Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
Click here to IM, text, or chat
History Research Guides
FindIt:

Sidebar

Main Content

Researching the Holocaust

This annotated, selective bibliography lists primarily reference works and tools related to the Holocaust. Most titles in the bibliography are in the Reference collection; material in the stacks is so designated. Many other scholarly works and tools are available and are not listed in this bibliography. For assistance in finding and using both the material listed here and other useful works, please ask for assistance at the Van Pelt Library Reference Desk.

Other research guides that may be useful for this topic Include: Finding Newspapers at Penn, French History, History of Science, Using Franklin to Find Primary Resources, Getting Material Unavailable at Penn

CONTENTS
I. Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
II. Atlases
III. Chronologies
IV. Franklin, Penn's Online Catalog
V. Online Catalogs for Other Libraries
VI. Indexes to Scholarly Articles
VII. Bibliographies
VIII. Collections of Primary Resources, War Crimes Materials and First Person Accounts
IX. Indexes for finding Primary Resources
X. News Sources
XI. Government Documents
XII. Libraries, Archives and Catalogs to them

I. Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

The Columbia guide to the Holocaust / Donald Niewyk and Francis Nicosia. New York : Columbia University Press, 2000.
[Van Pelt Library: D804.3 .N54 2000]
Overview of the Holocaust and surrounding political and cultural events. Also identifies key terms, events, people and works to make the job of research easier.

Dictionary of the Holocaust : biography, geography, and terminology / Eric Joseph Epstein and Philip Rosen. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1997.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: D804.25 .E67 1997]

Encyclopaedia Judaica. [New York], Macmillan, [c1971-72, v. 1, c1972].
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: DS102.8 .E52 vols. 1-15]
Comprehensive coverage of world Jewry with 25,000 entries. Most entries include bibliographies (many dated, however). Includes information not only on the Holocaust, but also on the history of Jews in the regions effected and on the way of life in these communities.

Encyclopedia of genocide / Israel W. Charny, editor in chief. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, 1999.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: HV6322.7 .E53 1999 2 vols.]
Entries cover theoretical issues and actual events relating to genocide. Not limited in scope, the book includes entries relating to, for example, the Armenian and Native American as well as the jewish genocides.

Encyclopedia of Holocaust Literature. Ed. by David Patterson, Alan L. Berger, and Sarita Cargas. Westport, Conn.: Oryx Press, 2002.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN56.H55 E53 2002]
Contains medium length entries on people who wrote as participants, bystanders, survivors or transmitters of the holocaust. Each entry is concluded with a short bibliography of works by and about the author, and the works as a whole concludes with extended bibliographies on primary and secondary works of Holocaust Literature.

The Encyclopedia of Jewish Life: Before and During the Holocaust. Ed. Shmuel Spector. New York: New York University Press, 2001.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: DS135.E8 E45 2001 vols. 1-3.]

The Encyclopedia of the Holocaust. Israel Gutman, editor in chief. New York: Macmillan, 1990.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: D804.3 .E53 1990 vols. 1-4.]
Largest readily available encyclopedia devoted entirely to the Holocaust. Contains hundreds of entries on people, places, events, war trials, partisans, camps, massacres. etc. Entries are almost always followed by bibliographies.

Encyclopedia of the Holocaust. Ed. by Robert Rozett and Shmuel Spector. New York : Facts on File, 2000.
[Van Pelt Reference Stacks: D804.25 .E53 2000]

The Encyclopedia of the Third Reich. New York: Macmillan; London: Collier Macmillan, 1991.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: DD256.5 .G76313 1991 vols. 1-2]
Over 3,000 entries by German historians covering a wide range of topics. Concludes with an extended bibliography. Particularly useful for its explanation of terminology, and political and cultural movements in Germany that provide a context for the Holocaust.

Grove Dictionary of Art Online. Contains 45,000 authoritative articles on all aspects of the visual arts: painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography. Includes articles on the influence of the holocaust on Jewish and modern art.

History of the Holocaust: A Handbook and Dictionary. Edelheit, Abraham J. and Hershel Edelheit. Boulder: Westview, 1994.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: D804.3 .E33 1994]

The Holocaust Encyclopedia. Ed. by Walter Laqueur. New Haven: Yale University Press, 2001.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: D804.3 .H644 2001]

Holocaust literature : an encyclopedia of writers and their work. / S. Lillian Kremer, editor. New York : Routledge, 2003.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN56.H55 H66 2003 vols. 1-3]
Similar to the Encyclopedia of Holocaust Literature but contains more extensive entries with more comprehenive bibliographies. Also, the encyclopedia concludes several appendices on literary themese and historic events.

Holocaust Literature: A Handbook of Critical, Historical and Literary Writings. Saul Fridman, editor. London: Greenwood Press, 1993.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: D804.3 H6475 1993]
"This volume is intended to addressed to researchers...who need to grasp the dimesnions of the holocaust in depth and who want to know which books on specific subjects come highly recommended." Broken into 32 chapters--each covering a specific topic--and written in a discursive style. This work is not meant to be comprehensive but to identify the most important works on a topic and put them in the context of other works of scholarly literature.

