Sidebar
Main Content
Human Rights - Research Guide
Contents:
- PENN LIBRARY BIBLIOGRAPHIES
- FRANKLIN
- THE INTERNET
- DICTIONARIES, ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND HANDBOOKS
- GUIDES
- COUNTRY REPORTS & YEARBOOKS
- BIBLIOGRAPHIES
- INDEXES & CATALOGS
- NEWS SOURCES
- DIRECTORIES
- DOCUMENTS
- STATISTICS
- Related Penn Library
Bibliographies
- American Politics
- British Government
Publications
-
Foreign Broadcast Information Service
- Daily Reports.
- Foreign Relations of the United
States
- International
Relations
- JPRS Reports (Joint Publications Research Service)
.
- Treaties and Other International
Agreements
- United Nations
Publications
- U.S.
Government Documents at Penn
- U.S. Legislative Process
Includes background sources, indexes to Congressional publications,
documents in the legislative process (with library holdings),
and guides to tracing legislation.
- U.S. Elections.
Includes background sources, bibliographies, indexes, campaigns, platforms,
congressional voting records, PACs, and election statistics.
- American Politics
- FRANKLIN and other library
catalogs
- Franklin
LIBRARY of CONGRESS SUBJECT HEADINGS, for use in Franklin Subject searches:
- HUMAN RIGHTS -- Used for works on the rights of persons,
regardless of their legal, socioeconomic, or cultural status and
as recognized by the international community. May be subdivided
geographically.
- CIVIL RIGHTS -- Used for works on citizens' rights as established by law and protected by constitution. May be subdivided geographically.
Other Selected Library of Congress Subject Headings:
ACADEMIC FREEDOM; CHILDREN'S RIGHTS; CITIZENSHIP; CIVIL RIGHTS MOVEMENT; CONSTITUTIONAL LAW; DEMOCRACY; DISCRIMINATION; DUE PROCESS OF LAW; EMPLOYEE RIGHTS; FEMINISM; FREEDOM OF INFORMATION; FREEDOM OF RELIGION; FREEDOM OF SPEECH; GAY RIGHTS; HABEAS CORPUS; HUMAN RIGHTS WORKERS; MINORITIES; NATURAL LAW; PERSECUTION; POLITICAL RIGHTS; POLITICAL PRISONERS; POLITICAL CRIMES; POPULATION POLICY; PRIVACY RIGHT OF; RACE RELATIONS; RIGHT TO HEALTH CARE; RIGHT TO LABOR; RIGHT TO LIFE; RIGHT TO EDUCATION; SOCIAL ETHICS; SLAVERY; SPEEDY TRIAL; TORTURE; WOMEN'S RIGHTS
And see: CONFERENCE ON SECURITY AND COOPERATION IN EUROPE [Helsinki, 1973] and AMNESTY INTERNATIONAL, as subjects and as corporate authors.
- HUMAN RIGHTS -- Used for works on the rights of persons,
regardless of their legal, socioeconomic, or cultural status and
as recognized by the international community. May be subdivided
geographically.
- RLIN/Eureka
-- Eureka provides searching of the
Research Libraries Group's RLIN bibliographic database (BIB) of
over 27 million books, serials, archives, and other materials
held in over 100 large research libraries in the U.S. and current
cataloging of the Library of Congress.
- WorldCat
-- Lists over 33 million
items -- books, serials, sound recordings,
musical scores, visual materials, maps, machine-readable files, and
manuscript or archival materials -- located in over 4500 libraries.
FirstSearch, the same interface that's available for MLA and
Books in Print, allows the searcher to find items by author keyword,
title keyword, or subject keyword, by phrase, or by various
combinations. Online help is available.
[URL: telnet://fs1.access.library.upenn.edu]
- Franklin
- THE INTERNET --
Diana an international human rights database
U.S. State Department's Web, including their Human Rights Country Reports and Background Notes.
United Nations Human Rights Web Page
United Nations High Commisioner for Human Rights (OHCHR) -- Many full-text documents.
