Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
History Research Guides
FindIt:

Sidebar

Main Content

20th Century African History and Politics - Research Guide

This guide will help you to use the Penn Library when researching topics on recent sub-saharan African historical and political events. Materials containing relevant information are collected chiefly by Van Pelt Library, (social sciences, including history, political science, and economics, and area studies, including African studies). In addition, the University Museum Library's anthropological holdings and the Biomedical Library's public health collection may also be useful.

Contents

Getting Started
      Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
      Biographies
      Almanacs
      Statistics
      Atlases and Chronologies
Handbooks
Bibliographies
Finding Books
     Franklin--Penn's Online Catalog
       Consortial catalogs of library holdings around the world

Indexes and Abstracts
Government Documents
Microform Sets
News Sources
      Newspaper Collections and Union Catalogs
      Individual Publications


GETTING STARTED WITH THE BASICS

Dictionaries and encyclopedias

These are the best places to start when you're just beginning or need basic understanding. The entries in good encyclopedias will provide brief bibliographies, too. Use "Keyword Searching" in Franklin to find encyclopedias and dictionaries:

(dictionaries OR encyclop?) AND ...

Encyclopedia of Africa south of the Sahara / John Middleton, ed in chief. 4 volumes. New York: Scribner's, 1997.
[Van Pelt Reference, Museum Reference: DT351 .E53 1997]

Africana: the encyclopedia of the African and African American experience / Kwame Anthony Appiah and Henry Louis Gates, eds. New York: Basic Civitas Books, 1999.
[Van Pelt Reference Desk: DT14 .A37435 1999]

Historical dictionary of international organizations in sub-Saharan Africa / Mark W DeLancey and Terry M Mays. (International organizations series: no. 3.) Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow, 1994.
[Van Pelt Reference: JX1995 .D375 1994]

The United States in Africa: a historical dictionary / David Shavit. New York: Greenwood, 1989.
[Van Pelt Reference: DT38.1 .S53 1989. Also in Van Pelt Stacks]

The encyclopedia of African and African-American religions. New York: Routledge, 2001.
[Van Pelt Reference: BL2462.5 .E53 2001]

Grove Dictionary of Art Online
Contains 45,000 authoritative articles on all aspects of the visual arts: painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography.

Grove Dictionary of Music Online
Online version of the 29-volume print edition of the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians

Historical dictionary of civil wars in Africa / Guy Arnold. (Historical dictionaries of war, revolution, and civil unrest; no. 12.) Lanham, MD: Scarecrow, 1999.
[Van Pelt Reference: DT21.5 .G89 1999. Also Van Pelt stacks]

African historical dictionaries. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow, 1974-present. [Various locations, most in Van Pelt Reference] Often criticized by specialists, some recent titles include:

  • number 81, Historical dictionary of the Republic of Cameroon / Mark W DeLancey and Mark Dike DeLancey. 3rd ed. 2000. [Van Pelt Reference: DT563 .D45 2000]
  • number 83, Historical dictionary of Liberia / D Elwood Dunn et al. 2nd ed. 2001. [Van Pelt Reference: DT631 .D95 2001]
  • number 71, Historical dictionary of South Africa / Christopher Saunders et al. 2nd ed. 2000. [Van Pelt Reference: DT1772 .S38 2000]
  • number 40, Historical dictionary of Nigeria / Anthony Oyewole and John Lucas. 2nd ed. 2000. [Van Pelt Reference: DT515.15 .O94 2000]
  • number 76, Historical dictionary of Democratic Republic of the Congo (Zaire) / F Scott Bobb. 1999. [Van Pelt Reference: DT650.17 .B63 1999]
  • number 53, Historical dictionary of the Sudan / Carolyn Fluehr-Lobban et al. 2nd ed. 1992. [Van Pelt Reference: DT155.3 .V64 1992]

Country Studies: Area Handbook Series (Library of Congress). Fulltext versions of the most recent volumes, providing overviews of "historical setting, and thesocial, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world"

Biographies

Africa who's who. 3rd ed. London: Africa Books, 1996.
[Van Pelt Reference: CD1920 .A37. 2nd ed in Van Pelt Stacks]

