Research Guides
FindIt:

College 001: Globalization - Course Guide

Library guide for
College 001, "Globalization"
Fall 2002 semester


This guide will help you to use the Penn Library when researching topics on the general theme of globalization.
CAVEAT. Although internet resources are extremely useful for tracking current news developments worldwide, most research-quality information remains available only in print format. This guide lists both internet and print resources.
Materials containing relevant information are collected chiefly by Van Pelt Library, (social sciences, including history, political science, economics, and area studies). In addition, the University Museum Library's anthropological holdings, the city and regional planning and landscape architecture collections of Fisher Fine Arts Library, Lippincott Library's print and electronic business (including finance) resources, and Biomedical Library's public health collection may also be useful.

For internet research concerning related topics, the Penn Library Web links to many online resources:

CONTENTS

Dictionaries and encyclopedias | Atlases and statistics | Handbooks | Guides to the literature and bibliographies | Franklin | Indexes and abstracts | Research collections | News sources and web sites | Quick links to good reading


GETTING STARTED WITH THE BASICS

Dictionaries and encyclopedias are the best places to start when you're just beginning or need basic understanding. The entries in good encyclopedias will provide brief bibliographies, too. Use "Keyword Searching" in Franklin to find encyclopedias and dictionaries:
(dictionaries OR encyclop?) AND ...

International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences / Neil J. Smelser and Paul B. Baltes, eds. 1st ed. 26 vols. New York: Elsevier, 2001.
[Van Pelt Reference, Museum Reference: H41 .I58 2001]
The current summa for the social sciences. Many relevant articles, and many by Penn faculty.

Dictionary of development: Third World economy, environment, society / Brian W. W. Welsh and Pavel Butorin, eds. 2 vols. (Garland Reference Library of Social Science, no. 487.) New York: Garland, 1990.
[Van Pelt Reference: HC59.7 .D513 1990]
The A to Z of world development / Andy Crump, comp. Oxford: New Internationalist Publications, 1998.
[Van Pelt Reference: D883 .C78 1998]

Routledge encyclopedia of international political economy / R.J. Barry Jones, ed. 3 vols. New York: Routledge, 2001.
[Van Pelt Reference: HF1359 .R68 2001]
Encyclopedia of political economy / Phillip Anthony O'Hara, ed. 2 vols. New York: Routledge, 1999.
[Van Pelt Reference: HB61 .E554 1999]

World culture report. Paris: Unesco, 1998-present, biennial.
[Van Pelt: CB428 .W675 (latest at Van Pelt Reference).]
Encyclopedia of violence, peace, & conflict. 3 volumes. San Diego: Academic Press, 1999.
[Van Pelt Reference: HM291 .E625 1999]
Encyclopedia of nationalism. 2 volumes. San Diego, Calif.: Academic Press, 2001.
[Van Pelt Reference: JC 311 .E539 2001]
Dictionary of Third World theologies / Virginia Fabella and R. S. Sugirtharajah, eds. Maryknoll, N.Y.: Orbis Books, 2000.
[Van Pelt Reference: BR95 .D486 2000]
Not strictly a dictionary of theological concepts, but a dictionary of terms frequently appearing in discourse about the Third World and their implications for (mostly Christian) theology.

Country Studies: Area Handbook Series. Library of Congress, 1988-present.
[Online via Library of Congress Web]
Individual titles describe the history, political background, society, and economy of a country. Some titles may be obsolete.
Encyclopedia of the stateless nations: ethnic and national groups around the world / James Minahan. 4 vols. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2002.
[Van Pelt Reference: D860 .M56 2002]

Encyclopedia of world cultures / [Human Relations Area Files]. 10 volumes. Boston, Mass.: G. K. Hall, 1991-1996.
[Museum Library Reference: GN550 .E53 1991]
[CD-ROM version (Macmillan Reference USA, 1998): Museum Library Desk: GN307 .E54 1998]
eHRAF Collection of Ethnography. Human Relations Area Files.
[Online via Penn Library Web]
Described in greater detail below. An encyclopedic article for each culture is excerpted from Encyclopedia of world cultures.

