Sidebar
Main Content
History of Science - Research Guide
HISTORY OF SCIENCE
Research Guide
SCOPE AND FORMAT
CATALOGS
GUIDES TO THE LITERATURE
CHRONOLOGIES
DICTIONARIES AND ENCYCLOPEDIAS
PERIODICAL INDEXES AND SERIAL BIBLIOGRAPHIES
BIBLIOGRAPHIES OF SECONDARY LITERATURE
BIBLIOGRAPHIES OF PRIMARY SOURCES
PERIODICAL LISTS
GUIDES TO MANUSCRIPTS, ARCHIVES AND OTHER UNIQUE MATERIAL
BIOGRAPHICAL SOURCES
INDEXES TO BIOGRAPHICAL SOURCES
ORGANIZATIONAL DIRECTORIES
SCOPE AND FORMAT
This bibliography lists reference sources owned by the University of Pennsylvania
Libraries which cover the history of science, medicine, and technology since
the European Renaissance.
The bibliography is organized into sections by type of reference work (for example, "periodical indexes" or "dictionaries and encyclopedias"). Within each genre, entries are further subdivided into special areas, usually histories of specific scientific disciplines or of science in specific cultural contexts. Entries within each subdivision are listed in approximate order of general significance. The most important works are usually at the start of each subdivision, but very useful works of limited scope may appear towards the end of a subdivision.
As the main university library devoted to the humanities and social sciences,
Van Pelt has the mission of supporting the work of the Department of History
and Sociology of Science. The material listed in this bibliography is generally
available at Van Pelt Library (most frequently in the reference section), but
there are occasionally items available only elsewhere on campus. Some are in
departmental libraries or storage that are not listed in this bibliography.
Most important among these are back runs of periodical indexes (such as Chemical
Abstracts, the Engineering Index, or Biological Abstracts). Many, if not most,
are also available online. One is also likely to find useful older bibliographies
or dictionaries in some of the science libraries. Increasingly, older materials
are also being sent to off-site storage as well.
Students doing extensive work in the history of science, medicine and technology
should also consider leaving the Penn campus to make use of nearby collections
that are particularly strong in those fields. The libraries of the College of
Physicians of Philadelphia and the American Philosophical Society are essential
resources for pre-20th-century history. Other important collections include
the Philadelphia City Archives, the historical library of the Pennsylvania Hospital,
the Library Company of Philadelphia, the Academy of Natural Sciences, and the
Historical Society of Pennsylvania. Many of these Philadelphia area libraries,
and others, have readily accessible web sites linked under: http://www.library.upenn.edu/catalogs/
FRANKLIN
FRANKLIN uses Library of Congress subject headings. FRANKLIN also uses Medical
Subject Headings for material cataloged for the Biomedical Library. These headings
are standardized throughout the United States and much of the English-speaking
world. Listed below are a few of the headings that will be useful in the study
of the history of science, medicine, and technology; they demonstrate both how
specific and how general headings can be and what kinds of pattern headings
are possible.
African American scientists Medical education-history
Astronomy-history Quarantine-history
Bridges-Spain-sources Water wheels
Darwin, Charles, 1809-1882-biography Women in medicine
Hospitals-United States-finance
Most subjects are further subdivided by such standard subheadings as Bibliography,
Collections, Congresses, Dictionaries, Periodicals, etc. (e.g., aeronautics-United
states-history-bibliography). For additional subject suggestions, see the Library
of Congress Subject Headings, (annual), at the Reference Desk. The National
Library of Medicine's Medical Subject Headings is also available.
GUIDES TO LITERATURE
Guides generally consist of essays describing the state of scholarship in various
sub-fields. Accompanying each essay is a bibliography with full citations for
the works mentioned in the text. Such guides are useful for getting a sense
of what questions are central to the discipline and for identifying important
scholarship. Also included in this section are guides to reference sources produced
at other libraries and directories of scholars in the field.
General History of Science
READER'S GUIDE TO THE HISTORY OF SCIENCE. Ed. Arne Hessenbruch.
London; Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2000. 934p. Alphabetical list of entries
covering various time periods, important figures, geographic areas and themes.
For each, a description and suggested reading list are provided. In depth index.
(Ref/Q/125/R335/2000)
A GUIDE TO THE CULTURE OF SCIENCE, TECHNOLOGY AND MEDICINE. Ed. Paul T. Durbin. NY: Free Press, 1984. 735p. Nine essays on history, philosophy, and sociology of science, medicine and technology. Generally excellent descriptions of these disciplines in the late 1970s. (Ref/Q/158.5/G84/1984)
Corsi, Pietro and Paul Weindling. INFORMATION SOURCES IN THE HISTORY OF SCIENCE AND MEDICINE. London: Butterworth, 1983. 531p. "The division of the volume into four parts is designed both to produce a reference volume with readily accessible bibliographical and historical information, and to present essays that are readable and also of interest to specialist groups. . . ." Part I deals with the development of the history of science and medicine in relation to philosophy, religion and the social sciences. Part II provides discussions of general literature and major institutions, and an outline of research methods. In Part III are essays dealing with specific scientific disciplines and special topics such as scientific instruments. Non-European (including American) science is reserved for Part IV. Each essay has its own bibliography. The volume concludes with a bibliography of journals and a general index. In addition to Van Pelt Reference, there are also copies of this in Biomedical and the Edgar Fahs Smith collection. (Ref/Q/125/153/1983)
Jayawardene, S. A. REFERENCE BOOKS FOR THE HISTORIAN OF SCIENCE: A HANDLIST. London: Science Museum, 1982. 229p. Part I, "The History of Science and its Sources", includes sections on bibliographies, manuscripts and archives, catalogs of books, museums, biographies of scientists, etc. Part II deals with general history and Part III lists general reference works. Over 1000 entries, many with short annotations; useful subject and author/title indexes. (Ref/Q/125/J39)
GUIDE TO THE HISTORY OF SCIENCE. Seattle: University of Washington, 1999-2000. This is the latest edition of the "Isis guide," published by the History of Science Society. It is a true guide to the culture of the field. Sections include a description of the Society, a directory of its members, an international directory of graduate programs, a guide to scholarly journals in the field, and a geographical listing of book-sellers. (Van Pelt/Q/124.6/H57/Latest edition in reference)
Knight, David M. SOURCES FOR THE HISTORY OF SCIENCE, 1660-1900. lthaca, NY: Cornell University Press, 1975. 223p. Chapters include: histories of science, manuscripts, journals, scientific books, non-scientific books, and physical objects. (Q/125/K57)
History of Technology
Cutliffe, Stephen H. TECHNOLOGY AND VALUES IN AMERICAN CIVILIZATION: A Guide
to Information Sources. Detroit: Gale, 1980. 704p. (Ref/HM/221/088)Includes
sections on industrialization, labor, urbanization, transportation, environment,
literature, etc.
