Main Content
Foreign Relations of the United States - Research Guide
This guide describes major document collections relating to U.S.
foreign relations which are held in the Penn
Libraries.
Foreign Relations of the United States Series
The Foreign Relations of the United States is an important source of
information about American foreign policy. It constitutes the State
Department's official record and provides access to previously classified
material that otherwise would be unavailable. Simultaneously, its status as
the official record also compromises its completeness, since it is heavily
edited, with much material remaining classified. The State Department
offers a description of the series What is the Foreign Relations Series?
For a critical description of what criteria are used for inclusion in FRUS volumes and how political and security processes compromise their comprehensiveness see this article from The Journal of American History (http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/url/38869).
It is organized by year or groups of years, with geographical or topical
sub-divisions. For example, the volumes dealing with the Casablanca
conference (1943) are part of the World War II group and not the year-by-year
sequence.
Some volumes can be quite specific, such as the two 1902 volumes called
The Whaling and Sealing Claims against Russia. Particular
countries interact intensively with the United States at different times,
The documents in each volume are arranged chronologically. Each document
has notes indicating its source and, where necessary, annotations providing
contextual information or data relating the document to others. There is
also a table of sources and abbreviations at the beginning of each volume,
and each volume has its own detailed subject and author index.
Prior to 1870, the series was published under various names. From 1870 to 1947, the uniform title Papers Relating to the Foreign Relations of the United States was used. From 1947 to 1969, the name was changed to Foreign Relations of the United States: Diplomatic Papers. After that date, the current name was adopted. The following is a list of volumes arranged by Presidential administration.
Locations for the Foreign Relations of the United States series:
- Foreign Relations of the United States, 1932- .
Washington, D.C.: The Department. U.S. G.P.O., 1948- .
- Online from Hein Online - choose FRUS after connecting, covers 1861-1976.
- Online from U.S State Department
- Online from University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries in collaboration with the University of Illinois at Chicago Libraries.
It is an incomplete run from 1861-1960 with missing volumes being added as they can be acquired and processed
- Print: [Van Pelt Library Stacks: JX 233 A3], 1932 - 1964/68 and continuing.
The World War II years (1939-1945) are covered in a commercially-produced
index [Van Pelt Library Stacks: JX 1416 C85]. These volumes have several sub-series relating to
special topics.
- Papers Relating to the Foreign Relations of
the United States 1870-1931.
Washington, D.C.: G. P. O., 1870-1931.
-
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: JX 233 A3 and Van Pelt Library Microtext:
microfiche 483], 1870-1931.
Cumulative indexes, shelved with the set, cover 1861-1899 and 1900-1918
(but the latter does not include the volumes dealing with World War I or
the Russian Revolution).
Preceeding Series
The American State Papers is the collection providing the most comprehensive coverage of U.S. government records related to foreign relations prior to 1861, covering the period from 1789-1838. It is available online and in print. The six volumes of the first class (Foreign Relations) bear most directly on foreign relations, but the 'Indian Affairs' and 'Commerce and Navigation' sections are also relevant.
- American State Papers Homepage (American Memory).
- American state papers : documents, legislative and executive, of the Congress of the United States. Washington: Gales and Seaton, 1832-1861.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: 328.73 6]
- Serial Set.
- This online version of the Serial Set includes the American State Papers. It also contains foreign relations documents produced between the end of coverage in the American State Papers (1838) and the beginning of FRUS (1861).
American Foreign Policy Series
There are other collections of documents that are issued by the Department
of State which complement the Foreign Relations series. These have
slight title variations but are in essence the same series, in that they
present the principal public foreign policy messages, addresses,
interviews, press briefings and conferences, and congressional testimony
by the executive branch. They do not include classified documents.
- A Decade of American Foreign Policy: Basic Documents
1941- 1949. Rev. ed. Washington: Dept. of State, 1985. xxvi,
969 p. : ill., map.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: JX 1416 D29 1985]
- Includes 90% of the documents in the original edition of 1950
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: JX 1416
A47 1968], with a slightly different arrrangement.