- DICTIONARIES, ENCYCLOPEDIAS, and HANDBOOKS
- Basic Documents on Human Rights . edited by Ian Brownlie and Guy S. Goodwin-Gill. New York : Oxford University Press, 2002. (Van Pelt Reference K3238 .A1 B76 2002)
- Human Rights : a Compilation of International Instruments.Centre for Human Rights, Geneva. New York: United Nations, 2002. (Van Pelt Reference K3238 .H85 2002)
- Dictionary of International Human Rights Law.John
S. Gibson. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 1996. (Van Pelt Reference K3239.3.G53 1996)
- A Dictionary of Human Rights
David Robertson. London: Europa Publications Unlimited, 1997.
(Van Pelt Reference K3239.3 R36 1997)
- A Handbook of International Human Rights Terminology
H. Victor Conde. Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 1999. (Van Pelt Reference K3239.3.C66 1999)
- Human Rights: The Essential Reference
Edited by Hilary Poole. Phoenix: Oryx Press, 1999. (Van Pelt Reference K3240.4. H 847 1999)
- The Encyclopedia of Human Rights.
Edward Lawson. 2d ed. New York, Taylor and Francis, 1991. 1715p. Long
articles on countries, organizations, and topics. Includes texts of major
documents, bibliography, chronological list of documents, and index. (Van
Pelt Reference JC 571 E67 1991)
- The Encyclopedia of Democracy.
Washington, D.C., Congressional Quarterly, Inc., 1995. 4 vols. Articles
on countries, regions, and topics. (Van Pelt Reference JC 423 E53 1995)
- International Encyclopedia of Human Rights : Freedoms, Abuses, and Remedies Robert L. Maddex. Washington, DC : CQ Press, 2000. 404p. (Van Pelt Reference JC571 .M3243 2000)
- The Human Rights Encyclopedia James R. Lewis and Carl Skutsch,eds. foreword by Aung San Suu Kyi. 3 vols. Armonk, N.Y. : M.E. Sharpe, 2001. 1124 p. (Van Pelt Reference JC571 .L522 2001)
- Encyclopedia of Human Rights Issues since 1945 Winston E. Langley. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1999. 392 p. (Van Pelt Reference JC571 .L2747 1999)
- Basic Documents on Human Rights . edited by Ian Brownlie and Guy S. Goodwin-Gill. New York : Oxford University Press, 2002. (Van Pelt Reference K3238 .A1 B76 2002)
- GUIDES
- Tobin, Jack. Guide to human rights
research. Cambridge, Harvard Law School Human
Rights Program, 1994. 228p. Annotated bibliography of reference
works, books, series, and periodicals. Topical arrangement.
Includes information on computer resources and the Internet.
Name and topical index. (Van Pelt Reference K 3236 T63 1994)
- Fenton, Thomas P., Human rights; a directory of
resources. NY, Orbis, 1989. 156p. Annotated
bibliography of books and articles, reference works, yearbooks
and country reports series, periodicals, pamphlets, and
audiovisuals; directory of organizations. Organization, personal
name, title, geographic, and subject indexes. (Van Pelt Reference
JC 571 F43 1989)
- Andrews, John. Keyguide to information sources on
the international protection of human rights. NY,
Facts on File, 1987. 169p. Background articles; bibliographic
essay on the literature of human rights; annotated bibliography
of reference sources, periodicals, treaty and document
collections, and selected monographs. Author, title, and subject
index. (Van Pelt Reference K 3236 A53 1987b)
- Whalen, Lucile. Human rights: a reference handbook. 2nd Edition. Santa Barbara, ABC-Clio, 1989. 301p. Chronology, biographical sketches, directory of organizations, annotated bibliography of books, periodicals, directories, non-print materials, and computer databases. Selected human rights instruments. (Van Pelt Reference K 3240.4 W46 1998)
- Tobin, Jack. Guide to human rights
research. Cambridge, Harvard Law School Human
Rights Program, 1994. 228p. Annotated bibliography of reference
works, books, series, and periodicals. Topical arrangement.