Encyclopedia of global environmental change / Ted Munn, ed. 5 vols. New York: Wiley, 2002.
[Van Pelt Reference: GE149 .E443 2002]
See especially vol. 5, Social and economic dimensions of global environmental change.

ATLASES AND STATISTICS

World Bank atlas. Washington, DC: World Bank, 1966-present, annual.
[Van Pelt: G1046 .G1 I5 (latest in Van Pelt Reference)]
Atlas of world development / Tim Unwin, ed. New York: Wiley, 1994.
[Van Pelt Reference: G1046.E1 U5 1994]

The atlas of states: global change 1900-2000 / A. J. Christopher. New York: Wiley, 1999.
[Van Pelt Reference: G1046 .F2 C5 1999]
The Macmillan atlas of the future / Ian Pearson, ed. New York: Macmillan, 1998.
[Van Pelt Reference: G1021 .M15 1998]

Global geopolitical flashpoints: an atlas of conflict / Ewan W. Anderson. London: Stationery Office, 2000.
[Van Pelt Reference: JC319 .A52 2000b]
Trouble spots: the world atlas of strategic information / Andrew Duncan and Michael Opatowski. Stroud: Sutton, 2000.
[Van Pelt Reference: G1019 .D863 2000]
The state of war and peace atlas / Dan Smith. 3rd ed., rev. New York: Penguin, 1997.
[Van Pelt Reference: G1046 .R1 S6 1997]

A cross-cultural summary / Robert B. Textor, comp. New Haven, Conn.: HRAF Press, 1967.
[University Museum Reference: GN307 .T4]
"The bulk consists of carefully selected and edited computer printout", presenting analyses of HRAF cultural features for 400 world cultures.

UNSTATS UN common database / UN Statistics Division.
[Online via Penn Library Web]
Time series data for countries worldwide covering all aspects of society and economy. Data from 1946 to present gathered from UN agencies and related international governmental organizations.

International historical statistics: Africa, Asia & Oceania, 1750-1993 / B. R. Mitchell. 3rd ed. New York: Stockton Press, 1998.
[Van Pelt Reference: HA4675 .M573 1998]
International historical statistics: Europe, 1750-1993 / B. R. Mitchell. 4th ed. New York: Stockton Press, 1998.
[Van Pelt Reference: HA1107 .M5 1998]
International historical statistics: the Americas, 1750-1993 / B. R. Mitchell. 4th ed. New York: Stockton Press, 1998.
[Van Pelt Reference: HA175 .M55 1998]
Handy compilations of time series data culled from many sources.

Measuring globalisation: the role of multinationals in OECD economies. (OECD statistics.) Paris: Organisation for Co-operation and Economic Development, 1999-present, annual.
[Online via Penn Library Web (SourceOECD)]
[Lippincott Reference: HF1371 .M437 (latest edition)]
One of several important statistical resources on globalization produced by the OECD. Others include External debt statistics, International migration, and International direct investment.
Statistics Sources & Methods. OECD publication series.
[Online via Penn Library Web (SourceOECD)]


READING ABOUT GLOBALIZATION - Handbooks, Guides to the Literature, Bibliographies

The literature of globalization is enormous and complicated. These are tools to help cut through the noise.

HANDBOOKS summarize whole subject areas, evaluating research as well as identifying important research tools and resources.

Use "Keyword Searching" in Franklin to find handbooks:
handbook? AND ...

Contemporary world issues. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO.
This series provides general overviews with statistical information, chronologies, biographical sketches and organization directories, as well as bibliographies of recommended works.
    Global development: a reference handbook / William Savitt and Paula Bottorf. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 1995. [Van Pelt Reference: HC59.7 .S283 1995]
  • World population: a reference handbook / Geoffrey Gilbert. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2001. [Van Pelt Reference: HB871 .G47 2001]
  • New slavery: a reference handbook / Kevin Bales. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2000. [Van Pelt Reference: HT867 .B37 2000]
  • Women in the Third World: a reference handbook / Karen L. Kinnear. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 1997. [Van Pelt Reference: HQ1870.9 .K58 1997]
  • Terrorism : a reference handbook / Stephen E. Atkins. (Contemporary world issues.) Denver, CO : ABC-CLIO, c1992. [Van Pelt Reference: HV6431 .A87 1992]

