Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
Click here to IM, text, or chat
Research Guides
FindIt:

Sidebar

Main Content

Hinduism - Research Guide

The following bibliography lists library resources of possible use to students studying Hinduism. The majority of the sources listed here are either located in the Van Pelt Library Reference Area or area available electronically via the Penn Library Web.
For assistance in using these and the many other reference works available for Religious Studies, please consult a reference librarian.

Library Catalogs 
Penn's online catalog, lists over 95% of the materials owned by the Penn Library. See the Franklin Search Help for general searching tips.
Link: http://www.franklin.library.upenn.edu
Main Card Catalog.
The Main Catalog in Van Pelt Library is now closed. Manuscripts and rare books, some pre-1968 journals as well as materials in non-Roman alphabets are only partially included in Franklin. Use of the Main Card Catalog as well as other specialized catalogs may still be necessary for these items.
RLIN/Eureka Bibliographic File - Research Libraries Group Catalog
A bibliographic catalog of over 30 million books, serials, archives and manuscripts, musical scores, visual materials, maps, and data files held in over 100 large research libraries and current cataloging of the Library of Congress and the British Library. Since the catalog is so large, the best method for searching is to use known items such as authors, titles, or Library of Congress subject headings. Use this catalog to identify materials that Penn does not own and request them through Interlibrary Loan..
A large, 30+ million union catalog that includes the holdings of many university, college, and public libraries. Several Philadelphia-area libraries are included in WorldCat.Use this catalog to identify materials that Penn does not own and request them through BorrowDirect+ or Interlibrary Loan.
Link: http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/7158

Bibliographies 
Dell, David J. Guide to Hindu religion. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1981.
This work covers English-language resources on Hinduism. There is no Subject Index, so the user must rely on the topical arrangement of the work in order to locate items by subject. Author Index.
Location: [Van Pelt Reference Stacks BL1202 D44 1981]
Hinduism: a select bibliography. Ed. by Satyaprakash; comp. by Syed Mohammed Ali, H.S. Sharma. Gugaon: Indian Documentation Service, 1984.
Lists over 11,000 research and general interest articles, research papers, notes, and book reviews. Classified using Library of Congress Subject Headings. Includes a list of journals indexed. Subject and author access.
Location: [South Asia Reference Z7835 B8 A45 1984]
Indexes 
ATLA religion database. 1949-present.
Covers all religious traditions; strongest coverage is for materials dealing with the Judeo-Christian tradition, including Biblical Studies.
Link: http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/6835
Bibliography of Asian Studies. 1971-present.
All subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, South Asia, and Indian Ocean countries. Link: http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/6840
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias 
Mylius, Klaus. Wörterbuch des altindischen Rituals. Wichtrach : Institut f|r Indologie, c1995.
Location: [Van Pelt Library BL1236.34 .M95 1995]
Sen, Chitrabhanu. A dictionary of the Vedic rituals : based on the 'Srauta and Grhya s/utras. Delhi: Concept Pub. Co., 1978, c1976.
Location: [Van Pelt Library South Asia Reference (Rm. 551) BL1126.49 S46]
Stutley, Margaret and Stutley, James. A dictionary of Hinduism,1500 B.C. - A.D. 1500. London: Routledge & K. Paul, 1977.
Arranged in alphabetical order with cross-references. Lengthy bibliography.
Location: [South Asia Reference BL1105 S89]
Sullivan, Bruce M. The A to Z of Hinduism. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, c2001.
Brief entries with no bibliography. Includes a chronology and introduction to Hinduism.
Location: [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks BL1105 .S847 2001]
Sullivan, Bruce M. Historical dictionary of Hinduism. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 1997.
Location: [Van Pelt Reference BL1105 .S85 1997]
Walker, George Benjamin. The Hindu world, an encyclopedic survey of Hinduism. New York: Praeger, 1968. 2v.
Location: [South Asia Reference BL1105 W34 1968]
Werner, Karel. A popular dictionary of Hinduism. Surrey : Curzon, 1994.
Location: [Van Pelt Reference BL1105 .W47 1994; also South Asia Reference]
Williams, George M. Handbook of Hindu mythology. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC Clio, c2003.
Location: [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks BL1111.4 W55 2003; also in University Museum Library and Van Pelt Library South Asia Reference (Rm. 551)]
Send mail concerning this page to David Azzolina azzolina@pobox.upenn.edu
*