Reference Guide to Holocaust Literature. Thomas Riggs, ed. Detroit : St. James Press, c2002.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN56.H55 R43 2002]
Distinguished from other reference works on holocaust literature by its longer length and the extensiveness of bibliographies of authors' works.


II. Atlases

Atlas of the Holocaust. Gilbert, Martin. New York: William Morrow and Company.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: G1797.21.E29 G58 1993]

Jewish History Resources Center -- Holocaust and WWII Maps.
[http://www.hum.huji.ac.il/dinur/links/maps.htm#holocaust]

The Routledge atlas of the Holocaust : the complete history. London ; New York : Routledge, 2002.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: G1797.21.E29 G58 2002]

United States Holocaust Museum. Historical Atlas of the Holocaust. New York: Macmillan Pub., 1996.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: G1797.21.E29 H5 1996]

Where Once We Walked: A Guide to the Jewish Communities Destroyed in The Holocaust. Gary Moktoff and Sallyann Sack. Teaneck: Avotaynu, inc. 1991.
[Van Pelt Reference: DS 135 E83 M65 1991]
Gazetter to Jewish communities that ceased to exist during the Holocaust.


III. Chronologies

The Holocaust : a chronology and documentary / Robert A. Michael. Northvale, N.J. : Jason Aronson, c1998.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: D804.25 .M53 1998]
Covers January 30, 1933-1946. More extensive description of events than A World in Turmoil.

A World in Turmoil: An Integrated Chronology of the Holocaust and World War II / Edelheit, Hershel. New York: Greenwood Press, 1991.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: D804.3 .E34 1991]
Covers January 30, 1933-May 14, 1948.


IV. Franklin, Penn's Library Catalog

Franklin lists books, journals titles (but not articles within journals), conference proceedings, and other library materials at the Penn Libraries. When looking for works on a topic in Franklin, try searching both by subject heading and by keyword(s).

Use Subject Heading searches based on the formal subject headings listed in the four printed volumes of the Library of Congress Subject Headings located at the Van Pelt reference desk. Some sample headings are listed below.

Antisemitism [country]
Concentration camps--Germany
Concentration camps--Poland
Holocaust denial
Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) [name of country]
Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) Austria
Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) Belarus
Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) Foreign Public Opinion
Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) In Literature
Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) Influence
Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) Personal Narratives
Holocaust Denial
Holocaust Memorials
Holocaust Survivors
Jews Persecutions [country]
Jewish ghettos
Jews--Persecutions
Nuremberg Trial of Major German War Criminals, Nuremberg, Germany, 1945-1946
Refugee camps [country]
Refugees, Jewish
World War, 1939-1945 Atrocities
World War, 1939-1945--Concentration camps--Liberation
World War, 1939-1945--Jews

Search for people as subject headings:
Hitler, Adolf
Goebbels, Joseph

Search for corporate bodies such as political bodies and places such as concentration camps as subject headings:
Nationalsozialistische Deutsche Arbeiter-Partei.
Auschwitz (Concentration camp)
Bergen-Belsen (Concentration camp)
Buchenwald (Concentration camp)
Dachau (Concentration camp)

Search for events as subject headings:
Kristallnacht
Warsaw uprising

Keyword searches look for the search terms anywhere in the record, i.e. the author, subject, title fields, etc. Once you have found a record of interest, look at the "full view" to see the subject headings assigned to that work.

holocaust AND jewish AND Warsaw

Using Franklin to Find Primary Resources

There are many printed volumes that are collections of primary source materials. To locate these and other resources, try subject searches and look for a keyword that denotes a primary resource within the subject field. Keywords that denote primary resources include:

Sources
Personal narratives
Diaries
Archival Resources
Correspondence
Speeches

Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) Austria Personal narratives.
Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) Belgium History Sources.
Jewish ghettos Poland Lód´z Sources.
World War, 1939-1945--sources
World War, 1939-1945 Jews Correspondence.

Or add one of the words to a keyword search.

poland AND holocaust AND "personal narratives"
skey warsaw AND ghetto AND sources

When searching for the writings of an individual, enter the last name first and do an author search:

Hitler, Adolf
Himmler, Heinrich
Frank, Anne

You may also search by corporate authors - government offices, organization names, political parties, etc.:

Nationalsozialistische Deutsche Arbeiter-Partei.

V. Other Library Catalogs

WorldCat. A bibliographic catalog of over 30 million books, serials, archives and manuscripts, musical scores, visual materials, maps, and data files held in libraries around the world. Several Philadelphia-area libraries are included in WorldCat.

Lola. Penn Law Library's Online Catalog.

VCat. Catalog for Penn's video collection.

Israel Library Network Web Catalogs.


VI. Indexes

History
Historical Abstracts. 1974-present. Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).

America: History and Life. 1964-present. History of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present

Histline via Medline. 1964-present. Journal articles about the history of health related professions, sciences, specialties, individuals, institutions, drugs and diseases in all parts of the world and covering all historic periods

History of Science, Technology and Medicine. 1975-present. International bibliography on the history of science and technology from pre-history to the present

International Medieval Bibliography. 1967-present. The International Medieval Bibliography (IMB), the world's leading bibliography of Medieval Studies and an essential tool for research and teaching on the Middle Ages, covers Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa.

