This table provides a list of historical U.S. newspapers that are available online at no cost. Newspapers available for free through Google News Historical
Archives and Newspaperarchives.com are listed individually as I identify them. Newspapers available through Chronicling America and state digitization projects
are usually listed as a group. For instance, under "Wyoming" I have not listed every newspaper digitized in the project but simply described what is available.
. There are many newspapers listed here that are not listed below.
| Newspaper |
Date |
Notes |
| Alabama |
|
|
|
1892-2004--only excerpts |
This seems to be a digitized selected 'clippings file' meant to support research into the history of Birmingham. |
|
1874-1887 |
|
|
1939-2010 |
Jacksonville State University student newspaper. |
|
1837-1895 |
Northeastern Alabama newspaper. |
| Alaska |
|
|
|
1971-1995 |
|
|
1962-1997 |
Newspaper written by and for Alaskan Natives. |
| Arizona |
|
|
|
1883-1922 |
Assorted regional newspapers. |
|
1850s-1920s |
Supplements Chronicling America by providing access to dates not yet available there. |
|
1912-2007 |
Access to digitized newspapers from Casa Grande city, which is located between Phoenix and Tucson. Originally a primarily rural and agricultural town,
it
is now a growing
suburb. |
|
1974- |
|
|
1934-1943 |
"Little Cowpuncher was the name of a mimeographed school newspaper, written and illustrated by Anglo and Mexican-American ranch children...at five different rural schools in Southern Arizona." |
|
1892-1922 |
|
|
1893-2009 |
Incomplete run. Prescott is a town in the mountains located 90 miles north of Phoenix. |
| Arkansas |
|
|
|
1819-1846 |
One of the oldest newspapers west of the Mississippi River. You must register to access the newspaper. Registration is free. |
|
1896-1949 |
|
| California |
|
|
|
1900-1911 |
Amador County newspaper |
|
1912-1947 |
|
|
1846-1922 |
Includes Amador Ledger, California Star, Californian, Daily Alta California, Imperial Valley Press, Los Angeles Herald (1873-1910), Pacific Rural Press, Placer Times,
Sacramento Daily Union,
Sacramento Transcript, San Francisco Call (1890-1913), Sausalito News, more.
|
|
1880-1910 |
The Amador Ledger, San Francisco Call, Los Angeles Herald, Imperial Valley Press, more. Scattered runs. |
|
1950s-1980s |
Student newspaper of Cal. State Northridge. A very small sampling of other newspapers from the San Fernando Valley is also included. |
|
1900-1904 |
Chinese language newspaper published in San Francisco. |
|
1895-1974 |
Newspapers from the city of Covina in Los Angeles County. |
|
1855-1859 |
"El Clamor Publico was the first Spanish-language newspaper in California after the American occupation. The initially moderate paper evolved into an
activist tabloid and espoused
strong political views generally in support of
the Mexicanos. It was distributed as far north as San Francisco." |
|
1865-1885 |
Nevada county newspaper,eventually became The Union. |
|
1900-2009 |
Lodi is a city located between Stockton and Sacramento. |
|
1873-1910 |
|
|
1852-1864 |
Bilingual Spanish-English newspaper |
|
1927-1989 |
Very incomplete run in earlier years. |
|
April 1890-April 1912 |
San Francisco's leading morning newspaper until 1913. |
|
1928-1948 |
|
|
1957- |
Cal. State Northridge student newspaper. |
|
1888-2007 |
Whittier is located in Los Angeles County. |
| Colorado |
|
|
|
1859-1923 |
The Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection (CHNC) currently includes more than 500,000 digitized pages, representing 163 individual newspaper titles
published in Colorado from 1859 to 1923. |
|
1887-1925, bulk 1920-1925 |
Newspaper of Estes Park, located Northwest of Denver and almost adjacent to Rocky Mountain National Park. |
| Connecticut |
|
|
|
1859-1876 |
|
|
1839-1899 |
Partial run. |
|
1865-1899 |
|
|
1880-2010 |
|
|
1878-1981 |
Not yet comprehensive. |
Delaware |
|
|
|
1890-1989 |
|
Florida |
|
|
|
1938-1970 |
The Boca Raton News, The Pelican, The Weekly Tattler, more. |
|
Late 18th-early 19th century |
Bulk consists of the St. Cloud Tribune |
|
1895-1922 |
