Sidebar
Main Content
Historical Advertisements
This guide lists electronic and print resources that can be used to locate and access historical advertisements. The resources in this guide are most useful for locating images of advertisements that were originally published in print rather than on radio or television. However, see the Prelinger Archives' collection of advertisements preserved on film.
- Online image collections that include advertisements
- Online periodical and book databases including advertisements
- Collections of advertisements in print and on video
This section lists links to online collections of images of advertisements
Database of digitzed online images of American print advertisements, focusing on the subjects of beauty/hygiene, radio, television, transportation, and World War II. Information about date, publication source, company being advertised and target audience is provided.
Database of digitized online images of broadsides and other printed ephemera from the collections of the Library of Congress. The genre search option allows for limiting searches to advertisements, menus, programs, catalogs, etc. Information about date, publication source, and company being advertised is provided for each image.
Database of digitzed online images of American print advertisements. Along with general search options, the ‘Special Features’ search option allows for searching by specific themes and media genres. Information about date, publication source, company being advertised and target audience is provided for each image.
Database of digitized online images of American print advertisements relating to medicine, focusing on the subjects of household products, over-the-counter drugs, personal hygiene, institutional and pharmaceutical advertisements, cigarettes and ‘supplementary documents.’ Information about date, publication source, company being advertised and target audience is provided for each image.
Try a browse search for advertisements to see the most complete list of records. This database is especially useful for its collection of 19th century advertisements for medical items.
Database of digitized online images of posters produced by the WPA. Information about date, sponsoring organization, company being advertised and agency is provided for each image.
Digitized advertisements from American comic books.
Collection of digitized trade catalogs of business that were run by women or that produced products for women.
Digitized collection of American menus from the New York Public Library. Search the entire collection or browse by date. Information about date and physical description is provided for each image. Search by typing in Buttolph and information to which you want to limit your search.
Collection of digitized images that “are multi-national in scope and cover veterans' benefits, war bonds and loans, military recruitment and morale, civil defense, industrial production, freedom and loyalty campaigns, international welfare organizations, prices and rationing, transportation, health and safety, labor organizations, films and theatre, food production, sports and leisure, recruiting of women in military and non-combatant organizations, special events, anti-war movements, and other topics.” Information about date and physical description is provided for each image.
A number of fascinating collections of historic visual material. Includes thousands of "ephemeral" (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) films, vintage cartoons, newsreels, and similar resources.
The Early Advertising Collection contains European and American printed advertisements dating from 1790 to 1910. The majority of the collection are trade cards of the late nineteenth century.
Collection of streaming video clips of political advertisements from presidential elections.
Fifty Years of Coca-Cola Television Advertisements: Highlights from the Motion Picture Archives at the Library of Congress.
Mostly 19th century trade cards digitized and made available from Harvard University. Do a search for 'trade cards' and limit the search to records that have digital images.
"A digital collection of advertisements for runaway and captured slaves and servants in 18th- and 19th-century Virginia newspapers. Building on the rich descriptions of individual slaves and servants in the ads, the project offers a personal, geographical and documentary context for the study of slavery in Virginia, from colonial times to the Civil War."
Published political material, ephemera, and artifacts dating to between 1800 and 1976.
This section consists of links to and descriptions of electronic databases that include the full text of advertisements.
Database of digitized images of the pages of 1,100 American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. The advanced search option allows the user to search by document type. When a search is limited to the document type ‘Ad,’ only images of advertisements are returned. Searching by individual magazines is also possible
Full-text of the New York Times. News, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements are all searchable and available for viewing and printing. The advanced search option allows the user to search by document type. When a search is limited to the document type ‘Ad,’ only images of advertisements are returned.
Harper's Weekly was one of the leading American journal during the Civil War and Reconstruction periods. This database contains the full text and all the images from 1857 through 1875. By choosing the Search Option and Harper’s Weekly Indexes you can limit your search to advertising.
Database of digitized images of American publications from 1639 to 1800. The option to browse by genre allows you to limit the results to advertisements and sort through advertisements of different types of goods.
Database of digitzed images of 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800. The database permits of no easy way to search for advertisements, but searches can be limited to front-matter.
Full-text page images of over 96,000 titles from the Short-Title Catalogue of English works 1475-1640, Wing's continuation for 1641-1700, and their revisions. Information is presented in the form of online images. Searches can be limited to advertisements by choosing subject keywords for advertisements or advertising.
Page images (PDF) and searchable text (OCR) for all issues of The Nation from 1865 through 2002.
This section lists print sources that include reproductions of and information about advertisements.
Edgar R. Jones. New York: Simon and Schuster, 1959. (Van Pelt Reference Stacks: HF 5813 U6 J6.)
Julian Watkins. New York: Moore Publishing Company, 1949. (Lippincott: HF5823 W42)
Jim Heiman, ed. New York: Taschen, 2001. (Van Pelt Reference Stacks: HF 5813 U6 A155 2001)
(Storage: 659.1 Ar78
(Van Pelt Reference Stacks: HF 5813 .U6 M23 2000)
Ed. Thomas Riggs. Detroit: Gale Group, 2000.
Joseph Clymer. New York : Bonanza Books, 1955. (Van Pelt Reference Stacks: HF5813.U6 C62 1955b)
List of videorecordings available from a Penn Library that include clips from televsion advertisements