Jewish and Religious Studies
Rambi: Index of Articles on Jewish Studies. 1966-present. a selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish Studies and the study of the Land of Israel (Eretz Isreal), arranged by subject.

ATLA Religion Database. 1949-present. Covers all religious traditions; strongest coverage is for materials dealing with the Judeo-Christian tradition.

ATLA Serials. 1949-present. A subset of the complete ATLA database, the purpose of ATLAS is to digitize 50 years' worth of 50 journals that deal with the academic study of religion and make them accessible and searchable from the Web.

The "Jewish Question" in German-Speaking Countries, 1848-1914. Online. From The Vidal Sassoon International Center for the Study of Antisemitism, the Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Van Pelt Library: DS146.E852 V64 1994. Paper edition.

Bibliography of Antisemitism, 1984-present
Retrospective Bibliography of Antisemitism, 1965-1983.
Both made available by The Vidal Sassoon International Center for the Study of Antisemitism, the Hebrew University of Jerusalem.
Analogous 15 volume version available on paper at: [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: DS145 .A57 1987]

Basic Bibliography of the Holocaust
Bibliography of several hundred 'core' books on the holocaust divided into 35 topics that are generally believed to be important. The list is current.

Area Studies
American Bibliography of Slavic and European Studies. 1990-present. Print version (Van Pelt Library: DJK 1 .A437) covers 1957-1993.

Jahresberichte für deutsche Geschichte Online. 1986-present. Index to German studies.

Oesterreichische Historische Bibliographie. Indexes historical scholarship published in Austria from 1945 on.

Art History
ArtBibliographies Modern. 1974-present. Scope extends from artists and movements beginning with Impressionism in the late nineteenth century, up to the most recent works and trends in the twenty-first century. Photography is covered from its invention in 1839 to the present. Emphasis is placed on adding new and lesser-known artists and on the coverage of foreign-language literature. Covers painting, printmaking, sculpture, drawing, performance art, installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theater arts, crafts, jewelry, illustration.

Art Index. 1983-present. Art. Coverage includes English-language periodicals, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. Reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals are also included.

Art Index Retrospective. 1929-1984. Art. Coverage includes materials in English, French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. Reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed materials are included.

Bibliography of the History of Art. 1973-present. Covers European and American art from the fourth century to the present. Areas addressed are painting, sculpture, drawings, prints, decorative and applied arts, architecture and industrial design.

Literature and Cultural Studies
MLA International Bibliography. 1963-present. Covers literature, languages, folklore, and linguistics. Includes English and foreign languages.

Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft. 1985-1997. Bibliography of German Literature

AP Photo Archives. 1840-present. Contains 700,000 Associated Press photographs (with searchable captions) in two collections, downloadable as JPEG (jpg) images.

Politics/International Affairs
International Political Science Abstracts. 1989-present. Print version (Van Pelt Reference: JA 36 .I5) covers 1951-. Bibliographic citations, subject indexing, and abstracts for the international journal article literature in political science. Abstracts are provided in English, or in French for foreign-language articles.

PAIS. 1972-present. Print version (Van Pelt Reference: JA 1 P357) covers 1915-1974. PAIS covers public affairs and policy issues related to a wide range of topics: agriculture, banking, finance, business, demographics, education, health, environment, planning, public administration, law and legislation, and international relations. Includes journal articles, some books, pamphlets, newspaper articles and government documents.

Psychology
PsycInfo. 1887-present. The American Psychological Association's comprehensive indexing and abstracting service for the professional and scholarly literature in psychology and related fields. Coverage is worldwide. Sources are in English and over thirty languages.

Sociology
Sociological Abstracts. 1963-present. Covers sociology, case work, demographics, policy studies, political science, family studies, feminist studies, and social security programs.

Multidisciplinary
Francis
. 1984-present. Covers a wide range of multilingual, multidisciplinary information in the humanities and social sciences. It is strong in religion, the history of art, and literature with emphasis on current trends in European and world literature. Other subjects covered include: art and archeology, business, education, economics, geography, health, history of science, Latin American Studies, linguistics, management, philosophy, prehistory, and sociology. English, French, German, Spanish and some other languages.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences. 1951-present. Bibliographic citations and subject indexing for the international journal article and book literature in anthropology, economics, political science, and sociology.

Ebsco Megafile. Early 1980s-present. Provides access to journal articles and news in all academic disciplines and general interest topics. Contains over 20 million records, many with full-text.

Digital Dissertations. 1861-present. Indexing and abstracting for over 1.5 million doctoral-level dissertations completed at North American and selected European universities. Full-text is available in pdf format for the most recent Penn dissertations (since 1997). Selected master's theses are included since 1988.

JSTOR. 19th century-1997. JSTOR specializes in making available the back issues of journals in a wide variety of humanities and social science disciplines. Issues are available both as images and as text.


VII. Bibliographies

Bearing witness : a resource guide to literature, poetry, art, music, and videos by Holocaust victims and survivors / Philip Rosen and Nina Apfelbaum.
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2002.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: D804.3 .R67 2002]
Especially useful for its bibliographies of non-print materials..