Political leaders of contemporary Africa south of the Sahara: a biographical dictionary / Harvey Glickman, ed. New York: Greenwood, 1992.
[Van Pelt Reference: DT352.8 .P63 1992]

Africa confidential: who's who of southern Africa / Patrick Smith, ed. Malden, MA: Blackwell, 1998.
[Van Pelt Reference: DT174 .A47 1998]

Almanacs

Africa contemporary record: annual survey and documents. London: Africa Research, 1968/1969-present. Annual, now biennial.
[Van Pelt: DT1 .L43, latest 2 eds in Reference]

Africa south of the Sahara. London: Europa, 1971-present. Annual.
[Van Pelt: DT1 .A219, latest ed. (25th) at Reference Desk]
These two almanacs provide useful facts and summaries of recent events.

Statistics

World Bank Africa database [computer file]. Annual. [Van Pelt Reference Moelis CD Area: HC800 .A1 W675. (2000 edition)] Provides 1500 indicators of macroeconomic, sectoral and social data for 53 African countries in time series for 1970 to 1997.

African Statistical Yearbook. [Addis Ababa] Economic Commission for Africa, United Nations. 1974-
[Van Pelt Stacks: HA1955 .U5; most recent in Van Pelt Reference Stacks]

International historical statistics: Africa, Asia & Oceania, 1750-1993 / B. R. Mitchell. 3rd ed. New York: Stockton Press, 1998.
[Van Pelt Reference: HA4675 .M573 1998]

Elections in Africa: a data handbook / Dieter Nohlen et al. Oxford University Press, 1999.
[Van Pelt Reference: JQ1879 .A55 E44 1999]

Indivdual Countries' Yearbooks
Many countries have produced statistical yearbooks on an annual basis for over a century. Compilations of historical statistics are available for many other countries and regions. Use Franklin to identify statistical publications for individual countries by doing a SUBJECT search for:

[country] statistics (for example, Nigeria statistics)

and looking under the following subject headings
[country] statistics
[country] statistics periodicals
[country] statistics history

Atlases and Chronologies

L'Atlas de l'Afrique. 2nd ed. Paris: Eds du Jaguar, 2000.
[Van Pelt Reference Atlas Cases: G2445 .A85 2000]

Philip's modern college atlas for Africa. 21st ed. London: George Philip, 1998.
[Van Pelt Reference: G2445 .G42 1998]

The history atlas of Africa / Samuel Kasule. (Macmillan continental history atlases.) New York: Macmillan, 1998.
[Van Pelt Reference: G2446 .S1 K3 1998]

L'Afrique et l'Europe: atlas du XXe siecle. 2. ed. rev. et mise a jour. Bruxelles: Eds. Complexe, 1994.
[Van Pelt Reference: DT31 .A6915 1994]

The atlas of African affairs / Ieuan Ll Griffiths. 2nd ed. New York: Routledge, 1994.
[Van Pelt: G2445 .G7 1994]

Chronology of African history / G. S. P. Freeman-Grenville. [London] Oxford University Press, 1973.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: DT17 .F7]


READING ABOUT AFRICAN HISTORY AND POLITICS - Handbooks

The literature of Africa is enormous and complicated. These are tools to help cut through the noise.

HANDBOOKS summarize whole subject areas, evaluating research as well as identifying important research tools and resources.

Use "Keyword Searching" in Franklin to find handbooks:
handbook? AND ...

Cambridge history of Africa. 8 volumes. Cambridge University Press, 1975-1986. [Van Pelt: DT20 .C27] The standard history by Western scholars. Relevant volumes are:

  • volume 7, From 1920 to 1942.
  • volume 8, From 1943 to the 1960s / Michael Crowder, ed.

[Unesco] General history of Africa. 8 volumes. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1981-1993. [Van Pelt: DT20 .G45 1981] The standard history by African scholars. Relevant volumes are:

  • volume 7, Africa under colonial domination, 1880-1935 / A. A. Boahen, ed.
  • volume 8, Africa since 1935 / A. A. Mazrui, ed.

