Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
History Research Guides
FindIt:

Sidebar

Main Content

Finding Speeches, Transcripts and Sermons - Research Guide

Speeches, news broadcasts, sermons and other types of oral communicaion can be primary sources of great importance to researchers in the fields of history, communication, religion and related disciplines. This guide identifies and describes some of the most significant indexing tools and full-text sources of speeches.
Contents:

Speech Indices, Periodicals and Bibliographies 
Vital Speeches of the Day, 1934-
Semi-monthly publication that compiles "important addresses of the recognized leaders of public opinion," including politicians, academics, industry leaders, public intellectuals, etc. Citations (1977-) and full-text (1987-) available from ABI/INFORM. Pre-1975 indexing available from Readers Guide Retrospective.
Location:[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN 6121.V52]
Link: http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/6798
Link: http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/7065
Monthly publication that compiles important speeches of industry executives. Citations (1987-) and full-text (1992-) available from ABI/INFORM. 1987-1992 full-text available in BUSINESS PERIODICALS ONDISC, available in Lippincott Library.
Link: http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/6798
Link: http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/7065
Available from ABI/INFORM.
Link: http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/6798
Speech Index: An Index of 259 collections of World Famous Orations and Speeches for various occassions/Robert Sutton. New York: Scarecrow, 1966.
Compilation of three previous Speech Indexes augmented with additional Material. Covers monograpic collections of speeches in English published between 1900 and 1965. Speeches can be located with subject/author and title indices.
Location:[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: AI3 .S85 1966]
Speech Index (supplement). Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1982.
Covers monograpic collections of speeches in English published between 1966 and 1980. Speeches can be located with subject/author and title indices.
Location:[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: AI3 .S85 1966 suppl.2]
Index to American Women Speakers/Beverley Manning. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1980.
Covers monograpic collections of speeches in by American Women in English published between 1828 and 1978. Speeches can be located with subject, author and title indices.
Location:[Van Pelt Reference Stacks: PS400.M35]
We Shall be Heard: An Index to Speeches by American Women/ Beverley Manning. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1988.
Covers monograpic collections of speeches in by American Women in English published between 1978 and 1985. Speeches can be located with subject, author and title indices.
Location:[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PS408.M37 1988]
Women Public Speakers in the United States, 1800-1925: A Bio-Critical Sourcebook, edited by Karlyn Campbell. Westport: Greenwood, 1993.
This and its companion volume provides biographies and extensive speech bibliographies for selected women. Only speakers though to be highly significant are included: Susan B. Anthony, Jane Addams, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Sojourner Truth, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, Eleanor Roosevelt, Andrea Dworkin, etc.
Location: [Van Pelt Reference: HQ1412.W67 1993]
Women Public Speakers in the United States, 1925-1993: A Bio-Critical Sourcebook, edited by Karlyn Campbell. Westport: Greenwood, 1993.

Location: [Van Pelt Reference: HQ1412.W67 1994]
Alternative Press Index (1969-present).
Indexes over 250 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Search by the subject term 'Speeches' for a list of speeches and commentary about speeches. An online version of the database is available for the years 1991-present. Search for speeches in the online version by combining a subject phrase search for speeches with a keyword search for a name, place, event, etc.
Link:http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/6814
Provides comprehensive indexing of the popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States, such as Time, Newsweek, New Republic, National Review, and many others. Covers 1890-present. Search by author/deliverer of text to find citations for speeches, interviews, etc.
A major repository of speeches. The New York Times Online (1851-1999) provides the full-text of New York Times articles. Look for transcripts of speeches by searching for Transcript and [person, place or event]. The print version of the New York Times Index lists transcripts of speeches and other sorts of statements by author (eg., Lyndon Johnson) and topic (eg., Vietnam).
Link:http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/8765
New York Times Index Location:[Van Pelt Reference Stacks: AI21.N44]
Similar to the New York Times but has a focus on English people and events.
Link:http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/6974
American Orators of the 20th Century: Critical Studies and Sources/ B. Duffy and H. Ryan, eds. New York: Greenwood, 1987.
Coverage of selected 20th century orators. Entries include oratorical analysis and bibliographies of research collections, critical studies, biographies and major speeches.
Location:[Van Pelt Reference Stacks: PN4193.P6 A44 1987]
American Orators Before 1900: Critical Studies and Sources/ B. Duffy and H. Ryan, eds. New York: Greenwood, 1987.
Coverage of selected orators from the 18th and 19th centuries. Entries include oratorical analysis and bibliographies of research collections, critical studies, biographies and major speeches.
Location:[Van Pelt Reference Stacks: PN4055.U5 A4 1987]