The DeSoto County News, The Champion (Arcadia), The Florida Agriculturalist (DeLand--'A journal devoted to state interests'), Gainesville Daily Sun
(Gainesville), The New Enterprise
(Madison), The Pensacola Journal
(Pensacola), The Punta Gorda Herald (Punta Gorda), more. |
|
Mid-19th century-almost current. |
Extensive geographic and chronological coverage, but many of the papers represented have short runs. |
|
1958-2004. |
Student newspaper of Gulf Coast Community College. |
|
1762-1885 |
Newspaper articles ABOUT Florida from a wide range of newspapers. |
|
1956-2009 |
|
|
1896-1989 |
|
|
1904-1908; 1910-1916 |
|
|
1945-2008 |
|
|
1912-1988 |
|
|
1897-1988 |
#The Palm Beach Post and Times (1916 through 1988). The Palm Beach Daily News (1912-1988). The Miami News/Miami Metropolis (1897-1988). The Tropical Sun (1897-1921). In association with the Palm Beach Historical Society. The Palm Beach Independent (1929). |
|
1916-2010 |
|
|
1938-2009 |
|
|
1907-1909 |
Enter St. Petersburg Evening Independent as the source to limit your search to this paper. |
|
1921-present |
|
Georgia |
|
|
|
1827-1922 |
Athenian, 1827-1832, Southern Banner, 1832-1882, Southern Watchman, 1855-1882, Daily/Weekly Banner-Watchman, 1882-1889, Daily/Weekly Athens Banner, 1889-1922
|
|
1847-1922 |
Atlanta Daily Examiner, 1857;
Atlanta Daily Herald, 1873-1876;
Atlanta Georgian, 1906-1911;
Atlanta Intelligencer, 1851, 1854-1871;
Atlantian, 1911-1922;
Daily/Georgia Weekly Opinion, 1867-1868;
Gate-City Guardian, 1861;
Georgia Literary and Temperance Crusader, 1860-1861;
New Era, 1869-1872;
Southern Confederacy, 1861-1864;
Southern Miscellany, and Upper Georgia Whig, 1847;
Southern World, 1882-1885;
Sunny South, 1875-1907;
Weekly Constitution, 1869-1882 |
|
1904-1928 |
|
|
1828-1833 |
The first American Indian newspaper. Select The Cherokee Phoenix to limit results. |
|
1828-1890 |
A weekly newspaper until 1859, when it became daily. "During its earliest issues, the paper supported the ideological cause of state's rights,
demonstrated
by the quote used in its
title banner: 'The Union of the States, and
the Sovereignty of the States'...the Enquirer supported Whig politicians for office, including Henry Clay and Zachary Taylor. The paper began publishing on a daily
basis in 1859. Two years
later, the Enquirer was faced with the
possibility of Southern secession, and broke with many other prominent newspapers of the time in calling for cooperation with the North, but quickly aligned itself
with Georgia once secession
became official." |
|
1875-1876 |
African American newspaper based in Savanah. Select The Colored Tribune to limit results. |
|
1862-1866 |
"Published in the Country, on a Southern Plantation, and Devoted to the Editor's Opinions." |
|
1878-1887 |
Select The Dublin Post to limit results. |
|
1826-1908 |
Macon has long been one of Georgia's largest cities outside Atlanta. |
|
1808-1922 |
Milledgeville was the antebellum capital of Georgia from 1804 until the late 1860s. Titles include: Federal Union, 1830-1872; Future Citizen, 1914-1916;
Georgia Argus, 1810-1815; Georgia Journal, 1809-1845; Milledgeville
Intelligencer, 1808; Milledgeville News, 1909-1922; Reflector, 1817-1819; Southern Recorder, 1820-1872: Southron, 1828: Standard of Union, 1836-1841: Union
Recorder, 1872-1920. |
|
1893-1979 |
Searchable issues of the University of Georgia's student newspaper |
|
1950s-present |
Daily newspaper from Rome, Georgia. Limit your search to source: Rome News-Tribune to just search this paper. |
|
1845-1922 |
Includes newspapers from Albany, Americus, Thomasville, and Valdosta. |
|
1929-1958, 1984-1986 |
"Rabbi H. Cerf Straus established the Southern Israelite as a temple bulletin in Augusta in 1925. The publication was so popular, he expanded it into a
monthly newspaper. Later in the
decade, Straus sold the paper to
Herman Dessauer and Sara B. Simmons, who moved the paper to Atlanta, where it began circulating state-wide and eventually throughout the South." |
| Hawaii |
|
|
|
1877-1913 |
The Honolulu Daily Herald, The Daily Independent, Hawaiian Gazette. |
|
1834-1948 |