Oxford history of the British Empire. 5 volumes. Oxford University Press, 1998. [Van Pelt Rosengarten Reserve: DA16 .O95 1998]

Area handbook series. Washington, DC: Library of Congress. [Online via Library of Congress web] Useful general introductions to individual countries, providing overviews on history, social and political organization, and culture. Earlier editions will be in Van Pelt Library stacks. Use "Keyword Searching" in Franklin to find them:

("area handbook?" OR "country stud?") AND ...

Handbook of political science research on sub-Saharan Africa: trends from the 1960s to the 1990s / Mark W DeLancey, ed. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1992.
[Van Pelt Reference: JA84 .A337 H36 1992]

Handbook of regional organizations in Africa / Fredrik Soderbaum. Uppsala: Nordiska Afrikainstitutet, 1996.
[Van Pelt Reference: JX1995 .S5 1996]


GUIDES TO THE LITERATURE and BIBLIOGRAPHIES provide useful entry points by evaluating and highlighting the most important research tools and resources.

Use "Keyword Searching" in Franklin to find bibliographies and guides to the literature:
skey bibliography AND ...

Africa: a guide to reference material / John McIlwaine. New York: Hans Zell, 1993. [Van Pelt Reference: DT3 .M35 1993]

Reference guide to Africa: a bibliography of sources / Alfred Kagan and Yvette Scheven. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow, 1999. [Van Pelt Reference: DT4 .K34 1999]

World bibibliographical series. Santa Barbara, CA: Clio Press. [Various locations, most in Van Pelt Reference] Overall, an excellent series, describing English-language works with brief annotations on many topics. Recent volumes include:

  • volume 25, Kenya / Dalvan Coger, comp. Rev. ed. 1992. [Van Pelt Reference: DT433.522 .C62 1996]
  • volume 40, Sudan / M. W. Daly, comp. Rev. and expanded ed. 1992. [Van Pelt Reference: DT154.6 .D34 1992]
  • volume 54, Tanzania / Colin Darch, comp. Rev. ed. 1996. [Van Pelt Reference: DT448.2 .D37 1996]
  • volume 63, Cameroon / Mark W DeLancy, Mark D. DeLancey, comps. Rev. ed. 1999. [Van Pelt Reference: DT564 .D46 1999]
  • volume 100, Nigeria / Ruby Bell-Gam and David Uru Iyam, comps. Rev. ed. 1999. [Van Pelt Reference: DT515.22 .B45 1999]
  • volume 165, Madagascar / Hilary Bradt, comp. 1993. [Van Pelt Reference and Van Pelt Stacks: DT469 .M26 B72 1993]
  • volume 176, Zaire / Dawn Bastian Williams, Robert W Lesh, and Andrea L Stamm, comps. 1995. [Van Pelt Reference: DT644 .W55 1995]
  • volume 179, Ethiopia / Stuart Munro-Hay, Richard Pankhurst, comps. 1995. [Van Pelt Reference: DT373 .M867 1995]
  • volume 181, Eritrea / Randall Fegley, comp. 1995. [Van Pelt Reference: DT393 .F44 1995]

East and northeast Africa bibliography / Hector Blackhurst. (Scarecrow area bibliographies, 7.) Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 1996.
[Van Pelt Reference: DT365.18 .B55 1996]

The American Historical Association's guide to historical literature. 3rd ed. 2 vols. Oxford University Press, 1995.
[Van Pelt Reference Desk, Museum Reference: D20 .A55 1995]
Not intended to list reference tools as McIlwaine or Kagan and Scheven above, but handy for identifying recent good or innovative scholarly reading on African historical topics. Earlier editions are in the Van Pelt stacks. Relevant sections include:

  • "Middle East and North Africa since 1500". vol. 1, pp. 527-559.
  • "Sub-Saharan Africa". vol. 1, pp. 560-616.

Electronic journal of Africana bibliography [online] [Online via University of Iowa Libraries web] Recent issues have covered female circumcision and South Africa's post-apartheid foreign policy towards Africa.