- United States. Dept. of State. Historical Office.
American Foreign Policy: Basic Documents, 1950-1955.
New York, Arno Press, 1971. 2 v. (lix,
3244, xxv p. illus., maps.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: JX 1417 A55 1971]
- United States. Dept. of State. Historical Office. American
Foreign Policy, Current Documents, 1956-1967. Washington, D.C.,
Historical Division,
Bureau of Public Affairs, 1959-1969. 2 v. lix, 3244, xxv p. illus., maps.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: JX 1417 A33], 1956-1967.
- American Foreign Policy, Basic Documents, 1977-1980
. Washington, D. C., Dept. of State, U.S.G.P.O., 1983. l, 1458 p.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: JX 1417 A732]
- United States. Dept. of State. Historical Office. American
foreign policy, current documents, 1981- . Washington, D.C.,
Dept. of State, U.S. G.P.O., 1984- 2 v. lix, 3244, xxv p. illus., maps.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: JX 1417 A33], 1981-1990.
State Department Bulletin & Dispatch
- Department of State Bulletin, 1939-1989.
Weekly.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: JX 232 A33]
- "The monthly record of the United States Foreign Policy" includes the
same array of documents as does the current documents annuals.
It was preceeded by Press Releases of
the Department of State, 1929-1939 [Van Pelt Library Stacks: 327.73 Un31.4]. Continued
by the Dispatch.
- U.S. Department of State Dispatch, 1990- .
Weekly. Washington, DC., U.S. Dept. of State.
Continues: Department of State Bulletin.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: JX 232 A332], current 2 years in Reference;
- Online for 1990-1999
and 1997-1998.
- Foreign Policy Bulletin; the Documentary
Record of United States Foreign Policy. Cambridge, MA., Kluwer Law
International, 1990- . Bimonthly.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: JX 1417 F6726]
- "A private publication, using the same format as the
discontinued Department of State bulletin...."
Includes major addresses, statements, reports,
remarks of President, Secretary of State, Administration officials in
other foreign affairs agencies; excerpts from Congressional debates;
statements of foreign officials; relevant texts and reports from
international organizations; summaries and listings of treaties,
with source references. Issue and annual indexes. Indexed in PAIS.
- U.S. Department of State
- Includes Dispatches Magazine, Country Human Rights Reports,
Travel Advisories, etc.
National Security Archive
The database includes more than 63,000 of the most important declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions. There are over 29 complete collections, each offering specialized insights. Integrated, they allow you to explore policy across several different areas at once. Microform versions of some of the collections are listed below.
National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Books provide online access to critical declassified records on issues including U.S. national security, foreign policy, diplomatic and military history, intelligence policy, and more. Updated frequently, the Electronic Briefing Books represent just a small sample of the documents in our published and unpublished collections.
National Security Archive Index on CD-ROM
Van Pelt Reference Moelis: E 183.7 N38 1994], disc and guide.
Electronic versions of the twelve collection
indexes and guides included
in The Making of U.S. Policy series, which contains
35,857 documents (on microfiche). These
indexes and guides comprise 21,462 printed pages and
include detailed descriptions and context for
the docuemnts included in the collections. Also
includes a catalog database, chronology database,
glossary database, and bibliography database.
Afghanistan, the making of U.S. policy, 1973-1990 [microform]..
Alexandria, Va. : Chadwyck-Healey, 1991. 424 microfiches : pos. ; 11 x 15 cm.
[Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfiche 1113], fiche 1-424 and guide.
The Berlin crisis, 1958-1962
Not owned by Penn
China and the United States, 1960-1998 [microform] : from hostility to engagement / National Security Archive.. Alexandria, VA : Chadwyck-Healey, c1999.
[Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfiche 1170], fiche 1-374 + guide
The Cuban Missile Crisis, 1962 [microform].