History of Medicine
Richmond, Joy S. HISTORY OF MEDICINE: A Guide to Sources of Information in the
Reference and General Collection. Bethesda, MD: U.S. Public Health Service,
1984. 29p. (Ref/R/131/R52/1984)
This is the National Library of Medicine's reference bibliography in History
of Medicine. The annotated entries are divided into eleven chapters (abstracts
and indexes, bibliographies, biographical directories, etc.). Most of the items
listed are in the Van Pelt Reference room. Also see the website of the National
Library of Medicine's History of Medicine Division: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/hmd/hmd.html.
History of the Social Sciences
Viney, Wayne. HISTORY OF PSYCHOLOGY; A Guide to Information Sources. De-troit:
Gale, 1979. 502p. (Ref/BF/81/V55)
Sections include "Systems and Schools," "Selected Content Areas,"
and histories of related fields. Includes name, title, and subject indexes.
Watson, Robert 1. THE HISTORY OF PSYCHOLOGY AND THE BEHAVIORAL SCIENCES; A
Bibliographic Guide. NY: Springer, 1978. (Ref/BF/81/W359)
Covers general resources, historical accounts, methods of historical research,
historiographic fields and historiographic theories. A comprehensive guide.
CHRONOLOGIES
Hellemans, Alexander and Bryan Bunch. TIMETABLES OF SCIENCE: A CHRONOLOGY OF
THE MOST IMPORTANT PEOPLE AND EVENTS IN THE HISTORY OF SCIENCE. New York: Simon
and Schuster, 1988. Under each date there are headings for several subdivisions
of science-e.g. Astronomy, biology, physics. Some entries run several pages.
The emphasis is on science in its broader social context. (Ref/125/H557/1988)
Ochoa, George. THE WILSON CHRONOLGY OF SCIENCE AND TECHOLOGY. New York: H.W.
Wilson, 1997. 440p. (Ref/Q/125/026/1997)
A record of "action-experiments, achievements, discoveries and assertions."
Detailed index.
Parkinson, Claire L. BREAKTHROUGHS: A Chronology of Great Achievements in Science
and Mathematics, 1200-1930. Boston: G. K. Hall, 1985. 576p. (Ref/Q/125/P327/1985)
This is "a most basic aid to the study of the history of science,"
intended for the beginner who needs to know "who discovered what, when?"
It includes 3000 entries for discoveries and other advances occurring from the
13th century through 1930. It should be approached with the understanding that
scholars frequently dispute the date of particular discoveries and even, more
fundamentally, the notion that one can meaningfully assign a discovery to a
specific person at a specific time. The compiler seems to understand this caveat,
and with this in mind, the student or researcher can put this book to great
use. Name and subject indexes. The bibliography of 300 sources contains no secondary
sources not in English, and is generally uneven in quality.
DICTIONARIES AND ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Two different sorts of works are included here: recent works prepared for historians
and other scholars (such as sociologists) who study science, medicine and technology
from the outside; and works prepared for practitioners, usually in the past.
General History of Science
Bynum, W.F. DICTIONARY OF THE HISTORY OF SCIENCE. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University
Press, 1981. 494p. (Ref/Q/125/B98)
A novelty in the literature of the history of science, received with mixed reviews.
Some claim that the articles are too technical for the undergraduate, but too
short for the historian of science. Might be just the right thing for new graduate
students. Many articles have bibliographies.
Wiener, Philip E. DICTIONARY OF THE HISTORY OF IDEAS; Studies of Selected Pivotal
Ideas. NY: Scribner, 1973-74. 4 vols. (Ref/CB/5/D52)
Signed scholarly articles tracing diffusion of topics in intellectual history.
Includes bibliographies and indexes.
Baldwin, James Mark. DICTIONARY OF PHILOSOPHY AND PSYCHOLOGY, INCLUDING MANY
OF THE PRINCIPAL CONCEPTIONS OF ETHICS, LOGIC, AESTHETICS, PHILOSOPHY OF RELIGION,
MENTAL PATHOLOGY, ANTHROPOLOGY, BIOLOGY, NEUROLOGY, PHYSIOLOGY, ECONOMICS, POLITICAL
AND SOCIAL PHILOSOPHY, PHILOLOGY, PHYSICAL SCIENCE AND EDUCATION; AND GIVING
A TERMINOLOGY IN ENGLISH, FRENCH, GERMAN AND ITALIAN, written by many hands
and edited by James Mark Baldwin. New editions, with corrections. NY: Peter
Smith, 1940-49. 3 vols in 4. (Ref/B/41/B3/1940)
The first edition of Baldwin's Dictionary was published in 1901. This 1940s
edition is actually a reprint of a revised edition which came out some years
earlier, and does not differ greatly from the original edition. This work is
thus a wonderful primary encyclopedic source reflecting the state of the social
sciences, psychology, philosophy and the philosophy of biology, and the philosophy
of physical science in the early part of the century. Volume 3, which is bound
in two parts, is a classified bibliography of philosophy and psychology.
ENCYCLOPEDIA OF THE HISTORY OF ARABIC SCIENCE. Ed. by Roshdi Rashed and Raegis Morelon. London: Routledge, 1996. 3 vols. 1105 p. (Ref/Q/127/A5/E53/1996) Vol. 1, Astronomy - theoretical and applied. -Vol. 2, Mathematics and the physical sciences. - Vol. 3, Technology, alchemy and life sciences.
ENCYCLOPEDIA OF THE HISTORY OF SCIENCE, TECHNOLOGY, AND MEDICINE IN NON-WESTERN
CULTURES. ed. By Helaine Selin. Dordrecht: Kluwer, 1997.
Over 600 alphabetically-arranged articles, all signed with bibliographies. Non-western
is defined culturally, not geographically with emphasis on Japan, Islam, China
and South Asia. Occassional articles on the native peoples of Australia and
the Americas. Index is included.
History of Technology
A HISTORY OF TECHNOLOGY. Ed by Charles Singer, et. al. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1954-84. 8 vols. Museum Reference and Van Pelt/T/15/S53)
v. 1. From early times to fall of ancient empires.;v. 2. The Mediterranean civilizations and the Middle Ages, c. 700 B.C. to c. 1500 A.D.;v. 3. From the Renaissance to the industrial revolution, c. 1500 c. 1750.;v. 4. The industrial revolution, c. 1750 to c. 1850.;v. 5. The late nineteenth century, c. 1850 to c. 1900.;v. 6-7. The twentieth century, c. 1900 to c. 1950.
v. 8. Consolidated indexes.
De Bow, J. D. B. THE INDUSTRIAL RESOURCES, ETC. OF THE SOUTHERN AND WESTERN
STATES EMBRACING A VIEW OF THEIR COMMERCE, AGRICULTURE, MANUFACTURE, INTERNAL
IMPROVEMENTS, SLAVE AND FREE LABOR, SHOWING INSTITUTIONS, PRODUCTS, ETC., OF
THE SOUTH, TOGETHER WITH HISTORICAL AND STATISTICAL SKETCHES OF THE DIFFERENT
STATES AND CITIES OF THE UNION.... New Orleans: De Bow's Review, 1852. 3 vols.