Over 40 Hawaiian and English language newspapers. Mixed quality of scans. Partial runs. |
|
1834-1927 |
16 Hawaiian language newspapers online. Mixed quality of scans. Partial runs. |
| Idaho |
|
|
|
1906-1975 |
Newspaper of this traditionally Mormon town. |
| Illinois |
|
|
|
1892-1920 |
Includes the Chicago Eagle. |
|
1882-1902 |
|
|
1894-2003 |
Student newspapers of Illinois Wesleyan University |
|
1914-1921 and 1925-1930 |
Barrington, Illinois newspaper. |
|
1908-1918 |
Hearst newspaper initially priced at 1 penny. Select relevant years, of Chicago Examiner, to search paper. |
|
1855-1938 |
The survey was published in 1942 by the Chicago Public Library Omnibus Project of the Works Projects Administration of Illinois. The purpose of the
project
was to translate and
classify selected news articles that appeared
in the foreign language press from 1855 to 1938. The project consists of 120,000 typewritten pages translated from newspapers of 22 different foreign language
communities in Chicago |
|
1911-1949 |
Jewish American newspaper. The keyword search function works, but you must be patient. After you run a search and download an issue wait for the
entire file to download before
you search the PDF. |
|
1930-1960 |
Articles related to ethnic diversity excerpted from this Southern Illinois University Carbondale student newspaper. |
|
1916-1945 |
|
|
1903-1951 |
Millikin University's student newspaper. |
|
1908-1917 |
"Established in 1908 by the Polish National Alliance, Dziennik Zwiazkowy continues to be published today as the Polish Daily News. This database
includes the first ten years (1908-
1917) of publication, which represent
local, national and international issues of utmost concern to the Polish community of Chicago at that time." |
|
1841-1981 |
Collection of Illinois-based farm newspapers of the 19th century |
|
1882-2008 |
Newspaper of the Hyde Park section of Chicago. |
|
1835-1919 |
Quincy Daily Whig and Quincy Daily Herald. |
|
1883-1926 |
Bulk of content 1907-1926. |
|
1854-2007 |
Bulk of content 1907-1926. |
|
1903-1935 |
|
| Indiana |
|
|
|
1845 -1970 |
Collection of newspapers primarily based in Fort Wayne. |
|
1872-1899 |
|
|
1886-1919 |
|
|
1899-2005 |
African American Newspaper. Missing 1917-1925. |
|
1873 -1909 |
Incomplete run. |
|
1921-1950 |
A moderate sized city in central Indiana, Muncie is notable for its appearance as Middletown in the social research of the Lynds in the 1920s and 30s.
|
| Iowa |
|
|
|
1886-1999 |
|
|
1876-2000 |
|
|
1890-2000 |
|
|
1894-2006 |
|
|
1884-2009 |
|
|
1857-1998 |
|
|
1880-1899 |
|
|
1894-1904 |
|
|
1868-2006 |
University of Iowa's student newspaper |
|
1864-1987 |
|
|
1971-2005 |
|
|
1915-2009 but with very spotty coverage. Coverage for the 1920s seems to be good. |
Limit your search to source: Lyon County Reporter to just search this paper. |
|
1864-2004 |
|
|
1911-2006 |
|
|
1890-2000 |
|
|
1895-1975 |
|
|
1865-2004 |
|
|
1872-2007 |
|
|
1884-1936 |
|
|
1881-2008 |
|
| Kansas |
|
|
|
1860-1891 |
Includes the Wichita Eagle, Kansas Chief, Independent, Smoky Hill and Republican Union. |
|
1911- |
|
| Kentucky |
|
|
|
1860-1922 |
Bourbon News, Central Record, Adair County News, Bluegrass Blade (Lexington), more |
|
1878-1916 |
|
|
1874-2010 |
|
| Louisiana |
|
|
|
1868-1903 |
Includes the Ouachita Telegraph (Monroe), Morning Star and Catholic Sentinel (New Orleans), Louisiana Democrat (Alexandria). |
|
1810-1857; incomplete run. |
A dual language French-English newspaper. |
|
1855-1859 |
|
|
1827-1923 |
A small number of early publications from all of Louisiana's parishes. |
|
1827-1923 |
A dual language French-English newspaper. The Bee is arranged chronologically and is not otherwise searchable. |
|
1830-1879 |
|
| Maryland |
|
|
|
1933-2003 |
Choose the title of the newspaper as the source to limit your search to this paper. |
|
1856-1857 |
Choose the title of the newspaper as the source to limit your search to this paper. |
|
1802-1947 |
Scanned microfilm that is unsearchable but can be browsed by date. Includes the Maryland Gazette, Baltimore Clipper, Whig newspapers, and more.
