Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
Click here to IM, text, or chat
Research Guides
FindIt:

Sidebar

Main Content

JPRS Reports - Research Guide


JPRS Reports were originally prepared for the informational use of U.S. Government officials and agencies by the Joint Publications Research Service, a sub-agency of the Central Intelligence Agency. [The JPRS series of publications were transferred to the Foreign Broadcast Information Service in July, 1979.] JPRS Reports contain translations of non-U.S. originated, foreign language materials from newspapers, journals, speeches, and broadcasts published from all regions of the world, including Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America and the Near East. Consequently, JPRS Reports are a valuable and unique source of primary and secondary material from around the world. Subjects covered in the JPRS Reports include economics, international relations, national politics, military affairs, and science and technology.


JPRS Reports - Availability at Van Pelt Library

October 1958 - December 1962

United States Government Publications. Joint Publications Research Service. (Non-Depository). Readex Microprint.
[Van Pelt Reference Gov Docs Room: Microprint #8]
Contains JPRS publications from October 1958 through December 1962. Items identified as "non-depository" in the Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications are reproduced in this microprint collection. Translations are arranged by Monthly Catalog number. For conversion tables of JPRS numbers see Index to Readex Microprint Edition of JPRS Reports (see below).
United States Government Publications (Depository) 1956-1980. Readex Microprint.
[Van Pelt Reference Gov Docs Room: Microprint #5] Contains JPRS publications identified as "Depository" in the Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications [Van Pelt Reference: Z 1223 .A18]. Documents are arranged by Monthly Catalog number.

July 1962 - June 1974

JPRS publications from July 1962 through June 1974 are available on microfilm [Van Pelt Reference Gov Docs Room]. These reports are available in five series; four series after September 1964. See JPRS Indexes - Regions, (see below), for indexes to these microfilm sets.

Asian Developments: A Collection of U.S. JPRS Translations in the Social Sciences Emanating from Asian Countries Other than Communist China and Exclusive of the Near-East.
JPRS-SS-ASIA. July 1962 - Aug. 1964. JPRS #15297 - #25321.
[Van Pelt Microforms: Film Cont. 63] Covers Indonesia, Mongolia, North Korea, North Vietnam, and South and East Asia. From Sept. 1964 to June 1974, this series is included in JPRS-SS-CA (China & Asia).
China and Asia: A Collection of U.S. JPRS Translations.
JPRS-SS-CA (China & Asia). July 1962 - June 1974. JPRS #14407 - #61933.
[Van Pelt Microforms: Film Cont. 64] From July 1962 through Aug. 1964 contains only China (JPRS-SS-C).
East Europe: A Collection of U.S. JPRS Translations Emanating from Albania, Bulgaria, Czechoslovakia, East Germany, Hungary, Poland, Rumania, and Yugoslavia.
JPRS-SS-E (East Europe). July 1962 - June 1974. JPRS #14347 - #61770.
[Van Pelt Microforms: Film Cont. 65]
International Developments: A Collection of U.S. JPRS Translations Emanating from Africa, Latin America, Near East and Western Europe.
JPRS-SS-ID (International Developments). July 1962 - June 1974. JPRS #16856 - #62147.
[Van Pelt Microforms: Film Cont. 66]
Soviet Union: A Collection of U.S. JPRS Translations Emanating from the USSR.
JPRS-SS-R (Russia). July 1962 - June 1974. JPRS #14498 - #62046.
[Van Pelt Microforms: Film Cont. 67]
Daily Report. Asia & Pacific.
[HIgh Density Storage: DA1 . A47143. Some vols incomplete no. 133 (1973: July 11)-no.58 (1977: Mar 25)]

July 1974 - December 1977

Van Pelt Library has few JPRS reports from July 1974 to December 1977 (see Daily Report. Asia & Pacific, above). Some reports can be located in the Readex United States Government Publications (Non-Depository) collection at the Free Library of Philadelphia.

January 1978 - Present

Since 1978, the Van Pelt Library has received JPRS reports on microfiche through the Government Depository Library Program. These reports are housed in the Van Pelt Library Reference Gov Docs Room and are shelved by SuDoc number and then by JPRS accession number or series code. Reports #70402 - #73858, Jan. 1978 - July 1979, at Y 3.J 66/13:; Reports #73856 - , July 1979 - , at PrEx 7.14: - PrEx 7.23: range.


