Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
Research Guides
FindIt:

Sidebar

Main Content

Medieval Manuscript Catalogs - Research Guide

A brief guide to the Penn Library locations of major medieval manuscript catalogs.

Contents:

Microfilm Sets 
Trinity College (Dublin, Ireland) Library. The mediaeval & renaissance manuscripts at Trinity College, Dublin. section 1. The Roman inquisition. 34 microfilm reels. London : World Microfilms Publication, 1986.
Location: Van Pelt Library Microfilm 3601
See the accompanying guide for descriptions:
Trinity College (Dublin, Ireland). Library. Trinity College Library Dublin : descriptive catalogue of the Mediaeval and Renaissance Latin manuscripts. 2v. Aldershot, Hants, England : Published for Trinity College Library Dublin by Scolar Press ; Brookfield, Vt., USA : Gower Pub. Co., c1991.
Location: Van Pelt Library Z6621.D84 L373 1991

Medieval Manuscript Microforms
Van Pelt Library holds approximately one thousand medieval manuscripts in microform reproduction. These reproductions have been obtained in support of individual research projects undertaken by University of Pennsylvania faculty and associated researchers. As the original manuscripts are not held by Van Pelt Library, reproduction and interlibrary loan of a microform reproduction are not permitted without consent from the repository holding the original manuscript.
Van Pelt Library Microforms Department
Two inventories are available:
Inventory of the collection, by country, repository, and shelfmark:
Inventory of the collection, by call number:

Henry Charles Lea Library - Microform Collection
A composite of archival manuscript and printed material gathered by Kenneth M. Setton during his tenure as Henry Charles Lea Professor of History at the University of Pennsylvania. As such the collection reflects the contours of his research in Levantine diplomatic relations with Byzantium and the Papacy, as well as the Crusades. As a result, the collection contains only selected portions of major archival series, isolated source texts, as well as assorted miscellanies.
Link: http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/9004
Other Major Microfilm Collections 
Hill Monastic Manuscript Library
This online catalogue currently contains more than 79,000 of the 90,000 inventory records in the Hill Monastic Manuscript Library (HMML) collection.
Link: http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/13308
Inventory-Catalogue of the Drawings in the Biblioteca Ambrosiana, Milan - Ambrosiana Archive, University of Notre Dame
Knights of Columbus Vatican Film Library
Link: http://www.slu.edu/libraries/vfl/
Guide to Libraries' Major Microform Collections - University of Toronto Libraries
Use the "Main Index" link at the top left of page to actually see the list of microfilm collections.
Link: http://www.library.utoronto.ca/robarts/microtext/collection/
Medieval Manuscripts in Microforms & Facsimile
A bibliography of medieval manuscripts on microform by Charles D. Wright.
Link: https://netfiles.uiuc.edu/cdwright/www/msscat.html
Manuscripts on the Web 
Manuscripts from the Labyrinth Project
A nice collection of links to sites with images of medieval manuscripts, bibliographies, online manuscript catalogs, and research libraries with manuscript collections.
Link: http://labyrinth.georgetown.edu/display.cfm?Action=View&Category=Manuscripts
Medieval Illuminated Manuscripts - Koninklijke Bibliotheek
A scholarly database of information regarding medieval illuminated manuscripts of the Koninklijke Bibliotheek, the National Library of the Netherlands, and the Museum Meermanno-Westreenianum.
Link: http://www.kb.nl/kb/manuscripts/index.html
Medieval Writing: History, Heritage, and Data Source - Site created and maintained by Dr Dianne Tillotson.
An introduction to reading medieval manuscripts with some exercises included.
Link:http://medievalwriting.50megs.com/writing.htm
Guides to Catalogs 
Braswell, Laurel Nichols. Western manuscripts from classical antiquity to the Renaissance : a handbook. New York : Garland Pub., 1981.
Includes sections on incipits, paleography, diplomatics and archives, illumination, music, codicology, textual criticism, bibliographies, and reference works. Major manuscript catalogs are listed by country on pp.40-72.
Location:Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks Z105 .B73
Cranz, F. Edward (Ferdinand Edward) comp. A microfilm corpus of the indexes to printed catalogues of Latin manuscripts before 1600 A.D. 38 Microfilm reels. New London, Conn. : [Connecticut College?] : Obtained from the Connecticut College Bookstore, 1982.
Microfilms of all the indexes to authors and works found in the catalogues listed in Kristeller's Latin manuscript books arranged in the order they appear in Kristeller.
Location:Van Pelt Library Microfilm no.3451
Kristeller, Paul Oskar. Latin manuscript books before 1600 : a list of the printed catalogues and unpublished inventories of extant collections. 4th ed., rev. and enl. (Monumenta Germaniae historica. 13) M|nchen : Monumenta Germaniae historica, 1993.
A guide to public collections in Europe and the U.S. Indicates the number of manuscripts included in a list, and analyzes lists covering more than one collection.
Location:Van Pelt Library Reference Desk Z6601.A1 K7 1993
Medieval & Modern Manuscript Catalogues - Charles D. Wright
Lists medieval library catalogues and book inventories as well as modern catalogs.
Link:https://netfiles.uiuc.edu/cdwright/www/msscat.html
Nickson, M.A.E. The British Library: guide to the catalogues and indexes of the Department of Manuscripts. 2nd rev. ed. London: British Library, 1982.
Location:Van Pelt Library Z6621.B837 N52 1982