(Storage/609/D35)
A magnificent reference source on early U.S. commerce and industry. An alphabetical
encyclopedia chock full of statistics. De Bow was super-intendent of the U.S.
census and an ardent supporter of the South. The Library also owns later editions
of this work.
AN ENCYCLOPEDIA OF THE HISTORY OF TECHNOLOGY. Ed by Ian McNeil. London: Routlege, 1989. 1069 p.
(Ref/T/15/E53/1989)
History of Medicine
COMPANION ENCYCLOPEDIA OF THE HISTORY OF MEDICINE. 2 vols. Ed W.F.
Bynum and Roy Porter. London; New York: Routledge, c1993. (Ref/R133/E5/1993)
Covers topics on various issues such as the nature of medicine, various medical
traditions , disease, treatments, etc. 72 chapters each by an expert in the
field. Index in vol. 2.
THE OXFORD COMPANION TO MEDICINE, ed. John Walton. et al. NY: Oxford University
Press, 1986. 2 vols. (Ref/R/121/088/1986)
Not intended as a medical dictionary with short definitions of medical terms
(although it does contain some), but rather an encyclopedia of medicine containing
"a large number of major essays of varying length, some historical, some
contemporaneous, on important disciplines, specialties, and topics affecting
the practice of medicine in the broadest sense." These volumes are directed
to medical students and to physicians seeking information outside of their specialties,
as well as to the intelligent layperson. Cross-references abound, but only a
few of the longer entries have bibliographies. Biomedical also owns a copy.
McGrew, Roderick E. ENCYCLOPEDIA OF MEDICAL HISTORY. NY: McGraw-Hill, 1985.
400p. (Ref/R/133/M34/1985)
About one hundred fairly long entries/each with a short bibliography. The largest
number are for diseases. No biographical entries. Other subjects include "abortion,"
"Chinese medicine," "medical profession," "hospital,"
"quackery" and "vitamins." A 35-page subject index enhances
the usefulness of this work. A good source for ready reference. Biomedical also
owns a copy.
A DICTIONARY OF THE HISTORY OF SCIENCE. Ed. Anton Sebastian. New York; London:
Parthenon Publishing Group, 2001. (Ref/Q124.8/D525/2001)
Several hundred entries. Written by a British physician.
History of the Social Sciences
ENCYCLOPEDIA OF THE SOCIAL SCIENCES. NY: Macmillan, 1930-1934. 15 vols. (Ref/H/41/E6)
A classic; now most useful as a primary document of American social science
in the 1930s. Besides Van Pelt Reference, there are copies of this in various
other locations on campus.
INTERNATIONAL ENCYCLOPEDIA OF THE SOCIAL SCIENCES. NY: Macmillan, 1968-1978.
18 vols. (Ref/H/41/15)
In effect, a totally revised edition of the 1930s Encyclopedia, itself rapidly
becoming a primary history source. Additional copies are in the Biddle Law Library
and the Annenberg Library.
PERIODICAL INDEXES AND SERIAL BIBLIOGRAPHIES
These are recurring bibliographies which list recent work (primarily journal
articles) by author and subject. We have included only those indexing secondary
material (i.e., historical or literary scholarship) which were being published
as of 1987. Hundreds of indexes to the scientific literature have been published
in the last three hundred years. Some of the most significant are listed below
under "Bibliographies of Primary Sources." Other indexes to scientific
publications are held by various science departmental libraries on campus.
The main database for the entire field which subsumes most of the indexes listed
below is HST: History of Science, Technology, and Medicine - more about this database.
International bibliography on the history of science and technology from pre-history
to the present. Updated annually, material is online back to 1975. The History
of Science, Technology, and Medicine file describes journal articles, conference
proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science,
technology, and medicine and allied historical fields. Most citations are in
English. Also covers French, German, Italian, and Spanish. Abstracts included
in some records. Some records have table of contents information. History of
Science, Technology, and Medicine integrates four separate bibliographies:
Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza,
Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science,
Current Bibliography in the History of Technology (Technology and Culture),
and
Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine.
Print counterparts are listed below;
Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza, [Van Pelt Library: Q127.I8 B425],
1982 - .
ISIS Cumulative Bibliography; a Bibliography of the History of Science formed
from ISIS Critical Bibliographies 1-90, 1913-65 [Van Pelt Library Reference:
Q125 .I851971]v. 1-6.
ISIS Cumulative Bibliography, 1966-1975: a Bibliography of the History of Science
formed from ISIS Critical Bibliographies 91-100 Indexing Literature Published
from 1965 through 1974, [Van Pelt Library Reference: Q125 .I85 1980], v. 1-2
ISIS cumulative bibliography 1976-1985: a Bibliography of the History of Science
formed from Isis Critical Bibliographies 101-110 Indexing Literature Published
from 1975 through 1984, [Van Pelt Library Reference: Q125 .I85 1989], v. 1-2.
Another relevant complementary database is Francis.
It replaces the more than dozen discreet sections of BULETIN SIGNALITIQUE. Produced
by a division of Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique, the French equivalent,
more or less, of the Smithsonian. Its content covers many academic fields including
the history of science, technology and medicine. Because it is European in origin,
its contents are multilingual. It is almost entirely lists journal articles
with over 80% of them including author produced abstracts in French or English.
The earlier paper equivalents are also described below.
History of Science
"Critical Bibliography of the History of Science." 1913- ISIS, The
journal of the History of Science Society, publishes these critical bibliographies
each year and Van Pelt binds them with Isis. Each bibliography is divided chronologically
and by topic, and includes author index. There are two cumulations of these
bibliographies (1912-1965 and 1966-1975). See "Secondary Bibliographies.
(Q/1/17)
* BULLETIN SIGNALETIQUE. 522: Histoire des Sciences et des Techniques. Paris:
CNRS, 1969- (High Density Storage Q124.6 .B855)
Because this comes out several times a year, it tends to be more up-to-date
than the Isis "Critical Bibliography." Classed arrangement, with author
and subject indexes. An English-language subject index was included for some
years.
History of Technology
"Current Bibliography in the History of Technology." 1964- .(T/1/T27)
Published annually in the April issue of Technology and Culture (journal of
the Society for History of Technology), the bibliography generally covers material
from about two years earlier. It is divided chronologically and by subject within
time period, and includes an author index. Over 1000 annotated entries appear
each year. Technology and Culture is kept in the History of Science seminar
room.
History of Medicine
CURRENT WORK IN THE HISTORY OF MEDICINE. London: Wellcome Institute, 1954- .
