Sidebar
Main Content
Guide to History Databases
This guide lists a selection of online databases that are important for locating primary and secondary resources in the field of history. A complete list of history databases is available here. The library has other guides that are relevant to the field of history. See, for example, the guides to finding newspapers, diaries, U.S. government documents, 18th and 19th century periodicals, and historical statistics.
General History Databases
Regional and Ethnic Studies Databases
History of Science, Technology and Medicine Databases
Medieval and Ancient History Databases
| Database | Coverage | Content | Holdings | Notes |
America: History and Life |
History of the United States and Canada from Prehistory to the present | Abstracts of scholarly articles, book chapters, dissertations and book reviews. | 1964-present. 1,700 journals published internationally. | Penn-Text enabled. |
| Historical Abstracts http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/6930 |
Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Can.) | Abstracts of scholarly articles, book chapters, and dissertations. | 1974-present. Over 2,000 journals published internationally. | Penn-Text enabled. |
| JSTOR http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/6965 |
Database of journals covering many disciplines, subjects and time periods. | Journals | 19th century-five years ago. Includes about 400 journals, 60 of which are specifically related to history. | Full Text |
| Dissertation Abstracts http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/6878 |
The United States. | Dissertations | 1861-present. Over 1.5 million dissertation are in the database. | Non-Penn dissertations can be requested through Interlibrary Loan. Penn dissertations should be held by the Library. Post 1997 Penn dissertations are available in full-text online. |
Regional and Ethnic Studies Databases
| Database | Coverage | Content | Holdings | Notes |
| African Studies Centre Catalogue http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/6808 |
All subjects pertaining to Africa. Covers all periods. | Journal articles, books, collections, government publications,
and pamphlets. |
Citations only. Not PennText enabled. Use with Historical Abstracts | |
| American Bibliography of Slavic and Eastern European Studies http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/6800 |
All subjects pertaining to East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union published in the US and Canada. All periods | Journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, online resources, and selected gov. publications | 1990-present | Citations only. Not PennText enabled. Use with Historical Abstracts |
| Bibliography of Asian Studies http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/6840 |
All subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asian countries. All periods. | western-language periodical articles, monographs (-1991), conference proceedings, etc. | 1971-present. | Citations only. Not PennText enabled. Use with Historical Abstracts |
Bibliography of British and Irish History |
History of the British Isles, Empire and Commonwealth, from 55BC to the present. | Journal articles, books, articles in collective volumes | 1975-present. Less comprehensive coverage prior to 1975. | Citations only. Not PennText enabled. Use with Historical Abstracts |
| Multidisciplinary database that covers history, art history, literature, etc., and focuses on topics relevant to the European Continent. | Journal articles, books, articles in collective volumes | 1984-present. | PennText enabled | |
| Index Islamicus http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/9993 |
Islam, the Middle East, and the Muslim world, including Asian Muslim minorities worldwide. All periods. | Journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, book reviews, etc. | 1906-present | PennText enabled. Use with Historical Abstracts. |
Jahresberichte für deutsche Geschichte Online
|
Indexes historical scholarship published in Germany. | Not PennText enabled. Use with Historical Abstracts | ||
Oesterreichische Historische Bibliographie |
Indexes historical scholarship published in Austria. Not Penn-Text enabled. |
1945-present. | Not PennText enabled. Dominated by german language publications. Use with Historical Abstracts | |
| Rambi-index of articles on Jewish Studies http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/7018 |
Scholarly literature relating to Jewish Studies and the study of Israel. Covers all periods. | Journal articles and collections. | 1966-present | Not PennText enabled. Use with Historical Abstracts |
| Chicano Database http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/6857 |
Scholarly literature relating to Mexican-American topics. | All types of materials | 1967-present | PennText enabled. Use with America: History and Life |
| Handbook of Latin American Studies http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/6936 |
Scholarly literature relating to latin america | Books, articles, chapters, papers | 1935-present | Not PennText enabled. Use with Historical Abstracts. |
| Hispanic American Periodical Index http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/6931 |
English, Spanish and Portuguese language scholarly literature relating to Central America, South America, the Carribean and Hispanics in North America. | Journal Articles | 1970-present | Some full-text links but many articles are citation only. Use with Historical Abstracts. |
| Victorian Database http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/7061 |
Scholarly literature relating to British studies,1830-1914 | Covers editions, books, dissertations, and articles in over 500 journals. | 1945-present | Citations only. Not PennText enabled. Use with Historical Abstracts |
History of Science Technology and Medicine
| Database | Coverage | Content | Holdings | Notes |
| History of Science, Technology and Medicine http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/6940 |
Covers the history of science, technology and medicine from pre-history to the present. | Journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations | 1975-present | PennText endabled |
| HISTLINE via MedLine http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/6978 |
History of health related professions, sciences, specialties, individuals, institutions, drugs and diseases in all parts of the world and all historic periods | Journal Articles | 1964-present | PennText enabled |
Sexbiblio |
Primary and Secondary Literature relating to sex written in Europe, America and Canada. Covers 1700-1945. | Books, articles, pamphlets, other primary resources. | 1700-1945 | Citations only. Important works from places and times other than the primary ones listed are also included. Highly specialized but not comprehensive. |
Medieval and Ancient History Databases (NOT including area studies databases)
| Database | Coverage | Content | Holdings | Notes |
| International Medieval Bibliography http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/6950 |
Scholarly literature on Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa, 400-1500. | articles, proceedings, collections | 1967-present | Citations only. Not PennText enabled. Strong indexing of non-English journals. Advanced search interface. |
| ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/6961 |
Medieval (400-1500) and Renaissance (1300-1700) studies with a focus on the Renaissance. | Journal articles, reviews, bibliographies, catalogues, collections and discographies | Articles: 19th century-present |
Not PennText enabled. |
| Medieval Feminist Index http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/6980 |
Scholarly literature relating to women, sexuality or gender during the Medieval Period. | Journal articles and collections. | 1992-2002. Very incomplete indexing. | Not PennText enabled. Supplements IMB and ITER. |
| L'Annee Philologique http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/6823 |
Scholarly literature relating to Classical Studies, including the history of Greece, Rome and surrounding areas. | Journal articles, collections and conference papers. | 1969-1999 | Citations only. Not PennText enabled. Wide coverage of material written throughout Europe. |
| TOCS-IN: Tables of Contents of Journal of Interest to
Classicists. http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/7051 |
Literature relating to Classical Studies and the Near East. | Journals and anthologies | 1992-present | Provides the tables of contents only. |




