Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
Research Guides
FindIt:

Sidebar

Main Content

Historical Newspapers Online

This table provides a list of some of the historic newspapers that are available online through Penn subscriptions or at no cost. Hundreds more historic newspapers are available online as part of the following databases:

NOTE: this site no longer maintains a section on international newspapers. The listing of public historical foreign newspapers provided by ICON is extremely comprehensive. This site remains more comprehensive for U.S. newspapers.

Newspaper Date Notes
Alabama    
1874-1887
Alaska    
1962-1997 Newspaper written by and for Alaskan Natives.
Arizona    
1912-2007 Access to digitized newspapers from Casa Grande city, which is located between Phoenix and Tucson. Originally a primarily rural and agricultural town, it is now a growing suburb.
California    
1900-1911 Amador County newspaper
1849-1910 San Francisco daily
1855-1859 "El Clamor Publico was the first Spanish-language newspaper in California after the American occupation..The initially moderate paper evolved into an activist tabloid and espoused strong political views generally in support of the Mexicanos. It was distributed as far north as San Francisco."
1900-1910
1900-1910 San Francisco's leading morning newspaper until 1913.
Colorado    
1859-1923 Over 100 newspapers online including the Rocky Mountain News.
Florida    
1938-1970
1900-1910 The DeSoto County News, The Champion (Arcadia), The Florida Agriculturalist (DeLand--'A journal devoted to state interests'), Gainesville Daily Sun (Gainesville), The New Enterprise (Madison), The Pensacola Journal (Pensacola), The Punta Gorda Herald (Punta Gorda), more.
mid-19th century-almost current. Extensive geographic and chronological coverage, but many of the papers represented have short runs.
1907-1986 Choose St. Petersburg Evening Independent as the source to limit your search to this paper.
1901- Choose St. Petersburg Times as the source to limit your search to this paper.
Georgia    
1828-1833 The first American Indian newspaper.
1876 African American newspaper based in Savanah.
1878-1887
1950s-present Daily newspaper from Rome, Georgia. Limit your search to source: Rome News-Tribune to just search this paper.
Hawaii    
1834-1948 Over 40 Hawaiian and English language newspapers. Mixed quality of scans. Partial runs.
1861-1927 16 Hawaiian language newspapers online. Mixed quality of scans. Partial runs.
Illinois    
1894-2003 Student newspapers of Illinois Wesleyan University
1914-1930 Barrington, Illinois newspaper
1916-1936 (1936-45 forthcoming)  
1908-1917 "Established in 1908 by the Polish National Alliance, Dziennik Zwiazkowy continues to be published today as the Polish Daily News. This database includes the first ten years (1908-1917) of publication, which represent local, national and international issues of utmost concern to the Polish community of Chicago at that time."
1835-1890 Quincy Daily Whig and Quincy Daily Herald
1883-1926 Bulk of content 1907-1926
1916-1925 (1902-1915 and 1926-1935 forthcoming)
Indiana    
1921-1950 A moderate sized city in central Indiana, Muncie is notable for its appearance as Middletown in the social research of the Lynds in the 1920s and 30s.
Iowa    
1930-1931 A moderate sized city in central Indiana, Muncie is notable for its appearance as Middletown in the social research of the Lynds in the 1920s and 30s.
Kentucky    
1896-1916 Bourbon News, Central Record, Adair County News, Bluegrass Blade (Lexington), more
Iowa    
1876-2000
1857-1998
1872-2000
Louisiana    
1827-1923 A dual language French-English newspaper. The Bee is arranged chronologically and is not otherwise searchable.
Maryland    
1902-1978 Free registration required. Partial run. The Afro-American Newspapers is the leading news provider for African-Americans in the Baltimore / Washington, DC Metropolitan area and longest running African-American, family-owned newspaper in the nation.
1856-1857 Cambridge, Maryland newspaper. Free registration required.
1830-1903 Cambridge, Maryland newspaper. Free registration required. Partial run.
1937-1947 Cambridge, Maryland newspaper. Free registration required.
1802-1947 Scanned microfilm that is unsearchable but can be browsed by date. Includes the Maryland Gazette, Baltimore Clipper, Whig newspapers, and more.
Massachusetts    