Bibliography on Holocaust literature / Abraham J. Edelheit and Hershel Edelheit. Boulder : Westview Press, 1986.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: D810.J4 E24 1986 1 vol, 2 supps.]
Bibliography to scholarly (not fictional) literature.

The Holocaust: An Annotated Bibliography and Resource Guide. Hoboken, N.J.: Ktav Publishing House for the National Jewish Resource Center, New York, 1985.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: D810.J4 H642 1985]

The Holocaust : a selected monographic bibliography / compiled and edited by Leah Silverstein.
[Van Pelt Library: D804.3 .S5863 1994]

The Holocaust in Literature for Youth: A Guide and Resource Book. Sullivan, Edward T. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 1999.
[Van Pelt Library: D804.3 .S85 1999]
Bibliography of books for youth including beginning reading levels to grade 12.

Holocaust Studies: A Directory and Bibliography of Bibliographies. Sable, Martin Howard. Greenwood, Fla.: Penkevill Pub. Co., 1987.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: D804.3 S23 1987]
Dated but still useful for its help in identifying bibliographies and archives.

The Hungarian Jewish Catastrophe. Randolph L. Braham. [New York] : Social Science Monographs and Institute for Holocaust Studies, City University of New York : distributed by Columbia University Press, 1984.
[Van Pelt Library: DS135.H9 B7 1984]
Comprehensive for its time bibliography of primary and secondary materials relating to the Holocaust in Hungary. Many entries in the bibliography are in Hungarian or another European language, but a great deal are in English.

The Holocaust in Hungary: A Selected and Annotated Bibliography. Randolph L. Braham. [New York] : Rosenthal Institute for Holocaust Studies, Graduate Center/City University of New York : Boulder : Social Science Monographs ; [New York] : Distributed by Columbia University Press, 2001.
[Van Pelt Library: DS135.H9 B735 2001]
Takes up where The Hungarian Jewish Catastrophe left off.

The Jewish Holocaust: An Annotated Guide to Books in English. Bloomberg, Marty. San Bernardino, Calif.: Borgo Press, 1991.
[Van Pelt Library: D804.3 .B58 1995]

Jewish Immigrants of the Nazi Period in the U.S.A. Herbert A. Strauss, editor. New York : K. G. Saur, c1978-
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E184.J5 J558 vols. 1-6]
Now dated, but comprehensive for its time. Volumes are devoted to bibliographies to specific topics such as:
archival resources, books and articles on the immigration and acculturation of Jews from Central Europe to the USA since 1933, and the oral history collection of the Research Foundation for Jewish Immigration, New York.

Nazism, Resistance & Holocaust in World War II: A Bibliography. Laska, Vera. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1985.
[Van Pelt Library; Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: D810.J4 L2787 1985]

The Oryx Holocaust Sourcebook. Fernekes, William R. Westport, Conn.: Oryx Press, 2002.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: D804.3 .F47 2002]
A selective bibliography of current scholarly resources in a variety of formats. Meant to provide a first step into Holocaust research rather than an indepth research guide.


VIII. Collections of Primary Resources

Archives of the Holocaust : an international collection of selected documents. Henry Friedlander and Sybil Milton, general editors.
[Van Pelt Library: D804.3 .A7 1989 22 vols.]
Each of the 22 volumes reproduces important and representative documents from a particular archive with significant Holocaust-related holdings. Archives are located in North America, Israel or Europe.

Holocaust: Selected Documents in 18 volumes
[Van Pelt Library: D810.J4 H655 vols. 1-18]

  • Legalizing the Holocaust : the early phase, 1933-1939
  • Legalizing the Holocaust, the later phase, 1939-1943
  • The Crystal Night Pogrom
  • Propaganda and aryanization, 1938-1944
  • Jewish emigration from 1933 to the Evian conference of 1938
  • Jewish emigration 1938-1940, Rublee negotiations, and the Intergovernmental Committee
  • Jewish emigration--the SS St. Louis affair and other cases
  • Deportation of the Jews to the east : Stettin, 1940, to Hungary, 1944
  • Medical experiments on Jewish inmates of concentration camps
  • The Einsatzgruppen or murder commandos
  • The Wannsee Protocol and a 1944 Report on Auschwitz by the Office of Strategic Services
  • The "Final solution" in the extermination camps and the aftermath
  • The Judicial system and the Jews in Nazi Germany
  • Relief and rescue of Jews from Nazi oppression, 1943-1945
  • Relief in Hungary and the failure of the Joel Brand mission
  • Rescue to Switzerland : the Musy and Saly Mayer affairs
  • Punishing the perpetrators of the Holocaust

America and the Holocaust : a thirteen-volume set documenting the editor's book ‘The abandonment of the Jews.’ Edited by David S. Wyman.
[Van Pelt Library: D804.3 .A47 1989 vols 2, 4-6, 10]

  • The Struggle for Rescue Action
  • Barring the Gates to America
  • Amerian Jewish Disunity
  • Show Down in Washington
  • Token Shipment (Oswego camp)/War Refugee Board Summary Report.