Government SuDoc Numbers for JPRS Reports

Over the years, the Government Printing Office (GPO) has made the unclassified JPRS Reports available to the public. A variety of classification schemes have been used to identify JPRS publications. Beginning in 1957, JPRS assigned a single accession number to each report produced. From 1957 until 1981, GPO used a single SuDoc number stem to identify all JPRS reports and incorporated individual JPRS accession numbers into the classification scheme. From 1981 to 1989, GPO assigned separate SuDoc stems to each report series. In 1984, three-letter series codes were adopted and replaced the JPRS accession numbers in the classification scheme. In 1990, GPO reverted back to using one SuDoc number for all series and retained the three letter series codes.

Currently, the GPO has assigned one classification stem (PrEx 7.13:) to all JPRS series. JPRS series codes and individual publication numbers follow the SuDoc stem. [For example: PrEx 7.13:EER-93-1 represents the first report in the East Europe series for 1993].

	1957 - mid 1979		Y 3.J 66:#/ (JPRS accession number)
	1979 - 1981		PrEx 7.13: (JPRS accession number)
	1981 - 1983		PrEx 7.14: (JPRS accession number) through 
	 			PrEx 7.23: (JPRS accession number)
	1983 - 1990		PrEx 7.14: (series code) through  PrEx 7.23: (series code)
	1990 -			PrEx 7.13: (series code)

Retrospective Indexes to JPRS Reports

Transdex Index. Wooster, Ohio: Bell & Howell, 1974 -1996.
[Van Pelt Microforms: Microfiche 163], annual cumulations, 1975 - 1996 (ceased publication). Contains content listings of translations arranged by JPRS accession number. Other indexes include keyword, keyword frequency index, and personal name index. Use JPRS accession number or series code to locate translations (1978 - present) in U.S. government documents microfiche
Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications. Washington: GPO.
[Van Pelt Reference: Z 1223 .A18]
The Monthly Catalog provides limited access to early (c. 1958-1964) JPRS reports. Publications can be identified through agency listings in the monthly issues or the annual subject index. See the Van Pelt holdings above to determine the format and location of a particular report.
United States. Joint Publications Research Service. Catalog Cards in Book Form for United States Joint Publications Research Service Translations. New York: CCM Information Corporation. 1957 - 1970.
[Van Pelt Reference Stacks: AS 36 .U574]
Lists all JPRS publications in accession number sequence. The first issue covers 1957- 1961; later issues cover six month periods. Content descriptions provided since 1962.
Transdex; Bibliography and Index to the U.S. JPRS Translations. New York: Macmillan Information, July 1970 - June 1974.
[Van Pelt Reference: AS 36. U574], v. 9, 1970 - v. 12,1974.
Continues Catalog Cards in Book Form.... Provides indexing by country, subject, publication title, and author. Continued by Transdex (above).
Poole, Mary Elizabeth. Index to Readex Microprint Edition of JPRS Reports. New York, Readex Microprint Corp., 1964.
[Van Pelt Reference: AS 36 .U5612]
Covers 1958 -1963. Provides a cross listing of JPRS report numbers and Monthly Catalog citation numbers, by which the reports are arranged on the JPRS Readex Microprint collection [Van Pelt Microforms: Microprint #8].
Subject Index to United States Joint Publications Research Service Translations. New York: CCM Information Services, Inc. 1966 - .
[Van Pelt Reference Stacks: AS 36 .U5812], 1966 - 1968.
Bi-annual subject index to JPRS social sciences translations from 1966-68. Provides JPRS numbers, as well as conversion tables to microfilm collections.

JPRS Indexes by Regions

The following four monthly indexes cover both scientific and social science related JPRS reports translated between 1962 and 1970. They are organized into four geographic areas as are the companion microfilm compilations [Van Pelt Microforms: Film Cont. 63 - 67 (see p.2-3, above)]. Frequency and format of index volumes vary.

Each index issue contains detailed descriptions of the contents of each JPRS report indexed, separate subject indexes for scientific-technical and social science translations, a cross reference index listing JPRS accession numbers and location in the microfilm collection, and a code list of reports series. The sequence of reports on the microfilm is identical to the order in which they appear in the content listings contained in these indexes.