Franklin  and Other Catalogs

Subject headings are categories--each standing for a particular event, concept, person, etc.--that allow you to do precise Franklin searches. A subject search for 'speeches,' for example, will bring you to a long list of subjects headings that start with 'speeches'. You can browse through this list to find the specific speech-related subject that is most relevant to you.

Subject headings also have standardized subject sub-divisions for which you can search with a keyword search. For example, a search for churchill and speeches will, with few exceptions, return collections of speeches by (or about) Churchill.

If Franklin is not satisfactory, try using the same techniques with WorldCat to search for books in other libraries. Books that are available at other libraries but not Penn can be requested through Borrow Direct or Interlibrary Loan.


Government Document Indices and online full-text databases

See the research guide to U.S. Congressional Hearings for help finding transcripts of hearings, and see the research guide to U.S. Government Documentsfor more information about the variety of information available and more detailed searching instructions.

Indexes publications of the United Nations, including those of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council, Trusteeship Council, Secretariat and International Court of Justice. Identified documents are often available in the Penn Library's microprint/microfiche UN Documents and Publications (Readex), 1946-present.

For an extended list of speeches, do a Document number search for pv* (verbatim records) or sr* (summary records). Search for an author, institution or subject to find speeches about a specific topic.
Link:http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/6803
Public Papers of the Secretaries-General of the United Nations (1946-1977), edited by A. Cordier and W. Foote. New York: Columbia University Press.
Includes speaches, addresses, etc. Items not available in this set may be available on Van Pelt's U.N. microfiche set. Use U.N. Access to identify speaches and find access information for the set.
Location:[Van Pelt Stacks: JX1977.C62
Catalogue of United States Public Documents. Washington, D.C.: Superintendent of Documents.
Monthly Catalog of United States Government Documents. Washington, D.C.: Superintendent of Documents.
Since 1940, the Monthly Catalog is the most comprehensive index to publications of all U.S. government departments and the Congress. The Document Catalog is preferred for the period 1893-1940. The arrangement is by government agency. Indexes refer to Monthly Catalog (MoCat) entry numbers. Entries provide full bibliographic information and Superintendent of Documents (SuDocs) Number. A web version of the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP covers 1994 to the present and a Telnet version covers 1976 to the present. The bibliographic records are also available on RLIN/Eureka and OCLC WorldCat from 1976. Mocat is available through GPO Access from 1994-present, but subject searches are impossible. Search for addresses AND a person, place or issue to see what is available.

Look under the index heading 'Addresses, lectures, etc.' for a list of documents. Search under personal names or the names of events to see if speeches by or about them are available.
Location: [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: Z1223 A18]
Serial Set Index. Washington, D.C.: Congressional Information Service.
The Serial Set Index provides a subject index by which the U.S Serial Set--a comprehensive collection of Congressional records and documents as well as some executive and deprtmental government documents--can be searched. Visit this site for more information about the serial set. Relevant subject headings include: Address, Eulogy, Inaugural Addresses, Remarks, Speeches, Statement.
Location: [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: J74.C66]
Congressional Record and Preceeding Series (1789-present). Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office.
Annual cummulations of first summaries and later transcriptions of Congressional speeches in the Senate and House. An index accompanying each year's Congressional Record allow the year's text to be searched for particular speakers and topics. Very early and more recent issues of the Congressional Record are available online in full-text.