Major Catalogs 
Bayerische Staatsbibliothek. Catalogus codicum manu scriptorum Bibliothecae Monacensis. M|nchen, In kommission der Palm'schen buchhandlung, 1866- .
Location:Van Pelt Library Z6621 .M91
Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library. Catalogue of medieval and renaissance manuscripts in the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, Yale University. 3v. Binghamton, N.Y.: Medieval & renaissance Texts & Studies, 1984- .
Location:Van Pelt Library Z6621 .B4213 1984
Bibliothhque nationale (France). Catalogue giniral des manuscrits latins ... Paris : Bibliothhque nationale, 1939- . 8v.
Location:Van Pelt Library Z6621.P22 L25
Bibliothhque royale de Belgique. Section des manuscrits. Catalogue des manuscrits de la Bibliothhque royale de Belgique. Bruxelles, H. Lamertin, 1901-1909 ; Renaux, Des presses de J. Leherte Courtin, 1919-1948. 13v.
Contents: vols.1-5 are of medieval manuscripts
t.1: Ecriture sainte et liturgie. 1901.
t.2: Patrologie. 1902.
t.3: Theologie. 1903.
t.4: Jurisprudence et philosophie. 1904.
t.5: Histoire. Hagiographie. 1905.
Location:Van Pelt Library Z6621 .B918
British Library Manuscripts Catalogue.
From the "About" page: "This On-line Catalogue is designed to offer a single means of access to the mainstream catalogues of the Department of Manuscripts covering accessions from 1753 to the present day." Searchable by catalogue Descriptions, Index, or Index number, if known.
Link:http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/13309
British Library. Dept. of Manuscripts. Catalogue of dated and datable manuscripts, c. 700-1600, in the Department of Manuscripts, the British Library. 2v. London : The Library, c1979.
Location:Van Pelt Library Medieval Studies Seminar (Rm. 303) Z6621 .B837 B74 1979a
British Museum. Dept. of Manuscripts. A catalogue of the Harleian manuscripts in the British museum, With indexes of persons, places, and matters ...Printed by command of His Majesty King George III. in pursuance of an address of the House of commons of Great Britain. 4 v. [London, G. Eyre and A. Strahan], 1808-1812.
Location:Van Pelt Library Rare Bk & Mss Rare Books Folio Z6621.B85 H3 1808
Biblioteca Nazionale Marciana. Catalogo dei codici latini della Biblioteca nazionale marciana de Venezia non compresi nel catalogo di G. Valentinelli. 3v. Trezzano: Etimar, 1980-1985.
Location:Van Pelt Library Z6621.B55463 L372 1980
Bodleian Library. A summary catalogue of western manuscripts in the Bodleian Library at Oxford. M|nchen : Kraus, 1980. 7 v. in 8.
Reprint of: Oxford : Clarendon Press, 1895-1953.
Location:Van Pelt Library Z6621.B62 W4 1980
Cambridge University Library. A catalogue of the manuscripts preserved in the library of the University of Cambridge. 5v. Cambridge, University press; [etc., etc.], 1856-1867.
Location:Van Pelt Library Z6621 .C17
Catedral (Csrdoba, Spain). Biblioteca. Catalogo de los manuscritos e incunables de la Catedral de Csrdoba. Salamanca : Universidad Pontificia [de Salamanca], 1976.
Location:Van Pelt Library Z6621.C772 M35
Corpus Christi College (University of Cambridge). Library. A descriptive catalogue of the manuscripts in the library of Corpus Christi college, Cambridge. Cambridge, University Press, 1912. 2v.
Also in Van Pelt Library Rare Bk & Mss Rare Books
Location:Van Pelt Library Z6621.C174 C5 (This item does not circulate.)
Florence. R. Biblioteca nazionale centrale. I manoscritti palatini di Firenze. Firenze, 1853-1868. 3v.
Location:Van Pelt Library Z6621.F61 P3 1853
France. Ministère de l'instruction publique. Catalogue général des manuscrits des bibliothhques publiques des départements. 7. Paris, Imprimerie nationale, 1849-1885.
Contents:
t.1: Séminaire d'Autun. Laon. Montpellier. Albi. 1849.
t.2: Troyes. 1855.
t.3: Saint-Omer. Opinal. Saint-Mihiel. Saint-Dié. Schlestadt. 1861.
t.4: Arras. Avranches. Boulogne. 1872.
t.5: Metz. Verdun. Charleville. 1879.
t.6: Douai. 1878.
t.7: Toulouse. Nimes. 1885.
Location:Van Pelt Library Z6620 .F8 F5
Hague. Koninklijke bibliothek. Catalogus codicum manuscriptorum Bibliothecae regiae ... Hagae Comitum, 1922.
Van Pelt Library Z6621 .H14