Includes information on computer resources and the Internet.
Name and topical index. (Van Pelt Reference K 3236 T63 1994)
- COUNTRY REPORTS and YEARBOOKS
- Country reports on human rights
practices. Washington, DC, 1979- . Annual.
Report submitted to the Committee on Foreign Relations, U.S.
Senate and Committee on Foreign Affairs, U.S. House of
Representatives by the Dept. of State. The 1996 volume (1513p.)
contains 194 reports. Includes topical articles, table of economic
and military assistance
from the U.S., and status of international human rights conventions.
(Van Pelt Reference JC 571.U48a)
- Critique; review of the U.S. Department of State's
Country Reports on Human Rights practices.... New York,
America's Watch,
1982- . Continues: Critique of Department of State's country
reports on human rights practices... Library has: 1991- .
(Latest in Van Pelt Reference JC 571 C696 19..)
- Amnesty international report. 1975-
76- London, Amnesty International. Annual. Articles and
country reports (152 in 1995). Appendices: addresses of Amnesty
International around the world; signatories of selected treaties. Law
Library has: 1975 76-78,1983-87. Van Pelt has: 81,84,87- .
(Latest in Van Pelt Reference JC 571 A44a; Biddle Law Intl 01 A522a and on the web at http://www.amnesty.org)
- Yearbook on human rights. NY: UN,
1946- . Reports on national developments, activities of
supervisory bodies, international developments in the UN system.
Library has: 1946-71, 73-79, 81, 83-88. (Van Pelt JC 571 U4)
- Yearbook of the united nations, 1946 -
. NY, UN, 1946 -. See index under "human rights",
"torture", "civil and political rights", etc., for many
references. Lib. Has: 1946- (Latest in Van Pelt Reference JX
1977 A37 Y4)
- Freedom in the world. NY, Freedom
House, 1978- . Annual. Articles, charts, tables, ratings, and
maps. Summaries evaluating political rights and civil liberties in 191
nations
and 58 related territories. Library has: 1978- . (Latest in Van Pelt
Reference JC 571 F66 19..)
- IWGIA yearbook, 1986- . Copenhagen,
International Work Group for Indigenous Affairs, 1987- .
Annual. Annual report on the human rights situation of
indigenous peoples. Library has: 1986,88 (Museum HV 3176 I574)
- World refugee survey, 1980- . NY,
U.S. Ctte. for Refugees. Annual. Continues World Refugee Survey
Report. Articles, tables and graphs of country info. Library
has: 1984- (Latest in Van Pelt Reference HV 640 W63)
- Human rights watch world report. NY,
Human Rights Watch, 1991-. Library has: 1990, 1992-
Overview articles; country reports include U.S. and other
international aid; special initiatives (.e.g., prisons,
gay rights); publications; staff. (Latest in Van Pelt Reference JC 571 H7853 and at http://www.hrw.org/wr2k3/)
- All-European human rights yearbook.
Arlington, VA, Engel, 1991- Library has: 1991-92. (Van Pelt
JC 571 A433)
- Human Rights in Developing Countries.
The Hague, Kluwer Law International, 1985- . Library has: 1994- .
Part 1, Thematic Studies. Part 2, long country reports (in 1996:
Bhutan, Egypt, El Salvador, Ethiopia, India, Mexico, Uganda);
table of ratifications of major human rights instruments, guidelines for
the reports; countries covered 1985- . (Van Pelt JC 599 D44 H868 19--;
Latest in Reference)
- United Nations. Economic and Social Council. Commission on Human
Rights. ...session. Report of the Working Group on Enforced
or Involuntary Disappearances. Annual. 70 countries in 1996.
(Van Pelt United Nations Documents E/CN.4/1997/34 .....)
- Humana, Charles. World human rights
guide. NY, Oxford Univ. Pr., 1992. 393p. Country
reports, including basic social statistics, charts on freedoms,
legal and personal rights. Documents and maps. World table.
(Van Pelt Reference JC 571 H788 1992)
- International handbook of human
rights. Ed. Jack Donnelly, NY, Greenwood Pr., 1987.