United States. Joint Publications Research Service. Bibliography-Index to Current U.S. JPRS Translations: China & Asia Exclusive of Near East. New York: Research and Microfilm Publications, CCM Information Corp., July 1962-June 1970.
[Van Pelt Microforms: Z 3101 .K9]
Includes Communist China, Mongolia, South and East Asia, North Korea, and North Vietnam. Corresponds to Film Cont. 64.
United States. Joint Publications Research Service. Bibliography-Index to Current U.S. JPRS Translations: East Europe; Albania, Bulgaria, Czechoslovakia, East Germany, Hungary, Poland, Rumania, Yugoslavia. New York: Research & Microfilm Publications, CCM Information Corp., July 1962-June 1970.
[Van Pelt Microforms: Z2483 .K9] Corresponds to Film Cont. 65.
United States. Joint Publications Research Service. Bibliography-Index to Current U.S. JPRS Translations: International Developments; Africa, Latin America, Near East, International Communist Developments. New York: Research & Microfilm Publications, CCM Information Corp., July 1962-June 1970.
[Van Pelt Microforms: Z 6205 .K95] Corresponds to Film Cont. 66.
United States. Joint Publications Research Service. Bibliography-Index to Current U.S. JPRS Translations: Soviet Union. New York: Research & Microfilm Publications, CCM Information Corp., July 1962-June 1970.
[Van Pelt Microforms: Z2491 .K9] Corresponds to Film Cont. 67.

Current JPRS Series - by Region

Series						SuDoc Number 
						and Series Designation

*Current JPRS fiche are filed by SuDoc number, then series
designation, year, and issue number.  Fiche are located in the
Van Pelt Library Reference: U.S. Government Documents Room.

Africa Reports
	Sub-Saharan Africa                                                    PrEx 7.13:SSA


Asia Reports
	Korea Kulloja				PrEx 7.13:AKU
	Korea					PrEx 7.13:KAR
	Southeast Asia				PrEx 7.13:SEA
	Vietnam Tap Chi Cong San			PrEx 7.13:ATC
	Science & Technology/Japan			PrEx 7.13:JST


China Reports
	China					PrEx 7.13:CAR
	Science & Technology/China: Energy		PrEx 7.13:CEN
	Science & Technology/China			PrEx 7.13:CST


Eastern Europe Reports
	East Europe				PrEx 7.13:EER
	Science & Technology/Europe			PrEx 7.13:EST


Western Europe Reports
	West Europe				PrEx 7.13:WER


Latin America Reports
	Latin America				PrEx 7.13:LAM
	Science & Technology/Europe/Latin America	PrEx 7.13:ELS


Near East & South Asia Reports
	Near East & South Asia			PrEx 7.13:NEA


Central Eurasia Reports (former Soviet Union) / Social Sciences
	Economic Affairs				PrEx 7.13:UEA
	EKO:Economics and Organization of 
	   Industrial Production			PrEx 7.13:UEO
	Foreign Military Review			PrEx 7.13:UFM
	International Affairs				PrEx 7.13:UIA
	Kommunist				PrEx 7.13:UKO
	Military Affairs				PrEx 7.13:UMA
	Military History Journal			PrEx 7.13:UMJ
	Peoples of Asia and Africa			PrEx 7.13:UAA
	Political Affairs				PrEx 7.13:UPA
	Sociological Studies				PrEx 7.13:USS
	USA: Economics, Politics, Ideology		PrEx 7.13:USA
	World Economy & IR				PrEx 7.13:UWE


Central Eurasia Reports (former Soviet Union) / Science & Technology
	Aviation & Cosmonautics			PrEx 7.13:UAC
	Chemistry					PrEx 7.13:UCH
	Computers					PrEx 7.13:UCC
	Electronics & Electrical Engineering		PrEx 7.13:UEE
	Engineering & Equipment			PrEx 7.13:UEQ
	Earth Sciences				PrEx 7.13:UES
	Life Sciences				PrEx 7.13:ULS
	Materials Science				PrEx 7.13:UMS
	Physics & Mathematics			PrEx 7.13:UPM
	Science & Technology Policy			PrEx 7.13:UST
	Space					PrEx 7.13:USP


Worldwide - Subject Reports
	Arms Control				PrEx 7.13:TAC
	Environmental Issues				PrEx 7.13:TEN
	Proliferation Issues				PrEx 7.13:TND
	Telecommunications				PrEx 7.13:TTP

Send mail concerning this page to Patty Lynn at: lynn@pobox.upenn.edu

*