1919-1973 Important Portuguese language newspaper that focused its coverage on Portuguese-American communities in New England and the Mid-Atlantic states.
1830-1930 Features the Barnstable Patriot, covering Cape Cod and the Islands, and the Hyannis Patriot.
1873-
1918-1967
Michigan    
1868-1957 A lumber center in southwestern Michigan on the shore of Lake Michigan. In the early 20th century it became a resort and tourist community for the urbanizing areas of the upper midwest.
Minnesota    
1880-1910 Daily Globe (St. Paul), more in process.
1911-1952 Holt is located in northern Minnesota, and this paper was issued from a large co-operative creamery. Provides an interesting look at a small farming community.
1855-1925 19th century Winona was a large steamboat port on the Mississippi in Southeast Minnesota. Also a center of wheat and lumber production
Missouri    
1889-2006
1836-1987 Includes Methodist and Whig newspapers
1966-1985 Student run paper at the University of Missouri that includes many AP and UPI articles that ran nationally.
1886-2003 Free registration required. "Sporting News was introduced in 1886 by Alfred Spink as a tabloid newspaper covering all sporting events, and even some theater. The publication changed its focus in the early 20th century under the direction of Alfred's brother, Charles, to cover primarily baseball. Its extensive baseball coverage quickly earned the publication the unique moniker as the "Bible of Baseball." In 1942 hockey, football and basketball were added to the repertoire...."
Nebraska    
1880-1910 Omaha Daily Bee, more in process.
New Hampshire    
1895-1897 North Conway, New Hampire newspaper. Free registration required.
Nevada    
1905-1924 Incomplete run.
New Jersey    
1860-1923 Newspapers from Atlantic City and the surrounding area.
1886-1926  
1878-1991  
1910-1944 South Amboy is a town in central coastal New Jersey. Weekly newspaper. Some issues are missing.
1888-1929 The Silent Worker was a popular national newspaper among the deaf population of the United States during the end of the 1890's through the end of the first quarter of the 20th century. Originally known as the Deaf Mute Times, it was first published in February 1888 and renamed The Silent Worker on September 27 of the same year. The New Jersey School for the Deaf continued its publication monthly, except for July, August, and periodically September until it ceased in June 1929. Deaf American authors wrote almost all articles, although occasional contributions by deaf individuals from other countries were also printed.
New York    
1841-1902 Extensive national and international coverage. At one point the country's most widely read afternoon daily.
1880-1979 Cornell University undergraduate newspaper.
1836-1842 "One of the most significant and little studied newspapers documenting early anti-slavery and other reform movements." Published in central New York.
1926-2002 Student newspaper of Ithaca University.
1838-1840 New York City newspaper. Free registration required. "The content in the newspaper reflected [William Lyon] Mackenzie views entirely and was extremely reform minded to the point that it advocated revolution against the ruling system of government."
1843 New York City newspaper. Free registration required. William Lyon Mackenzie "used this newspaper as a avenue to disparage former President Martin Van Buren and other leading democrats for their political dealings."
1900-1910 Famously sensational newspaper published by Joseph Pulitzer and perhaps best know for its 'yellow journalism.'
18th-20th centuries The search interface supports complex searching. To search a specific newspaper start your search with the title in quotes "Syracuse NY Post Standard." Use this format to limit by date: 1904~~1920. Connect information with 'and.' For example: "Syracuse NY Post Standard" and 1904~~1920 and canal. A listing of all newspapers that provides date browsing is available here Includes newspapers from Rochester, Syracuse, Buffalo, Ithaca, Utica, more. Includes New York city papers: Tribune (1841-1922), Spectator (1797-1845), Evening Telegram (1868-1924), more.
1880-1910 The nation's first successful penny daily, and the New York City circulation leader for several decades in the 19th century. By 1900 it was less important than several other city papers but still influential.
1811-2004  
Early-mid 19th century Includes the Liberal Advocate, The Rights of Man, The Monroe Democrat and other Ante-Bellum and Civil War era newspapers.