African international relations: an annotated bibliography / Mark W DeLancey, et al. 2nd ed. Boulder, CO: Westview, 1997.
[Van Pelt Reference: DT31 .D45 1997]

Organization of African Unity / Gordon Harris, comp. (International Organizations series, vol. 7.) New Brunswick, NJ: Transaction, 1994.
[Van Pelt Reference: DT30.5 .H377 1994]

Organisation of African Unity: a select bibliography / R. P. Sood, ed. Delhi: Department of African Studies, University of Delhi, 1990.
[Van Pelt Reference: KQE701 .O74 1990]

Pan-Africanism: an annotated bibliography / Michael W Williams. Pasadena, CA: Salem, 1992. [Van Pelt Reference: on order]

Ranger, Terence O. "Religious movements and politics in sub-saharan Africa". African studies review vol. 29, no. 2 (1986): 1-69.
[Van Pelt: DT1 .A2293]
An outstanding literature review by a leading scholars describing traditional and Christian movements from the late nineteenth century to the present. Includes an enormous bibliography.

Chidester, David. African traditional religion in South Africa: an annotated bibliography. (Bibliographies and indexes in religious studies, no. 42.) Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1997.
[Van Pelt: BL2470 .S6 A47 1997]

Young, Josiah U. African theology: a critical analysis and annotated bibliography. (Bibliographies and indexes in religious studies, no. 26.) Westport, Conn.: Greenwood press, 1993.
[Van Pelt Reference: BT30 .A438 Y68 1993]

Ofori, Patrick E. Black African traditional religions and philosophy: a select bibliographic survey of the sources from the earliest times to 1974. Nendeln: Krasu-Thomson Organization, 1975.
[Van Pelt Reference: BL2400 .O35].

Ofori, Patrick E. Christianity in tropical Africa: a selective annotated bibliography. Nendeln: KTO Press, 1977.
[Van Pelt: BR1360 .O35]

Ofori, Patrick E. Islam in Africa, south of the Sahara: a select bibliographic guide. Nendeln: KTO Press, 1977.
[Van Pelt: BP64 .A4 S9]
Ofori describes more than 7,000 works among these three bibliographies.

Turner, Harold W. Bibliography of new religious movements in primal societies. Volume 1: Black Africa. Boston: G. K. Hall, 1977.
[Van Pelt Reference: BL80 .T88]. More than 1900 bibliographic citations.

The United States and Africa: guide to U.S. official documents and government-sponsored publications on Africa, 1785-1975 / Julian W Witherell. Washington, DC: Library of Congress, 1978. [Van Pelt Reference: DT3 .W58]

The United States and sub-saharan Africa: guide to U.S. official documents and government-sponsored publications on Africa, 1976-1980 / Julian W Witherell. Washington, DC: Library of Congress, 1984.
[Van Pelt Reference: DT3 .W582 1984. Also in Van Pelt Stacks]
Finding U.S. government publications can be very difficult because of the volume of titles and the complexity of organization. These are useful starting places for the older documents literature.

Congressional Universe [online]. [Online via Penn Library Web] Comprehensive index to congressional publications, including hearings and the Serial Set. Provides bibliographic information critical to locating these publications in the Penn Library.


READING ABOUT AFRICAN HISTORY AND POLITICS

Franklin

Use Franklin to identify and locate in the Penn Library books, periodicals, and bibliographic and numeric data files in electronic format.

The best way to use Franklin is to search by Library of Congress subject heading. Some subject headings pertaining to African history and politics used in Franklin are:

africa french-speaking westcongo brazzaville
africa southerncongo democratic republic
africa sub-saharanfrench franc area
aids diseasehiv infections
anti-apartheid movementsliberia history civil war
apartheidnkrumah kwame
child soldierssouth africa
south africa truth and reconciliation commission

Keyword searching using Library of Congress subject headings and subheadings is very useful for combining different concepts into one search, for restricting searches to geographic areas, and for identifying unfamiliar Library of Congress subject headings (e.g., from known catch-phrases):

ecomog
(zaire OR "congo democratic republic") AND "civil war"
organi? AND "african unity"
"panafrica?" OR "pan-africa?"
skey "united states" AND skey relations AND skey liberia

The Penn Library Web provides extensive help for searching Franklin.


Union Catalogs of Library Holdings Around the World

RLIN/Eureka Bibliographic File - Research Libraries Group Catalog
A bibliographic catalog of over 30 million books, serials, archives and manuscripts, musical scores, visual materials, maps, and data files held in over 100 large research libraries and current cataloging of the Library of Congress and the British Library.

WorldCat
Another large, 30+ million union catalog that includes the holdings of many university, college, and public libraries. Several Philadelphia-area libraries are included.


