Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
Click here to IM, text, or chat
Research Guides
FindIt:

Sidebar

Main Content

Urban Studies - Research Guide

This guide is intended to help students find resources in Urban Studies.
Using Franklin

Franklin, the Penn Library's online catalog, lists more than two million books, journal titles, and other materials contained in campus libraries. Note: The Biddle Law Library has its own completely separate catalog, LOLA.

You can search Franklin by author, title, journal title, subject, or keyword (several options). For information on searching, consult Franklin Search Help.

Keyword: Use keyword searching to combine concepts (X AND Y) and to search for particular words or phrases that might appear in titles or notes or subjects.
"pennsylvania convention center"
brownfield? AND (remediat? OR reclam?)
(urban OR city or cities) AND planning AND skey philadelphia

Author: Try corporate bodies such as: central philadelphia development corporation philadelphia city planning commission Subject: Some useful headings are listed below. \

cities and towns
city planning
city planning
housing
housing authorities
housing policy
housing subsidies

inner cities
land use planning
planned communities
regional planning
suburbs
urban economics
urban geography

urban health
urban policy
urban poor
urban renewal
urban transportation
urban youth
urbanization


Reference Sources
Handbook of Urban Studies . edited by Ronan Paddison. London ; Thousand Oaks, Calif. : SAGE, 2001.xvii, 494 p. : ill., maps
Long signed articles on topics in Urban Studies with bibliographies.
Location: [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks HT119 .H36 2001]
Khan, Namir Healthy cities : an annotated bibliography / Namir Khan, Willem H. Vanderburg ; with the collaboration of Lynn Macfie ... [et al.]. Publisher: Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2001..
Annotated bibliography of literature about cities
Location: [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks HT119 .K43 2001]
Greenwood Guide to American Popular Culture.dited by M. Thomas Inge and Dennis Hall. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2002.
Follow up to Handbook of MAerican Popular Culture. Long detailed articles detailing the scholarly study of pup culture including extensive bibliographies.
Location: [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks E169.1 .G7555 2002]
Encyclopedia of Urban America; The Cities and Suburbs . Ed. Larry Shumsky. 2 vols. 974p. index, bibliography.
Long signed articles with bibliographies. Topics, people, places.
Location: [Van Pelt Reference HT 123.E5 1998]
The encyclopedia of housing . Willem Van Vliet--, editor. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, c1998. 712p.
Long signed entries, with bibliographies. Lists of organizations and periodicals. Subject index. Figues and tables.
Location: [Van Pelt Library Reference HD 7287 E53 1998]
American community organizations : a historical dictionary edited by Patricia Mooney Melvin. New York: Greenwood Press, c1986. xvi, 236
Location: [ Van Pelt Library Reference HN 90 C6 A69 1986]
Duensing Edward. Information Sources in Urban and Regional Planning ; a directory and guide to reference materials. New Brunswick, Rutgers, Center for Urban Policy Research, 1994. 178p.
Dictionaries, Indexes and Abstracts, Directory of Directories, Planning and planning-related organizations.Location: [Van Pelt Reference HT 165.5 D84 1994]
Housing and planning year book. London: Pitman Pub., c1996- v.
Location:[ Fine Arts Library Reference NA 60 G7 D574] 1997-1998
International co-operation for habitat and urban development : directory of non-governmental organisations in OECD countries = Coopiration internationale pour l'habitat et le diveloppement urbain : ripertoire des organisations non gouvernementales dans les pays de l'OCDE. [Paris]: Development Centre of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, c1997. 508 p.
Location:[Lippincott Library Reference HC 60 I5455 1997]
Duensing, Edward. Information sources in urban and regional planning : a directory and guide to reference materials Edward E. Duensing. New Brunswick, N.J.: Center for Urban Policy Research, c1994. vi, 178 p.
Location:[Fine Arts Library Reference HT165.5 .D84 1994] [Van Pelt Library Reference HT 165.5 .D84 1994]
ULI sourcebook. Washington, D.C.: Urban Land Institute, 1994- v. : ill.
Location:Fine Arts Library NA 9108 U454; latest in Reference. ) 1994

