Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
Click here to IM, text, or chat
Research Guides
FindIt:

Sidebar

Main Content

Evidence-based Veterinary Medicine Resources

Overviews of Evidence-Based Veterinary Medicine Practice

Handbook of Evidence-based Veterinary Medicine
Online version of 2008 book by Cockcroft & Holmes. Includes chapters on framing questions, searching, appraising evidence, educational needs, etc.
Evidence-Based Veterinary Medicine
May 2007 issue of Veterinary Clinics of North America Small Animal Practice devoted to all aspects of EBVM, including refining the clinical question, searching, appraising, interpreting statistics, clinical reasoning, and examples of their application to small animal practice.
Equine Veterinary Journal issue on Evidence-Based Veterinary Medicine
June 2003 issue of Equine Veterinary Journal with several articles discussing EBVM application to equine practice.
EBVM Article Collection
Selected EBVM citations with Penn Text links to articles about evidence-based veterinary medicine, the quality and nature of the veterinary literature, searching and appraisal. RefShare format allows online users to create bibliographies.
Evidence-based Veterinary Medicine Association
The Evidence-Based Veterinary Medicine Association (EBVMA) is a non-profit professional organization founded to better organize the emerging research, training and practice of evidence-based veterinary medicine. Site includes literature lists and forums about EBVM.
REFLECT Statement Website
An evidence-based minimum set of items for trials reporting production, health, and food-safety outcomes: Reporting guidElines For randomized controLled trials for livEstoCk and food safeTy

Clinical Diagnostic Decision Support Systems

Consultant more info
Diagnostic support system from Cornell College of Veterinary Medicine provides possible diagnoses or causes for clinical signs and symptoms. Also provides a brief synopsis of the diagnosis/cause including: 1) a general description, 2) species affected, 3) signs/symptoms and 4) a list of recent literature references.
CaDDiS (Cattle Disease Diagnostic System)
Decision support module designed at the University of Strathclyde to facilitate differential diagnosis of bovine African tropical diseases. Associates 27 symptoms and symptoms to assess likelihood of 20 diseases. Includes discussion of disease.

General Evidence-Based Medicine Resources

Clinical Decision Making Resources (Penn Biomed Library)
Links to major evidence-based medicine resources, including Users' Guides to the Medical Literature, Cochrane Library, ACP Journal Club, TRIP, EBM tutorials, etc.
*