Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
Click here to IM, text, or chat
Research Guides
FindIt:

Sidebar

Main Content

U.S. Legislative Process - Research Guide

This guide is designed to assist in locating the government publications produced in the federal legislative process of the United States, from the proposal of a bill to the enactment of a public law. The documents generated in this process include bills, hearings, prints, reports, Congressional proceedings, and public laws.


I. Getting an Overview on a Legislative Issue

CQ Weekly. Washington, D.C.: Congressional Quarterly.
Online covers 1983 - present. Provides access to articles by topic back to 1983. Includes the status of major legislation, summary of provisions, sponsors, and roll call votes back to 1995.
Also available in print: [Van Pelt Library Stacks: JK 1 .C66], 1965 - ; [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: JK 1.C66], latest five years, current year at the Reference Desk.
National Journal
Weekly review of events in Congress. Online issue via NJ website go back to 2005. Articles can be retrieved by broad topic area.
CQ ... Almanac Plus . Washington: Congressional Quarterly, 1948 - .
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: JK 1 .C66], latest ten years.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: JK 1 .C66], 1952 - .
Reviews major legislation and political events of a given year. Provides summary discussion of legislative action for the year covered. Subject index at back. Formerly Congressional Quarterly Almanac.
Congress and the Nation. Washington, D.C.: Congressional Quarterly.
[Van Pelt Reference Stacks: JK 1061 .C 62], 1945 - .
Each volume covers one four-year presidential term. Chapters cover various policy issues, and provide an introductory overview and chronology of legislative actions.
Congressional Quarterly's Guide to Congress. 5th ed. Washington, D.C.: Congressional Quarterly Inc., 2000.
[Van Pelt Reference Stacks: JK 1021 .C565 2000]
This two volume work covers the origins of Congress, the powers of Congress, procedures, the electorate, various pressures on Congress, and qualifications and conduct.

Please see section III for all access methods to full-text documents mentioned in this section.

a. Getting a Bill Number

Bill Searching:Legislative Histories, Bills & Laws section of LexisNexis Congressional.
Choose Legislative Histories, Bills & Laws. Search by keyword. The bill number will be in the records retrieved. Bill tracking and full text from 1989 forward, public laws from 1988 forward. Public laws provide bill number also.
Statutes at Large
Bill numbers can usually be found on the first page of a United States Statutes at Large documents. The bill numbers have been printed there since 1904. The Statutes are available through the Legislative Histories, Bills & Laws section of LexisNexis Congressional.
THOMAS
Provides full-text searching of bills since the 101st Congress (1989). Records retrieved will provide the bill number. Also offers bill summary and status back to 1973.
CQ Weekly Report and CQ Almanac
Bill numbers and descriptive material may be located in background topical articles. See library locations in section I.
Congressional Record
Bill numbers can be located within the subject index. Useful for older bills. See section III below for access.
Nabors, Eugene. Legislative reference checklist : the key to legislative histories from 1789-1903. Littleton, Colo. : Rothman, 1982.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: KF49 .L43 1982]
Use this to locate bill numbers for laws passed before 1903.

b. Getting a Public Law Number

Legislative Histories, Bills & Laws section of LexisNexis Congressional. Search by keyword. Can select public laws as a search option.
Shepard's acts and cases by popular names, federal and state. Colorado Springs, Colo. : Shepard's/McGraw-Hill, 1968-.
[Van Pelt Library Reference: KF80 .S5]

c. Bill Tracking

Legislative Histories, Bills & Laws section of LexisNexis Congressional. Has bill tracking searching from 1989 to the present.
THOMAS
Choose Bills, Resolutions and then Bill Summary & Status. Begins with the 93ed Congress (1973).
CQ Weekly Report
Topical articles often give status of current legislation.
Congressional Record
From 1873 to the present, each volume contains a 'History of Bills and Resolutions' section which includes citations to relevant floor debate as well as congressional reports and documents.