Handbook of development economics / Hollis Chenery, T. N. Srinivasan, and Jere Behrman, eds. 3 vols. New York: North-Holland, 1988-1995.
[Van Pelt Reference: HD82 .H275 1988]
Global economic growth: theories, research, studies, and annotated bibliography, 1950-1997 / Lewis-Guodo Liu and Robert Premus. (Bibliographies and indexes in economics and economic history, no. 19.) Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2000.
[Van Pelt Reference: HC59 .L58 2000]
Development, trade, and the WTO: a handbook / Bernard Hoekman et al., eds. Washington, DC: World Bank, 2002.
[Van Pelt: HF1385 .D48 2002]

Regional handbooks of economic development -- prospects onto the 21st century. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn.
This series includes several titles, including:
  • China handbook / Christopher Hudson, ed. 1997. [Van Pelt Reference: HC427.92 .H833 1997]
  • Central and Eastern Europe handbook / Patrick Heenan and Monique Lamontagne, eds. 1999. [Van Pelt Reference: HC244 .C3695 1999]
Dun & Bradstreet's guide to doing business around the world. Rev. ed. Paramus, NJ: Prentice Hall, 2001.
[Lippincott Reference Desk: HF1416 .M78 2001]
A one-volume survey of topics which, for individual countries, is covered in more detail in the eternally-popular Pricewaterhouse Coopers series, Doing business in ... [now entitled: Doing business and investing in ...].

International information: documents, publications, and electronic information of international government organizations / Peter I. Hajnal, ed. 2nd ed. (2 vols.) Englewood, Colo.: Libraries Unlimited, 1997-2001.
[Van Pelt Reference: JZ4850 .I58 1997]
An excellent survey of the output of IGOs. Volume I surveys the UN, EU, OECD, and G7. Volume II adds the IMF, GATT and WTO, UNHCR, La Francophonie, and three INGOs -- OXFAM International, IUCN, and Medecins Sans Frontieres.
The G7/G8 system: evolution, role, and documentation / Peter I. Hajnal. Brookfield: Ashgate, 1999.
[Van Pelt Reference: HF1359 .H34 1999]

Peace, security, and conflict prevention: SIPRI-UNESCO handbook. New York: Oxford University Press, 1998.
[Van Pelt: JX1905 .P43 1998]
Interethnic conflict and political change in the former USSR / Airat Aklaev, Tatyana Levashova, compilers. 4 volumes. Dundas, Ont., Canada: Peace Research Institute-Dundas, 1994- .
[Van Pelt: DK293 .A39 1994]

Oxford history of the British Empire. Volume 5: Historiography / Robin W. Winks, ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 1999.
[Online via Penn Library Web (Penn Library E-books Project)]
An excellent study, with massive bibliographic apparatus, on the development of interpretations of the history of the British empire. Chapters discuss regions, aspects of society, technology, and culture, and the demise of the empire.

GUIDES TO THE LITERATURE and BIBLIOGRAPHIES provide useful entry points by evaluating and highlighting the most important research tools and resources.

Use "Keyword Searching" in Franklin to find bibliographies and guides to the literature:
skey bibliography AND ...

Reader's guide to the social sciences / Jonathan Michie, ed. 2 volumes. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 1999.
[Van Pelt Reference: H41 .R43 2001]
Articles exposing major themes through evaluation of important research literature. Especially useful articles include:
  • "Financial globalization and financial integration"> / Gary A Dymski (I, 590-591).
  • "Foreign direct investment" / Jonathan Michie (I, 602-603).
  • "Globalization, economic" / Dominic Power (I, 662-663).
  • "Globalization, human geography" / Ron Lukens-Bull (I, 664-665).
  • "Globalization, management and business" / Alan Williams (I, 665-666).
  • "Globalization, politics" / Simon Lee (I, 666-667).
  • "Globalization, sociology" / Mils Hills (I, 667-668).
  • "Globalization: critiques and alternatives" / Colin Hines (I, 668-669).
  • "Globalization of technology" / Daniele Archibugi (I, 669-671).
  • "World systems theory" /