America views the Holocaust, 1933-1945 : a brief documentary history. Robert Abzug.
[D804.19 .A25 1999]

The Buchenwald Report. translated and edited by David A. Hackett. Boulder : Westview Press, 1995.
[Van Pelt Library: D805.G3 B7746 1995]
An effort at documenting the activities at the Buchenwald camp. It is in part based on the systematic interviewing of prisoners of the camp after they were liberated but while they were still in camp. 104 former prisoners collaborated by contributing 168 reports to the project which were included in the final report..

The Chronicle of the Lód´z ghetto, 1941-1944. Edited by Lucjan Dobroszycki ; translated by Richard Lourie.
[Van Pelt Library: DS135.P62 L627 1984]
Collection of records kept by local Jewish agencies within the Lodz Ghetto (eg., Department of Food Supply) during the period of the Holocaust.

Documents of destruction: Germany and Jewry, 1933-1945. Edited with commentary by Raul Hilberg.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: D810.J4 H52]

Documents on the Holocaust : selected sources on the destruction of the Jews of Germany and Austria, Poland, and the Soviet Union / edited by Yitzhak Arad, Yisrael Gutmann, and Abraham Margaliot ; translations by Lea Ben Dor ; introduction to the Bison Books edition by Steven T. Katz
[Van Pelt Library D804.19 .D63 1999]
Also available online at: http://www.yad-vashem.org.il/about_holocaust/index_about_holocaust.html
Over 200 important primary texts documenting the Holocaust. Over 200 texts document 3 geographic areas: Germany, Poland, and the Soviet Union. The two largest source of texts consists of official, internal and personal Nazi records.

Dokumentation zur jüdischen Kultur in Deutschland 1840-1940 [microform] : die Zeitungsauschnittsammlung Steininger / Archiv Bibliographia Judaica e.V. (Hrsg.).
[Van Pelt Library Microtext: microfiche 1068]

The Einsatzgruppen reports : selections from the dispatches of the Nazi Death Squads' campaign against the Jews July 1941-January 1943. Edited by Yitzhak Arad, Shmuel Krakowski, Shmuel Spector ; [translated by Stella Schossberger]. New York, N.Y. : Holocaust Library, c1989.
[Van Pelt Library: D804.3 .E46 1989]
The Einsatzgruppen were special units of the German military. Often attached to normal military units, the Einsatzgruppen were given the particular task of exterminating Jews. The collected reports of the Einsatzgruppen units to headquarters were found after the war in Gestapo headquarters by the U.S. Army. This book publishes translated versions of the reports.

The fragility of goodness : why Bulgaria's Jews survived the Holocaust : a collection of texts. Translated by Arthur Denner.
[Van Pelt Library: DS135.B8 F7313 2001]

"The Good old days": the Holocaust as seen by its perpetrators and bystanders. Edited by Ernst Klee, Willi Dressen, Volker Riess ; translated by Deborah Burnstone.
[Van Pelt Library: D804.3 .S3613 1991]
Different from other collections of first-person accounts in that it contains only accounts of perpetrators and bystanders, mainly germans, and not those of survivors.

Holocaust History Project
http://www.holocaust-history.org/
Includes primary documents describing the beginning of the gassing program, technical aspect of gassing at Auschwitz, and the Stroop Report, which documents the destruction of the Warsaw ghetto.

"[Jewish] Italian Citizens in Nazi Occupied Europe." Simon Wiesenthal Center Annual vol. 7, p. 117-141.
The text of documents exchanged within the German and Italian governments and between the two regarding the treatment of Jew in Italy.

The Literature of destruction : Jewish responses to catastrophe. Edited by David G. Roskies
[Van Pelt Library: DS102 .L54 1989]
First-hand accounts, poems, sermons and songs writtend during the Holocaust.

The Pictorial history of the Holocaust. Edited by Yitzhak Arad. New York : Macmillan Pub. Co. ; London : Collier Macmillan, c1990.
[Van Pelt Library: D804.3 P53 1990]

Literature Prepared for and Recorded from the War Crimes Trials.

A basic sense of the structure of trials of war criminals in Europe following World War II is invaluable in effectively using primary resources relating to them. 'Minor' war criminals, defined as those whose crimes were committed in specific areas, were tried by military courts in allied zones of occupied Germany or in the countries where they occured. Major war criminals--those whose crimes were not limited to a particular local--were brought to Nuremberg (or Tokyo--not dealt with here) to be tried by ad hoc courts established by international agreement.

The term 'Nuremberg Trials' is actually used of two separate sets of proceedings, both held at Nuremberg but otherwise distinct. The first set, held from 1945-1946, was conducted by the International Military Tribunal to try 24 indicted major criminals. Judges from Great Britain, France, the Soviet Union and the United States presided over these hearings. The second set, held from 1946-1949, was established by the Office of the United States Government for Germany, consisted of 1,200 sessions of twelve trials. Also following the International Military Tribunal hearings, the government of Great Britian held subsequent trials of its own in British occupied Germany.

Good succinct descriptions of the various War Crimes Trials are available in the Encyclopedia of the Holocaust, vol. 3. pp. 1488-1518.