Alexandria, Va.: Chadwyck-Healey, 1990.
586 microfiches.
[Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfiche 1089]
The Cuban missile crisis, 1962 : a National Security
Archive documents reader edited by
Laurence Chang and Peter Kornbluh. New York: The New Press, 1992. xxvii,
415 p. : facsim.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: E 841 C845 1992]
El Salvador : the making of U.S. policy, 1977-1984..
Alexandria, VA : Chadwyck-Healey Inc. ; [Washington, D.C.] : National Security Archive, 1989.
870 microfiches : pos. ; 11 x 15 cm.
[Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfiche 1141], fiche 1-870 and guide, vol 1 & 2.
Iran : the making of U.S. policy, 1977-1980.
[Washington, D.C.] : National Security Archive ; Alexandria, VA : Chadwyck-Healey, c1990.
565 microfiches : pos. ; 11 x 15 cm.
[Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfiche 1112], fiche 1-565 and guide.
The Iran-Contra affair, the making of a scandal, 1983-1988 [microform] / [project editors, Malcolm Byrne, Peter Kornbluh]..
Alexandria, VA : Chadwyck-Healey ; [Washington, D.C. : National Security Archive], 1990.
664 microfiches : pos. ; 11 x 15 cm.
[Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfiche 1109], fiche 1-664 and guide.
The Chronology: the documented day-by-day account of
the secret military assistance to Iran and the
contras the National Security Archive ; foreword by
Seymour Hersh ; principal editors, Laurence Chang ... [et
al.] ; contributors, Glenn Baker ... [et al.]. New York, N.Y.: Warner
Books, c1987. xxiii, 678 p., [8] p. of plates : ill.
[Van Pelt
Library Stacks: E 876 C46 1987]
Iraqgate [microform] : Saddam Hussein, U.S. policy, and the prelude to the Persian Gulf War (1980-1994) / [project director, Joyce Battle]..
Alexandria, Va. : Chadwyck-Healy ; [Washington, D.C.] : National Security Archive, 1995.
331 microfiches : pos. ; 11 x 15 cm.
[Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfiche 1173], fiche 1-331
guide & index
Nicaragua, the making of U.S. policy, 1978-1990 [microform]..
Alexandria, Va. : Chadwyck-Healey, 1991. 579 microfiches : pos. ; 11 x 15 cm.
[Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfiche 1110], fiche 1-579 and guide.
The Philippines, U.S. policy during the Marcos years, 1965-1986
Not owned by Penn
South Africa, the making of U.S. policy, 1962-1989 [microform]..
Alexandria, Va. : Chadwyck-Healey, 1991. 439 microfiches : pos. ; 11 x 15 cm.
[Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfiche 1111], fiche 1-439 and guide.
South Africa and the United States : the declassified history
.
edited by Kenneth Mokoena
New York : New Press : Distributed by W.W. Norton, c1993.
313 p. : facsims.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: E 183.8 S6 S68 1993]
The U.S. intelligence community, U.S. military uses of space, 1945-1991,
U.S. nuclear non-proliferation, the making of U.S. policy, 1945-1991.
Terrorism and U.S. policy [microform] : 1968-2002 / The National Security Archive.
Ann Arbor, Mich. : ProQuest and the National Security Archive, c2003.
409 microfiches : pos. ; 11 x 15 cm. + 1 guide (681 p. : ill. ; 28 cm.).
[Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfiche 1176], fiche 1-409 + guide
U.S. espionage and intelligence [microform] : organization, operations, and management, 1947-1996.. Alexandria, Va. : Chadwyck-Healey, 1997. 490 microfiches : pos. ; 11 x 15 cm. + 1 guide (700 p. : ill. ; 29 cm.).
[Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfiche 1172], fiche 1-490 + guide]
The U.S. intelligence community [microform] : organization, operations, and management, 1947-1989.. Alexandria, Va. : Chadwyck-Healey, 1990. 266 microfiches : pos. ; 11 x 15 cm. + 1 guide (976 p. : ill. ; 29 cm.).
[Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfiche 1171 ], fiche 1-266 + guide
White House e-Mail : the top secret computer messages the Reagan/Bush White House tried to destroy / edited by Tom Blanton.. New York : New Press, c1995.
254 p. : ill. ; 17 cm. + 1 computer disk (3 1/2 in.)
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: E876 .W48 1995], 1 v. + disk
National Security Files
National Security Files
Bethesda, Md., University Publications of America, 1996.
The working
files of John F. Kennedy's and Lyndon B. Johnson's special assistants for
national security affairs: including memos, cables, intelligence
reports, correspondence, and special studies, having to do with foreign
affairs and national security. The "Country files" are arranged by
geographic area and then by country. In 19 cataloged sets, on multiple
reels of microfilm, under various numbers, in the Van Pelt Microforms Area.
Search Franklin by keyword for "national security files". Printed Reel
Indexes, with author and subject indexes, are shelved at the service desk in
the Microforms Area.
The Lyndon B. Johnson National Security Files, 1963-1969.
- Africa (Microfilm 4330)
- Asia and the Pacific (Microfilm 3987)
- Asia and the Pacific, first supp. (Microfilm 4327)
- Asia and the Pacific (Microfilm 3987)
- Latin America (Microfilm 4322)
- Middle East (Microfilm 3988)
- United Nations (Microfilm 4326)
- USSR and Eastern Europe (Microfilm 4325)
- Vietnam, special subjects 1963-1969 (Microfilm 4323)
- Vietnam, first supplement (Microfilm 4320)
- Vietnam, Nov 1963 - June 1965 (Microfilm 4321)
- Western Europe (Microfilm 4328)
The John F. Kennedy National Security Files. 1961-1963.
- Africa (Microfilm 4331)
- Asia and the Pacific (Microfilm 3985)
- Latin America (Microfilm 4314)
- The Middle East, (Microfilm 3986)
- The U.S.S.R. and Eastern Europe (Microfilm 4324)
- Vietnam (Microfilm 4332)
- Western Europe (Microfilm 4319)
Israel National Security Files, 1963-1969 (Microfilm 4329)
Declassified Documents
Also see the National Security Archive section above for another source of declassified documents.
Full-text and images of declassified documents issued from 1941 through the 1990s. Documents have been declassified since 1974.
Document types include correspondence and memoranda,
minutes of cabinet meetings, technical studies, national security
policy statements, and intelligence reports.
Collection of declassified and previously inaccessible documents, frequently translated, mostly relating to NATO, The Warsaw Pact, and the Cold War.
The Cold War International History Project disseminates new information and perspectives on the history of the Cold War, in particular new findings from previously inaccessible sources on "the other side" -- the former Communist world.
Declassified documents issued from 1941 through the 1990s. Documents have been declassified since 1974.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Moelis Area CD-ROM: J 83 D 4352]
[Van Pelt Library Reference: J 83 D435], v. 12- , 1986- .
Provides abstracting
and subject indexing of over 70,000 U.S. government documents from the
CIA, Department of State, National Security Council,
Department of Defense, FBI and other government departments and agencies,
which were formerly classified as "Top Secret", "Secret", or "Confidential"
and have been declassified under the provisions of the Freedom of
Information Act. Made available by the Library of Congress and the
Presidential Libraries.
Use the Guide to the "Ruler" and "Results Ruler" Bars which comes with the
disc. Browse the Description field [e.g., cable, memo] and Source field [e.g.,
CIA, Dept. of State, White House]. Browse Words in the
Text field or enter search terms on the Search Screen. You can do complex
searches, such as: (iran or iraq) and lebanon.
Entries give
dates, source agency, abstract, and document and microfiche numbers.
NB: use the "eyeglass" icon to return to the Search screen from a Display
screen. Indexes the following:
The Declassified Documents Reference System.
Woodbridge, Ct., Research Publications.