Until the mid-19th century the Congressional Record provided only summaries of Congressional speeches. Records have also been altered by the ability of legislators to change, omit or add remarks, supposedly with the purpose of editing out errors, but with the result that legislators could alter the meaning of what was reported. Remarks that are not spoken on the floor but are rather inserted into the Record by a member of Congress are indicated by a different typeface in the House portion, and are preceded by a bullet symbol in the Senate section. Inserted Senate statements unrelated to pending business are usually printed near the end of the Senate proceedings under the heading Additional Statements. Undelivered House statements are usually printed in the "Extensions of Remarks" section.
Location:[Congressional Record, 1874-present: Van Pelt Stacks: J11.R5; Congressional Globe, 1833-1873: J11.G5; Debates in Congress: J11.D5, 1824-1837; Annals of Congress: J11.A5, 1789-1824

Full-Text access:
Lexis-Nexis (1985-present)
American Memory (1789-1877)
Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents (1965-).
Published every Monday by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration and contains statements, messages, and other Presidential materials released by the White House during the preceding week. Texts of Addresses, Bill Signings, Communications to Congress and Federal Agencies, Executive Orders, Interviews, Statements, etc. Quarterly, semi-annual, and annual name and subject indexes. Most--but NOT all--documents are eventually included in: Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States. 1993-present available through GPO.
Location: [Van Pelt Library Stacks: Van Pelt J 80 A284] Link: http://www.gpoaccess.gov/wcomp/index.html
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States, 1929-33, 1945- .
Includes speeches, addresses, etc. Franklin Roosevelt's papers are available in a separate series (973.917 R675.2).1992-present is available online.
Location: [Van Pelt Library Stacks: J 80 A283] Link: http://www.gpo.gov/nara/pubpaps/srchpaps.html
Messages and Papers of the Presidents (1789-1921), edited by James Richardson.
Location: [Van Pelt Library Stacks:J81 B96g, 21 vols.]
Inaugural Addresses of the Presidents of the United States: From George Washington 1789 to George Bush 1989.
Location: [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: E100.I35 1989]
The State of the Union Messages of the Presidents: 1790-1966.
Messages made after 1966 are available in The Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and Public Papers of the Presidents.
Location: [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: E100.I35 1989]
U.S. Department of State Bulletin (continued by Dispatch), 1939-.
Includes foreign affairs-related addresses, press conferences and interviews by presidents, secretaries and undersecretaries of State, ambassadors, etc. Online indexing (1990-1999) and full text (1991-1999) of old issues are available through Ebsco Megafile, and current full-text is available through the Department of State
Location: [Van Pelt Library Stacks: JX232.A33]
Link: http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/14900
Link:http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/1981
U.S. Department of Defense Speeches, 1995-.
Link: http://www.defenselink.mil/speeches/
Office of the Attorney General Speeches, 1996-.
Link: http://www.usdoj.gov/ag/speeches.html

News Transcripts 
Provides access to transcripts of full-text national and international news programs, including speeches, interviews and press conferences. Searchable transcripts of news shows as well as television magazines (eg., 20/20) and sunday morning political news shows from ABC, NBC, CBS, Fox and NPR. Also holds transcripts of shows televised on cable channels such as CNN, MSNBC and CNBC, and transcripts of foreign news shows such as Al Jazeera, Official Kremlin documents, and the Canadian Broadcasting Company. More.

To search for transcripts 1) select 'News Transcripts' in the "Select a News Category" pull down menu, 2) select a news search that you want to search, 3) type keywords to search, 4) limit search by date and publication if you like.
Link:http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/6973
Similar to Lexis-Nexis but with a more extensive list of sources. There is some overlap between the two. Some of the networks for which transcripts are provided are: ABC, CBS, NBC, Fox, CNN, NPR, MSNBC, CNBC, CNNfn, and a wide variety of news sources from Asia, Africa, Europe, South America and Australia. Factiva also provides access to a large number of interviews from broadcast and print sources

To see a list of the sources for transcripts and interviews that are available use the "Look Up" command and search for transcripts or interviews, respectively. To search through all the available transcripts or interviews 1) choose the 'Subject' option, 2) click the plus button in front of 'content types', 3) from the resulting list click on transcripts or interviews, 4) Use the 'Free Text' search box towards the bottom of the page to search for keywords.
Link:http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/8436
Free searchable abstract service for national (ABC, NBC, CBS, 1968-) television network evening news broadcasts and for selected special events news broadcasts. CNN broadcasts (1998-) are freely available as RealMedia video streams, 1998-present. Video recordings of abstracted broadcasts can be borrowed from Vanderbilt for a fee.
Link:http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/9499