(Ref/R/131/AI/CS)
Each issue contains an alphabetical subject listing, an author index, and the
addresses of authors appearing for the first time (or who have recently changed
their addresses). Issued quarterly with no cumulations. The major source for
current awareness in the field.
National Library of Medicine. BIBLIOGRAPHY OF THE HISTORY OF MEDICINE. 1964-1993
. Annual with cumulations every five years. Part 1: biographies; part II: subject
index; part III: authors. (Ref/Z/6660/B582) Also included in http:www.nlm.nih.gov/hmd/histmed/histmed.html
BIBLIOGRAPHIES OF SECONDARY LITERATURE
In the history of science, medicine and technology, the secondary literature
consists of articles written by historians (or sociologists or literary scholars,
etc.) about science or scientists. The bibliographies listed are generally fairly
narrow. They provide a means to identify significant work in a field published
prior to the bibliography itself. Depending on the length of the annotations,
these may resemble guides to the literature (which are listed above).
General History of Science
ISIS CUMULATIVE BIBLIOGRAPHY; A Bibliography of the History of Science formed
from ISIS Critical Bibliographies 1-90, 1913-65. Ed. by Magda Whitrow. London:
Mansell, 1971- . 6 vols.; ISIS CUMULATIVE BIBLIOGRAPHY; A Bibliography of the
History of Science formed from ISIS Critical Bibliographies 91-100, indexing
Literature published from 1965 through 1974. Ed. John Neu. London: Mansell,
1980- . The subject arrangement of these can only be called confusing; but the
volumes which are arranged by institution or individuals are very useful. The
single best source of secondary bibliographic information in the field. Copies
are in Van Pelt Reference and the Smith collections. (Ref/Z/7405/H6/12)
Kren, Claudia. MEDIEVAL SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY; A Selected, Annotated Bibliography.
NY: Garland, 1985. 369p. (Bibliographies of the History of Science and Technology,
v. II)(Ref/Q/124.97/K74/1985)
Divided into subject areas such as "encyclopedic tradition," "classification
of the sciences," "physical sciences," "philosophy, metaphysics,
methodological considerations, logic," and "quasiscience," as
well as a list of "reports on manuscripts." The introduction concisely
describes what is meant by each subject rubric. Most entries include annotations
of about fifty words. Name index.
ISIS CUMULATIVE INDEX, 1953-1982. Philadelphia: History of Science Society,
1985. 167p. (Ref/Q/125/184/1985)
A useful index to Isis. the journal of the History of Science Society. After
some pages of introductory material, the index itself is divided into two parts:
a combined author-title index to articles and notes, and an index to book reviews,
by author of the book.
Jayawardene, S.A. THE SCIENTIFIC REVOLUTION: AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY. West
Cornwall, CT: Locust Hill Press, 1996. 383p. (Ref/Q125/J39/1996)
1646 references divided into about 20 chapters such as education and technology.
The focus is on bibliographies and other kinds of reference works. Author/Subject
indexes.
Miller, Gordon L. THE HISTORY OF SCIENCE: AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY. Pasadena,
California: Salem Press, 1992. 193p. (Ref/Q125/M54/1992
Lengthy annotations. Divided into major scientific disciplines. Its intended
audience is the beginning student. )
Gottlieb, Jean S. A CHECKLIST OF THE NEWBERRY LIBRARY'S PRINTED BOOKS IN SCIENCE,
MEDICINE, TECHNOLOGY, AND THE PSEUDOSCIENCES CA. 1460-1750. New York: Garland,
1992. (Ref/Q125/G67/1992)
History of Mathematics
Dauben, Joseph W., ed. THE HISTORY OF MATHEMATICS FROM ANTIQUITY TO THE PRESENT
TIME: A Selective Bibliography. NY: Garland, 1985. 467p. (Garland Bibliographies
of the History of Science and Technology) (Ref/QA/21/D36/1985)
Another in Garland's excellent series. There are 2,384 entries, almost all of
them annotated. Chapters on general reference works and source materials precede
a section which is divided chronologically, a section divided into subdisciplines,
and a section on special topics (mathematics education, sociology of mathematics,
regional studies, women in mathematics). The introductory bibliographic essay
is itself an important resource. Author and subject indexes.
May, Kenneth 0. BIBLIOGRAPHY AND RESEARCH MANUAL OF THE HISTORY OF MATHEMATICS.
Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1973. (Z/665 1 /M38)
A classified listing with no indexes. Includes an extensive list of serials.
History of Physics
Brush, Stephen G. and Lanfranco Belloni. THE HISTORY OF MODERN PHYSICS An International
Bibliography. NY: Garland, 1983. 334p. (Bibliographies in the History of Science
and Technology, v. 4) (Ref /QC/7/B782/ 1983)
This volume lives up to the high standards set by the earlier Garland bibliographies.
"'Modern Physics' is defined here as physics since the discovery of X-rays
in 1895. Geophysics and astrophysics are not included (except for relativistic
cosmology) since separate bibliographies on those topics will be published in
this series." The introductory chapter provides a "'guided tour' through
the literature of modern physics as presented in this bibliography." Citations
are arranged by topical chapters. Name and subject indexes.
Home, R. W. THE HISTORY OF CLASSICAL PHYSICS; A Selected Annotated Bibliography.
NY: Garland, 1984. 324p. (Bibliographies of the History of Science and Technology,
v. 8) (Ref/QC/21.2/H65/ 1985)
This bibliography covers the period 1700-1900, including works on the dissemination
of the ideas of Newton and Leibniz, but excluding works on Newton and Leibniz
themselves (who are regarded as part of the preceding period, the Scientific
Revolution). Chapters include biographies, general histories of specific fields
within physics, and a chronological breakdown. There is one index, largely composed
of names of individuals.
History of Chemistry
Cole, William. CHEMICAL LITERATURE, 1700-1860: A Bibliography. NY: Mansell. (Ref /QD/27/C62/1988)
This alphabetical, unindexed bibliography covers the period 1700-1860. English-language works comprise a majority of the entries, but works of other European languages are significantly represented as well. Many of the works are available at Penn or other Philadelphia libraries; other works can often be requested through Borrow Direct or Interlibrary Loan.
History of the Life Sciences
Smit, Pieter. HISTORY OF THE LIFE SCIENCES; An Annotated Bibliography. Amsterdam:
Asher, 1974. 1071p. (Ref/QH/305/555/ 1 974b)
"This . . . originated as a plan to produce an extension of those parts
of Sarton's Guide to the History of Science that dealt with the life sciences."
Includes (1) general references and tools, (2) historical works divided by geographic
location and by time, and (3) biographical works. Name index.
Eisen, Sydney and Bernard V. Lightman. VICTORIAN SCIENCE AND RELIGION; A Bibliography
with Emphasis on Evolution, Belief, and Unbelief, comprised of Works Published
from c. 1900-1975. Hamden, CT: Archon, 1984. 696p. (Ref/QH/305.2/E5/E42/ 1 9)
An important reference work in the fields of science and literature and history
of science. An excellent, short "note on sources" precedes the introduction.