"Is globalization civilizing, destructive or feeble? A critique of five key debates in the social science literature" / Mauro F. Guillin. Annual Review of Sociology, vol. 27 (2001): 235-260.
[Online via Penn Library Web (Annual Reviews)]
A survey of the literature on five questions: Is globalization really happening (and when did it begin)? Does globalization produce convergence? Does globalization undermine the authority of nation-states? Is globality different from modernity? Is a global culture in the making?

"Global ethnography" / Zsuzsa Gill and Sean S Riain. Annual Review of Sociology, vol. 28 (2002): 271-295.
[Online via Penn Library Web (Annual Reviews)]
Describes research on globalization's effect on cultural description.

"World-systems analysis" / Christopher Chase-Dunn and Peter Grimes. Annual Review of Sociology, vol. 21 (1995): 387-417.
[Online via Penn Library Web (JSTOR)]
An update, emphasizing research on cycles and secular trends, of "World-system theory" / Daniel Chirot and Thomas D. Hall, Annual Review of Sociology, vol. 8 (1982): 81-106 [Online via Penn Library Web (JSTOR)]

"World history in a global age" / Michael Geyer and Charles Bright. American Historical Review, vol. 100, no. 4 (Oct. 1995): 1034-1060.
[Online via Penn Library Web (JSTOR)]
"Globalization and politics" / Suzanne Berger. Annual Review of Political Science, vol. 3 (2000): 43-62.
[Online via Penn Library Web (Annual Reviews)]
Surveys issues concerning the effects of international economic globalization on domestic politics and society.

"The local and the global: the anthropology of globalization and transnationalism" / M. Kearney. Annual Review of Anthropology, vol. 24 (1995): 547-565.
[Online via Penn Library Web (JSTOR)]
Surveys anthropological literature on population movement, community dynamics, and the movement of information, symbols, capital, and commodities in global and transnational spaces.

"Theorizing transnational immigration: a critical review of current efforts" / Peter Kivisto. Ethnic and racial studies, vol. 24, no. 4 (July 2001): 549-577.
[Online via Penn Library Web (ECO]

"Making national cultures in the global ecumene" / Robert J. Foster. Annual Review of Anthropology, vol. 20 (1991): 235-260.
[Online via Penn Library Web (JSTOR)]

"States and markets in an era of globalization" / Sean S Riain. Annual Review of Sociology, vol. 26 (2000): 187-213.
[Online via Penn Library Web (Annual Reviews)]

"Quantitative cross-national analysis as a research tool in the sociology of developing countries: a critical examination" / Mark Herkenrath. Current Sociology, vol. 50, no. 4 (July 2002): 517-530.
[Online via Penn Library Web (ECO)]

World bibliographical series. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO.
[Use "Keyword Searching" in Franklin to find books in this series:
"world bibliographical series" AND [country name]
Use the double-quote marks to search for the words as a phrase!
A useful series of books on individual countries, listing English-language books on a wide range of general topics, with evaluative abstracts. This series is a good starting place for researching a country, but you'll want to move into more thorough materials, too.

"The geographies and politics of globalization" / Philip F. Kelley. Progess in human geography, vol. 23, no. 3 (1999): 359-400.
[Online via Penn Library Web (ECO)]

"Globalization and peace: assessing new directions in the study of trade and conflict" / Katherine Barbieri and Gerald Schneider. Journal of Peace Research, vol. 36, issue 4 (1999): 387-404.
[Online via Penn Library Web (OCLC ECO)]

Bibliography of European economic and social history / Derek H. Aldcroft and Richard Rodger, comps. 2nd ed. New York: Manchester University Press, 1993.
[Van Pelt Reference: HC240 .A43 1993]
Society and economy in early modern Europe, 1450-1789: a bibliography of post-war research / Barry Taylor, comp. New York: Manchester University Press, 1989.
[Van Pelt Reference: HC240 .T356 1989]
This series, History and related disciplines select bibliographies, also includes bibliographies on other world regions.