|
|
1728-1729, 1745-1839 |
Scanned microfilm that is unsearchable but can be browsed by date. |
| Massachusetts |
|
|
|
1919-1973 |
Important Portuguese language newspaper that focused its coverage on Portuguese-American communities in New England and the Mid-Atlantic
states. |
|
1830-1930 |
Features the Barnstable Patriot, covering Cape Cod and the Islands, and the Hyannis Patriot. |
|
1858-1879 |
|
|
1858-1915 |
|
|
Dates include: 1871-1899, 1918-1939, 1941-1943, and 1965-2008 |
Digitized images from local Chatham titles, keyword search capable. |
|
1789 |
French language newspapers published in Boston. |
|
1873- |
The nation's oldest continuously published daily college newspaper. |
|
1949-2003 |
Student newspaper of Brandeis University. |
|
1966-2007 |
Student newspaper of the University of Massachusetts at Boston. |
|
1918-1967 |
|
|
May 4, 1844-April 19, 1845 |
"A semi-monthly paper, devoted to the cause of seamen--to virture--to temperance--to humanity--to intelligence." |
|
1881- |
Student newspaper of MIT. |
| Michigan |
|
|
|
1881-2009. |
Cass City Enterprise coverage begins 1881 and ends 1906; Cass City Chronicle coverage begins 1906. Available through the Rawsom Memorial Library of Cass City, Michigan. |
|
1920-1952. |
Includes the Grosse Pointe Civic News (1920-1935), the Grosse Pointe News (1940- ), and the Grosse Pointe Review (1930-1952). |
|
Scattered dates. |
Student Newspaper of Kalamazoo College. |
|
1962-1890's. |
A collaborative project involving 52 libraries in Michigan. Includes such newspapers as: Gobles News (1925-1932), Middleville Sun (July-Dec. 1897), Manchester Enterprise (1867-1892), and Owosso Press (1862-1869). |
|
1868-1957 |
|
|
1915-1973 |
Town in central Michigan |
|
1868-1959 |
A lumber center in southwestern Michigan on the shore of Lake Michigan. In the early 20th century it became a resort and tourist community for the
urbanizing areas of the upper
midwest. |
|
April 1841 - February 1848 |
An abolitionist paper launched by Theodore Foster and Rev. Guy Beckley in southeast Michigan in 1841. |
| Minnesota |
|
|
|
1878-1905 |
Daily Globe (St. Paul), more in process. |
|
1906-1939 |
Include the Farmer's Wife. Available through the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champlain |
|
1907-2006 |
Covers the labor movement in Minneapolis and nationally. |
|
1870s-present |
Student newspapers of colleges in Minnesota: Carleton, McCalister, Gustavus, Concordia, Luther, Trinity, more. |
|
1911-1952 |
Holt is located in northern Minnesota, and this paper was issued from a large co-operative creamery. Provides an interesting look at a small farming
community. |
|
1907-1977 |
Labor newspapers based in St. Paul. |
|
1888- |
|
|
1855-1946 |
19th century Winona was a large steamboat port on the Mississippi in Southeast
Minnesota. Also a center of wheat and lumber production. Includes the Winona Argus, Winona Daily News, Winona Daily Republican, and the Winona Republican-Herald. |
| Mississippi |
|
|
|
1955-1961 |
White supremacist newspaper published in Jackson. Browsable by date but not searchable. |
| Missouri |
|
|
|
1880-1922 |
|
|
1889-2009 |
|
|
1966-1985 |
Student run paper at the University of Missouri that includes many AP
and UPI articles that ran nationally. |
