Research Guides
FindIt:

Endnote Guide: how to import references into Endnote

General instructions for importing citations into EndNote:
(For instructions on use with Franklin and Direct Export enabled databases, see the table below for instructions)

  1. Open or create an EndNote library
  2. Perform a search in a database
  3. Save selected results to disc as a text file
  4. Under the File menu, select Import
  5. Choose the downloaded data file for the "Import Data File" box
  6. For "Import Option" select the appropriate import filter from the list that EndNote provides, if available.
  7. If you can't locate the appropriate import filter in Endnote or get stuck on one of the steps, see the table below for database-specific instructions.
  8. If no instructions are available or you continue having difficulty, consider sending a query to the library.

NOTE: Endnote 8 provides many filters that are not available in earlier versions. When using EndNote 5 and earlier versions, expect to use the below table frequently.
Macintosh users should consult the Endnote filters page at the company website.

Endnote Tip Sheets are available at http://www.endnote.com/support/entips.asp.

Database Filter provided in EndNote 8?

Alternative means of importing references into EndNote

Instructions for alternative means of importing reference into EndNote
ABI-Inform (Proquest) Yes Direct Export Instructions
Abstracts in Social Gerontology (FirstSearch) Yes/ECO filter Download Windows Filter Instructions
Abstracts of International Conservation Literature No Download Windows Filter Instructions
Agricola (Ovid) Yes Direct Export Instructions
America: Hist. and Life Yes Direct Export Instructions
American Periodical Series/APS (Proquest) No Export directly Instructions
Anthropological Index (Eureka) Yes/EndNote Import filter Direct Export Instructions
Anthropological Literature (Eureka) Yes/EndNote Import filter Direct Export Instructions
Anthropology Plus (Eureka) Yes/EndNote Import filter Direct Export Instructions
ARTbibliographies modern (CSA) Yes   Instructions
Art Index (Ovid) No Direct Export Instructions
Art Index Retro. (Wilson) Yes/WilsonWeb filter Instructions
ASFA Aquaculture Abstracts (CSA) Yes Instructions
ATLA Religion (OCLC) Yes Direct Export Instructions
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (Eureka) Yes/EndNote Import filter Direct Export Instructions
Bibliography of Asian Studies No Download Windows Filter Instructions
Bibliography of the History of Art (Eureka) YesEndNote Import filter Direct Export Instructions
Biosis No Direct Export Instructions
Blackwell Synergy Online Journals No Direct Export Instructions
Business Source Premier (EBSCO) Yes/Prem Bus Source (EBSCO) filter Direct Export Instructions
CancerLit (Ovid) Yes Direct Export Instructions
Chicano Database (Eureka) Yes/EndNote Import Filter Direct Export Instructions
CINAHL (Ovid) Yes Direct Export Instructions
Communication Abstracts (CSA) No Download Windows Filter Instructions
Compendex No Filter Required Direct Export Instructions
Criminal Justice Abstracts (SilverPlatter) No Download Windows Filter Instructions
CURL Union Catalogue (Eureka) Yes//EndNote Import filter Direct Export Instructions
Deutsche Bibliothek Database (Eureka) Yes/EndNote Import filter Direct Export Instructions
Dissertation Abstracts No Download Windows Filter Instructions
Early English Books Online (a.k.a. EEBO) Yes/Endnote Import Filter Instructions
ECO online journals Yes/ECO Filter Direct Export Instructions
EconLit (CSA) Yes Instructions
Education Index (Wilson) Yes/WilsonWeb Filter Instructions
Emerald Online Journals No Dowload Windows Filter Instructions
English Short Title Catalogue (Eureka) Yes/Bib IX filter Direct Export Instructions
ERIC (EBSCO) Yes Direct Export Instructions
ERIC (CSA) Yes Download Windows Filter Instructions