Trial of the Major War Criminals before the International Military Tribunal
[Van Pelt Library: D804.G42 I55 vols. 1-42]
Transcripts of the 1945-1946 trials of 22 (of the 24 indicted) war criminals by the International Military Tribunal.

Trials of war criminals before the Nuernberg Military Tribunals under Control Council law no. 10, Nuremberg, October 1946-April, 1949. 15 vols.
Washington, D.C. : U.S. G.P.O., 1949-1953
[Van Pelt Library and Ctr for Adv Judaic Studies Lib, 4th & Walnut Sts: D804.G42 A42]
Transcripts of selected sections of the Nuremberg trials. Copies of the entire record are available in the National Archive Record Administration. October 1946-April 1949.

Nazi conspiracy and aggression. [Prepared by] Office of United States Chief of Counsel for Prosecution of Axis Criminality. 10 vols.
[Van Pelt Library: D804.G42 A4 ]
Materials gathered and prepared by the Allied legal staff in the Nuremberg war crimes trial, regardless of whether they were admitted as evidence during the trial. These papers offer a close-up look at the inner workings of the Nazi party and its seizure of power, violations of international pacts by the Nazi regime, German conduct of the war, atrocities committed, and the role of major Nazi figures in the atrocities. The first two volumes provide background for understanding the documents in the remainder of the volumes.

The Avalon Project at Yale Law School: The Nuremberg War Crimes Trials Collection
Available online at: http://www.yale.edu/lawweb/avalon/imt/imt.htm
Includes the full text of Trial of the Major War Criminals before the International Military Tribunal and vols. 3-10 of Nazi conspiracy and aggression. Also includes a number of important supporting documents such as Control Council law no. 10.

The Mazal Library: A Holocaust Resource
available online at: http://www.mazal.org/Default.htm

  • Nazi War Crime Trials: International Military Tribunal
  • Nazi War Crime Trials: Nuermberg Military Tribunal
  • Nuremberg Organization Documents

Law reports of trials of war criminals : the Belsen trial. Selected and prepared by the United Nations War Crimes Commission. New York : H. Fertig, 1983, 1947
[Van Pelt Library: JX5441.K72 L38 1983]

Nuremberg Medical Trial, 1946/47: transcripts, material of the prosecution and defense, related documents. [microform]
[Van Pelt Microtext Center: Microfiche 1108]

Papers relating to Adolph Eichmann. [microform]
[Van Pelt Microtext Center: Microfilm 1431]

First Person Accounts

See also the sections on Bibliographies and Archival materials.

Fred R. Crawford Witness to the Holocaust Project. Emory University. Atlanta, Georgia.
Available online at: http://sage.library.emory.edu/data1/findaids/0608_fa.html
"information release forms, interview evaluation sheets, and transcripts of oral history interviews. A few include correspondence, copies of diaries, or other documentation relating either to liberation or to the process of creating the oral histories." About 100 transcripts of interviews, mostly from liberators but including some survivors, are available in full-text online.

Voice Vision: Holocaust Survivor Oral Histories. University of Michigan-Dearborn.
Available online at: http://holocaust.umd.umich.edu/
"The Voice/Vision Holocaust Survivor Oral History Archive exists to maintain a collection of oral testimonies of those who survived the Holocaust and make these widely accessible for educational purposes." Transcripts of about 40 are currently available online.

Voices of the Holocaust. Paul V. Galvin Library of Illinois Institute of Technology. Chicago, Illinois.
Available online at: http://voices.iit.edu/education.html
"A collection of 70 interviews conducted in 1946 and transcribed into English by Dr. David Boder. The survivors interviewed included farmers, lawyers, artists, carpenters and others representing all economic levels, many religions, and various nationalities and language groups from across Europe." Transcripts of almost all are available online, and 10 of these are also available in audio.

First-person accounts of genocidal acts committed in the twentieth century: An annotated bibliography.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: D421.A12 T67 1991]
Annotated bibliography to written, oral and videotaped accounts by survivors and other individuals (except perpetrators) somehow involved in genocidal events. Many instances of genocide are covered, but a long section is devoted to the Holocaust. Includes an extremely useful section devoted to other bibliographies to first-person accounts.

Gratz College Oral History Archives. Melrose Park, PA (a suburb of Philadelphia). Located in the Tuttleman Library of Gratz College, an accredited college of Jewish Studies.
http://www.gratzcollege.edu/subpage.asp?ch=L&cd=122&ca=151
"The Holocaust Oral History Archive of Gratz College seeks to record, preserve, and make available to scholars and researchers the testimonies of those who experienced the Nazi era, 1933-1945, in ghettos, camps, labor brigades, resistance forces, national armies, in hiding, and in rescue operations." Over 800 interviews on tape.


IX. Indexes for finding primary resources

PAIS. 1972-present online. Print version (Van Pelt Reference: JA 1 P357) covers 1915-1974. PAIS covers public affairs and policy issues related to a wide range of topics: agriculture, banking, finance, business, demographics, education, health, environment, planning, public administration, law and legislation, and international relations. Includes journal articles, some books, pamphlets, newspaper articles and government documents. Look at the print version that covers the years in which events that you are interested in occured; this should direct you to contemporary opinion, analysis and accounts, all of which can often be used as primary resources.