The text of the Declassified
Documents on microform, 1975- . [Van Pelt Library Micortext: Microfiche 956]
Other Related Titles
Hasse, Adelaide. Index to United States Documents
relating to Foreign Affairs ... 1828-1861. Washington, D.C.,
Carnegie
Institution, 1914-1921. 3 vols, 1980p.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: Z 1223.Z7 H2]
A-Z subject index of congressional
documents, Senate Journal, Congressional Globe, Senate Executive Documents,
etc.
U.S. Foreign Affairs on CD-ROM,
1990-1997. Annual.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Moelis CD Area: JX 233 A344]
Includes, in PDF
format:
Secretary of State Speeches, Testimony and Remarks; Dispatch Magazine; Daily Press
Briefings; Country Background Notes; Human Rights Reports; Global Terrorism
Reports; Narcotics Control Strategy Reports; Department of State Phone Book;
Miscellaneous Policy Publications.
.
Bibliographies and Guides
American Foreign Relations Since 1600: A Guide to the Literature. edited by Thomas W. Zeiler. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-Clio, c2007. 3rd edition.
Updated, online version of the 2nd edition of the Guide to American Foreign Relations Since 1600.
Guide to American Foreign Relations Since 1600. edited by Robert L. Beisner Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-Clio, c2003. 2nd edition.
2 v. (xviii, 2065 p.) ; 26 cm.
[Van Pelt Library Reference: E183.7 .A567 2003 ]
Departs from the first edition (below) by omitting historiographic essays, bios, and maps. References in the first edition may have been used, revised, or excluded.
Works published since 1982 comprise about half of this volume.
Guide to American Foreign Relations Since 1700 edited by Richard Dean Burns. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-Clio, c1983. xxvi, 1311 p. : maps.
[Van Pelt Library Reference: E 183.7 G838 1983]
Annotated bibliography of books and articles. Author and subject indexes. Includes reference resources, overviews, and 40 topical/chronological chapters.
Plischke, Elmer, 1914- U.S. Foreign Relations: a Guide to Information Sources Elmer Plischke. Detroit, Mich.: Gale Research Co., 1980. xvii, 715 p.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: JX 1417 P58]
Goehlert, Robert, 1948- The Department of State and American Diplomacy : a bibliography Robert U. Goehlert, Elizabeth R. Hoffmeister. New
York: Garland Pub., 1986. xxviii, 349 p.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: JX 1706 G63 1986]
Bemis, Samuel Flagg, 1891-1973. Guide to the Diplomatic History of the United States, 1775- 1921 by Samuel Flagg Bemis ... and Grace
Gardner Griffin ... Washington, U.S. Govt. print. off., 1935. xvii, 979 p. Part I. Bibliography (chronologically arranged). Part II. Remarks on the Sources.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: Z6465.U5 B4]
Sweney, Jerry. A Handbook of America Diplomacy.
Boulder, Westview, 1993. 157p.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E. 183.7 S97 1993]
For 6 chronological periods: Introduction,
chronology, diplomatic agreements, persons, bibliography.
Graebner, Norman.
American Diplomatic History before
1900. Arlington Hts., Ill., AHM, 1978. 117.p,
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E 183.7 G73]
2054 entries.
Books and articles. No annotations. Chronological arrangement.
Haines, Gerald.
A Reference Guide to United States
Department of State Special Files.. Westport, Greenwood,
1985. 391p. Index.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: CD 3031 1985]
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
A Companion to American Foreign Relations.
Edited by Robert D. Schulzinger.
Malden, MA : Blackwell Pub., 2003.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E183.7 .C658 2003]
Encyclopedia of U.S. Foreign Relations.