Henry E. Huntington Library and Art Gallery. Guide to medieval and Renaissance manuscripts in the Huntington Library. 2v. San Marino, Calif. : The Library, 1989.
Van Pelt Library Z6621.H5272 H46 1989 (This item does not circulate)

Houghton Library. Catalogue of Medieval and Renaissance manuscripts in the Houghton Library, Harvard University. Binghamton, N.Y. : Medieval & Renaissance Texts & Studies, 1995- .
Van Pelt Library Z6621.H592 M435 1995
Volume Holdings: v.1

John Rylands Library. A descriptive catalogue of the Latin manuscripts in the John Rylands library at Manchester ... 2v. Manchester, The University press ; London ; New York, Longmans, Green & company, 1921.
Van Pelt Library Z6621.M261 L3 (This item does not circulate)

Ker, N. R. (Neil Ripley) Medieval manuscripts in British libraries. 4v. Oxford, Clarendon P., 1969- .
Van Pelt Library Z6620.G7 K4
v.1: London. v.2: Abbotsford-Keele. v.3: Lampeter-Oxford. v.4: Paisley-York.

Martmn Abad, Julian. Manuscritos de Espa&ntilda;a: guma de catalogos impresos. Madrid : Arco/Libros, c1989.
Van Pelt Library Z6620.S7 M37 1989

Newton, Francis. The scriptorium and library at Monte Cassino, 1058-1105. Cambridge, U.K.; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1999.
Van Pelt Library Z725.M62 N49 1999

Ricci, Seymour de, 1881-1942. Census of medieval and renaissance manuscripts in the United States and Canada. 3v. and supplement. New York, The H. W. Wilson company, 1935-1940.
Van Pelt Library Z6620.U5 R5 (also available in Rare Book Reference)

Robinson, Pamela. Catalogue of dated and datable manuscripts c. 737-1600 in Cambridge libraries. 2v. Cambridge [Cambridgeshire]; Wolfeboro, N.H., USA : D.S. Brewer, 1988.
Van Pelt Library Medieval Studies Seminar (Rm. 303) Z6620.G7 R6 1988

Stiftsbibliothek Sankt Gallen. Verzeichniss der Handschriften der Stiftsbibliothek von St. Gallen. Halle : Buchhandlung des Waisenhauses, 1875.
Van Pelt Library Z6621 .S16 1875a

Universidad de Barcelona. Bibliotheca. Inventario general de manuscritos de la Biblioteca universitaria de Barcelona . Madrid, Direcciones generales de ense&ntilda;anza universitaria y de archivos y bibliotecas, Servicio de publicaciones de la Junta ticnica, 1958- . 4v.
Van Pelt Library Z6621.B32 B32 (This item does not circulate.)

Universitdtsbibliothek Erlangen. Katalog der Handschriften der Universitdtsbibliothek Erlangen. Neubearbeitung. 6 v. in 7. Erlangen, Universitdtsbibliothek, 1928-80.
Van Pelt Library Z6621 .E72 1928

Universitdtsbibliothek M|nchen. Die Handschriften der Universitdtsbibliothek M|nchen. 4v. Wiesbaden, O. Harrassowitz, 1968- . In progress?
Van Pelt Library Z6621 .M936
Contents:
  • Bd.1: Die deutschen mittelalterlichen Handschriften
  • Bd.2: Die Musikhandschriften
  • Bd.3: Die lateinischen mittelalterlichen Handschriften aus der Folioreihe
  • Bd.4: Lateinischen Mittelalterlichen Handschriften der Universitdtsbibliothek M|nchen: die Handschriften aus der oktavreihe.

Watson, Andrew G. Catalogue of dated and datable manuscripts c. 435-1600 in Oxford libraries. 2v. Oxford [Oxfordshire] : Clarendon Press, 1984.
Van Pelt Library Z6620.G7 W37 1984

Finding Other Catalogs in Franklin

Subject Headings
A few examples of manuscript related subjects are provided below. For additional subject headings, see the Library of Congress Subject Headings, located near the reference desk on the first floor of the Van Pelt Library. Also, when looking at Franklin records of interest, chose the "full view" and note the subject headings assigned to these works. Manuscript subject headings generally follows this format: Heading, Type--Location of Manuscript--Form (e.g., Catalogs, Bibliography). LC Subject Headings must be entered in Franklin without the dashes.

Manuscripts, Latin--Exhibitions
Manuscripts, Latin--History
Manuscripts, Latin--Ireland--Dublin--Catalogs
Manuscripts, Medieval--Germany--Hannover--Catalogs
Manuscripts, Medieval--Connecticut--New Haven--Catalogs
Manuscripts, Latin (Medieval and modern)--France--Paris--Catalogs

Keyword Searching
Try keyword searching to avoid incorrect formatting in Subject searching or to locate catalogs of specific libraries:

manuscripts AND "bibliotheque nationale" AND catalogs
manuscripts AND rylands AND catalogs
Additional Resources
Manuscripts Research: Identifying Texts and Locating Secondary Literature - Charles D. Wright
A bibliography of mostly printed resources that help in identifying Latin texts by colophon and incipit, based on type of text (patristic, scientific, etc). Note: this is a guide for another university, call numbers do not match.
Send mail concerning this page to Nick Okrent at okrent@pobox.upenn.edu
*