Sustainable production: an annotated bibliography / Arnd Jurgensen, Namir Khan, Willem H. Vanderburg. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow, 2001.
[Van Pelt Reference: HD75.6 .J87 2001]

Globalization, localization, and violence: an annotated bibliography / Peter Kloos and Purnaka L. de Silva. (Anthropological studies VU; 17.) Amsterdam: VU University Press, 1995.
[Van Pelt: JC362 .K56 1995]
The spirit of violence: an interdisciplinary bibliography of religion and violence / Christopher Candland. (Occasional papers of the Harry Frank Guggenheim Foundation; no. 6.) New York: Harry Frank Guggenheim Foundation, 1992.
[Van Pelt: HM281 .C25 1992]


READING ABOUT GLOBALIZATION - Using Franklin in the Penn Library

Use Franklin to identify and locate in the Penn Library books, periodicals, and bibliographic and numeric data files in electronic format.
CAVEAT: Biddle Law Library holdings do not appear in Franklin. Use LOLA, the Biddle catalog to search Biddle's holdings.

The best way to use Franklin is to search by Library of Congress subject heading. Some subject headings pertaining to globalization used in Franklin are:

acculturationgroup of seven organization
capitalismintercultural communication
culture shockinternational agencies
cultural policyinternational cooperation
democracyinternational economic relations
democratizationinvestments, foreign
dependencynorth and south
developing countriespolitical development
economic assistancepopulation assistance
economic developmentpostcolonialism
economic policysummit meetings
emigration and immigrationtariffs
ethnic relationstechnical assistance
foreign trade regulationtourist trade
geopoliticsworld bank
globalizationworld politics

Keyword searching using Library of Congress subject headings and subheadings is very useful for combining different concepts into one search, for restricting searches to geographic areas, and for identifying unfamiliar Library of Congress subject headings (e.g., from known catch-phrases):

democracy AND (rwanda? OR ruanda?)
"economic assistance" and democratization
skey capitalism and skey "investments foreign"
(riot? OR violen?) AND ethnic?
skey emigration and skey acculturation
(arab? OR palestin?) AND (israel? OR jews OR jewish) AND peace

Some Franklin subject heading subdivisions are useful for limiting searches for specific aspects of a subject. Use skey subject keyword field code to combine these with other search terms:

developing countrieseconomic aspects
economic conditionseconomic policy
ethnic identitypolitical activity
political aspectspsychological aspects
religious aspectssocial conditions
social life and customs

Some Franklin subject heading subdivisions are useful for identifying genres. Use skey subject keyword field code to combine these with other search terms:

bibliographymaps
case studiespersonal narratives
cross-cultural studiesstatistics

The Penn Library Web provides extensive help for searching Franklin.


READING ABOUT GLOBALIZATION - Indexes and Abstracts

Whether in print or electronic (online or CD-ROM) format, serial bibliographies, indexes, and abstracts are regularly published, continuing bibliographies offering subject and author access to periodical or newspaper articles, books, book chapters, essays in collections, etc.

Penn Library Web databases for globalization
The Penn Library Web Databases Menu may be used to identify relevant databases for other, broader subjects, such as Political Science or Population Studies and Demography or African Studies.

International development abstracts. New York: Elsevier, 1982-present, six issues yearly.
[Van Pelt Reference: HC59.69 .I57 (1987-present)]
A well-produced and narrowly-focused tool, describing the journal literature on all aspects of international development. USE THIS ONE!

World agricultural economics and rural sociology abstracts. Wallingford, UK: CABI Publishing, 1959-present, monthly.
[Van Pelt: HD1401 .W6 (latest five years in Van Pelt Reference)]
[1973-present, Online via Penn Library Web (CAB Abstracts)]
An excellent resource, especially in its online version, produced by the Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux. Covers a much broader range of subjects than its title suggests. CAB Abstracts is also very strong on economic and social development, particularly for applied research, and on tourism.

