searches. A subject search for capitalism, for example, will bring you to a long list of subjects that start with capitalism. You can browse through this list to find the specific capitalism-related subject that is most relevant to you.
Mexico Statistics
Vietnam Economic Conditions
Vietnam Economic Policy
Vietnam History
Vietnam Politics and Government
Capitalism History
Capitalism Nigeria
New Deal
Doi Moi
Keyword Searches
Keyword searches look for search terms anywhere in the record, i.e. the author, subject, title fields, etc. When you find a work of interest, check the full view of the record to see subject headings that can lead to further relevant works.
Try Franklin keyword searches such as:
Vietnam and communism
Vietnam and econom? and poli?
Finding primary resources on comparative capitalist systems using Franklin
The University of Pennsylvania Libary has many books that either are or contain primary resources about economic history. See the Van Pelt Library guide Using Franklin to find primary resources for assistance on searching for pimrary resources in the Libary's collection.
Other Library Catalogs
To search beyond the holdings listed in Franklin, try:
Large union catalog that includes over 1,000 university, college, and public libraries. Many Philadelphia-area libraries are included in WorldCat. Interlibrary loan request may be
initiated through WorldCat.
Link:http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/7158
Borrow Direct provides 3-5 day delivery of books that are missing, checked out, unowned, or otherwise unavailable at Penn. Only known item searching is possible, so this database works well in conjunction with WorldCat.
Link:http://webdoc.library.upenn.edu/borrowdirect/
Covers all aspects of business. ABI/Inform provides in-depth coverage of business conditions, trends, corporate strategies and tactics, management techniques, competitive and product information, and information on more than 60,000 companies. It gives you indexing and abstracts to articles from more than 1800 leading business and management publications.
Link:http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/6798
Updated daily provides nearly 3,300 full text scholarly publications, including more than 1,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to the full text, this database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 4,100 journals. This database offers information in nearly every area of business including management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more.
Link:http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/6891
Covers accounting, consumer economics, monetary policy, labor, marketing, demographics, modeling, economic theory, and planning. Primarily English language, some foreign language publications included.
Link:http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/6893
PAIS covers public affairs and policy issues related to a wide range of topics: agriculture, banking, finance, business, demographics, education, health, environment, planning, public administration, law and legislation, and international relations.
Link:http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/7000
Covers sociology, case work, demographics, policy studies, political science, family studies, feminist studies, and social security programs.
Link:http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/7038
Go to EconLit, Pais or Sociological Abstracts -->
Click on the 'Specific Databases' link -->
Check the boxes of the databases that you are interested in searching -->
Click on 'Continue to Search' -->
Perform your search.
Link:http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/7038
Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).
Link:http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/6930
History of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Link:http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/6812
The ISI Citation Indexes includes the Science Citation Index, the Social Science Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
Search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address, as well as for articles that cite a known author or work.
Link:http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/6959
Working Papers and Public Policy Reports
Knowledge@Wharton is a bi-weekly online resource that offers the latest business insights, information and research from a variety of sources.
Link:http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/6968
Working papers in Economics for public policy makers, business professionals, and the academic community.
Link:http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/6993
Recent research results through abstracts and fulltext working papers and journal articles in economics, finance, law (especially business and economic aspects), accounting, and Latin American economics.
Link:http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/7043
Indexing with abstracts of U.S. and foreign domestic and international public policy research literature.
Link:http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/7008
Factiva is a full-text online service that provides access to sources of national and international news, business, health and general information. News sources include newspapers magazines, media transcripts, wire services, pictures and WEB sites. In addition, FACTIVA provides access to several financial databases. FACTIVA covers 8,000 sources in 22 languages.
Link:http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/8436
English translations of non-U.S. media sources.
Link:http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/8981
Contemporary coverage of political, economic, scientific, and cultural issues and events worldwide, relying upon international and local language news sources. The FBIS Electronic Index provides access to the FBIS Daily Reports microfiche collection by subject (including personalities), date, country, and region.
Link:http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/6912
Global Trade Atlas is a database of current and historical import and export statistics representing 45 reporting countries and it shows trade flows in a specific product over many countries. The information is reported in both U.S. dollars and unit values.
Link:http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/8438
The IFS database contains approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries and areas and includes all series appearing on the IFS Country Pages; exchange rate series for all Fund member countries, plus Aruba and the Netherlands Antilles; major Fund accounts series; and most other world, area, and country series from the IFS World Tables.
Link:http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/10984
The World Bank's principal data source on the global economy. More than 550 time series, 1960-present, on more than 200 countries and 18 country groups, covering demographic, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.
Link:http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/7068
Statistical Universe indexes statistical data published in federal, state, and selected privately published titles, at the table level. In some cases the fulltext of the document is also available.
Link:http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/7045
Emerging Markets Resources
World market analysis, country analysis and forecasts that includes in-depth analysis of the conditions, opportunities and risks for businesses in 186 countries world wide.
Link:http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/13955
News, company, industry, financial and economic data direct from more than 35 emerging markets in Asia, Latin America and Central and Eastern Europe. ISI Emerging Markets provides information straight from the local markets and from over 4400 publications.
Link:http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/6960
Direct comments on this guide or requests for assistance to Nick Okrent at
okrent@pobox.upenn.edu or Karen Anello at
anellokj@wharton.upenn.edu.