READING ABOUT AFRICAN HISTORY AND POLITICS - Indexes and Abstracts

Whether in print or electronic (online or CD-ROM) format, serial bibliographies, indexes, and abstracts are regularly published, continuing bibliographies offering subject and author access to periodical or newspaper articles, books, book chapters, essays in collections, etc.

African Studies and Economic Development
African Studies Centre Catalogue. (Leiden). 1994-present. Journal article and book chapter abstracts and bibliographic records for books, periodicals, government publications, brochures and pamphlets, and microforms on Africa.

Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature Database. Bibliographic citations, with subject, country and region, and author indexing, for the periodical literature on Africa. Attempts to index complete runs of each title, with some titles beginning in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.

Index to South African Periodicals. 1942-present. Bibliographic citations with indexing for selected articles published in South African periodicals.

International Index to Black Periodicals Full Text. includes current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from over 150 scholarly and popular journals, newspapers and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean--and full-text coverage of over 20 core Black Studies periodicals (1998 forward). Covers both scholarly and popular publications.

Quarterly Index of African Periodical Literature. 1991-present. Selective indexing of articles from more than 300 periodicals from 29 Eastern and Southern African countries, mostly scholarly with others selected to cover subject areas not found in widely available literature.

African Women's Bibliographic Database 1986-present. Bibliographic citations, with subject, country and region, and author indexing, for English-language literature on African women.

Africa south of the Sahara, index to periodical literature, 1900-1970 / African Section, Library of Congress. 4 volumes. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1971.
[Van Pelt Reference Stacks: shelved at west end]
With supplements covering up to 1977, provides excellent anglophone and francophone coverage of journal literature. Geographic arrangement with topical subdivisions may be clumsy.

International African bibliography / School of Oriental and African Studies, London University. 1971-present. Quarterly.
[Van Pelt: DT1 .I574, latest five years in Reference] Separated from Africa, which included quarterly bibliography, 1929-1970. [Museum: PL8000 .I6]

Africa bibliography / International African Institute. 1985-present (latest: 1997). Annual.
[Van Pelt Reference: DT3 .B53]

Current bibliography on African affairs. Baywood Publishing, 1962-present. Quarterly.
[Van Pelt Reference: DT1 .C877]


History

Historical Abstracts. 1974-present. Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). Paper index also available: 1955-present [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: D299 .H52].

History of Science Technology and Medicine. 1975-present. International bibliography on the history of science and technology from pre-history to the present. The History of Science, Technology, and Medicine file describes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields.

Southern African Freedom Struggles, 1950-1994. Fulltext for anti-apartheid periodicals. Phase 1 contains 40 periodicals from South Africa, 1960-1994, selected to present wide spectrum of political views, both black and white with distinctive regional variations, on apartheid, the ANC or African National Congress, Black Consciousness, and other resistance movements, trade unions, religion, health, culture, and gender.

C.R.I.S.: the Combined Retrospective Index Set to Journals in History, 1838-1974. Washington: Carrollton Press, 1977-1978.
[Van Pelt Reference Stacks: D1 .C18], 11 vols.
Indexes a select collection of history journals. See the inside cover of each volume for journal names. List of journals, includes latest title of journal only. Note for example, Twentieth Century Studies was formerly titled Nineteenth Century.


Religion

ATLA Religion Databasee. 1949-present. Covers all religious traditions; strongest coverage is for materials dealing with the Judeo-Christian tradition.

American Theological Library Association Serials. 1949-present. A subset of the complete ATLA database, the purpose of ATLAS is to digitize 50 years' worth of 50 journals that deal with the academic study of religion and make them accessible and searchable from the Web.

Index Islamicus. 1906-present. Covers religious and historical topics relevant to Islam.


Politics,Current Affairs and Development

PAIS. 1972-present. Indexes public policy literature worldwide, including journal articles, books, conference proceedings, book chapters, and statistical publications. Paper Index also available: 1915-present. Annual cumulation. [1915-1990, Van Pelt Reference: JA1 .P357]

EconLit 1969-present. Bibliographic citations and subject indexing covering accounting, consumer economics, monetary policy, labor, marketing, demographics, modeling, economic theory, and planning.