d. Legislative Histories

Legislative Histories, Bills & Laws section of LexisNexis Congressional. Legislative Histories for:
Complete for all Public Laws, 1999 - present.
Complete for major Public Laws only, 1984-1998
Abbreviated, all Public Laws, 1969-1983.
United States Statutes at Large
Available in the Legislative Histories, Bills & Laws section of LexisNexis Congressional. Beginning in 1963, the Statutes at Large contains legislative history citations for all public laws. For volumes 77 (1963) through 88 (1974), there is a table at the back entitled Guide to Legislative History of Bills Enacted into Public Law. For volume 89 forward, legislative history appears at the end of individual public laws. See section III for access methods.
Congressional Record
From 1873 to the present, each volume contains a 'History of Bills and Resolutions' section which includes citations to relevant floor debate as well as congressional reports and documents.
Digest of Public General Bills and Resolutions
In the front of the first volume of each annual two volume set, there is a section entitled "Public Laws - Digests with History," which contains legislative histories.
House and Senate Journals
See "History of Bills and Resolutions" sections which give legislative histories.
Public Laws
A legislative history, with references to the Congressional Record, is provided at the end of the Public Law in its slip form and as republished in the Statutes at Large.

e. Roll Call Votes

LexisNexis Congressional
Includes Key Votes in Congress from 1987 to the present and Voting records for Congress from 1988 to the present.
Thomas - Has House and Senate Roll Call Votes from 1989/90 to the present.
Congressional Record
Votes are provided in the text of the Daily Record. See "History of Bills and Resolutions" for page references.
CQ Weekly Report and CQ Almanac
There are sections on "Senate Votes" and "House Votes" in each CQ Weekly Report issue. In the CQ Almanac, see separate appendices on "House Roll-Call Vote" and "Senate Roll-Call Votes."

III. Locating Full-text Documents

Bills and Resolutions

Bills are proposed for the enactment of new legislation or the amendment of existing laws. They are numbered consecutively from the beginning of each Congress. The first bill introduced in the House of Representatives is H.R. 1, in the Senate, S. 1.

Online Versions:

Choose Legislative Histories, Bills & Laws. Includes Bill Text and Bill Tracking from 1989 to the present. (Also includes Public laws from 1988 to present and Statutes at Large from 1789 to present.)
Provides full-text of House and Senate Bills for the 101st Congress (1989-90) to the present and bill summaries from the 94th Congress (1973) to the present.
Provides online access to full-text bills since the 103rd Congress (1993-1994).

Print/Microform Versions:

All bills from August 1979 - present (96th Congress, 1st session) are available in microfiche [Van Pelt Library Reference Gov Docs Room]. Bills on fiche are arranged by Congress and session, and then by SuDoc number. Use the Cumulative Finding Aid, House and Senate Bills to determine the fiche location of a bill [Van Pelt Reference Desk: KF 15 U547]. Earlier bills are available on microprint [Van Pelt Library Reference Gov Docs Room: Microprint #5]. Documents in the microprint collection are arranged by Monthly Catalog number.


Arrangement of bills on microfiche is by Congress, then by SuDoc number:
Y 1.4/1: Congress -(nos) Senate Bills (S.)
Y 1.4/2: Congress -(nos) Senate Resolutions (S.Res.)
Y 1.4/3: Congress -(nos) Senate Joint Resolution (S.J.Res.)
Y 1.4/4: Congress -(nos) Senate Concurrent Resolutions (S. Con.Res.)
Y 1.4/6: Congress -(nos) House Bills (H.R.)
Y 1.4/7: Congress -(nos) House Resolutions (H.Res.)
Y 1.4/8: Congress -(nos) House Joint Resolutions (H.J.Res)
Y 1.4/9: Congress -(nos) House Concurrent Resolutions (H.Con.Res.)

HEARINGS

After introduction, a bill is referred to the appropriate committee(s). When considering a bill, a congressional committee may hold hearings in order to gather information. Department or agency personnel, individual experts, interested citizens, and representatives of groups affected by the legislation may be invited to testify. In addition to containing both oral and written testimony, hearings may also contain valuable statistical information and miscellaneous reports in appendix form. See also the more detailed U.S. Congressional Hearings - Research Guide

Online Versions:

Includes pdfs for hearings from 1824-1979 and pdfs for hearings in the 1789-1969 Serial Set. Also includes submitted testimony for almost all congressional hearings from 1993 forward. Coverage from 1988 to 1993 is less comprehensive.
A limited number of hearings (only those release to GPO) from the 104th Congress (1995/96) to the present Congress.

Print/Microform Versions:

Since January 1981, hearings from most committees are available in microfiche [Van Pelt Library Reference Gov Docs Room]. Hearings are filed by SuDocs number (Y 4.), within the U.S. Government documents microfiche collection.