The bibliography itself is composed of twenty-two chapters divided among three
parts: (A) Main Currents, (B) Natural Theology, Geology and Evolution, and (C)
Religion--Ideas and Institutions. Author and subject indexes supplement the
classified arrangement.
History of the Earth Sciences
Porter, Roy. THE EARTH SCIENCES: An Annotated Bibliography. NY: Garland, 1983.
192p. (Bibliographies of the History of Science and Technology, v. 3). (Ref/QE/26.2/P67/
1983)
One in a series of excellent, highly selective history of science bibliographies
now being published by Garland Press. Organized into chapters based on subject,
with an author/subject index.
Sarjeant, William A. S. GEOLOGISTS AND THE HISTORY OF GEOLOGY; An International
Bibliography from the Origins to 1978. NY: Arno Press, 1980. 5 vols. A worthy
attempt to be comprehensive. Includes primary and secondary references. (Ref/QE/2
l/S27)
Brush, Stephen G. and Helmut E. Landsberg. THE HISTORY OF GEOPHYSICS AND METEOROLOGY;
An Annotated Bibliography. NY: Garland, 1985. 450p. (Bibliographies of the History
of Science and Technology, v. 9) (Ref/QC/804/878/1985)
"We have interpreted the term 'geophysics' to include . . . the study of
the physics of the earth and its fluid envelopes, [and) the origin and development
of the solar system and the formation of the earth's surface features."
The compilers were careful not to trespass into geology, since another volume
in this series will cover the history of that field. Chapters are arranged topically
(geochronology, physics of the earth's interior, geodesy, tectonics, seismology,
meteorology, atmospheric physics, etc.). Name and subject indexes.
History of Technology
Ferguson, Eugene S. BIBLIOGRAPHY OF THE HISTORY OF TECHNOLOGY. Cambridge, MA:
MIT Press, 1968. 347p. (Ref/Z/7914/H5/F4)
Fourteen chapters covering bibliographies, directories, manuscripts, dictionaries,
etc., and histories of subject fields. Includes index.
Stapleton, Darwin H., ed. THE HISTORY OF CIVIL ENGINEERING SINCE 1600: An Annotated
Bibliography. NY: Garland, 1986. 232p. (Bibliographies of the History of Science
and Technology, v. 14). (Ref/TA! 145/S84/1986)
There are 1,283 entries, many with short annotations. Six chronological sections
(general, 1600-1750, 1750-1830, 1830-1900, 1900-1950, and 1950-present) are
each divided into between fifteen and twenty subsections which deal with specific
types of references (e.g. bibliographies, biographies, or travelers' accounts)
or specific types of technologies. The preface identifies the sources most used
by the editor in compiling the bibliography. The introductory bibliographic
essay is itself an important resource. The index is restricted to names only,
but the classified arrangement of entries generally makes up for the lack of
a subject index. Copies are in Van Pelt Reference and in the Fine Arts Library.
Oleson, John Peter, ed. BRONZE AGE, GREEK AND ROMAN TECHNOLOGY: A Select, Annotated
Bibliography. NY: Garland, 1986. 515p. (Bibliographies of the History of Science
and Technology, v. 13) (Ref/T/ 16/042/1985)
There are 2,030 annotated entries divided into chapters organized by type of
technology, with introductory chapters on ancient authors, bibliographic sources
and general surveys, and a concluding chapter on cultural attitudes. The index
includes only modern authors, but the classified arrangement of the bibliography
obviates the need for a subject index or an index to classical authors.
Weiss, John H. TECHNOLOGY AND SOCIAL HISTORY. Cambridge: Harvard University
Program on Technology and Society, 1971. 93p. (Z/79 1 4/T25/W45)
"No attempt is made to offer a general bibliographic service . . . . Lengthy
abstracts of a small number of carefully selected books and articles are presented.
The list of selection has been limited to works in English dealing principally
with the history of western Europe and the United States before 1945."
Channell, David F. THE HISTORY OF ENGINEERING SCIENCE: AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY.
New York: Garland, 1989. 311p. (Ref/TA145/C47/1989)
Nearly 1,500 references divided into disciplines such as thermodynamics and
aeronautics as well as thematic topics such as institutions and biography.
History of Medicine
Wellcome Institute, London. SUBJECT CATALOG OF THE HISTORY OF MEDICINE AND RELATED
SUBJECTS. Munich: Kraus, 1980. 18 vols. (Ref R/131/W44)
Subject, topographical, and biographical sections. Absolutely the first place
to look for secondary works on the history of medicine published before 1977.
Erlen, Jonathon. THE HISTORY OF THE HEALTH CARE SCIENCES AND HEALTH CARE, 1700-1980;
A Selective Annotated Bibliography. NY: Garland, 1984. 1028p. (R/148/E73/1984)
The compiler has attempted to be selective, but sometimes his criteria are not
clear. Entries (many annotated) for over 5000 works are arranged alphabetically
by subject, but having single entries by subject for each work can be troublesome.
There is also a name index.
Miller, Genevieve. BIBLIOGRAPHY OF THE HISTORY OF MEDICINE OF THE UNITED STATES
AND CANADA. 1939-1960. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 1964. 428p.
(Ref /Z/666 I /U5/M52)
Classified listings with author index. Covers articles and books published between
1939 and 1960 on the entirety of American and Canadian medical history.
Morton, Leslie T. MORTON'S MEDICAL BIBLIOGRAPHY: AN ANNOTATED CHECKLIST OF
TEXTS ILLUSTRATING THE HISTORY OF MEDICINE. 5th edition. Aldershot, Hants, England;
Brookfield, Vt., USA: Scolar 1991. 1243p.(Ref/R131/M69/1991)
Arranged schematically by topic. Entries often have brief annotations indicated
the significance of the work to the history of medicine. Nearly 7,000 references
included.
Bruhn, John G., Billy U. Phillips and Paula L. Levine. MEDICAL SOCIOLOGY: An
Annotated Bibliography, 1972-1982. NY: Garland, 1985. 779p. (Ref /RA/4 I 8/B78/
1975)
Intended as a supplement to Litman (Ref/RA/418/L58), this work is organized
identically, but differs from Litman in that short annotations are provided.
Author and subject indexes. An important addition to the documentation of this
field.
Chaff, Sandra L et al WOMEN IN MEDICINE; A Bibliography of the Literature on
Women Physicians. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow, 1977. 1124p. (Ref/R/692/W66)
Includes histories, biographies, specialties, works of fiction, etc. Appendices:
I. Directories, II. Collections. Author, subject and personal name index. The
Biomedical Library also owns a copy.
History of Islamic Science
Nasr, Seyyed Hossein. AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY OF ISLAMIC SCIENCE. Tehran:
Imperial Iranian Academy of Science, 1985. 2 vols. (Q/1 27/174/N38)
Includes list of sources, general works (manuscripts, reference works, etc.)
and bibliographical studies.