International bibliography of the social sciences (IBSS). 1951-present.
[Online via Penn Library Web]
Sponsored by Unesco, this provides the best coverage of worldwide scholarly literature, including journal articles, books, and book chapters, in anthropology, economics, political science, and sociology. A GOOD STARTING PLACE

PAIS International. 1915-present. Annual cumulation.
[1915-1990, Van Pelt Reference: JA1 .P357]
[1972-present, online via Penn Library Web]
Indexes public policy literature worldwide, including journal articles, books, conference proceedings, book chapters, and statistical publications.

Francis. CNRS. 1984-present. Monthly.
[Online via Penn Library Web]
The principal French-language index to the scholarly journal literature in the humanities and social sciences. Particularly strong on ethnology, public administration, and francophone area studies.

Historical abstracts. 1970-present.
[Online via Penn Library Web]
Excellent coverage of worldwide scholarly journal literature (and some books and dissertations) on non-United States history during the modern period to the present. Search interface permits time-period subject searching.

POPLINE. 1970-present.
[Online via Penn Library Web]
Abstracts the scholarly literature of population studies, family planning, and related subjects.
Bibliographie internationale de la demographie historique = International bibliography of historical demography. Liege, Belgium: Comite International des Sciences Historiques, 1978-present, annual.
[Van Pelt Reference: HB871 .B483]
Complements POPLINE and Population Index.


RESEARCH COLLECTIONS

Large collections of documents, publications, and other primary source material may be very useful. However, these collections -- each one often represented by a single Franklin record -- may get lost among your search results. The research collections below reflect a small selection of the Penn Library's vast research materials.

Major microform sets in the Penn Library
Many research collections are available in microformats. This list identifies the major microform sets. See especially entries under regions of the world. Includes hyperlink for Center for Research Libraries catalog to identify "area microform projects" holdings available for interlibrary loan borrowing.

UN ODS. United Nations. [online]
[Online via Penn Library Web]
Fulltext of UN documentation from 1992.
UN documents and publications [microform]
[Van Pelt Reference Government Documents Room]
[Indexed by AccessUN [online via Penn Library Web].
Documents, including masthead documents, Official Records, limited and restricted documents, and regional commissions, from 1946 to present. For more information, consult United Nations Publications, Van Pelt Library special bibliography.

United Nations Development Programme Project Reports.
[1972-1988: Van Pelt Microtext: Microfiche 1100. Indexed in Access UNDP, Penn Library Web]
[1998-present: UNDP Documentation Library]
Project reports funded by the UNDP and executed by IGOs, INGOs, and national government agencies. Report types include technical, evaluative, and final or terminal reports. Excellent source for groundlevel development activity worldwide.
World Bank Documents & Reports.
[Online via Penn Library Web]
International Monetary Fund Publications.
[Online via Penn Library Web]
UNESDOC: the UNESCO Documents Collection.
[Online via Penn Library Web]
SourceOECD.
[Online via Penn Library Web]
These IGO databases provide page-image fulltext of publications and documents. Depth and breadth of coverage varies: UNESDOC omits the major UNESCO publications but includes local workshop reports; SourceOECD holds the very valuable OECD statistical annual publications but no working documents; the large World Bank database provides a broad range of scholarly monographs and conference reports as well as working documents and background papers.

eHRAF Collection of Ethnography. Human Relations Area Files.
[Online via Penn Library Web]
Continues the microfiche collection, Human Relations Area Files [HRAF], held in the University Museum Library. The two resources reproduce collections of ethnographic texts on approximately 450 cultures worldwide, with indexing for more than 700 categories of human behavior.
Outline of cultural materials.
[Online via HRAF web]
Subject codes for paragraph-level indexing of HRAF and eHRAF texts. This page provides codes and labels, with no annotations.
Outline of world cultures.
[Online via HRAF web]
Culture codes for the cultures covered in the HRAF resources. This page provides codes and labels, with no annotations.