495p. Bibliog., 467-480. Chapters on 19 countries, including
the U.S., with notes and bibliographies. Includes historical
background. Index. Appx. Univ. Decl. of Human Rights. (Van
Pelt Reference JC 571 I587 1987)
- Women, a world report. NY, Oxford
Univ. Pr., 1985. 376p. (Van Pelt HQ 1154 W82 1985)
- Rhoodie, Eschel M. Discrimination against women:
a global survey of the economic, educational, social, and
political status of women. Jefferson, NC,
McFarland, 1989. 618p. Global view, area reviews, country
reports for 20 countries. "Guide to information sources",
p.481-505. Bibliog., p.587-597. Index. (Van Pelt Reference K3243 .R48 1989)
- Political Violence Against Americans. Wash., D.C., Department of State, Bureau of Diplomatic Security. Library has: 1988,1990-1991,1993-1994, 1998(Latest issue in Van Pelt Reference JC 491 S54) Also online: http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/6002
- Country reports on human rights
practices. Washington, DC, 1979- . Annual.
Report submitted to the Committee on Foreign Relations, U.S.
Senate and Committee on Foreign Affairs, U.S. House of
Representatives by the Dept. of State. The 1996 volume (1513p.)
contains 194 reports. Includes topical articles, table of economic
and military assistance
from the U.S., and status of international human rights conventions.
(Van Pelt Reference JC 571.U48a)
- BIBLIOGRAPHIES
- Human rights on CD-ROM (computer file). Centre
for Human Rights. NY, UN, 1993- . 14,000 bibliographical
references to UN documents and publications, from 1980 to 1994. Includes
full text of 95 international instruments. (Van Pelt Reference Moelis CD Area
K 3236 H864, at CD#9)
- Human rights bibliography: United Nations
documents and publications, 1980-1990. NY, United
Nations, 1993. 5 vols. 2048 p. Arranged by category, with author
and subject indexes. (Van Pelt Reference K 3236 H863 1993)
- United Nations reference guide in the field of
human rights. NY, UN, 1993. 124p. Bibliography of
579 UN publications relating to human rights, in a topical
arrangement, with UN document numbers. Subject Index. (Van Pelt
Reference JX 4263 P3 UN3553 1993)
- Weinberg, Meyer, comp. World racism and related
inhumanities: a country-by-country bibliography.
NY, Greenwood Press, 1990. An annotated bibliography arranged
under 135 countries. Covers racism, slavery, class domination,
discrimination against women, national oppression, imperialism,
colonialism, and antisemitism from ancient times to the present.
(Van Pelt Reference HT 1521 W45 1992)
- Human rights in latin america;
1964-1980. A selective annotated bibliography.
Comp. and ed. by Hispanic Division. Library of Congress.
Washington, DC, 1983. 257p. General publications and chapters
on countries, Amnesty International, Churches, OAS, UN, US,
bibliographies and directories, human rights organizations.
Author index. (Van Pelt Reference JC 599 L3 H84 1983)
- Human rights reader. Ed. W. Laquer.
NY, New American Library, 1990. Rev. ed. 516p. Includes
Selected bibliography.., comp. by A. Grech, p. 330-375. (Van
Pelt JC 571 H7698 1990)
- Kinnard, Cynthia. Antifeminism in american thought; an annotated bibliography. Boston, G.K. Hall, 1986. 321p. 1331 annotated entries for books, articles, and pamphlets, 18th century to the present. Arranged by broad topics, subdivided chronologically. Name index (author and subject). (Van Pelt Reference HQ 1426 K56 1986)
- Human rights on CD-ROM (computer file). Centre
for Human Rights. NY, UN, 1993- . 14,000 bibliographical
references to UN documents and publications, from 1980 to 1994. Includes
full text of 95 international instruments. (Van Pelt Reference Moelis CD Area
K 3236 H864, at CD#9)
- INDEXES & CATALOGS
-
International bibliography of the Social
Sciences, 1981- . (Penn Library Database).