Ed. Bruce Jetleson. Council on Foreign Relations. NY, Oxford U.P.,
1997. 4 vols. Vol 1, 422p.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E 183.7 E53 1997]
Flanders, Stephen A. Dictionary of American Foreign Affairs Stephen A. Flanders, Carl N. Flanders. New York: Macmillan ; Toronto : Maxwell
Macmillan Canada ; New York : Maxwell Macmillan International, 1993. xiii, 833 p. : ill., maps.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E183.7 .F58 1993]
Entries do not have bibliographic references. Appendices: Timeline, Executive
Branch, Diplomatic Corps, Conferences and Summits, Glossary, Bibliography, Maps.
Findling, John E. Dictionary of American Diplomatic History John E. Findling. New York: Greenwood Press, c1989. xxxiii, 674 p. : ill.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E183.7 .F5 1989]
Entries
include bibliographical references. Maps, organizational charts, key diplomatic personnel, diplomatic relations, manuscript collections. Index.
Findling, John E. Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy: Studies of the Principal Movements and Ideas Alexander DeConde, editor. New
York: Scribner, c1978. 3 v. (xii, 1201 p.)
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: JX1407 .E53]
Long signed articles, with substantial bibliographies. Index.
Brune, Lester H. Chronological history of United States foreign relations Lester H. Brune ; consulting editor, Donald R. Whitnah. New York:
Garland, 1985-1991. 3 v. : maps.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E183.7 .B745 1985]
Covers 1776-1989. Chronological arrangement. Bibliography and index, but no sources given.
Selected Indexes and Abstracts (for finding articles, etc.)
A combined index of EBSCO's
Academic Search Premier and
Masterfile Premier.
Provides indexing and abstracting for both scholarly and
general interest journals; full text is provided for many titles, including
Foreign Affairs,
10/1/1964- ;
Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, 1/2/1995- ;
Foreign Policy, 3/1/90- , and the
National Journal, 1/1/2000- (14 day delay).
EBSCO also includes
CQ Weekly Report, full-text from 07/07/1990 to 12/31/2003;
and news magazines such as
Time, 05/07/1990- ;
Newsweek, 01/01/1990- ;
U.S. News and World Report, 05/07/1990- .
Article abstracts on the history of the U.S. and Canada, pre-history to
the present. Citations from journal,
book reviews, and doctoral dissertations.
Also available in print [Van Pelt Library Reference: E 171 A447].
A comprehensive source for theory and
research in international
affairs from 1991 to the present. Includes working papers
from university research institutes, occasional papers
series from NGOs, foundation-funded
research projects, and proceedings from conferences.
Abstracts of articles from scholarly journals, covering world history
outside North America from 1450.
Also available in print [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: D 299 H53]
Abstracts of articles selected from over 900 scholarly journals worldwide, in European
Also available in print at [Van Pelt Library Stacks: JA 36 I5];
latest 5 years in Reference.
The ISI Citation Indexes include the Science (1945-), Social Science (1956-), and Arts &
Humanities Citation (1975-) Indexes.
Both keyword and citation searching are available.
The database covers a large number of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and
arts & humanities.
Full-text online service which
provides access to sources
of national and international news and business
information, biographical data, and some
selected legal materials. News sources include
newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts,
and wire services.
Provides indexing and some fulltext U.S. legislative and government information.
Contents include
pending bills, laws, legislative histories, committee reports and
documents, selected
Congressional hearings and committee prints, and biographical data about
members of Congress.
Since 1940, the Monthly
Catalog is the most comprehensive index to publications of all U.S.
government departments and the Congress.
The full index back to 1893 is available in print at [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: Z 1223 A18].
The Document Catalog is preferred for the
period 1893-1940.
Indexes social and public policy literature (journal articles,
books, official documents, etc) published in English, 1915- , in French,
German, Italian, Portuguese, or Spanish, 1967- . Emphasizes political
science, economics, international relations, public administration,
education, sociology, demographics and social work.
Also available in print back to 1915 at [Van Pelt Library Reference
Stacks: JA 1 P357]
Send mail concerning this Bibliography to:
David Azzolina at azzolina@pobox.upenn.edu and
Patty Lynn at lynn@pobox.upenn.edu