Ethnic Newswatch (Proquest) No Export directly Instructions
Expanded Academic ASAP (Infotrac) No Download Windows Filter Instructions
Factiva No Download Windows Filter Instructions
FRANCIS (Eureka) Yes/EndNote Import filter Instructions
Franklin (Penn Library Catalog) No Download Windows Connect File
Mac Connect File
Instructions
Genderwatch (Proquest) No Export directly Instructions
GeoRef (firstsearch) Yes Direct Export Instructions
Hand Press Book (Eureka) Yes/EndNote Import filter Direct Export Instructions
HealthStar (Ovid) Yes Direct Export Instructions
Highwire Press Online Journals No filter required Direct Export Instructions
Historical Abstracts Yes Direct Export Instructions
History of Science, Technology,
and Medicine (Eureka)
Yes/EndNote Import filter Instructions
IEEE Journals No Direct Export Instructions
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (Eureka) Yes/EndNote Import filter Direct Export Instructions
Index to 19th-Century American
Art Periodicals (Eureka)
Yes/EndNote Import filter Direct Export Instructions
Inside Information PLUS (Eureka) Yes/EndNote Import filter Direct Export Instructions
INSPEC (Ovid) Yes Direct Export Instructions
ISI Citation Indexes Yes Direct Export Instructions
JSTOR No Download Windows Filter Instructions
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (CSA) Yes, but doesn't work Download Windows Filter Instructions
MathSciNet Yes Download Windows Filter
Medline (Ovid) Yes Direct Export (see instructions) Instructions
Metadex (CSA) No Download Windows Filter Instructions
MLA Bibliography (EBSCO) Yes Download Windows Filter Instructions
National Library of Australia
Catalogue (Eureka)
Yes/EndNote Import filter Direct Export Instructions
New York Times Historical Newspapers (Proquest) No Export directly Instructions
Oxford Univesity Press Online Journal No Direct Export Instructions
PAIS International (CSA) No Download Windows Filter Instructions
Peace Research Abstracts (FirstSearch) Yes/ECO filter Direct Export Instructions
Philosopher's Index (Silver Platter) Yes Download Windows Filter Instructions
Professional Development Collection No Direct Export Instructions
Project Muse No Direct Export Instructions
PsycINFO (CSA) Yes Download Windows Filter Instructions
PubMed Yes Instructions
Reader's Guide Retro. (Wilson) Yes/WilsonWeb Filter Instructions
RILM Music Abstracts (First Search) Yes Direct Export Instructions
RLIN (Eureka) Yes/EndNote Import filter Direct Export Instructions
Russian Academy of Sciences
Bibliographies (Eureka)
Yes/EndNote Import filter Direct Export Instructions
Sage Family Studies Abstracts (FirstSearch) Yes/ECO filter Direct Export Instructions
Sage Urban Studies Abstracts (FirstSearch) Yes/ECO filter Direct Export Instructions
Science Direct Direct Export Instructions
SciFinder Scholar Yes Download Windows or Mac Filter Instructions
Scipio (Eureka) Yes/EndNote Import filter Direct Export Instructions
Social Services Abstracts (CSA) Yes (use CSA sociological abstracts filter)   Instructions
Social Work Abstracts (Silver Platter) Yes Download Windows Filter Instructions
Sociological Abstracts (CSA) Yes Instructions
World Law Index (Eureka) Yes/EndNote Import filter Direct Export Instructions
WorldCat (FirstSearch) Yes Direct Export Instructions

Instructions for Specific Databases

Franklin

Download the Connection file (U_of_Penn_Catalog.enz) to the "Connections" folder within your EndNote directory.

The search interface is very rudimentary. We recommend you use this file to search for known items only. Use the standard Franklin interface to insure a complete search.

The file works best if you do a single word keyword (any field) search. You can put one word in each box, connected by the boolean AND, and search for several words, as long as you use "any field."