International bibliography of the social sciences:
Political science. Paris, UNESCO, 1951- . Annual. The
volume for 1995 includes over
6000 entries: articles selected from 2500 journals, and books, in over
70 languages, from 60 countries. English translations of titles, but
no abstracts. Author, place name, and subject indexes. (Van Pelt
JA 71 I453; latest 5 years in Reference).
-
International Political Science Abstracts,
1989- .
(Penn Library Database) International political science
abstracts. Paris, Intl. Political Science Assn., 1951- .
Abstracts of
articles selected from over 900 scholarly journals worldwide, in European
languages. Author and subject indexes.
(Van Pelt Reference JA 36.I5)
Related Indexes and Databases
- ABSEES (via Web)
The American bibliography of Slavic and East European studies
(ABSEES). Columbus, American Association for the Advancement
of Slavic Studies, 1957- . (Van Pelt DJK 1 A437; latest 5 years in Reference)
-
Onefile. General database
provides indexing and abstracting for more than 1550 scholarly and
general interest journals, plus The New York Times; full text or full
image is provided for more than 750 titles. Searched can be limited to
refereed journals. (Penn Library Database)
-
AccessUN.
Index to United Nations documents and publications 1966- .
Index to all publications, including documents, mimeographed
items, official records, and periodicals from the
core of the United Nations organization, e.g. the General
Assembly, Security Council, and Economic and Social
Council. Not included are publications of related groups such as
FAO, WHO, UNICEF and UNESCO.(Van Pelt Reference JX 1977 A1A52 and Penn Library Web)
-
America: History and Life, 1964- . Santa
Barbara, ABC-Clio, 1954- .
Article abstracts on the history of the U.S. and Canada, pre-history to
the present. Citations from over 2300 journals in 30 languages,
book reviews, and doctoral dissertations.
(Van Pelt Reference E 171 A447; and Penn Library Database, 1974- , updated
3 times per year.)
- Bibliography of
Asian Studies, 1971- .
Ann Arbor, Assoc. for Asian Studies, 1957- .
Book chapters, articles,
and books on social science and humanities subjects on all of Asia.
(Van Pelt Library South Asia Reference DS 1 B393; and Penn Library Database,
1971- ).
-
Congressional Universe --
Provides of the U.S. legislative and government information that
used to be available through LEXIS/NEXIS.
Much of the material is fulltext. Contents include
pending bills, laws, legislative histories, committee reports and
documents, selected Congressional hearings and committee prints, and
biographical data about members of Congress. (Penn Library Database)
-
Handbook
of Latin American Studies, 1980- .
Library of Congress, Hispanic Division, 1935 -. Indexes books and
articles in European languages. Alternate
years are devoted to the social sciences and the humanities.
A feature of the print version is the presentation by
noted scholars of bibliographic overviews for each field and many
subfields. Since 1964 the volumes alternate
coverage every year between social sciences and humanities.
(Van Pelt F 1401 H363; latest 5 years in Reference; and Penn Library Database)
-
Hispanic American Periodicals Index, 1980- .
Los Angeles, UCLC Latin American Center, 1970 - . Indexes 250 journals,
in Spanish, Portuguese, and English. (Van Pelt F 1401 H577; latest 5
years in Reference)
An important source for articles about Latin America
and in many cases the only source for articles from journals published
in Latin America. It indexes 250 journals, mainly in Spanish, Portuguese
and English. Coverage starts in 1970. (Van Pelt Reference F/1401/H577;
Penn Libray Database 1970-)
-
Historical Abstracts, 1970- . Santa
Barbara, ABC-Clio, 1955- .
Abstracts of articles from scholarly journals, covering world history
outside North America from 1450. (Van Pelt Reference D 299 H53; and Penn
Library Database, 1970- .)
- Human resources abstracts.
Beverly Hills, Sage Publications, 1975-1994// (Van Pelt HV 1 P68)
- International African bibliography. London,
Mansell, 1971- (Van Pelt DT 1 I574; latest years in Reference)
-
International bibliography of the Social
Sciences, 1981- . (Penn Library Database).
