Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
Research Guides

Sidebar

Main Content

Health and Society in Latin America

HEALTH and SOCIETY in LATIN AMERICA


ABSTRACTS, BIBLIOGRAPHIES AND INDEXES

Bibliography of Latin American and Caribbean Bibliographies. Madison, Wisc.: Univ. of Wisconsin, 1984- .
Prepared by the Secretariat of the Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin American Library Materials (SALALM), it serves as a supplement to Gropp (see below).
[VP Ref Z 1601 A2 G762]

Handbook of Latin American Studies. Gainesville: University of Florida Press, 1935- . Annual.
An exceptional serial bibliography based at the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress that provides selective, annotated information about books and journal articles. An attractive feature of the print version is the presentation by noted scholars of bibliographic overviews for each field and many subfields. Since 1964 the volumes alternate coverage every year between social sciences and humanities. The online version is complete since 1935.
[Van Pelt F 1401 H363; latest five years in Reference];

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI). Los Angeles: UCLA Latin American Center, 1974- . Annual.
One of the most important sources for articles about Latin America and, in many cases, the only source for articles from journals published in Latin America. It indexes 250 journals, mainly in Spanish, Portuguese and English. Coverage starts in 1970.
[Van Pelt F 1401 H577]

WHOLIS
WHOLIS is the World Health Organization library database available on the web. WHOLIS indexes all WHO publications from 1948 onwards and articles from WHO-produced journals and technical documents from 1985 to the present. It contains bibliographic information with subject headings and, for some records, abstracts. For some records, full text links are available.

Latin American and Caribbean Center on Health Sciences Information (LILACS)
Searches databases of bibliographic citations with indexing and abstracting for the health literature published in Latin America and the Caribbean, especially focusing on Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Cuba, Honduras, and Mexico. Includes specialized areas such as DESASTRES, MedCarib, and ADOOLEC as well as organizations such as PAHO and WHOLIS.
Comitas, Lambros. The Complete Caribbeana, 1900-1975: A Bibliographic Guide to the Scholarly Literature. 4 volumes. Millwood, NY: KTO Press, 1977.
[VP Ref F 2161 C64]

Gropp, Arthur. A Bibliography of Latin American Bibliographies. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow, 1968. 515 p.
This is a revision and update of a 1942 work by C.K. Jones. It has itself been updated through supplements (see under call number VP Ref Z 1601 A2 G76 1968 Suppl) and the Bibliography of Latin American and Caribbean Bibliographies described above.
[VP Ref Z 1601 A2 G76 1968]

Index to Latin American Periodical Literature, 1929-1966. Supplement (1967-70). Boston: G.K. Hall, 1962.
Produced by the Columbus Memorial Library of the Pan American Union.
[VP Ref Z 1601 P16]

World Bibliographical Series. Clio Press.
This is a series of bibliographies for individual countries, which can be found in Franklin with the title search "t=world bibliographical series." There is one for nearly every country. To find similar bibliographies in Franklin, use a subject search such as "s=Argentina--Bibliography."


GUIDES AND HANDBOOKS

Area Handbook Series. Washington, DC: American University.
This series of country studies, originally titled according to the pattern Area Handbook for..., can now be found under the name of the country followed by A Country Study. In Franklin do a title search for "t=area handbook series," or, for older editions, "t=area handbook for." The most recent editions are in the Van Pelt Reference collection. Each work, by a multidisciplinary team of social scientists, analyzes the economic, security, political, and social systems and institutions of a particular country. The series was initiated at the request of the U.S. Dept. of the Army.

Covington, Paula, David Block, et al., eds. Latin America and the Caribbean: A Critical Guide to Research Sources. New York: Greenwood, 1992.
The most extensive research guide for Latin America and the Caribbean. Each section offers an introductory critical essay, an extensive bibliography divided by country and, in most cases, a resources guide that lists significant collections in the field.
[VP Ref F 1408 L379 1992]

Grieb, Kenneth J., et al., eds. Research Guide to Central America and the Caribbean. Madison, Wisconsin: University of Wisconsin Press, 1985.
[VP Ref F 2161 R48 1985]

James, Preston E., and C.W. Minkel, Latin America, 5th ed. New York: Wiley 1986.
The standard (for over fifty years) guide to the physical and human geography of Latin America.
[VP Ref F 1408 J28 1986]

McNeil, Robert A., and Barbara G. Valk, eds. Latin American Studies: A Basic Guide to Sources. 2nd ed. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow, 1990.
Similar to the Covington work, this provides information on library and archival collections in Britain, Europe, and the United States, as well as descriptions of bibliographies and non-print and specialized sources.
[VP Ref F 1408 L38 1990]