Example:
faulkner [in any field] AND fury [in any field]
will retrieve William Faulkner's book The Sound and the Fury

Or an exact author or title search:

Examples:
melville, herman [in author]
tale of two cities [in title]

Abstracts of International Conservation Literature
To import records from these databases you must have or install an ABC-CLIO import filter for the relevant database (see links in the table above).

Ovid Databases (CINAHL, Medline, etc.)
You can now directly export records from databases on Ovid to EndNote.

  1. Search an Ovid database as usual. At the bottom of the citation display pages you will see the Citation Manager.
  2. Under "Citation Format" choose "Direct Export" and select the Save button.
  3. EndNote will open and prompt you to open a library. The records will be automatically imported into the EndNote library you select.
  4. If you are using Medline you may need to download this filter before the Direct Export function will work.
Highwire Online Journals
You can now directly export records from Highwire journals into EndNote.
  1. Search the Highwire collection of a particular Highwire Journal database as usual. Choose the records you want by checking the box to the left of each one.
  2. Click on the Get All Checked Records link.
  3. On the Selected Abstracts page click on the Download ALL Selected Citations to Citation Manager link and then click on the Endnote link.
  4. EndNote will open and prompt you to open a library. The records will be automatically imported into the EndNote library you select.
Compendex
You can now directly export records from the Compendex index into EndNote.
  1. Search Compendex as usual. Choose the records you want by checking the box to the left of each one.
  2. Click on the Download link.
  3. On the Download selected records page check the RIS format box and then click the Endnote button.
  4. EndNote will open and prompt you to open a library. The records will be automatically imported into the EndNote library you select.
EBSCO
You can import records directly into Endnote from Ebsco databases by using EBSCO's Save Manager.
  1. Perform a search, and mark your desired references by checking the "Add to Folder" box.
  2. Click on "Folder has items" button.
  3. When viewing the Results List, click on the "export" link.
  4. Choose the "Citations in Direct Export to EndNote.." option and click on "save."
  5. A dialogue box will open. Choose the 'Open' option.
  6. EndNote will open and prompt you to open a library. The records will be automatically imported into the EndNote library you select.
ISI Citation Indexes
You can export records directly from the ISI Citation Indexes (Web of Science) to EndNote.
  1. From Web of Science, mark records to keep and copy them to the marked list using the Submit button
  2. Select the Marked List button located on the top of the screen
  3. Select the "Export to Reference Software" button
  4. For many web browsers, EndNote will open, and you will be prompted to open an EndNote library. If instead you are prompted to pick an application to process the download, use the browse button to find the "endnote.exe" file in the Endnote directory. The marked records should then transfer to the library you open.
FirstSearch (OCLC) Databases
To import records from FirstSearch databases you must have or install an EndNote import filter for the database you wish to use (see links in the table above).
  1. Do a search and from the list of records mark those to import.
  2. Select the Export button located on the top or bottom of the screen.
  3. Select the "marked records" option and then click on the gray Export button
  4. EndNote will open, and you will be prompted to open an EndNote library.
  5. After selecting a Library you will be prompted to choose an Import Filter. Find the filter for the database you are using (e.g. WorldCat or ECO) from the list. The records will automatically transfer to the library you opened.
Proquest
You can export records directly from most Proquest databases to EndNote.
  1. Perform a search, and mark your desired references by checking box at the left.
  2. Just above the list of results there are a series of links called: Marked Items: Email/Cite/Export. Click on the Export link.
  3. Choose 'Export directly to ProCite, EndNote, or Reference Manager.
  4. A dialog box will open. Select the 'Open With' radio button and leave the risfile (default) option. Click 'OK.'
  5. EndNote will open and the Select a Reference Library dialog box will open.
  6. Select the EndNote Library to which the citations will be downloaded and click on Open.
  7. The citations will be automatically downloaded into the EndNote Library.
Historical Abstracts and Amer. Hist and Life (ABC-CLIO)
To import records from these databases you must have or install an ABC-CLIO import filter for the relevant database (see links in the table above).
  1. Do a search and from the list of records "tag" those to import.
  2. Select the "Export Options" tab located on the right of the screen.
  3. Select the radio button directly to the left of "EndNote, ProCite, Reference Manager."
  4. Click on the blue "Export Records" button.
  5. Select the EndNote Library to which the citations will be downloaded and click on 'open.'
  6. The citations will be automatically downloaded into the EndNote Library.
Importing Records from SciFinder Scholar
Note: The SciFinder 2001 client downloads with its own import filter. The filter is located in the Sfschlr\filters folder on your hard drive and is named SciFinder2001.enf. If this filter is not present, you can download it by clicking the link above. Copy the file to your EndNote\Filters folder on your hard drive.
To import SciFinder records into EndNote:

  1. Perform a search, and mark your desired references by checking the box at the left.
  2. Click on the Save As button in the top menu.
  3. Save your references to disk as Tagged ASCII. To do this you will have to change the Save As format, since the default setting is to save in Rich Text. Once your records are saved, you may close SciFinder Scholar.
  4. Open the EndNote program and either select the library into which you want to import your references, or begin a new EndNote library.
  5. Click on Import, in the File menu. A dialog box will open. In the Import Data File box, select the file in which you just saved your references. In the Import Option box, select the SciFinder filter.
  6. Click Import. Your references will now be added to your EndNote library.

Eureka Databases

  1. Perform your desired search and then mark references by checking the box at the left of each one.
  2. Click on the Preferences button on the top right of the page.
  3. In the Preferences screen: Choose to download the information as EndNote Format and to display multiple records as brief or full. Check Apply Preferences.
  4. Click on the Export button towards the top of the page.
  5. EndNote will open and prompt you to open a library. The records will be automatically imported into the EndNote library you select.

SilverPlatter Databases

NOTE: you must use the Explorer browser to import records from SilverPlatter Databases. The Netscape browser does not currently allow SilverPlatter Databases to save citation as text files.

To import records from this database, you must first have or install the filter for the relevant database (see links above).

  1. Perform your search and then mark your desired references by checking the box at the left of each one.
  2. Save the records by clicking the save button (floppy disk icon) above the records.
  3. On the save records page: Click the Change Fields button to select the fields you want included in the record (publication year is not selected by default). Click SilverPlatter's save button on the upper right hand side of the page.
  4. Save the document as a data (.dat), text (.txt) or all files file.
  5. Open the EndNote program and either select the library into which you want to import your references or begin a new EndNote library.
  6. Click on Import under the File menu. A dialog box will open. In the Import Data File box, select the file in which you just saved your references. In the Import Option box, select the Silver Platter Database filter for the relevant database, which you installed earlier.
  7. Click Import. Your references will now be added to your EndNote library.

Dissertation Abstracts
To import records from this database, you must first have or install the Dissertation Abstracts filter (see link above)

  1. Perform your search and then mark your desired references by checking the box at the left of each one.
  2. Click marked list at the top of the screen.
  3. Click the Download button on the marked list screen.
  4. Chose output format 'Text (Citation+Abstract)'
  5. Click the Download button on the lower right side of the screen.
  6. Open the EndNote program and either select the library into which you want to import your references or begin a new EndNote library.
  7. Click on Import under the File menu. A dialog box will open. In the Import Data File box, select the file in which you just saved your references. In the Import Option box, select the Dissertation Abstracts filter, which you installed earlier.
  8. Click Import. Your references will now be added to your EndNote library.

Early English Books Online

  1. Perform your search and then mark your desired references by checking the box at the left of each one.
  2. Click marked list at the top of the screen.
  3. Click the Download button towards the bottom of the marked list screen.
  4. On the print/download citations page choose dowload format: Endnote. Click the download button
  5. Open the EndNote program and either select the library into which you want to import your references or begin a new EndNote library.
  6. Click on Import under the File menu. A dialog box will open.
  7. In the Import Data Filebox, select the file in which you just saved your references.
  8. In the Import Option box, select the Endnote Import filter, which is included with Endnote 6.
  9. Click Import. Your references will now be added to your EndNote library.