Periodical Contents Index. Humanities and social sciences. The scope is international, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages. Coverage from before the beginning of the 20th Century.

Social Sciences and Humanities Index. New York : H.W. Wilson Co.
Provides indexing of scholarly journals published in the United States and abroad. Most useful for coverage of years that most online indexes don't includes. Supplement the Periodical Contents Index..
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: AI3 .R49 1907-1974]

Reader’s Guide Retrospective. Provides comprehensive indexing of the popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States, such as Time, Newsweek, New Republic, and the National Review. Covers 1900-1982. Contents reflect the history of 20th century America.


X. News

New York Times. 1851-1999. Full-text of the New York Times. News, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements are all searchable and available for viewing and printing.

Proquest Historical Newspapers. 1851-1999. Full-text page images of the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Wall Street Journal, and Chicago Defender.

Ethnic Newswatch. 1951-present. Full-text online text of ethnic newspapers, including several Jewish publications available 1973-present.

Times of London Digital Archive (1785-1985). 1790-1980. Online index to the Times of London. The index provides citations with which desired articles can be located in and photocopied from the Time of London microfilm set. (Van Pelt Library: Microfilm news 70).

Times of London Digital Archive (1785-1985). 1790-1980. Online index to the Times of London. The index provides citations with which desired articles can be located in and photocopied from the Time of London microfilm set. (Van Pelt Library: Microfilm news 70).

The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project (1895-present). The Jewish Criterion (1895-1962), The American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), and The Jewish Chronicle (1962-Present).

Le Monde. Index Analytique. 1944-present. Index to this important French newspaper. The index provides citations with which desired articles can be located in and photocopied from the Time of London microfilm set. (Van Pelt Library: Microfilm news 43).
Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: AI21 .M65

Newspapers on Microfilm Database. Online database including a list of the newspapers on microform available at Van Pelt Library. For example, you can do a search for the Newspapers in German on microform that were published before and during the second world war, or search for yiddish language newspapers such as the Forvarts.
http://www.library.upenn.edu/cgi-bin/res/microforms.cgi

Center for Research Libraries Foreign Newspapers Database
Lists foreign newspapers available (usually in microfilm) through interlibrary loan from the Center for Research Libraries.


XI. Government Documents

Foreign Relations of the United States. 1870-1968. Washington, D.C.: The Department. U.S. G.P.O.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: Van Pelt Library Stacks: JX 233 A3]
It is organized by year or groups of years, with geographical or topical sub-divisions. Many volumes deal with specific countries at specific times. For many years some volumes are simply labelled "general" to include those documents that do not fall into more specific categories. The documents in each volume are arranged chronologically. Each document has notes indicating its source and, where necessary, annotations providing contextual information or data relating the document to others. There is also a table of sources and abbreviations at the beginning of each volume, and each volume has its own detailed subject and author index. Cumulative indexes, shelved with the set, cover 1861-1899 and 1900-1918 (but the latter does not include the volumes dealing with World War I or the Russian Revolution). The World War II years (1939-1945) are covered in a commercially-produced index (Van Pelt Library Reference: JX 1416 C85). These volumes have several sub-series relating to special topics.

British Documents on Foreign Affairs: Reports and Papers from the Foreign Office Confidential Print
[Van Pelt Library: JX632 .B74]
Similar to the Foreign Relations of the United States but British Documents reprints documents from the British Foreign Office.

British and Foreign State Papers. London : H.M.S.O., 1828-c1977.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: JX103 .A3], v.1 (1812/14)-v.170.

Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications/Document Catalog, 1893- .
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: Z 1223 A13]
Since 1940, the Monthly Catalog is the most comprehensive index to publications of all U.S. government departments and the Congress. The Document Catalog is preferred for the period 1893-1940. The arrangement is by government agency. Indexes refer to Monthly Catalog (MoCat) entry numbers. Entries provide full bibliographic information and Superintendent of Documents (SuDocs) Number. The text of the document is frequently available on microfiche in the Government Documents room behind the reference collection in Van Pelt Library.

CIS U.S. Serial Set Index. Washington, Cong. Info. Serv., 1975-.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: J 74 C66 1975]
A comprehensive index, based on the enhanced titles of the more than 325,000 documents contained in the American State Papers and the Serial Set. Each entry gives document title, publication series & number, congress and session, and Serial Set volume number. There is a separate index of names and organizations as subjects of private relief and a numerical list of reports and documents and schedule of Serial Set volume numbers. There is a one volume index by reported bill numbers, 1819-1969. Documents identified using the Index are available on microprint in the Government Documents room behind the reference collection in Van Pelt Library.