History of Science in the U.S. and Canada
Rothenberg, Marc. THE HISTORY OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY IN THE UNITED STATES;
A Critical and Selective Bibliography. NY: Garland, 1982. 242p. (Bibliographies
in the History of Science and Technology, v. 2).(Ref/Q/ 1 25/R76/ 1982)
Clinical medicine is excluded, as are works in the sociology of science and
science policy studies (as well as anything published after 1980). Entries for
about 1,600 items are arranged in six chapters: general, special themes (e.g.
professionalization, or science and religion), physical sciences, biological
sciences, social sciences, and technology and agriculture.
BIBLIOGRAPHIES OF PRIMARY SOURCES
Primary sources are the products of scientific activity itself. The section
is basically limited to bibliographies of printed primary sources. These include
bibliographies prepared in the past for the use of scientists, physicians or
engineers, as well as bibliographies prepared more recently for the use of
historians. For information on non-print primary sources, see "Guides to
Archives, Manuscripts and Other Unique Material," below.
General History of Science
Royal Society. CATALOGUE OF SCIENTIFIC PAPERS, 1800-1900. London: Clay, 1867-1902;
Cambridge: University Press, 1914-1925. (Ref/Z/7403/R88)
Author section: 19 volumes; classified subject index: 3 volumes in 4. An attempt
to list all scientific papers published in periodicals, society proceedings,
etc., during the nineteenth century. The author listing covers 1,555 publications
in various languages. The subject index was projected to include seventeen volumes,
each covering a separate scientific discipline, but only three were completed:
mathematics, mechanics and physics. This bibliographic project was continued
annually through the First World War as the International Catalogue of Scientific
Literature.
BOOK CATALOGUE OF THE LIBRARY OF THE ROYAL SOCIETY. Royal Society of Great
Britain. [Frederick, Md.]: University Publications of America, 1982. (Z921/R69)
PURE AND APPLIED SCIENCE BOOKS, 1876-1982. NY: Bowker, 1982. 6 vol. (Ref/Q/158.5/P88/1982)
This is a serious attempt at an author, title and subject index to all science
books published or distributed in the United States during this period. Over
200,000 titles are listed, including about 3000 published between 1800 and 1876.
The subject index, which makes use of more than 56,000 Library of Congress subject
headings, is covered in Volumes 1 through 5. It consists of the full copy of
the main entry for each work. The author and title indexes are in Volumes 6,
and consist of abbreviated entries which refer the user to the subject index.
The Historical Association. THE EARLY HISTORY OF SCIENCE; A Short Handlist.
London: George Philip & Son, 1950. (907/H367/no. 52)
"This hand list is intended to meet the needs of those students of the
early history of science who cannot easily consult the complete bibliographies."
Gascoigne, Robert Mortimer. A HISTORICAL CATALOG OF SCIENTISTS AND SCIENTIFIC
BOOKS: From the Earliest Times to the Close of the Nineteenth Century. NY: Garland,
1984. 1177p. (E. F. Smith/Q/141/G38/)
A chronological list of over 13,000 persons, supplemented by an alphabetical
index. There are some deviations from the strict chronological order, notably
in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, where entries are divided by scientific
specialty. Each entry lists major books (if any) and secondary sources of biographical
information. Generally excludes people whose only importance was in medicine
or geography.
History of Medicine
National Library of Medicine. INDEX-CATALOGUE OF THE LIBRARY OF THE SURGEON
GENERAL'S OFFICE, U.S. ARMY. Washington, 1880-1961. 60 vols. (Ref/R/ 1 00/N3)
As the Army Medical Library was being built into the foremost such facility
in the world (it has since become the National Library of Medicine), its librarians
periodically published this subject and author listing of books, pamphlets,
and periodical articles which were received. At least through the 1920s, this
is the single most comprehensive source for bibliographic information on the
literature of medicine.
INDEX MEDICUS. Bethesda, MD: National Library of Medicine, 1960- (Ref /Z/6660/1422)
This is possibly the most comprehensive periodical index devoted to any single
subject in the world. Most of the literature indexed relates to technical aspects
of medical research and clinical practice, but its coverage is inclusive of
all social aspects of medicine. Of particular value is the annual "Bibliography
of Medical Reviews." Van Pelt retains only the last five years; a complete
run is available at the Biomedical Library.
Grinstein, Alexander. THE INDEX OF PSYCHOANALYTIC WRITINGS. NY: International
Universities Press, 1956-1975. 14 vols. (Z/7204/P8/G7)
Arranged alphabetically by author, with a subject index.
PERIODICAL LISTS
Included here are historical lists of scientific, medical and engineering periodicals.
For a list of journals currently published in the history of science, medicine
and technology, see "Guides to the Literature," above. These lists
can be useful for identifying important journals which may not have been adequately
indexed or which otherwise merit browsing.
Bolton, Henry Carrington. A CATALOGUE OF SCIENTIFIC AND TECHNICAL PERIODICALS,
1665-1895... . 2nd ed. Washington, 1897. 1247p. (Smithsonian Miscellaneous Publications,
vol. 40) (Ref/Q/ll/57/v.40)
Includes alphabetical catalogue, chronological tables, subject index, and checklist
of library holdings in the U.S. and Canada.
Gascoigne, Robert Mortimer. A HISTORICAL CATALOG OF SCIENTIFIC PERIODICALS,
1665-1900, WITH A SURVEY OF THEIR DEVELOPMENT. NY: Garland, 1985. 205p. (Ref/Q/
1 58.5/G38/ 1985)
Part 1, the catalog itself, is divided into chapters listing general science
journals and journals in various disciplines (mathematics, astronomy, physics,
etc.). In Part 2 Gascoigne describes his criteria for selecting the particular
journals listed. Part 3 is an essay on the development of periodical literature
in science. Includes bibliography and index. Besides Reference, there is also
a copy in the Smith Collection.
GUIDES TO MANUSCRIPTS, ARCHIVES, AND OTHER UNIQUE
MATERIAL
Letters, diaries, organizational business records, photographs, and lecture
notes are among the classes of material which are held by archives and manuscript
collections. This is the primary material which is most poorly controlled bibliographically.
In general, scholars in the field tend to have some idea of where to begin looking
for unique items. Much of the work of historical scholarship involves figuring
out how to continue the search.
A CATALOGUE OF THE MANUSCRIPTS AND ARCHIVES OF THE LIBRARY OF THE COLLEGE OF
PHYSICIANS OF PHILADELPHIA. Ed. Rudolf Hirsch. Philadelphia, University of Pennsylvania
Press, 1983. 259p. (R314/P5/c65/1983 and in reference)
Heavily annotated list in author order. An important collection for medical
history in the United States.