Prior to January 1981, the hearings of select committees were received in paper form. These are selectively cataloged and classified separately, and can be located through Franklin by committee name and hearing title: e.g. U.S. Congress. Senate. Committee on Foreign Affairs. Title.

In addition to paper, hearings from 1954 - 1980 are also available in microprint [Van Pelt Library Reference Gov Docs Room: Microprint #5]. Documents contained in the microprint collection are arranged by Monthly Catalog number (see Monthly Catalog, Van Pelt Reference Stacks: Z 1223 .A18].

The Biddle Law Library has hearings in paper from July 1980 to the present; as well as in microfiche from 1970 - 79 and 1986 - date [microforms, filed by CIS number]. See LOLA for the U.S. Congressional hearings (Senate Library) [microform] and Unpublished U.S. House of Representatives Committee Hearings [microform] collection holdings.



PRINTS

Prints provide background information on a bill. Prints are requested by the Committee and may be prepared by the committee's research staff, outside consultants, or often the Congressional Research Service of the Library of Congress.

Online Versions:

LexisNexis Congressional (Basic subscription for prints) has full text for approximately 15 percent of committee prints from the 104th Congress forward (1995-forward). There are also 13 prints available from the 103rd Congress.
Selected prints from the 105th Congress, 1997 - .

Print/Microform Versions:

Prints from 1981 to the present are available in microfiche [Van Pelt Library Reference Gov Docs Room]. Prints are interfiled with the hearings, by SuDoc number (Y 4.), within the U.S. Government document microfiche collection.

Prior to 1981, selected prints were received in paper. These are cataloged and classified separately and can be located through Franklin. Not all prints are offered to depository libraries.

In addition to paper, some committee prints from 1954 - 1980 may be available in microprint [Van Pelt Library Reference Gov Docs Room: Microprint #5]. Documents contained in the microprint collection are arranged by Monthly Catalog number (see Monthly Catalog, Van Pelt Reference Stacks: Z 1223 .A18].

The Biddle Law Library has prints in paper from July 1980 to the present [closed stacks in Silverman Hall]; as well as in microfiche from 1970 - 79 and 1986 - date [Microforms room, filed by CIS number]. See LOLA for the CIS U.S. Congressional Committee Prints on Microfiche [microform] collection.



REPORTS and DOCUMENTS

Following hearings and mark-up sessions, a committee will issue a report. Reports describe the purpose and provide a section-by- section analysis of a bill, indicate changes to existing laws, and include minority opinions. A bill will be reported favorably, with amendments, unfavorably, or with action postponed. A committee will rarely report a bill it does not recommend. A bill "dies" if it is not reported back to chamber by the end of the Congress.

House and Senate Documents represent a wide range of publications including presidential messages and vetoes, budget related materials, financial disclosure reports, special studies, and other documents requested by Congress.

Online Versions:

Full text of all Committee Reports from 1990 to the present, abstracts only for before 1990. Full-text of House and Senate Documents from 1995 to the present, abstracts only for before 1995. Search Serial Set for full-text reports and documents from 1789-1969.
Provides access to Congressional Committee Reports, starting with the 104th Congress. One may search by word/phrase, report number, bill number, or committee name.
Includes reports from the 104th Congress, 1995-96, to the present.

Print/Microform Versions:

Recent House and Senate Reports and Documents in paper are located in the Van Pelt Reference Documents Room and are shelved by document type and then by Congress. Earlier House and Senate Reports and Documents are cumulated into the Congressional Serial Set [serial numbers 1 (15th Congress, 1817) through 13167 (94th Congress, 1967 in High Density Storage, and serial numbers 13168 (95th Congress, 1968) to the present are at Van Pelt Library Stacks: J 74 .A22]. The Serial Set (volumes 1-13167) is also available on microprint [Van Pelt Library Reference Gov Docs Room: Microprint #4], Dec. 1, 1817 - Oct. 1, 1976.


