Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
Research Guides

Sidebar

Main Content

Pakistan's foreign relations - Research Guide

This guide identifies major collections of government documents and other source materials on the foreign relations of Pakistan.


General documents collections: Pakistan

Pakistan horizon. Karachi: Pakistan Institute of International Affairs, 1948- . Quarterly.
Van Pelt Library: DS376 .P32
Each quarterly issue includes "Pakistan's foreign policy quarterly survey", "Pakistan and the world (chronology)", and selected documents, with Joint communiques, probably the best ongoing collection of contemporary foreign policy documents for Pakistan, albeit from an unofficial source. For special issues, see below.

Joint communiques. Pakistan. Ministry of Foreign Affairs. 1947- . Annual
Multivolume compilations in several locations:
1947-1957 - Storage: DS383.5 .A2 P33 v.1 1958-1967 - Storage: DS383.5 .A2 P33 v.2 1974-1989 - Van Pelt Library: DS383.5 .A2 J64 1989-1993 - Storage: JX970.53 .A5 1994

Pakistan treaty series. Pakistan. Ministry of Foreign Affairs.
Van Pelt Library: KZ1000 .A6 2006
v.1 = 1947-1953; v.2 = 1954-1960.


Documents collections focused on Pakistan and specific topics or countries

Documents on the foreign relations of Pakistan. Karachi: Pakistan Institute of International Affairs.
Series includes:
  • China, India, Pakistan / K. Sarwar Hasan, ed. 1966. [Storage: DS33.3 .H3]
  • The Kashmir question / K. Sarwar Hasan, ed. 1966. [Van Pelt Library: 954.6 .H273]
  • The transfer of power / K. Sarwar Hasan, ed. 1966. [Van Pelt Library: DS480.45 .H36]

US-South Asian relations, 1947-1982 / Rajendra K. Jain, ed. 3 vols. New Delhi: Radiant Publishers, 1983.
Van Pelt Library: DS341.3 .U6 U75 1983
Vol. 1 covers Kashmir question, 1947-1964. India, 1947-1982. Vol. 2 covers Pakistan, 1947-1965. The Kutch conflict. Indo-Pak conflict of 1965. Pakistan, 1965-1982. Vol. 3 covers Bangladesh crisis and Indo-Pak war of 1971. Bangladesh, 1972-1982. Nepal, 1947-1982. Sri Lanka, 1948-1982.
The White House & Pakistan: secret declassified documents, 1969-1974 / selected and edited by F.S. Aijazuddin. Karachi: Oxford University Press, 2002.
Van Pelt Library: E183.8 .P18 W48 2002
The American papers: secret and confidential India-Pakistan-Bangladesh documents, 1965-1973 / compiled and selected by Roedad Khan. Karachi: Oxford University Press, 1999.
Van Pelt Library: DS386 .A2 1999
America-Pakistan relations: documents / K. Arif, ed.. 2 vols. Lahore: Vanguard Books, 1984.
Van Pelt Library: E183.8 .P18 A46 1984
The Secret documents recovered from the U.S. Embassy, Tehran / [compiled by Ali Abid]. Karachi: Fore-Runners Publications, 1986.
Van Pelt Library: DS383.5 .U6 S42 1986

China-Pakistan relations, 1947-1980 / documents edited by K. Arif. Lahore: Vanguard Books, 1984.
Van Pelt Library: DS740.5 .P18 C45 1984
China South Asian relations, 1947-1980 / R.K. Jain, ed. 2 vols. Brighton: Harvester Press, 1981.
Van Pelt Library: DS341.3.C5 C48 1981b
Vol. 2 covers Pakistan, 1947-1965. The Kutch Conflict. Indo-Pak Conflict of 1965. Pakistan, 1966-1980. Bangladesh Crisis and Indo-Pak War of 1971. Bangladesh, 1972-1980.

Soviet South Asian relations, 1947-1978 / R.K. Jain. 2 vols. New Delhi: Radiant Publishers, 1978.
Van Pelt Library: DS341.3.R9 S68
Storage: DS341.3.R9 S68 1979 (Humanities Press 1979 edition)
Vol. 1 covers The Kashmir question, 1952-1964. The Kutch conflict. Indo Pak conflict of 1965. Bangladesh crisis and Indo-Pak War of 1971. India. Vol. 2 covers Pakistan. Bangladesh. Nepal. Sri Lanka.

Pak-Afghan discord: a historical persepctive: documents, 1855-1979 / Mehrunnisa Ali, ed. Karachi: Pakistan Study Centre, University of Karachi, 1990.
Van Pelt Library: DS383.5 .A3 P35 1990
Selected documents on Pakistan's relations with Afghanistan, 1947-1985 / Saeeduddin Ahmad Dar, ed. Islamabad: National Institute of Pakistan Studies, Quaid-i-Azam University, 1986.
Van Pelt Library: DS383.5 .A2 S351 1986


Other reading

Pakistan foreign relations. Islamabad: Ministry of Foreign Affairs, 1998- . Annual.
Van Pelt Library: DS383.5 .A2 P355 (1998/1999 only)

Pakistan horizon. Karachi: Pakistan Institute of International Affairs, 1948- . Quarterly.
Van Pelt Library: DS376 .P32
Special issues offer in-depth analysis:
  • India-Pakistan War 1965 (vol. 18, no. 4, 1965).
  • India-Pakistan arms race (vol. 20, no. 2, 1967).
  • Middle East crisis (vol. 20, no. 3, 1967).
  • Iran (vol. 21, no. 1, 1968).
  • East Pakistan crisis (vol. 24, no. 2, 1971).
  • The Great Powers and Asia (vol. 24, no. 4, 1971).
  • India-Pakistan War 1971 (vol. 25, no. 1, 1972).
  • Simla Accord (vol. 25, no. 3, 1972).
  • International economic issues and Pakistan (vol. 25, no. 4, 1972).
  • The Middle East 1975 (vol. 28, no. 4, 1975).
  • Focus on Asia (vol. 32, nos. 1 & 2, 1979).
  • Pakistan foreign policy (vol. 32, no. 4, 1979).
  • The inter-relations of Muslim states and Pakistan (vol. 34, no. 1, 1981).
  • The Middle East, 1982 (vol. 35, no. 4, 1982).
  • Focus on South Asia (vol. 36, no. 4, 1983).
  • Refugees and displaced persons (vol. 38, no. 1, 1985).
  • Pakistan foreign policy (vol. 39, no. 1, 1986).
  • Sino-Pakistan relations (vol. 39, no. 4, 1986).
  • Focus on West Asia (vol. 41, no. 1, 1988).
  • Geneva Accords (vol. 41, no. 3, 1988).
  • Kashmir (vol. 43, no. 2, 1990).
  • Future of Central Asia (vol. 45, no. 3, 1992).
  • Kashmir (vol. 56, no. 2, 2003).
  • Pakistan-India relations (vol. 57, no. 3, 2004).
  • Post-9/11 Afghanistan (vol. 59, no. 1, 2006).
  • Pakistan earthquake 8 October 2005 (vol. 59, no. 4, 2006).
  • Women's concerns in international relations (vol. 60, no. 2, 2007).
  • Pakistan's foreign policy analysis (vol. 60, no. 3, 2007).
  • Global security (vol. 60, no. 3, 2007).

*