Speech Collections 
Annenberg/Pew Archive of Presidential Campaign Discourse/Annenberg School of Communication, 2000.
"Transcripts of speeches, television ads and debates of twelve United States...Presidential campaigns--1952-1996" on CD-ROM.
Location: [LIBRA: JK528 .A56 2000]
Notable Speeches In Contemporary Presidential Campaigns/Robert V. Friedenberg. London: Praeger, 2002.
Examines William Henry Harrison's first ever speech by an American candidate. Also provides detailed examination of notable contemporary campaign speeches by John F. Kennedy, Barry Goldwater, Richard M. Nixon, Ronald Reagan, Bill and Hillary Clinton, and George W. Bush.
Location:[Van Pelt Library Stacks: E 838.3 F75 2002]
American Rhertorical Discourse/Ronald F. Reid. Illinois: Waveland Press, Inc., 1995.
This anthology covers a broad range of discourses dialing with civic affairs. The collection reflects the diversity of speakers throughout American history. Each discourse is preceeded by a commentary section.
Location:[Van Pelt Library Stacks: PS 662.T56 1996]
Hispanic America Voices/Deborah Gillan Straub, ed. New York: UXL, 1997.
A collection of notable spoken works of Hispanic Americans. Includes full or exerpted speeches, orations, poems, and testimonies.
Location:[Van Pelt Library Stacks: E 184.S75 H564 1997]
African-American Orators: A Bio-Critical Sourcebook/Richard W. Leeman, ed. Connecticut: Greenwood Press, 1996.
This sourcebook assesses the unique styles and themes of notable African-American orators from the mid-19th Century to the present and includes 43 representative public speakers.
Location: [Van Pelt Library Stacks: E 185.96 A447 1996]
The World's Great Speeches/Lewis Copeland, Lawrence W. Lamm and Stephen J. McKenna, eds. New York: Dover Publications, Inc., 1999.
This extraordinary comendium includes 292 speeches from nearly every historical era and nation, from formal orations of ancient Greece to modern day addresses.
Location: [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: PN 6121.W66 1999]
Masterpieces of Negro Eloquence/Alice Moore Dunbar. New York: G.K.Hall & Co., 1997.
An extensive anthology of addresses and speeches by African Americans from the days of slavery to the present.
Location: [Van Pelt Stacks: PS 663.N4 M37 1997]
Women at the Podium/S. Michele Nix. New York: HarperCollins, 2000.
A collection of memorable speeches of women throughout the ages. This book pairs war, patriotism, social justice, religion, politics, civil rights, politics and the press with leaders who helped change the world.
Location: [Van Pelt Stacks: PN 6122.W66 2000]
The Penguin Book of Twentieth-Century Speeches/Brian MacArthur,ed. New York: Penguin Group, 1992.
A general anthology of speeches which includes examples from the Pulpit, from the Commons, and from the Scaffold.
Location: [Van Pelt Stacks: PN 6122.P45 1992]
Onward!/Peter J. Smith, ed. New York: Scribner, 2000.
An anthology of over 200 exerpts from the best commencement addresses given during the last twenty-five years. Location: [Van Pelt Stacks: PS 663.C74 O57 2000]