Indexes and Abstracts
Sage urban studies abstracts. Thousand Oaks, Ca., Sage Publications, 1973- .
Quarterly. Contains long abstracts of articles from over a hundred professional journals, books, and other materials. Covers local politics, government, crime and law, housing, social policy, and social services, as well as urban planning, economics, and development. Includes annual subject and author indexes.
Link: http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/7028
Location:[Van Pelt HT 51 S24; 5 years in Reference]
ISI Citation Indexes
The ISI Citation Indexes include the Science Citation Index, the Social Science Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. ISI allows you to sort articles based on the number of times they've been cited, and to easily move from an article to the articles that have cited it, making it a great search engine for locating the most influential articles and authors on your topic.
Link: http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/6959
America: History and Life, 1964- . Santa Barbara, ABC-Clio, 1954- .
Article abstracts on the history of the U.S. and Canada, pre-history to the present. Citations from over 2300 journals in 30 languages, book reviews, and doctoral dissertations. (Van Pelt Reference E 171 A447; and Penn Library Database, 1974- , updated 3 times per year.)
Avery index to architectural periodicals . 1977- . (Penn Library Database, 1977- ; Fine Arts Library Z 5945 C649 1973 Suppl.)
Avery index to architectural periodicals. 1977- . Covers architecture, archaeology, decorative arts, interior decoration, furniture, landscape architecture, city planning, and housing. Reflects the periodical holdings of Columbia University's Avery Architectural and Fine Arts Library. (Penn Library Database) Avery index to architectural periodicals. 2d ed., rev. and enl. Supplement. Boston, G. K. Hall, 1975- (Fine Arts Library Z 5945 C649 1973 Suppl.)
Congressional Universe
Provides U.S. legislative and government information. Much of the material is fulltext. Contents include pending bills, laws, legislative histories, committee reports and documents, selected Congressional hearings and committee prints, and biographical data about members of Congress.
Journal of planning literature. 1985/1986- .Columbus, Ohio: Ohio State University Press
The principal finding aid for planning literature. Provides lengthy abstracts for some items selected for indexing. (Fine Arts NA 9000 J687) and http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/4427
PolicyFile .
Indexing with abstracts of U.S. and foreign domestic and international public policy research literature.
Link: http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/7008
PAIS, Public Affairs Information Service, 1915- .
Indexes social and public policy literature (journal articles, books, official documents, etc) ublished in English, 1915- , in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, or Spanish, 1967- . Emphasizes politics. Van Pelt Reference JA 1 P357; Penn Library Database, 1972- )
Population index. 1935- Princeton, N.J.: Office of Population Research, Princeton University. 1935-: print format.
Covers the world's demographic and population literature, incl. articles selected from 400 journals, books, dissertations, data files Provides bibliographic citations with annotations on literature concerning population studies, demography, and population-related problems. Arranged by broad topic, with author and geographic indexes. Each issue includes a literature review of a population-related topic.
Sociological Abstracts , 1952- . Sociofile, 1974 -.
Abstracts of the world's serial literature in sociology and related disciplines. Over 15,000 long abstracts per year of articles in scholarly sociology journals. Includes political sociology, social change and economic development, social problems and policy, etc., world-wide; The database also includes SOPODA (Social Planning, Policy and Development Abstracts) Since 1979 each volume includes "International Review of Publications in Sociology." To find book reviews on the online version of Sociological Abstracts, use the publication type "book review" and the title of the book, e.g. book review.pt. and xxxxxxxxx.ti. (Van Pelt Reference HM 1 S67; Penn Library Database).

