Travel, Tourism, and Culture - Research Guide
Library holdings and other resources:- Philadelphia: For research on Philadelphia, see these online sources from Van Pelt Reference:
- Current Information on Philadelphia
- Philadelphia History
- Travel and Tourism Industry - Research Guide
Contents:
- Getting Started: Guides to the Literature
- Finding Books: Franklin & other Library Catalogs
- Finding Journal Articles: Indexes & Abstracts
- Finding News Sources
- Finding Statistics
GETTING STARTED: GUIDES TO THE LITERATURE & BACKGROUND DATA
Use these to filter the diverse literature on travel and culture, and to identify the most reliable books, journals, reference sources.
- Westerman, R.C. Fieldwork in the library: a guide to researching anthropology and related area studies. Chicago: American Library Association, 1994.
- [Van Pelt Reference Desk, Museum Reference Desk: GN42 .W47 1994]
- Encyclopedia of social and cultural anthropology London ; New York: Routledge, 1996.
- (Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks & Museum Reference: GN307 .E648)
- Honigmann, John Joseph. Handbook of social and cultural anthropology. Edited by John J. Honigmann. Chicago, Rand McNally Co. [c1973]
- [Van Pelt, Museum, and Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: GN315 .H66]
- Folklore : an encyclopedia of beliefs, customs, tales, music, and art Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, c1997.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: GR35 .F63 1997]
- The American Historical Association's guide to historical literature 3rd ed. NY : Oxford University Press, 1995.
- Contains nearly 27,000 annotated citations (primarily to
English language works) divided into forty-eight
sections; citations refer chiefly to works published
between 1961 and 1992.
Includes indexes.
- [Reference Desk D20 .A55 1995]
- [Reference Desk D20 .A55 1995]
- The traveler's sourcebook. Detroit, MI: Omnigraphics, 1997- v.
- Primarily directory information. Good source for names/addresses of
associations, government agencies, other groups responsible for or connected to tourism/travel.
- ( Van Pelt Library Reference: G151 .T73)
- ( Van Pelt Library Reference: G151 .T73)
FINDING BOOKS: FRANKLIN & OTHER LIBRARY CATALOGS
Use Franklin, Penn's online catalog to identify and locate books, periodicals, magazines, newspapers, maps, and bibliographic and numeric data files in electronic format available in or through the Penn Library. Extensive online help is available.
- Remember that organizations, agencies, governments, and other
corporate bodies may be authors or subjects.
- Remember: if you choose the subject search type, you
must use
Library of Congress subject headings. Some sample headings are listed here.
travel tourist trade travel etiquette heritage tourism travel in literature travelers' writings travel literature hospitality industry travelers travel agents national characteristics, xxx [place] in literature culture conflict women travelers cultural policy cultural property, protection of intercultural communication sex tourism voyages and travels hotels, taverns, etc. [place] east and west americans travel [place] cultural relations social change
- Keyword searching
is very useful for combining different concepts into one search, for
restricting searches to geographic areas, and for identifying unfamiliar Library of Congress subject headings,
especially from known catch-phrases:
philadelphia AND neighborhood? (cultur? OR tradition?) AND touris? - Key terms and phrases -- Certain phrases are used regularly in Library
of Congress Subject Headings to describe aspects of culture and types of publications.
Some especially useful ones include:
social life and customs social aspects guidebooks guide-books description and travel correspondence diaries personal narratives cultural policy
- Very large combined catalogs like RLIN,
the catalog of the Research Libraries Group, and
WorldCat
help identify materials not available at Penn. Each of these "union catalogs"
includes over 30 million records.
- Local Philadelphia library catalogs identify resources in area libraries.
FINDING JOURNAL ARTICLES: INDEXES AND ABSTRACTS
Useful for identifying current and past journal articles on your topic. All are linked on the Library's Databases web pages. Use Franklin to locate the journal titles you find and what volumes are held by the Penn Library and where they're kept.
- Topical Databases and Indexes
- Anthropological literature. 1984-present.
- The principal index for anthropological journal articles and
edited works, compiled from materials
received at the Tozzer Library, Harvard University.
- Subject headings are similar to Franklin's.
- Corresponds to print-format Anthropological literature [University Museum Reference: GN 1 .A573], which covers more years, 1979-present.
- Subject headings are similar to Franklin's.
- Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute) 1970 - present.
- Print version from 1963 in the Museum Library. [University Museum Reference: Z 5111 .R68]
- Originally compiled from materials received at the Royal Anthropological Institute / Museum of Mankind Library.
- Originally compiled from materials received at the Royal Anthropological Institute / Museum of Mankind Library.
- CAB Abstracts
- International database of the Commonwealth Agricultural Bureau which covers
travel and tourism topics, in addition to ecology, environment, agriculture.
- Over 9,000 entries in the database on tourism.
- Over 9,000 entries in the database on tourism.