International bibliography of the social sciences:
Economics. Paris, UNESCO, 1952- Annual. Currently the annual
volume includes over
7000 entries: articles selected from 2500 journals, and books, in over
70 languages, from 60 countries. English translations of titles,
but no abstracts. (Van Pelt HB 1 I644; latest 5 years in Reference;
Penn Library Database, 1981- .)
-
International bibliography of the Social
Sciences, 1981- . (Penn Library Database).
International bibliography of the social sciences:
Sociology. Paris, UNESCO, v.5- , 1955- Annual. The 1995
volume includes over
6000 entries: articles selected from 2500 journals, and books, in over
70 languages, from 60 countries. English translations of titles,
but no abstracts. Author, place name, and subject indexes. (Van Pelt
HM 1 I534; latest 5 years in Reference; Penn Library Database, 1981- .)
- International development abstracts.
Norwich, Geo Abstracts, 1982- .
Abstracts over 4700 articles per year, from 500 international
journals. Covers current literature for developing and newly
industrialized countries, "transitional economies" and "Fourth World"
issues. (Van Pelt HC 59.69 I57; latest 5 years in Reference)
-
ISI Citation Indexes
The ISI Citation Indexes include the Science, Social Science and Arts &
Humanities Citation Indexes. The database covers 1993 to the present and
is updated weekly. Both keyword and citation searching are available.
The database covers 5,300 science , 1,700 social science, and 1,140
arts & humanities journals. (Penn Library Database)
- Journal of economic literature.
Nashville, American Economic Association, 1969- (Lippincott
Reference HB 1 J6)
-
Lexis/Nexis Academic --
A full-text online service which
provides access to sources
of national and international news and business
information, biographical data, and some
selected legal materials. News sources include
newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts,
and wire services. Among the document sources
included are the U.S. Code and Federal Case Law.
(Penn Library Database)
- The Middle East. Abstracts and index.
Pittsburgh, Northumberland Press, 1978- (Van Pelt Reference DS41 .M44; latest
5 years in Reference)
-
PAIS International, 1972- .
Indexes social and public policy literature (journal articles,
books, official documents, etc) published in English, 1915- , in French,
German, Italian, Portuguese, or Spanish, 1967- . Emphasizes political
science, economics, international relations, public administration,
education, sociology, demographics and social work.
"foreign relations" finds 21,737 titles as of 10/98.
(Van Pelt Reference JA 1 P357; and Penn Library Database).
-
Periodicals Contents Index (PCI).
Chadwyck-Healey Ltd.
PCI Web is an electronic index to article
titles and authors in over 2000
periodicals in the humanities and social sciences,
from their first issues
(in some cases back in to the 19th century) to 1990/1991.
It will eventually index 3,500 journals
and 15 million individual articles.
An online Title List of the 3,290 journals so far
identified for inclusion in PCI Web is
available for review.
The scope is international, including journals
in English, French, German,
Italian, Spanish and other Western languages.
(Penn Library Database)
-
Population Index. (1986- via web).
Princeton, Woodrow Wilson
School, Office of Population Research, 1937- . Covers the world's
demographic and population literature, incl. articles selected from
400 journals, books, dissertations, data files. Author and geographical
indexes. (Van Pelt HB 848 P665; latest 5 years in Reference, Penn Library Database 1986-)
- Sage race relations abstracts.
Thousand Oaks, CA, Sage Publications, 1975 - . (Van Pelt HT 1501
S23; latest 5 years in reference)
- Sage urban studies abstracts. Thousand
Oaks, Ca., Sage Publications, 1973- . Quarterly. 1995 cumulation
contains long abstracts of over 1000 articles from several hundred
professional journals. Covers local politics, government,
and law, social policy, and social services, as well as urban planning
and development (Van Pelt HT 51 S24; latest 5 years in Reference, Penn Library Database 1998-)
- Social Sciences Citation Index. Phila., ISI,
1972- . (Penn Library Database 1978-)
-
Sociological abstracts.