Publications issued separately and cumulated into the Serial Set:
Senate Documents Y 1.1/3:Congress - #
Senate Treaty Documents Y 1.1/4:Congress - #
Senate Reports Y 1.1/5:Congress - #
Senate Executive Reports Y 1.1/6:Congress - #
House Documents Y 1.1/7:Congress - #
House Reports Y 1.1/8:Congress - #

CONGRESSIONAL RECORD

Choose U.S. Congressional Documents. Cover the Annals, the Register, the Globe, and the Congressional Record through 2003 and the Daily CR to the present.
Choose Congressional Record & Rules from left column. Full-text of the Congressional Record from the 99th Congress (1985-1986) to the present.
Full-text from 1994 to present, Congressional Record Index from 1983 to the present.
Choose Congressional Record from left column. Access to the full text of the Congressional Record from the 101st Congress (1989-1990) to the present.
Annals of Congress (1789 to 1824), Register of Debates (1824-1837), and Congressional Globe (1833-1873) and Congressional Record (1873-1875)
Congressional Record.
Daily issues [Van Pelt Reference Documents Room], recent year.
Bound edition (paper) [Van Pelt Library Stacks: J11.R5], 1874 - 1984, 1998-current.
Bound edition (paper) [High Density Storage], 1985-1997, v. 131-143.
Bound edition (microfiche) [Van Pelt Library Reference Gov Docs Room: U.S. Documents - X/97/1 - X/98/2], 1981-1984.
Annals of Congress (1789 - 1824)
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: J 11 .A5]
Register of Debates (1824 - 1837)
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: J 11 .D5]
Congressional Globe (1833 - 1873)
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: J 11 .R5]

CALENDARS

Online Versions:

Contains Congressional committee schedules from 1996 to the present.
The U.S. House of Representatives provides some schedule information. The Calendars of the U.S. House of Representatives and History of Legislation is provided by GPO Access.

The Senate Calendar of Business is accessible from GPO Access

Print/Microform Versions:

U.S. Congress. Calendar of the United States House of Representatives and History of Legislation. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Government Printing Office, 1951.
[Van Pelt Reference: current issues]
In the House, when a bill has been reported, it is placed on one of four calendars. These are published daily while the House is in session. A cumulative subject index is included in each Monday issue and in the Final Session edition.
U.S. Congress. Senate. Calendar of Business.
[Van Pelt Reference: current issues]
Lists membership, committees, general orders and other actions, and bills in conference.

JOURNALS

The Journals of the House and Senate include all motions, actions taken, and votes recorded in the two chambers of Congress. [Speeches and explanatory materials are not included.] The Journals were published as a separate publication from the 1st through 14th Congresses (1790 - 1817) and again since the 83rd Congress (1953 - present). From the 15th through the 82nd Congresses, the Journals are included within the Serial Set.


See also: A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: US Congressional Documents and Debates, 1774-1873 for online versions of the House Journal and Senate Journal and other publications.

Print/Microform Versions:

Journal of the House of Representatives
[Van Pelt: J 24 .A55], 1st - 14th Cong., 1790 - 1817; 83rd Cong. -, 1953 - present.
[Van Pelt: J 74 .A22], Serial Set; 15th - 82nd Congresses, 1818 - 1952.

Journal of the Senate
[Van Pelt: J 21. A55] 1st - 14th Cong., 1790 - 1817; 83rd Cong. -, 1953 - present.
[Van Pelt: J 74 .A22], Serial Set; 15th - 82nd Congresses, 1818 - 1952.

PUBLIC LAWS

After a bill becomes law, it is first published separately as a slip law. Slip laws are later republished in the Statutes at Large, in a chronological arrangement. The general and permanent laws are then consolidated and codified under fifty subject titles in the United States Code. The first official appearance of the law, the slip law provides references to the Statutes at Large citation and the bill number. At the end of each slip law is a legislative history.

Online Versions:

LexisNexis Congressional
Full text of all Public Laws from 1988 to the present. Public laws are added to the database within 10 days after they are passed.

THOMAS
Full-text of Public Laws from 101st Congress (1989-90), summaries from 93rd Congress (1973-74).

GPO Access - Public Laws
Public Laws for the 104th Congress (1995-1996) to the present.

Print/Microform Versions:

[Biddle Law Library: check LOLA], latest.


STATUTES AT LARGE

Online Versions:

LexisNexis Congressional
Full text of all the Statutes at Large from 1789 to the present are included here.

Print/Microform Versions:

Statutes at Large
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: KF 50 .U58], 1968 - present.
[Biddle Law Library: KF 50 .U5], v. 1 - ; 1789/45 - present.