Human Rights Watch publications. 1980-present. Annual update.
[Van Pelt Microtext Center: Microfiche 1117]
Reproduces all Human Rights Watch publications. See Human Rights Watch publications: catalog index for individual titles.
Amnesty International: a major collection of published and unpublished research material. IDC. Dates vary, current updates.
[Biddle: Fiche S28 (through 1997)]
Microfiche collection of Amnesty International country dossiers (1975-1995) and Amnesty International publications (1962-1995).
Human rights documents. IDC. 1980-present.
[Biddle: Fiche S29 (1980-1991, North America, Africa, Middle East, Asia only)]
Documents on human rights produced by NGOs, compiled and edited by Human Rights Internet.

Human rights documents. South Asia. IDC. 1983-1994.
[Van Pelt Microtext Center: Microfiche 906]
Reproduces documents on human rights issued by nongovernmental organizations in India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, and Nepal, mostly during the 1980s.
Political pamphlets from the Indian subcontinent. CIS.
[Van Pelt Microtext Center: Microfiche 815]
Reproduces more than 2,000 English-language pamphlets published from 1915 through the present and held by the Library of Congress. Pamphlets cover mainstream, special interest, and fringe groups from British Imperial India, and the modern countries of India, Pakistan, and Bangladesh.

Reseau documentaire international sur la region des grands lacs africains.
[Online via RDIRGLA web]
Provides reproductions of "grey literature" on Burundi, Congo-RDC, and Rwanda, collected from international, national, and local governments, nongovernmental organizations including religious institutions, political parties, the press, and individuals.

"III. Conflict, aggression, violence, wars. A. Conflict and stability within nations". Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research catalog.
[Online via ICPSR web]
Lists numeric data sets available for download through Penn Library or Social Science Data Center. Procedures are outlined in Penn Library - Data Archives guide.


NEWS SOURCES and WEB SITES

Several web resources provide good coverage of world news, both current and past.

Facts on File. 1950-present
[Online via Penn Library Web]
Before leaping into research on a recent historical event, get your facts straight! This resources provides a digest of news information.
Keesing's contemporary archives. 1931-1986. Continued by Keesing's record of world events. 1987-present.
[Van Pelt: D410 .K4 (1931-1960 and latest two years in Van Pelt Reference)]
[Van Pelt Reference Moelis CD Area: 1960-latest year]
A similar resource, with an older backfile and a Commonwealth orientation.
Asian recorder. 1955-1999. Continued by Asian news digest. 2000-present.
[Van Pelt South Asia Reference, other locations: DS1 .A4747]
African recorder. 1963-present.
[Van Pelt: DT1 .A228 (1963-1978)]

New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers). 1851-1999.
[Online via Penn Library Web]
Searchable text of New York Times articles and other items, underlying page and article images. Careless searches can be overwhelming!
Historical index to the New York Times. 1863-1923 (in progress).
[Online via Penn Library Web]
Palmer's Index to the London Times. 1790-1905.
[Online via Penn Library Web]
A good newspaper index can often provide a quick overview of events or country issues. The Penn Library owns several retrospective indexes to major newspapers worldwide. These two are available online.

Penn Library - News Sources
This page links to major subscription electronic news sources as well as to guides to major archival collections of worldwide news sources available in print or microform.

Factiva.
[Online via Penn Library Web]
Easiest fulltext news service to search. Has strong overseas English-language news coverage from the late 1980s/early 1990s to the present.
LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe.
[Online via Penn Library Web]
Similar, slightly weaker coverage to Factiva. Very difficult to search fulltext or to restrict searching to single news sources. Excellent coverage of US broadcast news media.

FBIS and World News Connection.
These resources provide English-language fulltext translations for non-English local broadcast and print news reports from locations around the world. Invaluable for reading alternative or local press coverage. WNC is a "lite" product. Use FBIS whenever possible.
For more information on Penn Library FBIS holdings, consult FBIS daily reports Van Pelt Library special bibliography.
World News Connection. 1994-present.
[Online via Penn Library Web]
FBIS publications. [CD-ROM]. 1996-present.
[CD-ROM at Van Pelt Reference Moelis CD Area: D856 .F357]
FBIS daily reports. [Microfiche]. 1974-1996.
[Microfiche at Van Pelt Reference Government Documents Room: SuDoc PrEx 7.10:FBIS-...]
Indexed by Foreign Broadcast Information Service Index (Penn Library Web).