|
1836-1987 |
Includes Methodist, Whig, Republican and Civil War-era newspapers. |
|
1883-2007 |
|
| Montana |
|
|
|
1864-1869 |
Montana Post. |
|
1956-61, 1971-1988 |
Native American newspaper. "Published by the Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes of the Flathead Indian Reservation." |
| Nebraska |
|
|
|
1874-1912 |
Includes the Omaha Daily Bee. |
|
1922-2010 |
Student newspaper of the University of Nebraska Omaha. |
| Nevada |
|
|
|
1905-1915, 1917-1922, 1924 |
Incomplete run. |
|
1860-1919, 1950-1980 |
Daily Territorial Enterprise, Goodsprings Gazette, Henderson Home News, Reese River Reveille, Wadsworth Dispatch, White Pine News. |
|
1940's-1950's |
Includes the newsletters Big Job and Basic Bombardier from 1942-1944, as well as the Henderson Home News for 1951. |
| New Hampshire |
|
|
|
1895-1897 |
|
| New Jersey |
|
|
|
1860-1923 |
Newspapers from Atlantic City and the surrounding area. Includes the Atlantic Journal (1860), the Hammonton Farmer (1863, 1866), the South Jersey Republican (1863-1923), Atlantic Democrat and Cape May County Register (1864-1865), Atlantic Democrat and Cumberland County Patriot (1866), Atlantic Democrat (1866, 1867-1868), Hammonton Item (1872-1877), Mays Landing Record (1877-1906), Atlantic County Record (1908-1917), and the South Jersey Star (1917-1923). |
|
1886-1926 |
|
|
1876-2002 |
Beta version. Still incomplete. |
|
1962-2001 |
Montclaire State University student newspaper. Incomplete run. |
|
1871-1916 |
Burlington, NJ newspaper. |
|
1818-1947 |
|
|
1893-2006 |
Assorted newspapers published in Ocean City. |
|
1878-1991 |
|
|
1872-1936 |
Rockaway is a city in north central New Jersey. |
|
1910-2000 |
South Amboy is a town in central coastal New Jersey. Weekly newspaper. Some issues are missing. |
|
1888-1929 |
The Silent Worker was a popular national newspaper among the deaf population of the United States during the end of the 1890's through the end of the
first
quarter of the 20th century.
Originally known as the Deaf Mute
Times, it was first published in February 1888 and renamed The Silent Worker on September 27 of the same year. The New Jersey School for the Deaf continued
its publication monthly,
except for July, August, and periodically
September until it ceased in June 1929. Deaf American authors wrote almost all articles, although occasional contributions by deaf individuals from other
countries
were also printed. |
|
1891-2008 |
Assorted newspapers from Westfield in Union County. The search feature appears to be broken but the newspapers can be browsed by date. |
|
1876-1970. |
| New York |
|
|
|
1879-1922 |
Includes The Sun (1859-1916), the Evening World (1887-1922) and the New-York Tribune (1841-1922). |
|
1895-1999 |
|
|
1901-2002 |
|
|
1841-1902 |
Extensive national and international coverage. At one point the country's
most widely read afternoon daily. |
|
1902-1937 |
|
|
1880-1979 |
Cornell University undergraduate newspaper. |
|
1827-1829 |
The first African-American owned and operated newspaper published in the United States. Published in New York City. |
|
1836-1842 |
"One of the most significant and little studied newspapers documenting early anti-slavery and other reform movements." Published in central New York.