NATIONAL UNION CATALOG OF MANUSCRIPT COLLECTIONS. 1959/61-.(Ref /Z/6620/U5/N3)
Each annual volume has entries for about 2000 manuscript collections as reported
by cooperating repositories. Subject indexes cumulate every four years.
U.S. National Historical Publications and Records Commission. DIRECTORY OF
ARCHIVES AND MANUSCRIPT REPOSITORIES IN THE UNITED STATES. Washington, DC, 1978.
905p. (Ref Desk/CD/3020/U54/1978)
Entries include hours, a brief description of the holdings, and listings of
more detailed inventories.
BIOGRAPHICAL SOURCES
These provide brief biographies, ranging from a single paragraph to usually
no more than a few pages. Included in this section are recent sources prepared
for the use of historians and students as well as directories prepared in the
past for immediate practical needs or for vanity. The most important biographical
dictionaries are listed here, but there are probably thousands of others which
can prove useful. See also the following section, "Indexes to Biographical
Sources."
Scientists in General
DICTIONARY OF SCIENTIFIC BIOGRAPHY. NY: Scribners, 1970-1980. 16 vols. (Ref/Q/141/D47)
The most important single reference work in the history of science, this covers
all historical periods and has no geographic limitations. Entries range in length
from less than one page to more than fifty, and are written by leading authorities.
Each includes bibliographies of the subject's writings and of books and articles
about him or her. Selection criteria were very rigorous; an index serves to
locate information about people for whom there is no entry.
THE BIOGRAPHICAL DICTIONARY OF SCIENTISTS: Astronomers. David Abbott, General
Editor. NY: Peter Bedrick, 1984. 204p. (Re f/QB/35/B56/1984)
THE BIOGRAPHICAL DICTIONARY OF SCIENTISTS: Biologists. David Abbott General
Editor. NY: Peter Bedrick, 1984. 182p. (Ref/QH/26/B54/1984)
THE BIOGRAPHICAL DICTIONARY OF SCIENTISTS: Chemists. David Abbott, General
Editor. NY: Peter Bedrick, 1983. 203p. (Ref/QD/21/B48/1984)
THE BIOGRAPHICAL DICTIONARY OF SCIENTISTS: Engineers and Inventors. David Abbott,
General Editor. NY: Peter Bedrick, 1986. 188p. (Ref/TA/139/B56/1986)
THE BIOGRAPHICAL DICTIONARY OF SCIENTISTS: Mathematicians. David Abbott, General
Editor. NY: Peter Bedrick, 1986. 175p. (Ref/QA/28/B54/1986)
THE BIOGRAPHICAL DICTIONARY OF SCIENTISTS: Physicists. David Abbott, General
Editor. NY: Peter Bedrick, 1986. 212p. (Ref/QC/15/B56/1984)
After remarkably succinct historical introductions, each volume contains about
200 unsigned entries in alphabetical order. Many of the entries cover twentieth-century
figures, making this a useful complement to the Dictionary of Scientific Biography.
There are glossaries and indexes but no bibliographies.
Poggendorff, J.C. BIOGRAPHISCH-LITERARISCHES HANDWORTERBUCH ZUR GESCHICHTE
DER EXACTEN WISSENSCHAFTEN. Leipzig: Barth, 1863-.(Ref/Z/7404/P74)
Now in its seventh series, Poggendorff is an alphabetical listing of workers
in the exact sciences, with biographical information, a personal bibliography,
and citations to obituaries and other biographical works.
MCGRAW-HILL MODERN SCIENTISTS AND ENGINEERS. NY: McGraw-Hill, 1980. 3 vols.
(Ref Q/141/M15)
Heavily weighted toward the United States. Includes only scientists who were
living after 1950. Pencil drawings accompany most of the entries. Many of the
subjects contributed their own autobiographical articles. Analytic and classified
indexes.
Women Scientists
BIOGRPAHICAL DICTIONARY OF WOMEN IN SCIENCE: PIONEERING LIVES FROM ANCIENT TIMES
TO THE MID-20TH CENTURY. ed. by Marilyn Ogilvie and Joy Harvey. 2 vols. New
York: Routledge, 2000. (Ref/Q/141/B5285)
Includes women born before 1910 or those who have been born more recently and
who have since died. Each of the 1400 or so signed entries has 3 sections: data,
biography and bibliography. There are indexes by occupation, time period and
country.
Siegel, Patricia Joan and Kay Thomas Finley. WOMEN IN THE SCIENTIFIC SEARCH:
An American Bio-bibliography, 1724-1979. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow, 1985. 399p.
(Ref /Q/141/552/1985)
About 200 women scientists are covered, arranged in chapters conforming to scientific
disciplines. For each scientist there is a brief biography and a list of secondary
works. A preface describes the state of documentation on women scientists, and
the first chapter lists general biographical works which cover American women
scientists.
Engineers and Inventors
GREAT ENGINEERS AND PIONEERS IN TECHNOLOGY. Vol. I: From Antiquity through the
Industrial Revolution. NY: St. Martin's Press, 1981. 465p. (Ref/TA/139/G7/1981/V.l)
Organized into chronological sections (the ancient world, medieval Islam and
Europe, the far East in historical times, the renaissance, the industrial revolution)
with an introductory essay preceding the biographical entries, which are arranged
alphabetically within each section. Each entry includes a brief biography, a
paragraph or two on the subject's outstanding engineering achievement, and a
short bibliography. Appendices include a glossary of technical terms, a chronology
of important engineering events, and a general bibliography of works on engineering.
There is an alphabetical list of entries and a general index. This should be
a useful book despite its popular orientation. Only volume I will be published.
BIOGRAPHICAL DICTIONARY OF THE HISTORY OF TECHNOLOGY. Ed. by Lance Day and Ian McNeil. London: Routlege, 1996. 844 p. (Ref/T/39/B49/1996)
Physicians and Health Care Workers
BIOGRAPHISCHES LEXIKON DER HERVORRAGENDEN AERZTE ALLER ZEITEN UND VOELKER. 2nd
edition. Berlin: Urban, 1929-35. 5 vols. plus Ergaenzungsband. (Ref /Z/6658/B6
1 / 1929)
The major international biographical dictionary of physicans, with coverage
limited to people who had achieved prominence by 1880. Besides biographical
sketches, entries include bibliographies of works by the subject and references
to further information. The Ergaenzungsband includes corrections and additions.
Isidor Fischer. BIOGRAPHISCHES LEXIKON DER HERVORRAGENDEN AERZTE DER LETZTEN
50 JAHRE. Berlin: Urban, 1932-33. 2 volumes. (Ref/Z/6658/B62)
This serves as an addendum to the preceding set, covering the period 1880 to
1930. Similar in scope; the articles are somewhat briefer.
Kaufman, Martin K. DICTIONARY OF AMERICAN MEDICAL BIOGRAPHY. Westport, CT:
Greenwood, 1984. 2 vols. (Ref/R/ 1 53/D53/ 1984)
The first attempt since Kelly & Burrage (1928; Ref/R/153/K3) to provide
a comprehensive historical directory of major figures in American health care.