UNITED STATES CODE

Online Versions:

LexisNexis Congressional
Contains the current U.S. Code. Choose Legislative Histories, Bills & Laws.
The Legal Information Institute, Cornell Law School
Provides an online version of the United States Code

Print/Microform Versions

United States Code
[Van Pelt Reference: KF 62 1988 A2], latest edition; earlier, 1970 -, in stacks.
[Biddle Law Library: Check LOLA]
Revised editions are published every six years and cumulative supplements appear after each session of Congress.
United States Code Annotated (U.S.C.A.)
[Biddle Law Library: Check LOLA]
Produced by West Publishing Co., this reprint of the United States Code also includes citations to relevant federal and states cases.
U.S. Congressional and Administrative News
[Biddle Law Library: Check LOLA], 1941 - present.
Contains public laws, legislative histories, proclamations, and executive orders.

IV. Survey of Indexes to Legislative Documents - New and Old

CURRENT INDEXES

LexisNexis Congressional
Includes pending bills, laws, legislative histories, committee reports and documents, selected Congressional hearings and committee prints, and biographical data about members of Congress.

CIS Annual. Washington, D.C.: Congressional Information Service, 1970 - .
[Van Pelt Reference: JK 1001 .C65], latest year only, 1970-2003 in Storage. This is the printed predecessor of the LexisNexis Congressional (above). Each annual set consists of an Index volume and an Abstracts volume. Look up the subject or bill number in the Index volume, then use the accession numbers provided there to locate the complete citations and content summaries for reports, prints and hearings, in the corresponding Abstracts volume. Materials are indexed by subject, name, committees, bill numbers, and report and document numbers. [There are cumulative index volumes for 1970-74, 75-78, 79-82, 87-90].

Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications. Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office. 1895 - .
[Van Pelt Reference Stacks: Z 1223 .A18], 1941 - .
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: Z 1223 .A18], 1895 - 1940.
The primary index to government publications. Indexes Congressional publications, although its value in this regard has been largely superseded by the CIS Index (above) and the CIS retrospective indexes listed below. GPO Access (http://www.access.gpo.gov) provides access to the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP), from 1994 to the present.

Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS), 1972 - present.
Indexes policy related publications, including government documents, books and periodicals. Indexes many Congressional hearings, as well as relevant periodicals such as the National Journal, CQ Weekly, and the Congressional Digest. Also in print: [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: Z 7163 .P922], 1915 - 1995

RETROSPECTIVE INDEXES

To Hearings

CIS U.S. Congressional Committee Hearings Index. 42 vols. Bethesda, MD: Congressional Information Service, 1981.
[Van Pelt Reference: Z 1223 .Z7 C18], Parts VII-VII, 1959 - 1969.
[Biddle Law Library: Tanenbaum Hall, Reference, 2nd Floor, KF 40 .C56 1981], complete set.
Provides access to hearings published from the 1830s through 1969. Provides indexing to hearings by subject, organization, and personal name. Supplemental indexes by hearing title, bill number, SuDoc number, and related reports and documents numbers.

CIS Index to Unpublished US Senate Committee Hearings: 18th Congress - 88th Congress, 1823 - 1964. Bethesda, MD: Congressional Information Service, 1986.
[Van Pelt Reference: Z 1223 .Z7 C1 1986]
Provides coverage of over eight thousand U.S. Senate Committee hearing transcripts dating from 1824 through 1964, which were never published.

CIS Index to Unpublished US Senate Committee Hearings: 89th Congress - 90th Congress, 1965 - 1968. Bethesda, MD: Congressional Information Service, 1989.
[Van Pelt Reference: Z 1223 .Z7 C12 1989]
Brings the coverage of the above index up to 1968.

Index of Congressional Committee Hearings (not confidential in character) Prior to January 3, 1935 in the United States Senate Library. Washington, D.C.; GPO, 1935.
[Van Pelt Reference: Z 1223 .A 1935]

Index to Congressional Committee Hearings (not confidential in character) from the Seventy-Fourth Congress (January 3, 1935) through the Eighty-Fifth Congress (January 3, 1959). Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1959.
[Van Pelt Reference: Z 1223 .A 1935 Suppl.]
Seven supplements bring the coverage of this index up to 1980.