|
|
1933-1948 |
Student newspaper of Canisius College. |
|
18331-1916 |
Newburgh Telegraph (1831-1835), Rockland County Journal (1850-1879), Rockland County Messenger (1848;1851-1855;1857), Rockland County Times (1902-1904), The Kingston Daily Freeman (1895;1903-1912), The Vassar Miscellany Weekly (1916)
. |
|
1926-2002 |
Student newspaper of Ithaca University. |
|
1895, 1903-1913 |
Newspaper in the Hudson River Valley between Poughkeepsie and Albany. |
|
1838-1840 |
New York City newspaper. Choose the title of the newspaper as the source to limit your search to this paper. "The content in the newspaper reflected
[William Lyon] Mackenzie views
entirely and was extremely reform
minded to the point that it advocated revolution against the ruling system of government." |
|
1843 |
Choose the title of the newspaper as the source to limit your search to this paper. William Lyon Mackenzie "used this newspaper as an avenue to
disparage former President Martin
Van Buren and other leading democrats
for their political dealings." |
|
1887-1922 |
Famously sensational newspaper published by Joseph Pulitzer and perhaps best know for its 'yellow journalism.' |
|
18th-20th centuries |
The search interface supports complex searching. To search a specific newspaper start your search with the title in quotes "Syracuse NY Post
Standard."
Use this format to limit by
date: 1904~~1920. Connect information
with 'and.'
For example: "Syracuse NY Post Standard" and 1904~~1920 and canal. A listing of all newspapers that provides date browsing is available here Includes New York city papers: Tribune (1841-1922), Sun (1843-1945), Spectator (1797-1845), Evening Telegram (1868-1924), Evening Post (1810-1920), New York Age (1906-1953), Spirit of the Times (1838-1890), World (1862-1901) more. |
|
1859-1916 |
The nation's first successful penny daily, and the New York City circulation leader for several decades in the 19th century. By 1900 it was less important
than several other city papers
but still influential. |
|
1842-1866 and 1986-1924, respectively |
The New York Daily Tribune was renamed the New York Tribune. Available through Library of Congress's Chronicling America project funded by the NEH. |
|
1811-2004 |
|
|
1700's-1900's |
Old New York State newspapers from the 18th-20th centuries. |
|
1849-1930 |
Newspaper published in Mahopac, which is located near Danury, Connecticut. |
|
Early-mid 19th century |
Includes the Liberal Advocate, The Rights of Man, The Monroe Democrat and other Ante-Bellum and Civil War era newspapers. |
|
1839-1942 |
Historic Long Island Newspapers |
|
1955- |
Limit your search to source: Village Voice to just search this paper. |
|
1841-2 |
Choose the title of the newspaper as the source to limit your search to this paper. Rochester newspaper. "The Volunteer was exclusively devoted to the
denunciation of British rule in
Canada and the suppression of the recent
rebellions." |
| North Carolina |
|
|
|
1824-2011, some scattered runs |
Collection of North Carolina newspapers. Includes: Fayetteville Observer (1851-1865), The Pilot (Southern Pines, 1920-1945), Mecklenburg Jeffersonian (Charlotte, 1841-1849), Black Ink (Black Student Movement, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, 1969-2001), The Charlotte Jewish News (1979-2000), several college student papers. |
|
1756-1898, scattered runs |
Collection of North Carolina newspapers, featuring The Wilmington Post boy (1756-1766), Carolina (Salisbury) Watchman (1832-
1898), and other mainly 18th century newspapers from Edenton, Fayetteville, Hillsboro, New Bern, Salisbury and Wilmington. |
| Ohio |
|
|
|
1845-1921 |
Includes the Anti-Slavery bugle and many local newspapers. |
|
1843-1923 |
Selected articles from a number of African American newspapers published in Ohio. |
|
1960- |
|
|
1931- |
Student newspaper of Youngstown State University. |
|
1827-1830, 1841-1844, 1862-1863, 1997-2005 |
Collection of Huron County newspapers |
|
1941-1945 |
|
|
1922-1994 |
|
|
1880-2007 |
|
|
1930-1971 |