Factiva

Note: Netscape browsers may not work properly with Factiva. If this is the case use Explorer instead.

To import records from this database, you must have or install the Factiva filter (see link above)
  1. Perform your search and then mark your desired references by checking the box at the left of each one.
  2. Use the "View As" pulldown menu to select "Full Article/Report plus Indexing."
  3. Click the format for saving icon (looks sort of like a floppy disc) that is located on the left side of the screen directly above the records.
  4. Use the browser save as command under the file menu to save the results as a text document.
  5. Open the EndNote program and either select the library into which you want to import your references or begin a new EndNote library.
  6. Click on Import under the File menu. A dialog box will open.
  7. In the Import Data Filebox, select the file in which you just saved your references.
  8. In the Import Option box, select the Factiva Endnote Import filter.
  9. Click Import. Your references will now be added to your EndNote library.

JSTOR
To import records from this database, you must have or install the JSTOR filter (see link above)

  1. Perform your search and then mark your desired references by clicking the save citationrecord beneath each record.
  2. Click View Saved Citations at the top of the screen.
  3. On the Saved Citations page choose to export citations as a text file in citation-manager format. Click Export and save the file to your computer.
  4. Open the EndNote program and either select the library into which you want to import your references or begin a new EndNote library.
  5. Click on Import under the File menu. A dialog box will open.
  6. In the Import Data Filebox, select the file in which you just saved your references.
  7. In the Import Option box, select the JSTOR filter, which you have already installed.
  8. Click Import. Your references will now be added to your EndNote library.

Science Direct
You can now directly export records from Project Muse journals into EndNote.

  1. Perform your search and then mark your desired references by clicking the box to the left of each record.
  2. Click the Export Citations link that appears directly above the displayed records.
  3. On the Export page choose to export citations as RIS format. Click Export.
  4. If a downloading dialogue box pops up, click OK.
  5. You are automatically brought to Endnote. Choose the library in which you want to save the records
  6. In the Import Data Filebox, select the file in which you just saved your references. Your references will now be added to your EndNote library.

Project Muse
You can now directly export records from Project Muse journals into EndNote.

  1. Perform your search and then mark your desired references by clicking the box to the left of each record.
  2. Click the "Save Marked Results" button that appears directly above the displayed records.
  3. Click E-Mail/Export Saved Results.
  4. Choose to export marked results to EndNote.
  5. EndNote will open and prompt you to open a library. The records will be automatically imported into the EndNote library you select.

CSA (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts) Databases
To import records from this database, you must have or install the appropriate CSA filter (see links above).

  1. Perform your search and then mark your desired references by clicking the box to the left of each record.
  2. Click the Save, Print, Email link that appears appears just above the first record on each page.
  3. On the 'Save, Print, Email' page a menu bar may state that 'short format' has been chosen by default. Change to 'full format.'
  4. On the same page choose the file format appropriate for your computer (PC, Mac or Unix). Click Save.
  5. The File Download dialog box will open. Click save. The file should be saved as a .txt document by default.
  6. Open the EndNote program and either select the library into which you want to import your references or begin a new EndNote library.
  7. Click on Import in the File menu. A dialog box will open. In the Import Data File box, select the file in which you just saved your references. In the Import Option box, use the "other filters" option to select the appropriate CSA filter for the database you are importing from.
  8. Click Import. Your references will now be added to your EndNote library.

WilsonWeb Databases

  1. Perform your search and then mark your desired references by clicking the box to the left of each record.
  2. Click the Exporting/Citing button that appears to the left of the displayed records.
  3. On the Exporting/Citing screen click on the + to the left of "Export to RefWorks/EndNote."
  4. In the expanded list of options, choose to download the records into "The EndNote Filter." Click "Export."
  5. Save the results in RIS format.
  6. Open the EndNote program and either select the library into which you want to import your references or begin a new EndNote library.
  7. Click on Import in the File menu. A dialog box will open. In the Import Data File box, select the file in which you just saved your references. In the Import Option box, select the WilsonWeb filter.
  8. Click Import. Your references will now be added to your EndNote library.