- Francis.
- Paris: CNRS, 1984-
- International social sciences and humanities database produced by the CNRS. Strong in European materials.
- International social sciences and humanities database produced by the CNRS. Strong in European materials.
- ISI Citation Indexes.
- The ISI Citation Indexes include the Science, Social Science and Arts & Humanities Citation Indexes.
The database covers 1993 to the present and is updated weekly.
Both keyword and citation searching are available.
The database covers 5,300 science , 1,700 social science, and 1,140 arts & humanities journals.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences 1981 -
- Online version of the UNESCO-sponsored International bibliography of the social sciences, and presently compiled by the British Library, this index has truly international coverage.
- Combines:
- International bibliography of social and cultural anthropology. 1955-present. [Van Pelt, University Museum Reference: GN 301 .I687, 1955 to present]
- Combines:
- Current geographical publications New York: The Society, [1938?-
- ( Van Pelt Library: G72 .A537 Note: Currently received. Latest 2 years in reference. ) v.2 (1939)-v.59 (1996) v.61 (1998)
- PAIS International 1972 -
- Public policy, government, int'l relations, politics, social sciences.
- 1915-1994: print format [Van Pelt Reference JA 1 .P357]. Known also as: Public Affairs Information Service.
- 1915-1994: print format [Van Pelt Reference JA 1 .P357]. Known also as: Public Affairs Information Service.
- Geographical abstracts. Human geography. Norwich, UK: Elsevier/Geo Abstracts, c1989-
- (Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks G1 .G3456 Note: Currently received. ) 1989-1996 --
- International development abstracts. 1982-present. Norwich, England: Geo Abstracts. Six issues yearly.
- [Van Pelt Reference: HC 59.69 .I57]
- Covers agriculture, environment and development, economic conditions, finance and industry, tourism, labor and management, natural resources, and demography in developing countries. Arranged by broad subject, with author, geographic, and subject indexes.
- Covers agriculture, environment and development, economic conditions, finance and industry, tourism, labor and management, natural resources, and demography in developing countries. Arranged by broad subject, with author, geographic, and subject indexes.
- MLA International Bibliography of language, literature, folklore.
- The major index for
literary criticism. Cites journal articles, selected books and dissertations.
- Coverage begins with 1963, and the file is updated 10 times a year.
- Strong source for material relating to travel literature or to the treatment of travel in literature. See also for cultural theory, treatment of culture in literatures, cultural encounters, etc.
- Coverage begins with 1963, and the file is updated 10 times a year.
- Sociological Abstracts 1963 -
- The principal abstracting service for sociological journal articles.
- Corresponds to print-format Sociological abstracts [Van Pelt Reference: Index Area 4], which covers more years, 1952-present.
- Corresponds to print-format Sociological abstracts [Van Pelt Reference: Index Area 4], which covers more years, 1952-present.
- Dissertation Abstracts International
- Web-based indexing of doctoral-level dissertations accepted at American institutions, 1861 to present.
- Abstracts are included beginning with 1980, and full-text of Penn dissertations is available for the past few years.
- Covers all subject areas.
- Abstracts are included beginning with 1980, and full-text of Penn dissertations is available for the past few years.
- Regional Databases and Indexes
- Bibliography of Asian Studies
- Ann Arbor: Association for Asian Studies
- The most comprehensive listing of articles, books, essays in collections, conference and symposia proceedings dealing with Asia. Arranged into chapters by geographic location and subject subdivision.
- Author index. Coverage of print version begins in 1956.
- [VP Ref & South Asia Ref DS1 B393]
- The most comprehensive listing of articles, books, essays in collections, conference and symposia proceedings dealing with Asia. Arranged into chapters by geographic location and subject subdivision.
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index 1970-
- Bibliographic citations for journal articles in social sciences and humanities concerning Latin America and U.S. Hispanics.
- Handbook of Latin American Studies. 1935-present. Washington, DC: Library of Congress, Hispanic Division.
- Annual.
- 1935-present: print format. [Van Pelt: F 1401 .H363]. Annual issues alternate between "Humanities" and "Social Sciences" coverage.
- Selective bibliographic citations, many with abstracts, for journal articles, books, book chapters, and conference papers in Latin American studies.
- 1935-present: print format. [Van Pelt: F 1401 .H363]. Annual issues alternate between "Humanities" and "Social Sciences" coverage.
- The Association of Research Libraries Latin Americanist Research Resources Pilot Project
- This database provides title keyword searching
of articles contained in over 400 post-1990 periodicals published in Mexico,
Argentina, and Brazil. Most of the publications are not indexed anywhere
else and, since they are not widely held, the articles can be requested
directly from the owning institution through the web site and are
delivered to the requestor's Interlibrary Loan Department. The
periodicals cover all fields.
- America: History and Life 1964 -
- Indexes and summarizes scholarly articles on North American history
- Print version provides coverage from 1954.