Integrated Regional Information Networks.
[Online via ReliefWeb]
Provides current information on political, social, and economic events affecting humanitarian activity in Africa and central Asia. E-mail notification is available.


QUICK LINKS TO GOOD READING

A selection among online resources available for Penn readers, including digital books.

"What is the concept of globalization good for? An African historian's perspective" / Frederick Cooper. African Affairs, vol. 100, issue 399 (April 2001): 189-213.
[Online via Penn Library Web (Oxford)]

"Whither the World Bank and the IMF?" / Anne O. Krueger. Journal of Economic Literature, vol. 36, no. 4 (December 1998): 1983-2020.
[Online via Penn Library Web (JSTOR)]

Special issue on globalization. International Sociology, vol. 15, no. 2 (June 2000).
[Online via Penn Library Web (Click on OCLC FirstSearch ECO) - introductory article]
[Online via Penn Library Web (Click on OCLC FirstSearch ECO) - table of contents with hyperlinks]

Special issue on transnationalism. Ethnic and Racial Studies, vol. 22, no. 2 (March 1999).
[Online via Penn Library Web (CatchWord)]

"Global patterns of decolonization, 1500-1987" / David Strang. International Studies Quarterly, vol. 35, no. 4 (December 1971): 429-454.
[Online via Penn Library Web (JSTOR)]
The twentieth-century world: an international history / William R. Keylor. 4th ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 2001.
[Online via Penn Library Web (Penn Library Ebooks Project)]

Containing nationalism / Michael Hechter. Oxford University Press, 2000.
[Online via Penn Library Web (Penn Library Ebooks Project)]

The global world of Indian merchants, 1750-1947: traders of Sind from Bukhara to Panama / Claude Markovits. Cambridge University Press, 2000.
[Online via Penn Library Web (Penn Library Ebooks Project)]

The rise of "the rest": challenges to the west from late-industrializing economies / Alice H. Amsden. New York: Oxford University Press, 2001.
Online via Penn Library Web (Penn Library Ebooks Project)]

"Featured essays". Contemporary Sociology, vol. 25, no. 5 (September 1996): 585-593.
[Online via Penn Library Web (JSTOR)]
The major sociological journal of book reviews tackles Jihad vs. McWorld and other classics of globalization.

"Global microstructures: the virtual socieites of financial markets" / Karin Knorr Cetina and Urs Bruegger. American Journal of Sociology vol. 107, no. 4 (January 2002): 905-950.
[Online via Penn Library Web (University of Chicago press)]

Special issue on civilizational analysis. International Sociology, vol. 16, no. 3 (September 2001).
[Online via Penn Library Web (ECO)]

"Both sides now: fallacies in the genetic-modification wars, implications for developing countries, and anthropological perspectives" (CA* forum on anthropology in public) / Glenn Davis Stone (with respondents). Current Anthropology, vol. 43, no. 4 (August-October 2002): 611-630.
[Online via Penn Library Web (University of Chicago Press)]

"Lost worlds: environmental disaster, 'cultural loss', and the law" / Stuart Kirsch (with respondents). Current Anthropology, vol. 42, no. 2 (April 2001): 167-198.
[Online via Penn Library Web (University of Chicago Press)]

Special issue on Latin American sociology. Current Sociology, vol. 50, no. 1 (January 2002).
[Online via Penn Library Web (ECO)]

Last update: Monday, 11-Nov-2002 13:55:59 EST
Send mail concerning this page to:
Laurie Allen
Research and Instructional Services
502 Van Pelt Library / 6206
215 / 898-573-3232
laallen@pobox.upenn.edu
Lauris Olson
Social Sciences Bibliographer
203 Van Pelt-Dietrich Library Center/ 6206
215 / 898-0119
olson@pobox.upenn.edu
*