Speaking For Our Lives: Historic Speeches and Rhetoric for Gay and Lesbian Rights, 1892-2000/Robert B, Ridinger, ed. New York: Harrington Park, 2003.
This book is a collection of more than one hundred years of the most important public rhetoric on gay and lesbian subjects. It is comprised of speeches and manifestoes promted by events ranging from demonstrations to funerals.
Location: [Van Pelt Stacks: HQ 75.16.U6 S643 2003]
Representative Phi Beta Kappa Orations First Series/Clark S. Northrup. New York: AMS Press, 1969.
A compilation of the annual addresses given at the Phi Beta Kappa annual meetings. The topics of the speeches range from education and politics to history and religion.
Location: [Van Pelt Stacks: PS 663.P5.N6 1969]
Representative Phi Beta Kappa Orations Second Series/Clark S. Northrup New York: AMS Press, 1973.
A compilation of the annual addresses given at the Phi Beta Kappa annual meetings. The topics of the speeches range from education and politics to history and religion.
Location: [Van Pelt Stacks: PS 663.P5.N6 1973]
From Megaphones to Microphones: Speeches of American Women, 1920-1960/Sandra J. Sarkela, Susan Mallon Ross, and Margaret A. Lowe. Westport, Conn. : Praeger, 2003.
This anthology documents women's activism from 1920-1960 by introducing unpublished public speeches addressing a wide array of debated topic.
Location: [Van Pelt Stacks: PS 663.W65 F76 2003]
The Rhetoric of Struggle : Public Address by African American Women/Robbie Jean Walker, ed. New York : Garland, 1992
This book is a rhetorical analysis of 36 speeches given by African American women from as early as1833 until the 1980's. It includes the text of their speeches as well as analysis.
Location: [Van Pelt Stacks: PS 663.N4 R47 1992]
The Great Society : A Sourcebook of Speeches/Glenn R. Capp. Belmont, Calif. : Dickenson Pub. Co., c1967.
Broken into 4 parts, this book includes the philosophy of the Great Society followed by the development of civil rights, education, and poverty. Included with these issues are the historical development, an analysis of the issue, representative speeches, and introductions to those speeches.
Location: [Van Pelt Stacks: PN 6122.C3 1967]
The Colonial Idiom, D. Potter and Gordon Thomas, ed.. Carbondale : Southern Illinois University Press, 1970.
Broken into 4 parts, this book includes the philosophy of the Great Society followed by the development of civil rights, education, and poverty. Included with these issues are the historical development, an analysis of the issue, representative speeches, and introductions to those speeches.
Location: [Van Pelt Stacks: PS 662.P6]
American publications from 1639 to 1800.
Link:http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/10933
This database includes the full-text of thousands of American publications from 1801 to 1819
Link:http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/28410
Full-text page images of over 96,000 titles from the Short-Title Catalogue of English works 1475-1640, Wing's continuation for 1641-1700, and their revisions.
Link:http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/6896
Allows full-text searching of more than 33 million pages of material, in essence, every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
Link:http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/11169
Includes digitized images of the pages of 1,100 American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Genre searches are not possible. Use the 'citation and abstract search in the Advanced Search interface.
Link:http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/8291

Sermons 
This database includes the full-text of thousands of American publications from 1639 to 1800. Database is searchable by genre terms, including 'sermons,' 'eulogies' and 'songs.' Major source of 17th and 18th century american sermons.
Link:http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/10933
This database includes the full-text of thousands of American publications from 1801 to 1819. Database is searchable by genre terms, including 'sermons,' 'eulogies' and 'songs.' Major source of early 19th century american sermons.
Link:http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/28410
Full-text page images of over 96,000 titles from the Short-Title Catalogue of English works 1475-1640, Wing's continuation for 1641-1700, and their revisions. Includes some American sermons along with the primary collection of English works. Use the advanced search screen to limit a search to the 'sermons' or 'songs' genre.
Link:http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/6896
Provides full-text access to nearly 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800. Compilations of works is based upon the 18th century Short-Title Catalogue of English works. There is no way to limit searches by Genre in ECCO. However, one can do a title search for sermon to get a listing of some of the sermons available.
Link:http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/11169
Includes digitized images of the pages of 1,100 American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Genre searches are not possible. Use the 'citation and abstract search in the Advanced Search interface.
Link:http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/8291
Search Franklin to find sermons contained in Penn's library system. For an extensive list of sermons available at Penn, do a subject search for sermons. If you have a particular speaker in mind, try searching for the speaker's name and sermons. For example: Cudworth and sermons.
Link:http://www.franklin.library.upenn.edu/
Search WorldCat to find sermons available at other libraries (public, private and research) around the United States. A subject search for sermons with return over 170,000 records. A better approach is to narrow your search with an additional concept such as a speeker or geographical area. For example: Cudworth and sermons or Maine and sermons. Relevant results that are not available at Penn can be requested through Borrow Direct or Interlibrary Loan.
Link:http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/7158
The Carey Library Pamphlets: Religious Series/Sunil Chatterjee. Serampore, India: The Council of Serampore College, 1982.
This bibliography to the Carey Librarys religious pamphlets represent[s] a very wealthy selection of historical and religious sources materials representing the period of fervid religious and cultural renascence in 19th century India.
Location: [Van Pelt Stacks: BR 118.C224 1982]
Elizabethan Sermon/Alan Herr. Penn Dissertation, 1940.
Overview of Elizabethan Sermon followed by a good bibliography covering a period extending from the 1550s-1610.
Location: [Van Pelt Stacks: 820.9 H438]

Send mail concerning this page to Nick Okrent at: okrent@pobox.upenn.edu
*