The newspaper of the Western College for Women |
| Oklahoma |
|
|
|
1882-1921 |
Beaver Herald, Branding Iron, Cheyenne Transporter, Farmers' Champion, The Indian Advocate, The Indian Chieftain, Oklahoma Miner, etc. |
|
Mostly late 19th and early 20th century newspapers. Downloadable PDFS. |
McAlester, located 90 miles south of Tulsa and 120 miles southeast of Oklahoma City, is a major trade center for Southeast Oklahoma and is one of the state's oldest communities. Unique attractions include the beautiful, historic McAlester Scottish Rite Masonic Temple and the Oklahoma State Penitentiary Museum, which chronicles famous inmates, early chain gangs and prison escapes. The nearby town of Krebs is known as Oklahoma's Little Italy and is famous for its great cuisine. |
| Oregon |
|
|
|
1846-1922 |
Morning Oregonian, Daily Astorian, Coos Bay Times, Bend Bulletin, etc. |
|
1899-1922 |
The Evening Herald (Klamath Falls), Sumpter Miner |
|
1867-2008 |
|
| Pennsylvania |
|
|
|
1897-1918 |
Includes The Scranton Tribune (1897-1902) and the Philadelphia Evening Public Ledger (1914-1922). |
|
19th-early 20th century |
Browsable by date but not searchable, this repository includes newspapers from small cities in Pennsylvania: Ambler, Nazareth, New Holland, Marietta,
Mansfield, etc. Search by
collection or do a keyword search for
newspaper to see which newspapers are available. |
|
1813-1889 |
|
|
1895-1944 |
|
|
1931-2007 |
Student newspaper of the University of Scranton. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
1876-2007 |
Primarily consists of Chester newspapers. |
|
1859-1867 |
Republican Newspaper. Excerpts. |
|
1869-1941 |
|
|
1897-2004 |
Student newspaper of Gettysburg University. |
|
1838-2007 |
Collection contains a number of newspapers covering Tioga, Bradford and Wellsboro. |
|
1869-2007 |
Newspapers of Greenville and the surrounding area in Mercer county. |
|
1833-1977 |
16 newspapers of Smethport and the surrounding area in McKean County. |
|
1918-1922 |
A "weekly newspaper dedicated to Irish nationalism and to topics of interest to Irish-Americans. It was founded by Joseph McGarrity and published in
Philadelphia from March 23, 1918 to May 6, 1922." |
|
1870-2007 |
Student newspaper of Lafayette College. |
|
1889-1931 |
Franklin and Marshall College Reporter (1915-2001), Lancaster Journal (1816-1836), Lancaster Intelligencer (1847-1871), Columbia Spy (1830-1889), New
Holland Criterion (1873-
1950). |
|
1955-1983 |
An important agricutlural publication. |
|
1925-2003 |
Student newspaper of Lincoln University |
|
1856- |
Student newspapers of of Lycoming College |
|
1891-1940 |
|
|
1843-1853 |
The leading Jewish publication in the United States during this period. |
|
1887-present |
The Daily Collegian and predecessors, The Behrend Beacon, and Hazleton Highacres. |
|
1847-1874 |
Newspapers of Bellefonte, Chambersburg, Columbia, Erie, Gettysburg, Huntingdon,
Philadelphia (Press, 1857-64; American Presbyterian, 1860-1869; Daily Evening Bulletin 1864-1870), Reading, Waynesboro and Wellsboro |
|
1860-1865 |
|
|
1895-present |
The Jewish Criterion (1895-1962), The American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), and The Jewish Chronicle (1962-Present). |
|
1927-2007 |
Choose Pittsburgh Post-Gazette as the source to limit your search to this paper. |
|
1890-1990 |
|
|
1868- |
|
|
1818-1869 |
Gettyburg newspaper. |
|
1833-1977 |
Collection contains a number of newspapers covering McKean County, including the McKean County Miner. |
|
1826-1929. Scattered runs of multiple newspapers. |
Collection of mainly small town newspapers in Pennsylvania. |
|
1859-1870 |
Franklin County Democratic newspaper. Excerpts. |
|
1913-1946 |
|
|
1924-1955 |
Scattered run in later years. |
| Rhode Island |
|
|
|
1891-1991 |
|
| South Carolina |
|
|
|
1865-1872 |
Includes Columbia Phoenix, Charleston Advocate, much more. |
|
1953-1960 |
|
|
1862-1867 |
Newspaper documenting the South Carolina Lowcountry, based first in Port Royal and later in Beaufort. |
|
1873-1991 |
|
|
1881-2008 |
|
|
