMAs) for each state.
- CensusCD+maps [computer file]. East Brunswick, NJ : GeoLytics, c2000. Version 4.0
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Moelis CD Area: 01 1990 .C462 2000]
- Contains complete 1990 US census data down to census block group, projections of demographics and consumer spending, complete map boundaries for all block groups, and county statistics from 1790 to 2004. Allows user to select, report, and map data.
- Contains complete 1990 US census data down to census block group, projections of demographics and consumer spending, complete map boundaries for all block groups, and county statistics from 1790 to 2004. Allows user to select, report, and map data.
- CensusCD blocks [computer file] : complete U.S. block data and maps. [East Brunswick, New Jersey] : GeoLytics, 1998.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Moelis CD Area: HA201 1990av], disc + guide.
- " ... contains all the population and housing data from the Census Bureau's STF 1B and PL94-171 files, the latest TIGER boundaries, and over 50 geographic identifiers, including 1980 FIPS codes, and Zip Code to census block relationships"--User guide, leaf 2.
Print Data
- 1990 census of housing. General housing characteristics. CH1
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: HD7293 .C43 1992]
- One volume for each state with statistics for counties and places of 1,000 or more on 100% housing characteristics (number of rooms, rent, value, occupancy, vacancy). The statistics for all states appear in three separate reports: General Housing Characteristics for American Indian and Alaska Native Areas (CH-1-1A), Statistical Areas (CH-1-1B), and Urbanized Areas (CH-1-1C).
- 1990 census of housing. Detailed housing characteristics. CH2
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: HD7293 .C432 1993 ]
- One volume for each state with data on age of unit, year moved into residence, heating fuel, water and sewage, gross rent, condominium status, and ownership costs. Statistics shown for states, counties and places over 2,500 inhabitants. The statistics for all states appear in three separate reports: Detailed Housing Characteristics for American Indian and Alaska Native Areas (CH-2-1A), Metropolitan Statistical Areas (CH-2-1B) and Urbanized Areas (CH-2-1C).
- One volume for each state with data on age of unit, year moved into residence, heating fuel, water and sewage, gross rent, condominium status, and ownership costs. Statistics shown for states, counties and places over 2,500 inhabitants. The statistics for all states appear in three separate reports: Detailed Housing Characteristics for American Indian and Alaska Native Areas (CH-2-1A), Metropolitan Statistical Areas (CH-2-1B) and Urbanized Areas (CH-2-1C).
- 1990 census of housing : metropolitan housing characteristics CH-3-1
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: HD7293 .C42 1993]
- 1990 census of housing : residential finance. CH4
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: HD7293.Z9 C43 1994]
- Detailed national cross-tabulations of property, mortgage and owner characteristics by type of mortgage. Includes such variables as points, real estate taxes, and type of downpayment.
- Detailed national cross-tabulations of property, mortgage and owner characteristics by type of mortgage. Includes such variables as points, real estate taxes, and type of downpayment.
- 1990 census of population. General population characteristics. CP1
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: HA201 1990m]
- One volume for each state with statistics on and cross-classified by age, sex, race, Hispanic origin, marital status, household relationship, and group quarters residence for counties and places of 1,000 or more. Includes single years of age under 21 and the homeless population. U.S. Summary volume.
- One volume for each state with statistics on and cross-classified by age, sex, race, Hispanic origin, marital status, household relationship, and group quarters residence for counties and places of 1,000 or more. Includes single years of age under 21 and the homeless population. U.S. Summary volume.
- 1990 census of population. Social and economic characteristics. CP2
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: HA201 1990n]
- One volume for each state with detailed tabulations of sample data for the state, counties and places, including townships, of 2,500 or more inhabitants. Data include occupation, industry, income, poverty status, school enrollment, language, ethnic origin, country of birth, and travel time to work. U.S. Summary volume.
- One volume for each state with detailed tabulations of sample data for the state, counties and places, including townships, of 2,500 or more inhabitants. Data include occupation, industry, income, poverty status, school enrollment, language, ethnic origin, country of birth, and travel time to work. U.S. Summary volume.
- 1990 Census of Population. Population subject reports. CP3
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: HA201 1990o ]
- Detailed cross-tabulations of population characteristics on a national, regional and divisional level. Some available on CD-ROM, see above.
- Detailed cross-tabulations of population characteristics on a national, regional and divisional level. Some available on CD-ROM, see above.
- 1990 Census of population and housing. Summary population and housing characteristics. CPH1
- Separate state reports provide population and housing unit counts as well as summary statistics on age, sex, race, Hispanic origin, household relationship, units in structure, value and rent, number of rooms, tenure and vacancy characteristics for states, counties and local governments. Separate. U.S. Summary volume.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: HA201 1990d]
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: HA201 1990d]
- 1990 census of population and housing. Population and housing unit counts. CPH2
- Provides total population and housing unit counts, 1970-1990, a well as 1990 land area and population density for States, counties, minor civil divisions/census divisions, places, and MSAs. Separate U.S. Summary volume.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: HA201 1990g]
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: HA201 1990g]
- 1990 Census of population and housing. Population and housing characteristics for census tracts and block numbering areas [name of metropolitan statistical areas, consolidated metropolitan statistical areas, and primary metropolitan statistical areas]. CPH3
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: HA201 1990h], Philadlephia 40 at Reference Desk.