Primary Sources
Index to Current urban documents. 1972-present. Westport, CT: Greenwood.
Quarterly, with annual cumulation. Bibliographic citations, some with brief annotations, for documents issued annually by ca. 300 of "the largest cities and counties" in the U.S. and Canada: plans, budgets, surveys. Arranged geographically, with subject index. Most documents are included in Urban Documents Microfiche Collection,
[ Van Pelt Reference HT 123 I453] and http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/6946
Philadelphia Neighborhoods Planning Project.
The Philadelphia Neighborhoods Planning History Project creates a web presentation of the full content of 86 neighborhood planning surveys prepared and published by the Philadelphia City Planning Commission between 1946 and 1990. These reports contain descriptions of current conditions of housing stock; population trends; property turnover; public transportation; community activity.
http://sceti.library.upenn.edu/pcpc/

Search the E-Resource Locator for Urban Studies News Sources. They include:

Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe
A full-text online service which provides access to national and international news sources and business information, and some selected legal materials. News sources include newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts,and wire services. Among the document sources included are the U.S. Code and Federal Case Law.
Searchable fulltext files of many newspapers, including the Chicago Tribune, LA Times, and many others. Also, includes:
Web-accessible collection of full text ethnic papers from around the United States. Online coverage begins with 1990. Includes Philadelphia Tribune, the area's largest African-American newspaper.

There is also a guide to Finding Newspapers at Penn.


Statistics Sources
In addition to census documents, and US Government documents, try
Statistical Universe. 1973-present (U.S. gov't sources), 1980-present (other sources).
Congressional Information Service, Inc.
Statistical Universe indexes statistical data published in federal, state, and selected privately published titles, at the table level. In some cases the fulltext of the document is also available.
State and Metropolitan Area Data Book.
The State and Metropolitan Area Data Book compares the nation's states and metropolitan areas in everything from banking and births to wages and welfare. Users can view a number of state and metro rankings tables in HTML or download the entire publication in .pdf format. The Data Book also serves as a guide to sources of data from the Census Bureau, other federal agencies, and private organizations.

Maps

The Penn Library Map Collection Policy explains the holdings of Penn Libraries in maps. Also explore the Philadelphia Maps page, and our Quanitative and Geospacial Data page.

Try Franklin Keyword searches such as:
skey philadelphia AND maps

Also try Franklin Subject searches such as:
cities and towns europe maps
cities and towns germany maps

Many folded U.S. and world city maps are kept in the pamphlet file cabinets in the Van Pelt Library Government Documents Room (1st Floor, just west of the Reference Room).

Street Atlas USA. Version 6.0. Yarmouth, Me : DeLorme, c1998. CD-ROM.
Generate and print maps of U.S. cities and neighborhoods.[Van Pelt Referece Desk G 1201 P2 1998 D38]
Kartographisches Institut Bertelsmann. Book of the World . N.Y., Macmillan 1996. 533p. 52cm.
In addition to satellite photographs and maps of the world, includes very clear and colorful maps of the center city areas of: Athens, Bankok, Beijing, Berlin, Buenos Aires, Cairo, Chicago, Hong Kong, Istanbul, Jerusalem, Johannesburg, Lisbon, London, Los Angeles, Madrid, Melbourne, Mexico City, Moscow, New York (Manhattan from Battery Park to 78th Street), Paris, Rio de Janeiro, Rome, San Francisco, Shanghi, Singapore, Sydney, Tokyo, Vienna, Washington, D.C. (Van Pelt Reference Oversize G1021.K3842 1996)
Kartographischer Verlag Busche. Der grosse Aral Atlas . Dortmund : Kartographischer Verlag Busche, 1996/97. 512p.
Includes indexes and maps of 35 German and 34 European cities at varying scales. (Van Pelt Reference G 1797.21 P2 K27 1996)

Charles Cobine
Research and Instructional Services Librarian
Van Pelt Library
215-746-5830
cobine@pobox.upenn.edu
*