1905- |
|
| Tennessee |
|
|
| |
1893 |
Choose the title of the newspaper as the source to limit your search to this paper. |
| Texas |
|
|
| |
1880-1910 |
Jefferson Jimplecute, Jewish Herald (Houston), Palestine Daily Herald, Fort Worth Daily Gazette, The Daily Herald (Brownsville) |
| |
1888-1923 |
Abilene Daily Reporter--The Abilene Reporter--Abilene Semi-Weekly Farm Reporter--Abilene Semi-Weekly Reporter 1888-1923 |
| |
1909-1977 |
|
| |
1921-1998 |
|
| |
|
Student newspapers of Trinity College |
| |
1898-1961 |
"Dedicated to the Service of the People and the Institutions of Carthage and Panola County." |
| |
1898-1961 |
Scattered runs of multiple newspapers |
| |
1886-1907 |
|
| |
1885-1899 |
Abilene is the primary urban center in Taylor County. |
| |
1857-1980 |
|
| |
1909-2008 |
|
|
1911-1923 |
|
| Utah |
|
|
| |
1800's-? |
Choose "Newspapers" at the right under Collections by Format. Features 11 newspapers, including the Daily Enquirer (Jan. 1881 - Oct. 1892, with over 1,100 items), the Rigby Star Newspaper (Jan. 1906 - Dec. 1975, with over 2,200 items), the Women's Exponent (1860-1914, with over 700 items), and the 19th Century Mormon Article Newspaper Index (from various newspapers, with over 9,000 items). |
| |
1880-1910 |
Primarily supplements the Utah Digital Newspaper Project |
| |
1850-1947 |
Over 40 newspapers including the Deseret News |
| |
1860- |
1850-1860 available in the Utah Digital Newspaper Project. |
| Vermont |
|
|
| |
1836-1895 |
Includes long runs of Burlington and Rutland newspapers. |
| Virgin Islands |
|
|
|
1930-1981 |
|
| Virginia |
|
|
|
1876-1912 |
Alexandria Gazette, Richmond Dispatch, Richmond Planet, more. |
|
1914-2006 |
University of Richmond student newspaper. |
|
1911-present. Only partially searchable. |
Student newspaper of the College of William and Mary. |
|
1920-present |
Fredericksburg, Virginia newspaper. |
|
1921-1978 |
Radford University student newspaper. Partially indexed but not searchable. |
|
1921-1978 |
Partially transcribed articles from the Richmond Planet and Charlottesville Reflector. |
|
1859-1870 |
Democratic newspaper in Augusta County. Excerpts |
|
1947 |
Choose the title of the newspaper as the source to limit your search to this paper. |
|
1860-1865 |
Most widely read newspaper in Richmond during the Civil War. Known as
a non-partisan paper. |
|
1860-1989 |
Text-only collection of articles. |
|
1857-1870 |
Whig newspaper in Augusta County. Excerpts. |
|
1900-1910 |
|
|
1865-1870 |
Augusta County newspaper. Excerpts. |
|
1736-1780 |
Williamsburg, VA. newspaper |
| Washington D.C. |
|
|
|
1925-2004 |
Student newspaper of American University |
|
1864-1865 |
|
|
1879-1912 |
The Colored American (African American Newspaper), The Evening Times, The Hatchet, The National Forum, The Suburban Citizen, The Sunday Globe,
Sunday Morning Globe,
Sunday Washington Globe, The Washington
Bee, The Washington Herald, Washington Sentinel, Washington Times, Washington Weekly Post, The Weekly News (Anacostia), Alexandria gazette |
|
1959-1980 |
Student newspaper of Georgetown University |
|
1847-1861 |
African American newspaper. |
|
|
1918-1919 |
Paper published by the U.S. Army for its forces in France. |
|
|
1906-2010 |
African American newspaper. Incomplete run. |
| Washington State |
|
|
|
1888-1922 |
|
|
1910-2005 |
|
|
1903-1910 |
|
|
1891-1989 |
|
|
1894-present |
"The most comprehensive news source for Spokane and the Inland Northwest." |
|
1852-1892 |
Newspapers from Seattle, Olympia, Spokane, Walla Walla, Yakima, etc. Requires DjVu
plug in. |
|
1944-1946 |
From the Walla Walla Army Air Base |
| West Virginia |
|
|
| Wisconsin |
|
|
|
1880-2010 |
See Wikipedia for information about this title. |
|
1884-1995 |
See Wikipedia for information about this title. |
|
1846-1955 |
|
|
1860-1940 |
Over 16,000 articles about biographical and local subjects excerpted from several hundred newspapers. |
| Wyoming |
|
|
|
1849-1922 |
"Available through this website are all the newspapers printed in Wyoming between 1849 and 1922" |