One report issued for each MSA and one for the balance of each state.
Among the social, economic and housing data included in this report are age by sex, household relationships, school enrollment, educational attainment, journey to work, labor force and disability status, ancestry and income, as well as housing mortgage costs, fuels and equipment. Statistics are tabulated by race for tracts with 400 or more persons of that race. Tract data is also available via the Census website.
- 1990 census of population and housing. Population and housing characteristics for congressional districts of the 103rd Congress. CPH4
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: HA201 1990i]
- One report for each state with detailed maps of Congressional Districts drawn as a result of the 1990 Census. Contains brief 100% and sample data for the state, each Congressional District, counties and places of 10,000+. 100% data for the 102nd Congress appears on the STF1A CD-ROM. One-hundred percent and sample data for the 103rd Congress appears on STF3D.
- One report for each state with detailed maps of Congressional Districts drawn as a result of the 1990 Census. Contains brief 100% and sample data for the state, each Congressional District, counties and places of 10,000+. 100% data for the 102nd Congress appears on the STF1A CD-ROM. One-hundred percent and sample data for the 103rd Congress appears on STF3D.
- 1990 census of population and housing. Summary social, economic, and housing characteristics. CPH5
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: HA201 1990j]
- One report for each state and a U.S. summary with sample population and housing data for local governments. Brief data on language, education, employment, disability, income, poverty, and housing age, fuel, e quipment, and finance.
- One report for each state and a U.S. summary with sample population and housing data for local governments. Brief data on language, education, employment, disability, income, poverty, and housing age, fuel, e quipment, and finance.
- 1990 Census of population and housing. Population and housing characteristics for census tracts and block numbering areas [name of metropolitan statistical areas, consolidated metropolitan statistical areas, and primary metropolitan statistical areas].
- Washington, D.C. : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Economics and Statistics Administration, Bureau of the Census : For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O., [1993-
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: HA201 1990h], 40, Philadelphia at the Reference Desk.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: HA201 1990h], 40, Philadelphia at the Reference Desk.
- 1990 census of population and housing. Population and housing characteristics for congressional districts of the 103rd Congress.
- Washington, D.C. : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Economics and Statistics Administration, Bureau of the Census : For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O., [1992-
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: HA201 1990i]
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: HA201 1990i]
Historical Decennial Census Data, 1790-1980
Printed Reports
Decennial Census Volumes are located in the Van Pelt stacks at HA 201: [year].
For a full list of census material available at the Penn Library, please search in Franklin, by the census as a subject heading.
Online
- Selected Historical Decennial Census Population and Housing Counts - U.S. Bureau of the Census.
- United States Historical Census Browser
- The data describe the population and economy of U.S. states and counties from 1790 to 1960 and is from decennial census conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau. Compiled by the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) under a grant from the National Science Foundation.
CD-ROM
- 1980 Census of population and housing. Summary tape file 1A. Washington, D.C. : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, Administrative and Customer Services Division, [1999?]
- [High Density Storage: HA201 1980ad], discs 1-4 + documentation
- MicroAnalyst [computer file]. [Beverly Hills, CA] : QueryLogic, c2000.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: HA181 .M53 2000], 1 v. + 4 discs
- Collection of census data from 1850 to 1990 along with programs to manipulate the data. Data comprises the Public Use Microdata Samples (PUMS) files and IPUMS (Integrated Public Use Microdata Samples).
Microfiche
- Summary Tape File 1A Microfiche (State) [microfiche], 1980 census. prepared by Data Access and Use Staff, Data User Services Division, Bureau of the Census.
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfiche 778]
- Pt. 1] Technical documentation. 1981. (2 sheets), [pt. 2] Technical documentation : user notes. 1982. (1 sheet), [pt. 3] Technical documentation : user note no. 2. 1982. (1 sheet), [pt. 4] District of Columbia. 1982. (16 sheets), [pt. 5] Pennsylvania. 1982. (445 sheets) .
Historical Trends
- Demographic Trends in the 20th Century. Census 2000 Special Reports. (online reports, PDF).
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: : HB3505.A3 H63 2002 ]
- Iceland, John. Racial and ethnic residential segregation in the United States, 1980-2000 : Census 2000 special reports. Washington, D.C. : Economics and Statistics Administration, U.S. Census Bureau, 2002.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E184.A1 I32 2002]
Finding Other Publications from the Census Bureau
- For other printed volumes by the Census Bureau, search Franklin, the Penn Library Catalog.
- Author Search:
- united states census office [until 1900]
- united states bureau of the census [after 1900]
- Keyword Searches:
- nkey census and (bureau or office) and "retail trade"
- united states census office [until 1900]
Philadelphia Historical - All Formats
- Printed volumes of tract level data for the Philadelphia area
from the decennial censuses of 1940-1990 are located at the Van Pelt Library
Reference Desk. Additional copies are in the stacks with the main census
collection.
- Philadelphia Data and Maps
- Philadelphia County, PA, Archives Census Data
- Philadelphia NIS NeighborhoodBase
- P.L. 94-171 county block map[s] (1990) : Philadelphia County [Washington, D.C.] : The Bureau, [1991]
- Philadelphia Data and Maps
- [ Van Pelt Library Reference Atlas Cases: G3824.P5 E25 S4 U55a], print map.