- [Van Pelt Reference: E 171 .A447]
- Print version provides coverage from 1954.
- Historical Abstracts 1970 -
- Indexes and summarizes scholarly articles on history outside North America.
- Print version extends coverage back to 1955.
- [Van Pelt Rererence: D 299 .H5]
- Print version extends coverage back to 1955.
FINDING NEWS SOURCES
Often the best places to find detailed information concerning a specific city, organization, or program. For current news and unmoderated commentary, consult the papers themselves and/or newsgroups:- E-News - Library web page linking to local, national, international news sources.
- Factiva
- FACTIVA is a full-text online service that provides access to sources of national and international news, business, health and general information. News sources include newspapers magazines, media transcripts, wire services, pictures and WEB sites.
- LEXIS/NEXIS Academic
- Full-text commercial online service which provides access to
national and international news and business information, biographical data, and some selected legal
materials. News sources include newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts, and wire services.
- NewsBank National Newspaper Package
- Access to the Philadelphia Inquirer from 1981 to the present and the
Daily News from 1978 to the present.Searchable fulltext of U.S. national, regional, and local newspapers. Coverage for current issues (i.e., yesterday in most cases) with extensive backfiles.
See also: Subject access to Philadelphia newspapers.
- Ethnic NewsWatch
- Ethnic NewsWatch is a full text, comprehensive archival database providing access to more than
400,000 articles in nearly 200 ethnic, minority and native press newspapers, magazines, and
journals. Newspapers and magazines are published in English or Spanish. Covers 1990 to the present.
- World News Connection (FBIS)
- National Technical Information Service (NTIS) offers access to the full-text of
the FBIS Daily Reports, which include
translations of current news and commentary from foreign political
speeches, radio and television broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, and periodicals.
Coverage from July, 1994 to the present.
- 1978-1996: on microfiche. Known as FBIS daily reports. [Van Pelt Microforms: U.S. Documents Microfiche PrEx 7/10:FBIS-]
FINDING STATISTICS
- Travel and tourism data : a comprehensive research handbook on the world travel industry Phoenix: Oryx Press, 1989.
- ( Lippincott Library Reference G155.A1 T6557 1989 )
- Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks G155.A1 T6557 1989)
- Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks G155.A1 T6557 1989)
- Statistical Universe.
- 1973-present (U.S. gov't sources), 1980-present (other sources). Congressional Information Service, Inc.
- American Statistics Index. 1973-present. Bimonthly, cumulated annually. [Van Pelt Reference: HA203 .A666]
- Statistical Reference Index. 1980-present. Bimonthly, cumulated annually. [Van Pelt Reference: HA203 .S738]
- Index to International Statistics. 1983-present. Bimonthly, cumulated annually.[Van Pelt Reference: HA155 .I53]
- Bibliographic indexes, with detailed abstracts, for statistical publications published by the U.S. government [ASI], by U.S. state governments and private organizations [SRI], and by major intergovernmental organizati ons [IIS]. The Penn Library will own many of the items in these sets: use Franklin to identify these. In addition, the Free Library of Philadelphia's Government Publications Department owns the ASI,
SRI, and IIS microfiche collections. - International travel and tourism [computer file]. Washington, DC: Bureau of Transportation Statistics, c1996.
- CD-ROM database of statistics on international travel.
- All BTS products are available freely; to request personal copies, see their order form on the web.
- The International Travel and Tourism (T&T) CD-ROM represents a cooperative effort between the Bureau of Transportation Statistics and eighty- eight nations worldwide to produce a compendium of international travel and tourism statistics.
- (Van Pelt Library Information Desk: G155.A1 I56 1996 )
- (Van Pelt Library Reference Moelis CD Area G155.A1 I56 1996)
- American Travel Survey
- Web site from the US Dept. of Transportation's Bureau of Transportation Statistics.
- Provides data on travel by Americans.
- Tourism ... : annual statistics = Tourisme ... statistiques annuelles Luxembourg: Office des publications officielles des Communautis europiennes, 1990-
- ( Lippincott Library G155.E86 T675 Note: Currently received. Latest year in reference. ) 1987,1993-1994 --
- Annuaire des statistiques du tourisme = Yearbook of tourism statistics = Anuario de estadmsticas del turismo. Madrid: World Tourism Organization, c1986- v.
- ( Lippincott Library G149 .I73 Note: Currently received. Latest year in Reference Stacks. )--
- Travel market report. [Travel market report (Annual) Washington, D.C.: US Travel Data Center, 1991- v.
- ( Lippincott Library G155.U6 T688 Note: Currently received. Latest issue in Reference Stacks. ) 1990-1991, 1993, 1996-1997 --
Send mail concerning this page to Laurie Allen
laallen@pobox.upenn.edu
laallen@pobox.upenn.edu