Bibliography of Asian Studies

To import records from this database, you must have or install the Bibliography of Asian Studies filter. (see link above)
  1. Perform your search and then mark your desired references by clicking Add to Bookbag under each record.
  2. When you have finished selecting records, click on bookbag at the top of the screen.
  3. On the bookbag screen click download records and then click save in the dialogue box.
  4. Open the EndNote program and either select the library into which you want to import your references or begin a new EndNote library.
  5. Click on Import in the File menu. A dialog box will open. In the Import Data File box, select the file in which you just saved your references. In the Import Option box, select the appropriate filter.
  6. Click Import. Your references will now be added to your EndNote library.

Oxford University Press Online Journals
You can directly export records from Oxford journals into EndNote.

  1. Perform your search in a particular Oxford E-Journal--EndNote won't work with results from a general search of all Oxford E-Journals.
  2. Select the articles you want to import into EndNote.
  3. Click on the "Get all Checked Abstracts" button.
  4. Click on the link to "Download all Selected Citations to Citation Manager."
  5. Click on the "EndNote" link.
  6. You are automatically brought to Endnote. Choose the library in which you want to save the records.
  7. In the Import Data File box, select the file in which you just saved your references. Your references will now be added to your EndNote library.

Blackwell Synergy Journals Online
You can directly export records from Blackwell journals into EndNote.

  1. Perform your search in Blackwell..
  2. Click the "Highlight" box next to each article you want to import into EndNote.
  3. Click on the "Download all highlighted abstracts to reference manager" button.
  4. Click on the link to "Download all Selected Citations to Citation Manager."
  5. Choose the "EndNote" format option and click the "Download References" button.
  6. EndNote will open and prompt you to open a library. The records will be automatically imported into the EndNote library you select.

Emerald Journals Online
To import records from this database, you must have or install the emerald filter (see link above).

  1. Perform your search in the Emerald database.
  2. Select the articles you want to import into EndNote by clicking on the "Add to marked list" link for each record.
  3. Click on the "Marked List" link on the left side of the screen.
  4. Click on the link to "display for download (ASCII)."
  5. Use your browser's Save As function to define a path to save your results to your computer.
  6. Open an EndNote library and select the File/import function.
  7. Find the downloaded file on your computer
  8. You will be prompted to choose an Import Filter. Find the "Emerald" filter from the list. The records should transfer to the library you opened.

IEEE

  1. Perform a search or browse for the article you wish to enter into EndNote..
  2. For records you wish to download, click on abstract.
  3. Scroll down to download citation and select download.
  4. Click on download and select the library you wish to download the record to.
  5. Note: each work must be downloaded separately into EndNote - you cannot mark records and download a set.

PubMed

  1. Access PubMed and execute your search.
  2. Once results are retrieved, place a check next to relevant records and then select "Clipboard" from the pull-down menu next to the "Send to" button found on the Action Bar. Click the "Send to" button.
  3. When finished searching and marking records, select "Clipboard" from the Features Bar to display marked citations. On this page, select "MEDLINE" in the dropdown menu next to the "Display" button on the Action Bar.
  4. Choose "File" from the "Send to" drop-down list, and then click on "Send to."
  5. Select "Save" on the following screen. In the next screen you will be able to change the file name (we recommend saving with a *.txt extension).
  6. In EndNote, open the library where you would like these references saved.
  7. Select "Import" from the "File" menu. Next to "Import Data File", click "Choose File" and find your saved text file. Select from the pull down menu of "Import Option" "PubMed (NLM)".
  8. Finally, click the Import button.
  9.  

    *