Agris 1975-present. the international information system for the agricultural sciences and technology. It was created by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) in 1974, to facilitate information exchange and to bring together world literature dealing with all aspects of agriculture.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences. 1951-present. Bibliographic citations and subject indexing for the international journal article and book literature in anthropology, economics, political science, and sociology.

International political science abstracts. 1989-present. In-depth abstracting of worldwide political science literature. Francophone articles are abstracted in French. Paper Index also available: 1951-present. Quarterly. [1951-1999, Van Pelt Reference: JA36 .I5]

Multidisciplinary
Ebsco Megafile. Provides access to journal articles and news in all academic disciplines. Many articles provided online in full text.

Francis. Covers a wide range of multilingual, multidisciplinary information in the humanities and social sciences.

ISI Citation Indexes. 1945-present. Search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address, as well as for articles that cite a known author or work. Coverage from 1945 to the present.

Periodicals Contents Index. Late 18th century-present. Humanities and social sciences. The scope is international, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages.

Digital Dissertations. Indexing (since 1861) and abstracting (since 1980) for over 1.5 million doctoral-level dissertations completed at North American universities.


Literature

MLA International Bibliography. Covers literature, languages, folklore, and linguistics. Includes English and foreign languages.


Government Documents

African Studies-Government Information. Look here for links to resource that provide the documents of international and intergovernmental organizations, including, but not limited to:

  • United Nations
  • United Nations Development Programme
  • International Documentation Network on the Great African Lakes Region
  • African Development Bank Group
  • UNESCO
  • Food and Agriculture Organization Document Repository

ELAND. Indexes economic, social, and technological development resources worldwide through cross-database searching in nine databases produced by European development and economic assistance research centers. Topics covered include: administration, agriculture, culture, education, environment, finance, health, industry and technology, information, international relations and international cooperation, labor, population, society, trade, and transport.

Foreign relations of the United States [FRUS] / U.S. State Department. [Van Pelt: JX233 .A3. Also, locations in Van Pelt Microtext] [Online, 1945-present, via U.S. State Department web] Published long after the fact, this is the "official record" of U.S. foreign policy.

American foreign policy / U.S. State Department. [Van Pelt: JX1417 .A33] More or less contemporary with events, covering unclassified materials.

Documents on American foreign relations / Council on Foreign Relations. [Van Pelt:JX231 .D61] Not an official collection, but often useful.

DDRS Online: Declassified Documents Reference System [online] [Online via Penn Library Web] Indexes and provides fulltext for more than 70,000 U.S. government documents declassified since 1974.

British Documents on Foreign Affairs: Reports and Papers from the Foreign Office Confidential Print. Bethesda, MD : University Publications of America, c1995-. Several series are available in reprint form. This set is broken into chronological and geographical parts and series and scattered throughout the J's in Van Pelt. Relevant parts are:

  • Africa, 1848-1914, [Van Pelt Library Stacks: JX632 .B7685 1995] v.1-25
  • Part II, From the First to the Second World War. Series G, Africa, 1914-1939. 30 volumes. [Van Pelt Stacks: JX632 .B769 1994]
  • Part III, From 1940 through 1945. Series G, Africa. 5 volumes. [Van Pelt Stacks: JZ632 .B767 1998]
  • Part IV, From 1945 through 1950. Series G, Africa, 1946. 2 volumes. [Van Pelt Stacks: JZ632 .B777 2000]

British and foreign state papers. [Van Pelt: JX103 .A3] Similar to FRUS. Covers 1812 to c.1967.

Irish University Press Series of British Parliamentary Papers. Colonies: Africa. [Van Pelt: JQ1881.A2 I73 70 vols.] Similar to FRUS. Covers 1801 to c.1899.

Documents diplomatiques francais / Ministere des affaires etrangeres, Commission de publication des documents francais. [Post-war volumes at Van Pelt: DC398 .A452] Extremely difficult to use and parsimonious, but the only authoritative collection of French foreign relations sources.