1839-1942 Historic Long Island Newspapers
1841-2 Rochester newspaper. Free registration required. "The Volunteer was exclusively devoted to the denunciation of British rule in Canada and the suppression of the recent rebellions."
Ohio    
1859-67 Cincinnati newspaper. Free registration required. "Shortly after [Isaac Mayer] Wise's arrival in Cincinnati, he started the Israelite to foster his reformist views...The Israelite is the oldest English-Jewish weekly newspaper in the United States and the second oldest in the world.."
Pennsylvania    
19th-early 20th century Browsable by date but not searchable, this repository includes newspapers from small cities in Pennsylvania: Nazareth, New Holland, Marietta, Mansfield, etc. Search by collection or do a keyword search for newspaper to see which newspapers are available.
1843-1851 The leading Jewish publication in the United States during this period.
1861-1898 Published by the African Methodist Episcopalian Church in Philadelphia. Includes secular and religious material.
1859-1867 Republican Newspaper. Excerpts.
1897-2004 Student newspaper of Gettysburg University.
1838-2007 Collection contains a number of newspapers covering Tioga, Bradford and Wellsboro.
1889-1931 Franklin and Marshall College Reporter (1915-2001), Lancaster Journal (1816-1836), Lancaster Intelligencer (1847-1871), Columbia Spy (1830-1889), New Holland Criterion (1873-1950).
1955-1983 An important agricutlural publication.
1925-2003 Student newspaper of Lincoln University
1816-1950 Free registration required. Lock Haven is the county seat of Clinton County located in north central Pennsylvania.
1887-present The Daily Collegian and predecessors, The Behrend Beacon, and Hazleton Highacres.
1847-1874 Newspapers of Bellefonte, Chambersburg, Columbia, Erie, Gettysburg, Huntingdon, Philadelphia (Press, 1857-64; American Presbyterian, 1860-1869; Daily Evening Bulletin 1864-1870), Reading, Waynesboro and Wellsboro
1895-present The Jewish Criterion (1895-1962), The American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), and The Jewish Chronicle (1962-Present).
1930s (?)- Choose Pittsburgh Post-Gazette as the source to limit your search to this paper.
1833-1977 Collection contains a number of newspapers covering McKean County, including the McKean County Miner.
1859-1870 Franklin County Democratic newspaper. Excerpts.
South Carolina    
1862-1866 Newspaper documenting the South Carolina Lowcountry, based first in Port Royal and later in Beaufort.
Tennessee    
1893 Free registration required
Texas    
1880-1910 Jefferson Jimplecute, Jewish Herald (Houston), Palestine Daily Herald, Fort Worth Daily Gazette, The Daily Herald (Brownsville)
Utah    
1900-1910
1850-1947 Over 40 newspapers including the Deseret News
Virginia    
1914-2006 University of Richmond student newspaper.
1859-1870 Democratic newspaper in Augusta County. Excerpts
1947 Registration required
1860-1865 Most widely read newspaper in Richmond during the Civil War. Known as a non-partisan paper.
1857-1870 Whig newspaper in Augusta County. Excerpts.
1900-1910
1865-1870 Augusta County newspaper. Excerpts.
1736-1780 Williamsburg, VA. newspaper
Washington D.C.    
1925-2004 Student newspaper of American University
1900-1910 The Colored American (African American Newspaper), The Evening Times, The Hatchet, The National Forum, The Suburban Citizen, The Sunday Globe, Sunday Morning Globe, Sunday Washington Globe, The Washington Bee, The Washington Herald, Washington Sentinel, Washington Times, Washington Weekly Post, The Weekly News (Anacostia), Alexandria gazette
1959-1980 Student newspaper of Georgetown University
1847-1860 African American newspaper
1918-1919 Paper published by the U.S. Army for its forces in France.
Washington State    
1852-1886 Newspapers from Seattle, Olympia, Spokane, Walla Walla. Requires DjVu plug in.
Wisconsin    
1860-1940 Over 16,000 articles about biographical and local subjects excerpted from several hundred newspapers.
Wyoming    
1849-1922 "Available through this website are all the newspapers printed in Wyoming between 1849 and 1922"

Historical Newspaper Indexes
Newspaper Date Notes
1868-1929 Primary exponent of the 'New South' in the post-Civil War period.
1852-1984
1860-1940
1885-1977
1764-1984
1901-
1817-1950
1894-2004
1877-1986

Send mail concerning this page to Nick Okrent at: okrent@pobox.upenn.edu
*