Sociological Abstracts,
1952- . Over 15,000 long abstracts per year of articles in scholarly
sociology journals. Includes political sociology, social
change and economic development, social problems and policy, etc., world-wide;
The database includes Social planning, policy and development
abstracts (SOPODA), 1979- .
(Van Pelt Reference HM 1 S67; Penn Library Database)
-
United Nations Treaty Collection
This collection includes five categories of treaty-related data: Status of
Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General
The United Nations Treaty Series
Texts of Recently Deposited Multilateral Treaties
Photographs of Treaty Signature Ceremonies
Titles of the Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General in the UN official languages
- World agricultural economics and rural sociology
abstracts. Oxford, Eng.
Commonwealth Bureau of Agricultural
Economics, 1959- . Over 7000 long abstracts per year, from several
thousand international journals. Author and subject indexes. Sections on:
regional policy and development, international trade, environment and
natural resources. (Van Pelt HD 1401 W6; latest 5 years in Reference)
Political Science Indexes and Databases
-
International bibliography of the Social
Sciences, 1981- . (Penn Library Database).
International bibliography of the social sciences:
Political science. Paris, UNESCO, 1951- . Annual. The
volume for 1995 includes over
6000 entries: articles selected from 2500 journals, and books, in over
70 languages, from 60 countries. English translations of titles, but
no abstracts. Author, place name, and subject indexes. (Van Pelt
JA 71 I453; latest 5 years in Reference).
- NEWS SOURCES
- FBIS: Foreign Broadcast Information Service Electronic Index (1975-1996) -- This is the index to the Central Intelligence Agency-produced summary reports based on translations of foreign radio and television broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, and periodicals. Includes much information unavailable in other forms, especially for English translations of foreign government policy statements. For a fuller explanation, see the research guide FBIS Daily Reports The series is continued in online fulltext format by the
- World News Connection (see below)
(On CD-ROM: Van Pelt Reference Moelis CD Area D856 .F357; reports on microfiche in Van Pelt Reference Government Documents Room)
-
Lexis/Nexis Academic
A full-text online service which provides access to sources of national and international news and business
information, biographical data, and some selected legal materials. News sources include
newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts, and wire services. Among the document sources
included are the U.S. Code and Federal Case Law. (Penn Library Database)
- World News Connection
A foreign news service from the U.S. Government. Provides English translations
of non-U.S. media sources, including statements of official policy. The WNC website provides a list of sources translated and indexed. Coverage from July, 1994 to the present. Information
about earlier reports is available from the FBIS Daily Reports guide (see above).
- New York Times, ProQuest Historical Newspapers . Full-text of the New York Times, 1851-1999. Fulltext since ca. 1981 also available from
- LexisNexis Academic (see above) (Index only, partly at Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks AI 21 N44 and the remainder at High Density Storage)
- Official Index to the Times, 1906-1980 . Indexes the
- Times of London. Fulltext online is available from 1980 on
- LexisNexis Academic (see above). (Paper index at Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks AI21 .T46 and the remainder at High Density Storage)
- Facts on
file, 1940- . -- (Van Pelt Reference D 410 F35; current year at Reference Desk)
- Keesings record of world events, 1931- .
(Van Pelt D 410 K4; latest two years in Reference; CD-ROM 1960 - in Van Pelt Library Reference Moelis CD Area at D410 .K41)
- Transdex index, 1974- . Index to
Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) translations. (Van
Pelt Reference AS 36 U574 and microfiche 163)
- Ethnic newswatch, 1990-. Full text of ethnic newspapers and other publications from ethnic and minority press of the U.S.(Penn Library Database)
- DIRECTORIES
- Encyclopedia of
Associations. Detroit,
Gale, 1961- (Latest printed volume at Van Pelt Reference Desk HS 17 G3)
Current online edition has 140,000 listings. A search for "human
rights" finds over 1,100 entries. (Penn Library Electronic Resources)
- Historical Dictionary of Human Rights and Humanitarian
Organizations. Ed. Robert Gorman. Lanham, Scarecrow, 1997.