South America, Central America, and the Caribbean. London: Europa, 1986- . Biennial.
A regional volume of the Europa series, it includes summary articles on the history, politics and economy of individual countries, plus statistical data, but its outstanding feature is extensive directory information on the governmental, political, business, labor, and religious institutions of each country .
[VP F 1406.5 S687 -- latest issue at Reference Desk]

The South American Handbook. Bath, Eng. : Trade & Travel Publications ltd. ; Chicago :
Distributed in the United States of America by Rand McNally, 1924-. Annual.
Intended as a travel guide, with extensive listings of restaurants, lodgings, and historic sites, it also provides considerable background information about each country and its cities and regions. Until 1990 it covered all of the hemisphere below the Rio Grande, but has since been restricted to South America proper.
[Van Pelt F 1401 S71: latest in Reference] There are now two other guides:
Caribbean Islands Handbook
[Van Pelt F 1609 C375: latest in Reference] and

Mexico & Central American Handbook
[Van Pelt F 1216.5 M495: latest in Reference]

The World Factbook. Washington, D.C. : Central Intelligence Agency, 1981- .
Basic and current information about every country in the world.
[Van Pelt G 122 U56a; latest at Reference Desk; Lippincott G 122 U56a; latest in Reference]
Also available online.


DICTIONARIES AND ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Cambridge Encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean. 2nd ed. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1992.
Visually attractive volume arranged by subject areas, each of which provides an excellent introduction. The work aims to cover as many topics as possible. There are bibliographies of works in English, plus useful maps and tables. There is an earlier edition in the Van Pelt stacks.
[VP Ref F 1406 C36 1992]

Delpar, Helen, ed. Encyclopedia of Latin America. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1974.
Alphabetical arrangement with numerous biographical entries.
[VP Ref F 1406 E52]

Nunez, Benjamin. Dictionary of Afro-Latin American Civilization. Westport, Ct. : Greenwood, 1980. 525 p.
[VP Ref F 1408.3 N86]

Tenenbaum, A., ed. Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture. 5 vols. New York : Scribner's; Macmillan Library Reference USA, 1996.
The most ambitious work of its kind. Arranged alphabetically.
[VP Ref F 1406 E53 1996]


STATISTICS

Anuario estadístico de América Latina y el Caribe = Statistical Yearbook for Latin America and the Caribbean. Santiago, Chile: Comisión Económica para América Latina y el Caribe; New York; Publicaciones de las Naciones Unidas, Seccién de Ventas, 1986- .
Published since 1964 under slightly different titles.
[Van Pelt HA 755 A68: latest in Reference; Lippincott Ref HA 755 A68]

Donschke, Elaine, and Doreen S. Goyer. The Handbook of National Population Censuses: Latin American and the Caribbean, North America, and Oceania. Westport, Ct.: Greenwood, 1983.
Information is provided about each census and list main U.S. repositories.
[VP Ref HA 36 G67 1983]

International Historical Statistics: The Americas and Australasia. Detroit: Gale, 1983.
[VP Ref HA 175 M55 1983]

Statistical Abstract of Latin America. Los Angeles: UCLA Latin American Center, 1955- .
Provides a "one-volume selection of important statistics...To offer the latest figures available on a timely basis for the 20 countries of Latin America."
[Van Pelt HA 935 S8: latest in Reference]

Travis, Carole, ed. A Guide to Latin American and Caribbean Census Material. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1990.
[VP Ref HA 755 G85 1990]

UNSTATS (United Nations Common Database)
Time series statistical information for countries collected from UN and related international governmental organizations. Topics covered include population composition and change; human settlements, housing, geographic distribution of population; households and families, marital status, fertility; health, health services, etc.

WHOSIS
Guide to health and health-related epidemiological and statistical information available from the World Health Organization.

World Development Indicators
The World Bank's principal data source on the global economy. More than 550 time series, 1960-present, on more than 200 countries and 18 country groups, covering demographic, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.

Population Reference Bureau
Compilation of data and information sources regarding population, health, and the environment. Information covers 220 countries, 28 world regions and subregions, and the world as a whole.

DHS (Demographic and Health Surveys).
Major thinktank collecting analyzing demographic and health data for regional and national family planning and public health programs. Funded by USAID and administered by Macro International, Inc.

Pan American Health Organization (PAHO).
Regional office of the World Health Organization, PAHO provides country reports and statistics for the Americas.
*