Microform sets

Resolutions of the annual summits of the Organisation of African Unity, and other documents, since 1963 [microform].
[Van Pelt Microtext: Microfiche 1081]

Documents, papers & memoranda on the growth of the Pan-African movement since 1952 [microform]
[Van Pelt Microtext: on order. Check CRL catalog for CAMP holdings]

The John F. Kennedy national security files. Africa: national security files, 1961-1963 [microform].
[Van Pelt Microtext: Microfilm 4331, with guide]

Africa: national security files, 1963-1969, microfilmed from the holdings of the Lyndon Baines Johnson Library, Austin, Texas [microform] [Van Pelt Microtext: Microfilm 4330, with guide]

CAMP [Cooperative Africana Microform Project] [More information via The Center for Research Libraries Web Site] Through CAMP, you can borrow large microform sets and extensive runs of African materials such as newspapers and pamphlets on microfilm.

Igbo "Women's War" of 1929: documents relating to the Aba riots in Eastern Nigeria.
[Van Pelt Microtext Center: Microfiche 1149]

Africa through western eyes: manuscript records of traders, travellers, soldiers, missionaries and diplomats in Africa.
[Van Pelt Microtext Center: Microfilm 4423]

Board of Missions, Sierra Leone, 1911-1948.
[Van Pelt Microtext Center: Microfilm 4376]

Exploration and colonization of Africa, 1794-1844.
[Van Pelt Microtext Center: Microfilm 4375]

International population census publications, series II, pre-1945: Africa.
[Van Pelt Microtext Center: Microfilm 4390]

South Africa, a collection of miscellaneous documents, 1902-1963.
[Van Pelt Microtext Center: Microfilm 1368]

West African census publications.
Van Pelt Microtext Center: Microfilm


NEWS SOURCES

Several periodicals provide good coverage of news about Africa. In some cases -- West Africa, for instance -- coverage extends back to the beginning of the twentieth century.

Newspaper Collections and Union Catalogs

World News Connection. Contemporary coverage of political, economic, scientific, and cultural issues and events worldwide, relying upon international and local language news sources and translating them into English.

FBIS. 1974-1996. Contemporary coverage of political, economic, scientific, and cultural issues and events worldwide, relying upon international and local language news sources and translating them into English. For details see the FBIS research guide.

JPRS. 1958-1979 Precursor to FBIS. For details see the JPRS research guide.

CAMP [Cooperative Africana Microform Project] [More information via The Center for Research Libraries Web Site] Through CAMP, you can borrow large microform sets and extensive runs of African materials such as newspapers and pamphlets on microfilm.

AFRINUL (Cooperative African Newspapers Project). Sub-Saharan African newspaper holdings in libraries worldwide in all formats and all languages.

Factiva FACTIVA is a full-text online service that provides access to sources of national and international news, business, health and general information. News sources include newspapers magazines, media transcripts, wire services, pictures and WEB sites. Includes African newspapers published in English and world newspapers that cover African issues.

Individual Publications

London Times. Index to the London Times 1790-1980

Africa confidential. 1967-present. 25/year. [Van Pelt: DT1 .A2125, currently received] [Recent issues online via Penn Library Web]

Africa research bulletin: economic, financial and technical series. 1964-present. Monthly. [Van Pelt: DT1 .A2173, latest two years in Reference] [Recent issues online via Penn Library Web]

Africa research bulletin: political, social and cultural series. 1964-present. Monthly. [Van Pelt: DT1 .A2174, latest two years in Reference] [Recent issues online via Penn Library Web]

Africa contemporary record. 1968-present. London : Africa Research, 1968-.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: DT1 .L43]

Afrique contemporaine. La Documentation francaise, 1962-present. Quarterly. [Van Pelt: on order]

Jeune afrique l'intelligent. 1961-present. Weekly. [Van Pelt: AP27 .J4, currently received] continues:

Jeune afrique. Southern Africa political and economic monthly. Southern Africa Political Economy Series Trust, 1987-present. Monthly. [Van Pelt: DT1155 .S68, currently received]

West Africa. 1917-present. Weekly. [Van Pelt: DT491 .W4, currently received (1957-present)] [Van Pelt Microtext: Microfilm cont 69 (1917-1956)]

South African press digests, 1949-1972 [microform]. [Van Pelt Microtext: Microfiche 1082]

In addition to these, additional news resources are linked from the Penn Library Web:



olson@pobox.upenn.edu
*