296p. (Van Pelt Reference JC 571 G655)
- Human rights internet reporter master list; a
listing of organizations concerned with human rights and social
justice worldwide. Supplement to Vol. 15 of the
Human Rights Internet Reporter. Alphabetical list, with
acronym, geographic, subject indexes. (Van Pelt Reference JC 571
H76963 v.15 1994)
- World directory of human rights teaching and
research institutions. Berg: UNESCO, 1998. 216p.
Address, staff, program, publications. Arranged by country.
Subject index. (Van Pelt Reference JC 571 W89 19..)
- Human rights directory, western europe: directory
of organizations...concerned with issues of human
rights and social justice. ed. Laurie Wiseberg. Comp. by the
staff of Human Rights Internet. Washington, DC, HRI, 1982.
335p. Origin, purpose, programs, publications, library holdings.
(Van Pelt Reference JC 599 E9 H85 1982)
- Human rights internet directory: eastern europe and the
ussr. ed. Laurie Wiseberg. Cambridge, Human Rights
Internat, 1987. 304p. Unofficial and official organizations in
E. Europe and the USSR since the 1970s and elsewhere in the
world. Fairly long descriptions, staff, publications, library
holdings. (Van Pelt Reference JC 599 E92 H86 1987)
- North american human right directory.
1980- . Wash. D.C., Human Rights Internet, 1980- . 700
organizations in U.S. and Canada concerned with human rights and
social justice. Activities, address and phone, director,
publications, collections. Lib. has: 1984 (Latest in Van Pelt
Reference JC 571 H76944)
- Africa: human rights directory &
bibliography. Ed. by Laurie Wiseberg and Laura
Reiner. Cambridge, Human Rights Internet, 1989. 308p. (Van
Pelt Reference JC 599 A36 A36 1989)
- Garling, Marguerite. The human rights handbook: a guide to british and american international human rights organizations. London, Macmillan, 1979. 299p. (Van Pelt Reference JC 571 G32 1979)
- Encyclopedia of
Associations. Detroit,
Gale, 1961- (Latest printed volume at Van Pelt Reference Desk HS 17 G3)
Current online edition has 140,000 listings. A search for "human
rights" finds over 1,100 entries. (Penn Library Electronic Resources)
- STATISTICS
-
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (the online title is GPO Access) The Catalog of United States Government Publications indexes print and
electronic Government information products created by Federal agencies.
Many of these products were distributed through the Federal Depository
Library Program. The Catalog data set contains authoritative bibliographic
records generated since January 1994 and is updated daily. For earlier
indexing, consult the print counterpart of this index, Monthly Catalog of
United States Government Publications, which dates from the passage of
the Printing Act of 1895 and is available in most depository libraries. (Statistical Universe
Index to international, federal, state and private agencies statistical publications. (Penn Library Database)
- IIS; index to international
statistics. Washington DC, CIS, 1983-. Monthly
abstract and index issues, with quarterly and annual cumulations.
Indexes all types of statistical publications of international,
intergovernmental organizations. Included in Statistical Universe. See "Human Rights" (Van Pelt
Reference HA 155.I53 (1983-1999))
- United Nations Women's Indicators and Statistics
Database (WISTAT) NY, United Nations. 1500 time-series,
1970-1993. User
Guide with disc. (Van Pelt Reference Moelis CD Area HQ 1154 U558, on CD-ROM)
- Social Indicators of Development 1996 (Van
Pelt Reference HC 59.69 S63 1996)
-
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (the online title is GPO Access) The Catalog of United States Government Publications indexes print and
electronic Government information products created by Federal agencies.
Many of these products were distributed through the Federal Depository
Library Program. The Catalog data set contains authoritative bibliographic
records generated since January 1994 and is updated daily. For earlier
indexing, consult the print counterpart of this index, Monthly Catalog of
United States Government Publications, which dates from the passage of
the Printing Act of 1895 and is available in most depository libraries. (Statistical Universe
Index to international, federal, state and private agencies statistical publications. (Penn Library Database)