Records of the National Socialist German Labor Party (NSDAP). Nationalsozialistische Deutsche Arbeiter-Partei.
[Van Pelt Microtext Center: National Archives Film M-81 (reels 1, 88-90, 104, 203, 223)]

NSDAP Hauptarchiv, Hoover Institution microfilm collection.
[Van Pelt Microtext Center: Microfilm 1133]
Guide to the Archive: [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: DD256.5 .H364]

Records of the Reich Leader of the SS and Chief of the German Police (Reichsführer SS und Chef der Deutschen Polizei). [Microform] Washington, D.C. : American Historical Association, Committee for the Study of War Documents, 1958.
[Van Pelt Library: Microfilm 3481]

Situation of the Jews in Hungary [Class title FO371/42811]. Great Britain. Foreign Office.
[Van Pelt Library Microtext Center: Microfilm 4451]


XII. Archives, Libraries and Directories

A catalogue of audio and video collections of Holocaust testimony. Joan Ringelheim. New York: Greenwood Press, 1992.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: D804.3 .R55 1992]
Audio and visual collections in the United States listed alphabetically by state. Archives listed include interviews of jews, resistance, partisans, rescuers, and others.

Archival Guide to the Collections of the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum. United States Holocaust Memorial Museum. Washington, D.C. : United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, Center for Advanced Holocaust Studies, 2002.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: D804.3.U2 U45 2002]
The Museum claims to hve the the world's largest concentration of Holocaust-related textual and other records outside of Israel. This guide provides descriptions for text-based collections in the museum. U.S.
Holcaust Memorial Museum Online Catalog

American Friends Service Committee. 1501 Cherry St. Philadelphia, PA.
The archives for the American Society of Friends--the Quakers--contains information relating to Quaker attempts to help European refugees during World War II. Description of collection available at the AFSC website: http://www.afsc.org/archives/archlong.htm

Dorot Jewish Division of the New York Public Library. Catalog to the Jewish Collections available at this site.
http://www.nypl.org/research/chss/jws/jewish.html
"The Dorot Jewish Division is one of the great collections of Judaica in the world and the most accessible for both scholarly and personal use."
Aside from its special collection, the Jewish Division has enormous holdings of primary and secondary resources for which you search in the Jewish Division catalog. Collections include:

  • World Jewish Newspapers on Microform. In English, Hebrew, Yiddish and many other European languages.
    Finding Aid: http://www.nypl.org/research/chss/jws/newspapers.html
  • Yizkor (holocaust memorial) books. Most in Hebrew or Yiddish.
    Finding Aid: http://www2.nypl.org/home/research/dorot/yizkorbooks.cfm?trg6=A

Guide to the YIVO archives. YIVO archives of the YIVO Institute for Jewish Research.. Armonk, N.Y. : M.E. Sharpe, c1998.
The YIVO archives consist of over 1,400 collections, many of which include material related to the holocaust. Categories of relevant material include anti-Jewish legislation and propaganda, concentration camps, deportations, diaries, eyewitness accounts, ghettos, Judenrat, resistance, war crimes trials, etc.
Also explore the YIVO website: http://www.yivoinstitute.org/archlib/archlib_fr.htm

Guide to Yale University Library Holocaust video testimonies, Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies
[Van Pelt Library: D804.3 .F67 1990]
[Web site: http://www.library.yale.edu/testimonies/]
Over 2,500 videos of interviews with survivors and others. To get a complete listing of the video testimonies in the Fortunoff Video Archive, do a keyword search in Yale's online catalog, orbis, for "Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies."

Holocaust-Era Assets: A Finding Aid to Records ath the National Archives at College Park, Maryland. United States. National Archives and Records Administration. Washington, DC : Published for the National Archives and Records Administration by the National Archives Trust Fund Board, 1999.
[Van Pelt Library: D804.19 .U6 1999]

The Holocaust, Israel and the Jews: Motion Pictures in the National Archives. Gellert, Charles Lawrence. Washington, DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, 1989.
[Van Pelt Library: DS115.95.Z9 G45 1989]
Guide to motion pictures held by the National Archives and Records Administration in Washington D.C. Sections are devoted to the Holocaust, Concentration Camps, Jews in America during World War II, and Jews in Europe before World War II.
National Archive's website: http://www.archives.gov/

The Jewish Experience: A Guide to Manuscript Sources in the Library of Congress. Kohn, Gary J.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E184.J5 K62 1986]
Lists manuscript collections related to Jews held in the Library of Congress (Washington D.C.). One section is devoted to the Holocaust.
Library of Congress website: www.loc.gov.

Subject guide to the collection of the Jewish Museum's National Jewish Archive of Broadcasting. A collection of the Jewish Museum in New York City, 1109 Fifth Avenue on the northeast corner of 92nd Street.
[Van Pelt Library: PN1990 .N38 1988]
"The archive documents how Jews and Jewish culture are reflected and portrayed by radio and television." The collection consists of over 2,200 items, many of which are directly related to the Holocaust. For example, the televised trial of Adolf Eichmann is in the archive. Less than 33% of the Museum's collection is listed in the Guide.

Yad Vashem: The Holocaust Martyrs' and Heroes' Remembrance Authority. Jerusalem, Israel.
http://www.yad-vashem.org.il/index.html
"Yad Vashem's task is to perpetuate the legacy of the Holocaust to future generations so that the world never forgets the horrors and cruelty of the Holocaust." The Yad Vashem Library and Archives have the largest holdings of Holocaust related material in the world. Information about the collection, online exhibits and links to other sites are available on the website.

Send mail concerning this page to Nick Okrent, okrent@pobox.upenn.edu.

*