Besides providing new entries on twentieth-century figures, the editors made
a conscious effort to include more Blacks and women, to achieve geographic diversity,
and to broaden coverage by including non-physicians. In contrast to Kelly &
Burrage, the entries are quite short. The flaw in this book is the absence of
some earlier figures whose careers deserve an updated historiographical treatment.
European Scientists
WHO'S WHO IN SCIENCE IN EUROPE; A Biographical Guide in Science, Technology,
Agriculture, and Medicine. 4th ed. Harlow, Essex: Longman, 1984. 4 vols. (Ref/Q/141/W46/4th
ed.)
The first edition, published in 1967, is now of historical interest. The fourth
edition has 25,000 brief entries arranged alphabetically with a subject listing
of individuals by countries. It includes scientists working in Eastern-Europe,
except for the Soviet Union. Though not intended as such, this serves as a companion
to American Men and Women of Science.
American Scientists
AMERICAN MEN AND WOMEN OF SCIENCE. NY: Bowker, 1906- (Ref Desk/Q/141/A47)
Formerly American Men of Science, this work is intended to list the most important
workers in all fields of physical and biological science active at the time
the particular edition was prepared. Entries include some personal information,
current address, and capsule summaries of education, positions held, publications,
honors, research interests, etc. In the older editions, entries for the most
prominent scientists are marked with asterisks. Excludes clinicians, but includes
physicians whose primary work is in research. Van Pelt owns all editions, with
the most recent kept at the Reference Desk.
National Academy of Sciences. BIOGRAPHICAL MEMOIRS. 1877- Volume 49 was published
in 1978. (Ref/Q/ 141 /N2)
Obituaries of recently deceased fellows of the NAS, including photographs.
INDEXES TO BIOGRAPHICAL SOURCES
Biographical information can appear in biographical sources such as listed above
or in any number of other types of sources, including periodical articles, obituaries,
and book-length biographies. The indexes listed here provide citations to all
types of biographical information. They can supplement the biographical sources
listed above.
General
Slocum, Robert B. BIOGRAPHICAL DICTIONARIES AND RELATED WORKS; An International
Bibliography of approximately 16,000 Collective Biographies. Detroit: Gale,
1986. 2 vols. (Ref Desk/CT/104/555/1986)
This is not an index to biographical sources, but rather a bibliography of them.
It is divided first by nationality and then by profession or occupation. Detailed
indexes are included.
Scientists
Ireland, Norma Olin. INDEX TO SCIENTISTS OF THE WORLD FROM ANCIENT TO MODERN
TIMES: Biographies and Portraits. Boston: Faxon, 1962. 362p. (Ref/Z/7404/I7)
Over 300 collections are indexed, and entries for about 7,500 scientists are
included.
Pelletier, Paul A. PROMINENT SCIENTISTS; An Index to Collective Biographies.
NY: Neal-Schuman, 1980. 311p. (Ref/Q/141/P398)
Intended to supplement Ireland's Index to Scientists. Entries for over 10,000
scientists, drawn from 159 books.
Poggendorff, J.C. BIOGRAPHISCH-LITERARISCHES HANDWORTERBUCH ZUR GESCHICHTE
DER EXACTEN WISSENSCHAFTEN. Leipzig: Barth, 1863-. (Ref /Z/7404/P74)
Now in its seventh series, Poggendorff is an alphabetical listing of workers
in the exact sciences, with biographical information, a personal bibliography,
and citations to obituaries and other biographical works.
Gascoigne, Robert Mortimer. A HISTORICAL CATALOG OF SCIENTISTS AND SCIENTIFIC
BOOKS: From the Earliest Times to the Close of the Nineteenth Century. NY: Garland,
1984. 1177p. (E.F. Smith/Q/141/G38/1984)
A chronological list of over 13,000 persons, supplemented by an alphabetical
index. There are some deviations from the strict chronological order, notably
in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, where entries are divided by scientific
specialty. Each entry lists major books (if any) and secondary sources of biographical
information. Generally excludes people whose only importance was in medicine
or geography. Poggendorf (q.v.) is more complete for the physical sciences.
Women Scientists
Herzenberg, Caroline L. WOMEN SCIENTISTS FROM ANTIQUITY TO THE PRESENT: An Index.
West Cornwall, CT: Locust Hill Press, 1986. 200p. (Ref/Q/141/H475/1986)
Provides biographical references and minimal biographical information (dates,
nationality and field of endeavor) for about 2,500 women scientists, physicians
and engineers. 130 works are indexed, including biographical dictionaries, monographs
and journals articles. Index by field of endeavor.
Chaff, Sandra L., et al. WOMEN IN MEDICINE, A BIBLIOGRAPHY OF THE LITERATURE
ON WOMEN PHYSICIANS. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow, 1977. 1 124p.(Ref/R/692/W66)
A key work. Includes histories, biographies, specialties, works of fiction,
etc. Appendices: I. Directories, II. Collections. Author, subject and personal
name indexes. The Biomedical Library also owns a copy.
Engineers and Inventors
Roysdon, Christine and Linda A. Khatri. AMERICAN ENGINEERS OF THE NINETEENTH
CENTURY; A Biographical Index. NY: Garland, 1978. 247p. (Ref/TA! 1 39/R69)
Indexes biographical articles from technical and trade journals of the nineteenth
century. Limited to engineers and technologists who died before 1901.
ORGANIZATIONAL DIRECTORIES
This is a selected list of directories of scientific organizations, current
and historical. For an institutional directory of the disciplines of the history
of science, medicine, and technology, see "Guides to the Literature,"
above.
World History of Science
WORLD DIRECTORY OF NATIONAL SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY POLICY MAKING BODIES. REPERTOIRE
MONDIAL DES ORGANISMES DIRECTEURS DE LA POLITIQUE SCIENTIFIQUE ET TECHNOLOGIQUE
NATIONALE. REPERTORIO MUNIAL DE ORGANISMOS RESPONSABLES DE LA POLITICA CIENTIFICA
Y TECNOLOGICA NACIONAL. Paris: UNESCO, 1984. 99p. (Science Policy Studies and
Documents, no. 59). (Ref/Q/ 1 45/W66/ 1984)
Brief but extensive descriptions of science policy-making bodies in about 100
countries. Includes not only directory information, but also size, mission,
linkages with other organizations, etc.
American Science
RESEARCH INSTITUTIONS AND LEARNED SOCIETIES. Ed. Joseph C. Kiger. Westport,
CT: Greenwood Press, 1982. 551p. (Ref /AS/25/R47/ 1982)
Entries of several thousand words for each of 164 organizations such as the
American Society of Biological Chemists or the Hastings Center (on ethics in
the life sciences). Includes historical background and sources of further information.




