Sidebar
Main Content
Guide to Manipulating Citations in EndNote
Methods for working with citations in EndNote
Directions for getting citations into Endnote
Manual Entry
Connect Files
EndNote Filters
Direct Export
Directions for getting formatted citations out of an EndNote Library
Choosing, Changing and Editing EndNote Citation Styles
Creating a Bibliography
Cite While you Write
Reformatting citations and references
Adding Page Numbers to Citations
Footnotes
Directions for getting citations into EndNote
Manual entry: Any record
can be entered into an Endnote Library manually by typing bibliographic information
into a form provided by EndNote..
Works with: Any database
Pluses: Works with any database
Minuses: Usually more time intensive than other methods of
importing citations.
Method:
- Open or create an EndNote library
- On menu bar click ‘References.’
- Choose ‘New Reference.’
- Fill out the blank form, placing bibliographic information in the appropriate slots.
- On menu bar click ‘File’ and choose ‘Save.'
- The New record will enter your EndNote library.
Connect Files: Connect Files allow you
to search databases from within Endnote Libraries by using an Endnote provided
search interface.
Works with: Public access, nonproprietary databases such as
Franklin, the Library of Congress catalog and PubMed.
Pluses: Allows you to search databases without leaving Endnote.
Minuses: Doesn’t work with most databases. The Endnote
search interface is clunky and often provides poor results.
Method:
- Open or create an EndNote library
- On menu bar click ‘Tools’ and choose ‘Connect.’
- Choose the appropriate connect file, if available.
IMPORTANT: CONNECT FILES ONLY WORK WITH PUBLIC ACCESS DATABASES - If the appropriate connect file is not available, search for it in http://gethelp.library.upenn.edu/guides/software/endnote.html or http://www.endnote.com/support/enconnections.asp and save the file to the connect file subfolder in the EndNote folder.
- Search the database with the connect file interface.
- Choose the references you want.
- Choose ‘Copy References to’ an EndNote library.
Filters: Filters format database records
so that they can be imported into Endnote. This involves locating the correct
filter and then saving records as text files on the hard drive.
Works with: The majority of Penn’s databases.
Pluses: This is the only way to get records from most databases
into Endnote.
Minuses: There are several steps in the process of using filters
to import records.
Method:
- Open or create an EndNote library
- Perform a search in a database
- Save the wanted results to your hard drive as a text or data file.
IMPORTANT: EVERY DATABASE IS DIFFERENT. SEE http://gethelp.library.upenn.edu/guides/software/endnote.html FOR INSTRUCTIONS ON SAVING RESULTS PROPERLY IN EACH DATABASE. - Go to EndNote. Under the File menu, select Import—this opens an Import dialogue box.
- In the dialogue box ‘choose’ your saved results from the hard drive.
- For "Import Option" select the appropriate import filter from the list that EndNote provides, if available. Note: the appropriate import filter will have the same name and state the same vendor as the database you are searching. The vendor is the name of the company through which we have access to the database. Examples include Ovid, Eureka, SilverPlatter and Proquest.
- If the appropriate import filter is not available or you get stuck on one of the steps, see http://gethelp.library.upenn.edu/guides/software/endnote.html to identify whether the relevant filter can be downloaded or look for database specific instructions.
Direct Export: Direct export is a system
that allows records in Ovid databases to be imported into Endnote without saving
them as text files on the hard drive.
Works with: Most Ovid databases.
Pluses: Allows for very smooth and quick importation of records
into Endnote.
Minuses: Only works with Ovid databases.
Method:
- Search an Ovid database. Select the records you want to export. At the bottom of the citation display pages you will see the Citation Manager.
- Under the "Citation Format" section of the Citation Manager choose "Direct Export" and select the Save button.
- EndNote will open and prompt you to open a library. The records will be
automatically imported into the EndNote library you select.
Directions for Getting Formatted Citations out of an EndNote Library
Choosing, Changing and Editing Output Styles
- To choose the style in which you want EndNote to format your citations in a Word document, first open an EndNote Library.
- Click‘Edit’ on the EndNote Menu Bar and choose ‘output styles.’
- Having chosen 'output styles,' select one of the preselected styles or click on ‘style manager’ to see a complete list of available styles.
- Choose the style you prefer.
- To edit an output style click 'Edit' on the EndNote menu bar,choose output styles and open the style manager.
- Highlight the style you wish to edit andclick on the 'Edit' button. This opens an edit dialog box in which you can alter the style to fit your needs. Use the help command or your EndNote
- Open an EndNote Library.
- Choose the ouput style you like using the instructions above.
- Open a word document.
- Place the mouse arrow in the Library, hold down the ctrl key to select the citations you want in the bibliography, and drag the arrow to the Word Document.
- While you are writing in Word, add citations by placing the cursor where you want the citation to be inserted and choosing either the Find Citation (Magnifying Glass) icon or the Go to EndNote (EndNote symbol) icon in Word's EndNote toolbar.
- If you choose the ‘Find Citation’ option use the find citation search box to search for the citation you want and then click insert.
- If you choose the ‘Go to EndNote,’ your EndNote Library will appear. First, choose the citation in the Library that you wish to insert in the Word document. Next, click on 'tools' on the EndNote menu bar, choose 'cite while you write,' and click 'Insert' to place the formatted citation in your Word document
Reformatting citations and references
- In the word document with the citations and references you wish to reformat, click the ‘Format Bibliography’ icon on the EndNote toolbar.
- Choose a new output style and click ‘OK.’
- To make changes in the layout (font, spacing, margins), choose the ‘Format Bibliography’ icon, choose the layout tab, make the changes you want and click OK.
Adding Page Numbers to Citations
- In the word document, highlight the citation to which you want to add a page number.
- In Word, go to ‘Tools’ on the menu bar, choose ‘EndNote, ’ then choose ‘Edit Citations.’
- In the Edit Citations dialogue box, type the relevant page numbers into
the ‘page numbers’ space then click ‘OK’.
IMPORTANT: IF THE PAGE NUMBER DOES NOT SHOW UP IN THE DOCUMENT, IT MAY BE BECAUSE YOUR CHOSEN OUTPUT STYLE DOES NOT ALLOW PAGE NUMBERS IN CITATIONS. TO INCLUDE PAGE NUMBERS YOU MUST CHOOSE ANOTHER STYLE OR USE THE SUFFIX COMMAND.