Index to Congressional Committee Hearings in the Library of the United States House of Representatives Prior to January 1, 1951. Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1954.
[Van Pelt Reference: Z 1223 .A 1954]

To Prints

CIS U.S. Congressional Committee Prints Index: From the Earliest Publications through 1969. Bethesda, MD: Congressional Information Series, 1981.
[Van Pelt Reference: J 74 .C 65 1980], complete set.
This five volume index covers prints issued between the 1830s and 1969. Provides indexing to prints by subject and name, as well as title, committee, bill number, and SuDoc number.

To the Serial Set/Reports and Documents

The full-text product and the CIS Serial Set index provide indexing, and in the former case, direct full-text, to all publications contained in the American State Papers and the Congressional Serial Set. Publications contained in the Serial Set include House and Senate reports and documents, House and Senate Journals (until issued separately in 1953), and department and agency reports. Divided into twelve parts, each part has subject /keyword and name indexes, as well as a numerical list of reports and documents by number and a schedule of Serial volumes.

LexisNexis Historical Full-text of Serial Set Online.
Searchable full-text currently covers 1817-1969 (15th-91st Congresses).

CIS U.S. Serial Set Index . Washington, D.C. Congressional Information Service, 1975 - 1979.
[Van Pelt Reference: J 74 .C 66 1975]


V. Reviewing Legislative Process and Procedures

Legislative Process

Dove, Robert B. Enactment of a Law, updated February, 1997.
Goehlert, Robert U. and Fenton S. Martin. Congress and Law- Making: Researching the Legislative Process. 2nd ed. ABC-Clio: Santa Barbara, CA. 1989.
[Van Pelt Reference Stacks: KF 240 .G63 1989]
Contains detailed chapters on the legislative process and sources used to trace legislation (Ch. 1, pp. 9-65).
How Our Laws Are Made. 22nd ed. rev. and updated. Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 2000.
[Van Pelt Reference: KF 4945 .Z9 W54 2000]
THOMAS also provides an electronic version of How Our Laws Are Made(rev. 2003)
Manion, Judith, et. al. A Research Guide to Congress: How to Make Congress Work for You. 2nd ed. Washington, D.C.: Legi-Slate, Inc., 1991.
[Van Pelt Reference Stacks: KF 4950 .M36 1991]
Morehead, Joe. Introduction to United States Government Information Sources. 6th edition. Libraries Unlimited, Inc. 1999.
[Van Pelt Reference Desk: J 83 .M665 1999]
See Ch. 5, "Legislative Branch Information Sources."
Oleszek, Walter. Congressional Procedures and the Policy Process 6th ed. Washington, D.C.: Congressional Quarterly, 2004.
[Van Pelt Reference: JK 1096 .O43 2004]

Legislative Procedures

Brown, William Holmes. of the House of Representatives of the United States. Washington, D.C. [House Document, revised biennially].
[Van Pelt Reference: KF 4992 .B75], latest only.
[Van Pelt: J 74 .A22], earlier volumes in Serial Set. The primary source of parliamentary procedure for the House. The Rules of the House of Representatives are also published separately (below) and in the House Journal.
Deschler, Lewis. Deschler's Precedents of the United States House of Representatives: Including References to Provisions of the Constitution and Laws, and Decisions of the Courts. U.S. Congress. [House Document 94-661].
[Van Pelt: J 74 .A22], Serial Set 13151.
A review of the precedents from 1936 through the 100th Congress. Earlier precedents are: Hinds' Precedents, 1907-1908, and Cannon's Precedents, 1935-1941./ Includes bibliographical references and index.
U.S. Congress. House. Rules of the House of Representatives. Washington, D.C.: GPO.
[Van Pelt Reference: KF 4992 .U543], latest edition. This bi-annual pamphlet contains the text of all standing rules of the House. See also Rules of the House of Representatives, 109th Congress, and other documents under House Operations for the House of Representatives.
U.S. Congress. Senate. Committee on Rules and Administration. Senate Manual containing the Standing Rules, Orders, Laws and Resolutions Affecting the Business of the United States Senate. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Government Printing Office, 1967 - . [Senate Document, revised biennially].
[Van Pelt Reference: KF 4982 .U58], latest only.
[Van Pelt : J 74. ], earlier bound in Serial Set.
See also Standing Rules of the Senate from the United States Senate.

Send mail concerning this page to Patty Lynn at: lynn@pobox.upenn.edu

*